Kiamichi Park
2Heads up2 fires, nearest 20 mi
- Right now
- Taking bookingsSites offered on 30 of the next 30 nights read 16:16 UTC
- A night
- $14–$24Across the site types the agency prices
- Sites
- 9175 on recreation.gov
The place
the agency’s own description · what’s there · 5 notices
In the agency’s own words
Kiamichi Park Campground is a large, grassy campground in a forested expanse of southeast Oklahoma. The camp is perched along the banks of Hugo Lake, providing guests with plenty of recreational opportunities. Keep reading
Recreation
There are always fish to be caught at Hugo Lake. From early sand bass and slab crappie to late season fall bass, anglers will always find opportunities. Hugo Lake also provides excellent catfishing during the summer. The lake area offers plenty of hunting opportunities, with over 25,000 acres of land available. Bow hunting is permitted in and around most of the park areas. Kiamichi Park features an archery practice range and a 3,000-acre Quality Deer Management Area. Wildlife around the lake includes waterfowl, bobwhite quail, dove, whitetail deer, mink, fox and beaver. This large park and it's miles of paved roads are ideal for biking, jogging, hiking, and sight-seeing. There are also wooded trails for exploring and horseback riding. Equestrian trail riding is accessible for dayriding from Bobcat Road or Raccoon Road. Equestrian camping is available on Raccoon Road, which offers thirteen horse stalls.
Facilities
Kiamichi Park Campground features 85 spacious, modern campsites. There is a group camping loop which offers 11 camping sites and a shelter with tables and grills. Two large day use group picnic shelters are available for reservation. A playground and swimming beach make this park perfect for large parties, youth trips or family functions.
Natural Features
Hugo Lake dam is located on the Kiamichi River, 18 river miles upstream from its confluence with the Red River. The dam, completed in 1974, provides flood control, water supply and fish and wildlife management for nearby communities. It also provides a recreational oasis for outdoor enthusiasts of all types.
Nearby Attractions
A number of historical attractions are located near Hugo Lake, including Native American cultural centers, Civil War headquarters, historic churches and schools. Visit the lake website for more information.
Charges & Cancellations
A $10.00 service fee will aplly if you change or cancel your reservation. Late cancellations are subjet to additional fees. For full details see Recreation1Stop Reservation Policy.
What the agency tells you
Entry gates to Kiamichi Park close at 10 p.m. and quiet hours are from 10 p.m. to 6 a.m.
A dump station is on property, any discharge of waste waters is prohibited.
Pets must remain on leash under 6 feet in length.
Everything else this campground posts · 2
All sites have a 14-day limit.
Don't Move Firewood: Protect your forests from tree-killing pests by buying your firewood locally and burning it on-site. Visit Dontmovefirewood.org for further information.
Tents and rigs
- Sites
- 91 · 1 group, 9 equestrian
- Hookups
- 71 electric, 39 water, 5 sewer
- Longest rig
- 61 ft
- Paved pads
- 29 of 91
- Accessible sites
- None listed
- Pets
- Allowed
- Campfires
- Allowed, barring fire bans
- Shade
- Every site
Facilities
- Drinking water
- Yes
- WATER SPIGOT on 1 of 93 campsite records
- Dump station
- Yes
- recreation.gov lists “Dump Station”
- Playground
- Yes
- Stay limit
- 28 nights
- recreation.gov facility rule maxStay
Around the campground
- On the water
- Lake, River, Beach
- Boating
- Fishing
- Hiking
- Hunting
- Swimming
- Visitor center
- Water sports
- Wildlife viewing
- Night sky · 33rd darkest of 106 in OK
- Bortle 4
7 of 46 site-nights open this Friday and Saturdayread 16:16 UTC
recreation.gov lists 75 of the 91 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.
OpenBooked
Watch for a cancellation
Full? Watch it.
One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.
We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.
Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.
Tell me when the season opens
Watch for the season to open
One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.
We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.
Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.
We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.
Every line of the receipt · 21
What you actually pay
Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $14–$24 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.
“A $10.00 service fee will aplly if you change or cancel your reservation.” · this campground’s own terms
Who keeps the booking fee
The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →
How we know this receipt · 6
recreation.gov availability, read 16:16 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this
The sites
93 records · which ones have room · the site map
The sites, ranked
from 73 mapped sitesAll 93 records
The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 73 of the 93 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.
Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.
| AROA | A-01 | type not stated | 61 ft | 15 amp | |||
| AROA | A-02 | type not stated | 61 ft | 15 amp | |||
| HROA | H-01 | type not stated | 38 ft | 15 amp | |||
| HROA | H-02 | type not stated | 38 ft | 15 amp | |||
| HROA | H-03 | type not stated | 38 ft | 15 amp | |||
| JROA | J-01 | standard electric | 50 amp | 117 ft | 82 ft | $20–$24 | |
| JROA | J-02 | standard electric | 28 ft | 50 amp | 117 ft | 57 ft | $20–$24 |
| JROA | J-03 | standard electric | 50 amp | 120 ft | 70 ft | $20–$24 | |
| JROA | J-04 | standard electric | 50 amp | 143 ft | 69 ft | $20–$24 | |
| JROA | J-05 | standard electric | 35 ft | 50 amp | 101 ft | 76 ft | $20–$24 |
| JROA | J-06 | standard electric | 50 amp | 101 ft | 144 ft | $20–$24 | |
| JROA | J-07 | standard electric | 50 amp | 100 ft | 186 ft | $20–$24 | |
| JROA | J-08 | standard electric | 50 amp | 112 ft | 44 ft | $20–$24 | |
| JROA | J-09 | standard electric | 50 amp | 104 ft | 90 ft | $20–$24 | |
| JROA | J-10 | standard electric | 50 amp | 104 ft | 62 ft | $20–$24 | |
| JROA | J-11 | standard electric | 50 amp | 86 ft | 174 ft | $20–$24 | |
| JROA | J-12 | standard electric | 50 amp | 50 ft | 150 ft | $20–$24 | |
| JROA | J-13 | standard electric | 50 amp | 50 ft | 125 ft | $20–$24 | |
| JROA | J-14 | standard electric | 50 amp | 62 ft | 99 ft | $20–$24 | |
| JROA | J-15 | standard electric | 50 amp | 92 ft | 105 ft | $20–$24 | |
| JROA | J-16 | standard electric | 50 amp | 92 ft | 119 ft | $20–$24 | |
| JROA | J-17 | standard electric | 50 amp | 59 ft | 167 ft | $20–$24 | |
| JROA | J-18 | standard electric | 30 amp | 59 ft | 154 ft | $20–$24 | |
| JROA | J-19 | standard electric | 50 amp | 109 ft | 168 ft | $20–$24 | |
| JROA | J-20 | standard electric | 50 amp | 81 ft | 257 ft | $20–$24 | |
| JROA | J-21 | standard electric | 50 amp | 81 ft | 204 ft | $20–$24 | |
| KIAMICHI PARK | Day Use Pavilion 1 | day use | 512 ft | $50 | |||
| KIAMICHI PARK | Day Use Pavilion 2 | day use | 260 ft | $50 | |||
| NROA | N-01 | type not stated | 41 ft | 30 amp | 82 ft | ||
| NROA | N-02 | standard electric | 30 amp | 99 ft | 420 ft | $20–$24 | |
| NROA | N-03 | standard electric | 30 amp | 74 ft | 335 ft | $20–$24 | |
| NROA | N-04 | standard electric | 30 amp | 71 ft | 119 ft | $20–$24 | |
| NROA | N-05 | standard electric | 30 amp | 74 ft | 275 ft | $20–$24 | |
| NROA | N-06 | standard electric | 30 amp | 73 ft | 72 ft | $20–$24 | |
| NROA | N-07 | standard electric | 30 amp | 139 ft | 204 ft | $20–$24 | |
| NROA | N-08 | standard electric | 30 amp | 84 ft | 201 ft | $20–$24 | |
| NROA | N-09 | standard electric | 30 amp | 71 ft | 172 ft | $20–$24 | |
| NROA | N-10 | standard electric | 30 amp | 73 ft | 144 ft | $20–$24 | |
| NROA | N-11 | type not stated | 30 amp | 128 ft | |||
| NROA | N-12 | type not stated | 30 amp | 85 ft | |||
| OROA | O-01 | standard electric | 30 amp | 112 ft | 261 ft | $20–$24 | |
| OROA | O-02 | standard electric | 30 amp | 112 ft | 149 ft | $20–$24 | |
| OROA | O-03 | standard electric | 30 amp | 78 ft | 119 ft | $20–$24 | |
| OROA | O-04 | standard electric | 30 amp | 78 ft | 126 ft | $20–$24 | |
| OROA | O-05 | standard electric | 30 amp | 115 ft | 276 ft | $20–$24 | |
| OROA | O-06 | standard electric | 30 amp | 115 ft | 161 ft | $20–$24 | |
| OROA | O-07 | standard electric | 30 amp | 106 ft | 172 ft | $20–$24 | |
| OROA | O-08 | standard electric | 30 amp | 106 ft | 236 ft | $20–$24 | |
| OROA | O-09 | standard electric | 30 amp | 135 ft | 370 ft | $20–$24 | |
| PROA | P-01 | type not stated | 30 amp | 362 ft | |||
| PROA | P-02 | type not stated | 30 amp | 315 ft | |||
| PROA | P-03 | type not stated | 30 amp | 241 ft | |||
| PROA | P-04 | type not stated | 30 amp | 197 ft | |||
| PROA | P-05 | group standard area electric | 30 amp | 697 ft | 176 ft | $75 | |
| PROA | P-06 | type not stated | 30 amp | 136 ft | |||
| PROA | P-07 | type not stated | 30 amp | 136 ft | |||
| PROA | P-08 | type not stated | 30 amp | 129 ft | |||
| PROA | P-09 | type not stated | 30 amp | 145 ft | |||
