ReservableBookable through October 31; November 1 opens May 1.
Book on recreation.govWe make nothing when you book
Right now
OpenListed open; its database flags it not open
A night
$6–$14Across the site types the agency prices
Sites
2320 on recreation.gov
Season
May 1 – October 31Open May 1 through October 31
Drawn from the record · 2,200 ft · 75% tree cover · North Fork Middle Fork Willamette River within reach · Bortle 2 sky
2,200 ftElevation
119 ftWater · North Fork Middle Fork Willamette River
12.9 miNE of Oakridge, OR
75%Tree cover
Bortle 2Night sky · 346th darkest of 770 in OR
Open May 1 through October 31Today

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 4 notices

In the agency’s own words

This location is available on a first-come, first-served basis only. Visitors are required to physically arrive at the campground to purchase and claim a site. Once on-site, you may be able to pay for your campsite(s) by scanning a QR code using the Recreation.gov mobile app, and the Scan and Pay feature. If this option is available, you will need to first download the free Recreation.gov mobile app https://www.recreation.gov/mobile-app prior to your arrival as some remote areas have limited or no cellular service.

What the agency tells you

Rule

This campground has potable water available via handpump. It is still recommended that guests bring water or a filtration system in case the water system must be closed for repairs.

Rule

There are two bathrooms available in this campground. Bathrooms will only be as clean as the last guest left them, so visitors are asked to please be respectful of others who need to use the facilities.

Rule

Fire restrictions may be in place depending on the season and recent weather conditions. Guests are expected to know any restrictions in place that may impact their stay.

Everything else this campground posts · 1
Rule

Road construction and closures can impact travel to and from the campground. Guests should look for any closures that may impact their route for their stay.

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
23
Hookups
None
Accessible sites
None listed
Pets
Allowed
Shade
Little
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Nothing on the booking system for the next 30 nightsread 15:41 UTC

recreation.gov lists 20 of the 23 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.

Every one of the next thirty nights is in recreation.gov’s record and not one site is being offered on any of them. That’s a campground closed or not yet released for booking, not a sold-out one.

Booking windowThrough October 31Bookable now through October 31, 2026, the end of the reservable season. On November 1, 2026 at 10 AM ET, availability opens through May 1, 2027.recreation.govAdd to calendar (.ics)
A night$6–$14plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$20–$36DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Forest ServiceBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Full? Watch it.

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Sat, May 1 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 13

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night, per site$6–$14
Scan and Pay: Extra Vehicle$6
Scan and Pay: Overnight Camping$14
Rates for the season the campground is in now, May 1, 2026 to Oct 31, 2026.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$14–$22
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$20–$36

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $6–$14 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5

recreation.gov availability, read 15:41 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

23 sites · the site map

All 23 sites

1 of 23 sites located
Standard1
Aerial · Esri World Imagery
SleepsUp to

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 20 of the 23 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

KiahanieExtra Vehicle Feetype not stated
Loop A01standard nonelectric$6–$14
Loop A02standard nonelectric$6–$14
Loop A03standard nonelectric$6–$14
Loop A04standard nonelectric$6–$14
Loop A05standard nonelectric$6–$14
Loop A06standard nonelectric$6–$14
Loop A07standard nonelectric$6–$14
Loop A08standard nonelectric$6–$14
Loop A09standard nonelectric$6–$14
Loop A10standard nonelectric$6–$14
Loop A11standard nonelectric$6–$14
Loop A12standard nonelectric$6–$14
Loop A13standard nonelectric$6–$14
Loop A14standard nonelectric$6–$14
Loop A15standard nonelectric$6–$14
Loop A16standard nonelectric$6–$14
Loop A17standard nonelectric$6–$14
Loop A18standard nonelectric$6–$14
Loop A19standard nonelectric$6–$14
Scan and PayScanPay 2type not stated
Scan and PayScanPay 3type not stated
Scan and PayStandardstandard nonelectric119 ft$6–$14

OpenStreetMap has no toilet mapped within 1 km of this campground, so no site here carries a toilet distance. That’s a gap in the map, not a finding about the campground.

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate43.88556, -122.25472
The phoneN/A
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

Getting there

Exit I-5 heading east on Highway 58 towards Oakridge, OR. Just past mile post 31, take a left on the road across from the Middle Fork Ranger Station. After crossing the metal bridge, take a left at the stop sign onto Forest Service Road 19. In a little over a mile, continue straight through the intersection to remain on the 19 Road. Just past mile post 19 the entrance to the campground will be on the left.

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Overnight55°Mostly Clear
Friday82°Sunny
Friday Night50°Mostly Cloudy1% rain
Saturday63°Partly Sunny1% rain

NWS forecast for Oakridge, OR

Typical weather

Typical October night 40°F, day 63°F.

Coldest night of the open season: typical October night 40°F. Bring the bag rated for it.

90°32°20°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or moreOutside the published season

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Augusts are colder than the August line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: OAKRIDGE FISH HATCHERY, OR (USC00356213), 14 miles away and 925 ft lower

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it

Roadless country, and what’s coming for it

Roadless
Chucksney Mountain15,369 acres · 6 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Waldo - Many Praries2,585 acres · 7 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Waldo - Moolack1,183 acres · 8 mi · inventoried roadless area

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Who answers for this land

Val Hoyle, official portrait

Kiahanie is in Oregon’s 4th congressional district. Its representative, Val Hoyle (D), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: A+. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: The agency lists it open right now. Its own recreation database, though, flags it not open with no reason or date; the flag is named under How we know all this.
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.