1Heads up1 fire 35 mi away
Wildfire
Lake fire · 35 mi away · 105 acres · 50% contained · updated Oct 16, 2026
ReservableBookable through October 31; an off-peak season follows November 1 to February 28.
Book on recreation.govWe make nothing when you book
Right now
Taking bookingsSites offered on 30 of the next 30 nights read 16:14 UTC
A night
$16–$24Across the site types the agency prices
Sites
8886 on recreation.gov
90 ftLongest rig
470 ftElevation
536 ftWater · Pat Mayse Lake
4.9 miNW of Powderly, TX
0%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 3 notices

In the agency’s own words

Pat Mayse West Campground is on the banks of its namesake lake in the Red River Basin in Lamar County, Texas. Easy access to developed park areas has made the lake a haven for families who enjoy camping, picnicking, swimming, boating, fishing and other outdoor recreation. Keep reading

Recreation

The lake provides excellent opportunities for boating, swimming, and fishing. Anglers will find largemouth bass, white crappie, sunfish, striped bass and channel and flathead catfish, among other species. Hunting is a very popular activity in the area. The surrounding lands are managed for upland game and whitetail deer. Other species present include fox squirrel, gray squirrel, bobwhite quail, mourning dove, cottontail rabbit, raccoon and fox. Opossum, beaver, mink, skunk and nutria are also present. The lake also provides resting and feeding habitats for migratory waterfowl. A few miles north of the project area are the famed Red River Bottoms where waterfowl congregate in impressive numbers.

Facilities

This year-round campground offers 88 sites, 83 of which have electric hookups. Amenities include flush and pit toilets, showers, drinking water, a dump station and boat ramp.

Natural Features

Pat Mayse Lake covers almost 6,000 acres and has 67 miles of shoreline. It is situated among gently rolling grasslands and mixed hardwood forests studded with mature pines. Wildlife is abundant in the surrounding area.

What the agency tells you

Rule

This area was a military artillery range in the 1940s; Report any ordinance to the park rangers or 911 if found.

Rule

Entrance gate opens at 6 a.m. and closes at 10 p.m.; vehicles may leave at any time but cannot enter until the following morning

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Protect your forests from tree-killing pests by buying your firewood locally and burning it on-site. Visit Dontmovefirewood.org for further information.

Tents and rigs

Sites
88
Hookups
81 electric, 88 water
Longest rig
90 ft
Paved pads
86 of 88
Accessible sites
1
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Pit Toilets
“…hookups. Amenities include flush and pit toilets, showers, drinking water, a dump station and boat…”
Showers
Yes, the record doesn’t say what kind
“Amenities include flush and pit toilets, showers, drinking water, a dump station and boat ramp.”
Drinking water
Yes
“…include flush and pit toilets, showers, drinking water, a dump station and boat ramp. Natural Features Pat…”
Dump station
Yes
recreation.gov lists “Dump Station”
Boat ramp
Yes
Stay limit
14 nights
recreation.gov facility rule maxStay
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026
Water, toilets and showers: read from the agency description, shown above · Sep 12, 2026

Around the campground

On the water
Lake, River, Beach
Accessible Swimming
Fishing
Hunting
Swimming
Night sky · 61st darkest of 154 in TX
Bortle 4
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026

128 of 162 site-nights open this Friday and Saturdayread 16:14 UTC

recreation.gov lists 86 of the 88 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.

OpenBooked

Booking windowThrough October 31Bookable now through October 31, 2026, the end of the peak season. The off-peak season that follows runs November 1, 2026 through February 28, 2027; recreation.gov releases it on its own schedule, so check there before counting on those nights.recreation.gov
Max stay14 nightsthe facility record
A night$16–$24plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$40–$56DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Army Corps of EngineersBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Full? Watch it.

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Sun, Nov 1 2026 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 14

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Army Corps of Engineers
A night, per site$16–$24
Standard Nonelectric$16
Standard Electric$20
50 Amp Service$24
Rates for the season the campground is in now, Mar 1, 2026 to Oct 31, 2026.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$24–$32
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$40–$56

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $16–$24 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5

recreation.gov availability, read 16:14 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

88 sites · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 86 mapped sites
71 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least roomB-LO B20 36 ftB-LO B22 36 ftB-LO B25 39 ft

All 88 sites

88 of 88 sites located
Standard5RV / electric81Type not stated2
SleepsTakes aUp to

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 86 of the 88 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.