| PROA | P-10 | type not stated | 30 amp | 186 ft | |||
| PROA | P-11 | type not stated | 30 amp | 257 ft | |||
| QROA | Q-01 | standard electric | 39 ft | 30 amp | 60 ft | 313 ft | $20–$24 |
| QROA | Q-02 | standard electric | 27 ft | 30 amp | 60 ft | 294 ft | $20–$24 |
| QROA | Q-03 | standard electric | 30 ft | 30 amp | 70 ft | 294 ft | $20–$24 |
| QROA | Q-04 | standard electric | 29 ft | 30 amp | 72 ft | 310 ft | $20–$24 |
| QROA | Q-05 | standard electric | 35 ft | 30 amp | 66 ft | 332 ft | $20–$24 |
| QROA | Q-06 | standard electric | 33 ft | 30 amp | 66 ft | 313 ft | $20–$24 |
| QROA | Q-07 | standard electric | 31 ft | 30 amp | 69 ft | 284 ft | $20–$24 |
| QROA | Q-08 | standard electric | 41 ft | 30 amp | 69 ft | 250 ft | $20–$24 |
| QROA | Q-09 | standard electric | 30 amp | 80 ft | 152 ft | $20–$24 | |
| QROA | Q-10 | standard electric | 30 amp | 80 ft | 107 ft | $20–$24 | |
| QROA | Q-11 | standard electric | 25 ft | 30 amp | 54 ft | 122 ft | $20–$24 |
| QROA | Q-12 | standard electric | 23 ft | 30 amp | 54 ft | 131 ft | $20–$24 |
| QROA | Q-13 | standard electric | 30 amp | 62 ft | 164 ft | $20–$24 | |
| QROA | Q-14 | standard electric | 31 ft | 30 amp | 49 ft | 199 ft | $20–$24 |
| QROA | Q-15 | standard electric | 25 ft | 30 amp | 49 ft | 206 ft | $20–$24 |
| QROA | Q-16 | standard electric | 30 ft | 30 amp | 81 ft | 197 ft | $20–$24 |
| QROA | Q-17 | standard electric | 37 ft | 30 amp | 77 ft | 203 ft | $20–$24 |
| QROA | Q-18 | standard electric | 33 ft | 30 amp | 77 ft | 195 ft | $20–$24 |
| QROA | Q-19 | standard electric | 33 ft | 30 amp | 80 ft | 262 ft | $20–$24 |
| QROA | Q-20 | standard electric | 44 ft | 30 amp | 141 ft | 388 ft | $20–$24 |
| QROA | Q-21 | standard electric | 23 ft | 30 amp | 74 ft | 282 ft | $20–$24 |
| QROA | Q-22 | standard nonelectric | 74 ft | 215 ft | $14–$16 | ||
| QROA | Q-23 | standard nonelectric | 44 ft | 146 ft | 78 ft | $14–$16 | |
| QROA | Q-24 | standard electric | 30 amp | 101 ft | 249 ft | $20–$24 | |
| RROA | R-01 | equestrian electric | 30 amp | 70 ft | 509 ft | $20 | |
| RROA | R-02 | equestrian electric | 30 amp | 70 ft | 455 ft | $20 | |
| RROA | R-03 | equestrian electric | 30 amp | 84 ft | 372 ft | $20 | |
| RROA | R-04 | equestrian electric | 30 amp | 83 ft | 273 ft | $20 | |
| RROA | R-05 | equestrian electric | 30 amp | 83 ft | 212 ft | $20 | |
| RROA | R-06 | equestrian electric | 30 amp | 86 ft | 209 ft | $20 | |
| RROA | R-07 | equestrian electric | 30 amp | 118 ft | 317 ft | $20 | |
| RROA | R-08 | equestrian electric | 30 amp | 80 ft | 496 ft | $20 | |
| RROA | R-09 | equestrian electric | 30 amp | 80 ft | 540 ft | $20 |
The agency files 2 more records here that aren’t sites for the night. It files them as day use. They’re in the table above, marked for what they are, and none of them is counted as a site.
OpenStreetMap has no toilet mapped within 1 km of this campground, so no site here carries a toilet distance. That’s a gap in the map, not a finding about the campground.
25 of 93 listed
Getting there
the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Where it is
Virgil Point3.0 mi
Mahaffey Point3.2 mi
Rattan Landing13 mi
Sanders Cove14 mi
Pat Mayse East16 mi
Pat Mayse West16 miFrom Hugo, OK, take Highway 70 east for 5 miles and follow the posted signs to the campground.
The weather
the next four days · the thirty-year normal
Next four days, and the thirty-year normal
Forecast
NWS forecast for Sawyer, OK
Typical weather
Typical October night 50°F, day 76°F.
Coldest month of the year: typical January night 29°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.
Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more
A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Augusts are colder than the August line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.
The land, and who answers for it
who answers for it
Who answers for this land

Kiamichi Park is in Oklahoma’s 2nd congressional district. Its representative, Josh Brecheen (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →