U.S. Forest Service · Willamette National Forest · OR

Humbug Campground

3Heads up3 fires, nearest 19 mi
Wildfire
Austin fire · 19 mi away · 12,888 acres · 98% contained · updated Oct 12, 2026
Wildfire
The Narrows fire · 26 mi away · 305 acres · 98% contained · updated Sep 16, 2026
Wildfire
Latigo Lane fire · 47 mi away · updated Oct 16, 2026
ReservableOut of season, no booking; October 24 opens April 24.
Book on recreation.govWe make nothing when you book
Right now
Listed not openA database flag with no reason and no date
A night
$21–$40Across the site types the agency prices
Sites
2321 on recreation.gov
99 ftLongest rig
1,840 ftElevation
297 ftWater · Breitenbush River
18.7 miE of Mill City, OR
75%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 12 notices

In the agency’s own words

Wading and fishing are popular activities in the Breitenbush River, and rainbow trout is the most common catch for anglers. The Willamette National Forest has about 1,700 miles of trail. While many are in wilderness areas, a number of trails are low-elevation, easy-access trails for year-round hiking. Keep reading

Facilities

Humbug Campground sites have picnic tables, grills and easy access to the vault toilets. Drinking water spigots are spread throughout the campground. Most campsites offer sweeping views of the river.

Natural Features

The campground lies in the Willamette National Forest, which stretches for 110 miles along the western slopes of the Cascade Range. The varied landscape of high mountains, narrow canyons, cascading streams and wooded slopes offer varied recreational opportunities for visitors. The Breitenbush River is a tributary of the North Santiam River, and its clean waters flow from short forks of snowmelt in the Mount Jefferson Wilderness. A variety of plants and foliage separate the spacious campsites and provide privacy from other sites.

Nearby Attractions

Detroit Lake has a marina and provides plenty of opportunity for water recreation like boating, water skiing and kayaking. Contact Info For facility specific information, please call (541) 967-3917.

What the agency tells you

Rule

There are no electric hookups available

Rule

Off-road vehicles are not permitted

Rule

First-come, first-served sites may be available

Everything else this campground posts · 9
Rule

Limit 1 vehicle per site; a $10 per vehicle per night fee will be charged for additional vehicles

Rule

No discharging firearms, possession of fireworks or use of chainsaws allowed

Rule

You must stay in the campsite that you reserved. Site swapping is not allowed Don't Move Firewood: Please protect Pacific Northwest forests by preventing the spread of invasive species. Firewood can carry insects and diseases that can threaten the health of our western forests. You can make a difference by obtaining and burning your firewood near your camping destination. Visit Dontmovefirewood.org. for further information.

Rule

Be bear aware; keep all food out of sight in approved containers or locked inside your vehicle and remove all food from the area after eating

Rule

Scan and Pay might be offered at this campground; It is recommended that you pay by cash or check for FCFS campsites. There are no refunds, modifications, cancellations, or other fee changes allowed with FCFS payments. This system is the same as putting cash into a fee tube and cannot be refunded. Please download the Rec.Gov app prior to arriving at the campground as there may be no cellular service or very limited service at the campground. If no Scan & Pay option is available you must pay via cash or check.

Rule

Campfires allowed until and unless otherwise posted. Fire bans are common during summer months. Please plan accordingly.

Rule

Check-In 2:00PM

Rule

Check-Out 12:00PM

Rule

No Overflow Parking. No Day Use Parking.

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
23
Hookups
None
Longest rig
99 ft
Paved pads
All
Accessible sites
None listed
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Vault Toilets
“…tables, grills and easy access to the vault toilets. Drinking water spigots are spread throughout the…”
Drinking water
Yes
“…and easy access to the vault toilets. Drinking water spigots are spread throughout the campground. Most…”
Camp host
On site
recreation.gov lists “Host”
Stay limit
14 nights
recreation.gov facility rule maxStay

Around the campground

On the water
Lake, River, Creek
Fishing
Night sky · 599th darkest of 770 in OR
Bortle 3
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026

No reading yet, book on recreation.gov

recreation.gov lists 21 of the 23 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.

No availability snapshot inside the last 36 hours, so this page draws nothing rather than ageing a reading into fiction.

Booking windowOut of seasonOut of season, no booking. On October 24, 2026 at 10 AM ET, availability opens through April 24, 2027.recreation.govAdd to calendar (.ics)
Max stay14 nightsthe facility record
A night$21–$40plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$50–$88DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Forest ServiceBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Full? Watch it.

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Sat, Apr 24 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 14

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night, per site$21–$40
Standard Nonelectric$21
Standard Nonelectric- Doubles Site$40
These are next season’s rates, Apr 24, 2027 to Sep 27, 2027. The campground is between seasons now.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What this campground addsits own record
Extra vehicle$10

“a $10 per vehicle per night fee will be charged for additional vehicles” · the U.S. Forest Service’s own agency notice

What a stay costs
One nightDerived$29–$48
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$50–$88

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $21–$40 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 6

rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Oct 1, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

23 sites · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 21 mapped sites
65 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least room15 44 ft16 44 ft10 47 ft

All 23 sites

22 of 23 sites located
Standard21Type not stated1
SleepsTakes aUp to

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 23 of the 23 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.

HUMBUG CAMPGROUND01standard nonelectric75 ft75 ft345 ftHumbug Creek$21–$40
HUMBUG CAMPGROUND02standard nonelectric20 ft75 ft338 ftHumbug Creek$21–$40
HUMBUG CAMPGROUND03standard nonelectric60 ft74 ft460 ftHumbug Creek$21–$40
HUMBUG CAMPGROUND04standard nonelectric15 ft74 ft421 ftHumbug Creek$21–$40
HUMBUG CAMPGROUND05standard nonelectric75 ft65 ft507 ft$21–$40
HUMBUG CAMPGROUND06standard nonelectric99 ft65 ft462 ft$21–$40
HUMBUG CAMPGROUND07standard nonelectric74 ft77 ft396 ft$21–$40
HUMBUG CAMPGROUND08standard nonelectric57 ft62 ft228 ft$21–$40
HUMBUG CAMPGROUND09standard nonelectric37 ft49 ft179 ft$21–$40
HUMBUG CAMPGROUND10standard nonelectric25 ft47 ft166 ft$21–$40
HUMBUG CAMPGROUND11standard nonelectric40 ft55 ft202 ft$21–$40
HUMBUG CAMPGROUND12standard nonelectric47 ft47 ft152 ft$21–$40
HUMBUG CAMPGROUND13standard nonelectric47 ft51 ft138 ft$21–$40
HUMBUG CAMPGROUND14standard nonelectric42 ft53 ft133 ft$21–$40
HUMBUG CAMPGROUND15standard nonelectric27 ft44 ft130 ft$21–$40
HUMBUG CAMPGROUND16standard nonelectric22 ft44 ft174 ft$21–$40
HUMBUG CAMPGROUND17standard nonelectric39 ft71 ft103 ft$21–$40
HUMBUG CAMPGROUND18standard nonelectric26 ft71 ft166 ft$21–$40
HUMBUG CAMPGROUND19standard nonelectric22 ft88 ft117 ft$21–$40
HUMBUG CAMPGROUND20standard nonelectric55 ft125 ft75 ftHumbug Creek$21–$40
HUMBUG CAMPGROUND21standard nonelectric31 ft125 ft146 ftHumbug Creek$21–$40
HUMBUG CAMPGROUND22type not stated44 ft201 ftHumbug Creek$21
S&PStandard S&Ptype not stated70 ft$21

OpenStreetMap has no toilet mapped within 1 km of this campground, so no site here carries a toilet distance. That’s a gap in the map, not a finding about the campground.

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate44.77065, -122.07732
The phone503-854-3366
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Today82°Sunny
Tonight46°Mostly Cloudy10% rain
Saturday61°Chance Light Rain then Partly Sunny28% rain
Saturday Night36°Patchy Fog then Patchy Frost

NWS forecast for Detroit, OR

Typical weather

Typical October night 47°F, day 61°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical January night 36°F. Bring the bag rated for it.

90°30°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Augusts are colder than the August line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: DETROIT DAM, OR (USC00352292), 9 miles away and 620 ft lower

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it

Roadless country, and what’s coming for it

Roadless
Opal Creek5,417 acres · 7 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Mt. Jefferson, North6,219 acres · 9 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Bull Of The Woods8,843 acres · 10 mi · inventoried roadless area

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Who answers for this land

Janelle Bynum, official portrait

Humbug Campground is in Oregon’s 5th congressional district. Its representative, Janelle Bynum (D), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: A+. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: U.S. Forest Service’s own recreation database flags it not open and publishes no reason and no date. That’s a flag, not a notice: the number below is the only way to be sure.
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.
Nearest place of any size: Detroit, OR, 3.9 mi NE. Straight line.