A-LOA01standard electric10 ft30 amp73 ft52 ft$20–$24
A-LOA02standard electric15 ft30 amp73 ft115 ft$20–$24
A-LOA03standard electric30 ft30 amp74 ft66 ft$20–$24
A-LOA04standard electric40 ft30 amp110 ft176 ft$20–$24
A-LOA05standard electric40 ft30 amp46 ft67 ft$20–$24
A-LOA06standard electric60 ft30 amp46 ft32 ft$20–$24
A-LOA07standard electric40 ft20/30 amp112 ft17 ft$20–$24
A-LOA08standard electric45 ft20/30/50 amp69 ft61 ft$20–$24
A-LOA09standard electric45 ft20/30/50 amp53 ft125 ft$20–$24
A-LOA10standard electric40 ft20/30/50 amp53 ft150 ft$20–$24
A-LOA11standard electric60 ft20/30/50 amp80 ft156 ft$20–$24
A-LOA12standard electric40 ft20/30/50 amp44 ft199 ft$20–$24
A-LOA13standard electric40 ft20/30 amp99 ft136 ft$20–$24
A-LOA14standard electric80 ft20/30/50 amp44 ft234 ft$20–$24
A-LOA15standard electric80 ft20/30/50 amp68 ft146 ft$20–$24
A-LOA16standard electric60 ft20/30/50 amp68 ft150 ft$20–$24
A-LOA17standard electric80 ft30 amp74 ft67 ft$20–$24
A-LOA18standard electric60 ft30 amp74 ft94 ft$20–$24
A-LOA19standard electric30 ft30 amp97 ft293 ft$20–$24
A-LOA20standard electric60 ft30 amp78 ft367 ft$20–$24
A-LOA21standard electric60 ft30 amp77 ft329 ft$20–$24
A-LOA22standard electric60 ft30 amp62 ft339 ft$20–$24
A-LOA23standard electric70 ft30 amp66 ft345 ft$20–$24
A-LOA24standard electric50 ft30 amp61 ft321 ft$20–$24
A-LOA25standard electric60 ft30 amp59 ft317 ft$20–$24
A-LOA26standard electric60 ft30 amp72 ft322 ft$20–$24
A-LOA27standard electric60 ft30 amp59 ft312 ft$20–$24
A-LOA28standard electric65 ft30 ampyes77 ft272 ft$20–$24
A-LOA29standard electric40 ft30 amp75 ft238 ft$20–$24
A-LOA30standard electric40 ft30 amp75 ft197 ft$20–$24
A-LOA31standard electric50 ft30 amp59 ft169 ft$20–$24
A-LOA32standard electric60 ft30 amp45 ft222 ft$20–$24
A-LOA33standard electric60 ft30 amp45 ft264 ft$20–$24
A-LOA34standard electric60 ft30 amp61 ft260 ft$20–$24
B-LOB01standard electric45 ft30 amp75 ft112 ft$20–$24
B-LOB02standard electric20 ft30 amp75 ft82 ft$20–$24
B-LOB03standard electric10 ft30 amp92 ft82 ft$20–$24
B-LOB04standard electric20 ft30 amp94 ft55 ft$20–$24
B-LOB05standard electric65 ft30 amp73 ft120 ft$20–$24
B-LOB06standard electric15 ft30 amp76 ft15 ft$20–$24
B-LOB07standard electric50 ft30 amp76 ft36 ft$20–$24
B-LOB08standard electric15 ft30 amp94 ft45 ft$20–$24
B-LOB09standard electric55 ft30 amp122 ft58 ft$20–$24
B-LOB10standard electric40 ft30 amp46 ft178 ft$20–$24
B-LOB11standard electric55 ft30 amp46 ft185 ft$20–$24
B-LOB12standard electric75 ft30 amp46 ft196 ft$20–$24
B-LOB13standard nonelectric55 ft62 ft21 ft$16
B-LOB14standard nonelectric40 ft51 ft26 ft$16
B-LOB15standard nonelectric45 ft51 ft54 ft$16
B-LOB16standard nonelectric60 ft53 ft50 ft$16
B-LOB17standard nonelectric40 ft94 ft100 ft$16
B-LOB18standard electric40 ft30 amp39 ft207 ft$20–$24
B-LOB19standard electric40 ft30 amp54 ft198 ft$20–$24
B-LOB20standard electric40 ft30 amp36 ft237 ft$20–$24
B-LOB21standard electric40 ft30 amp54 ft237 ft$20–$24
B-LOB22standard electric40 ft30 amp36 ft260 ft$20–$24
B-LOB23standard electric45 ft30 amp47 ft317 ft$20–$24
B-LOB24standard electric55 ft30 amp49 ft265 ft$20–$24
B-LOB25standard electric45 ft30 amp39 ft313 ft$20–$24
B-LOB26standard electric75 ft30 amp39 ft315 ft$20–$24
B-LOB27standard electric60 ft30 amp49 ft252 ft$20–$24
B-LOB28standard electric45 ft30 amp45 ft315 ft$20–$24
B-LOB29type not stated60 ft30 amp261 ft
B-LOB30type not stated45 ft30 amp232 ft
B-LOB31standard electric60 ft30 amp71 ft181 ft$20–$24
B-LOB32standard electric55 ft30 amp71 ft170 ft$20–$24
B-LOB33standard electric55 ft30 amp72 ft122 ft$20–$24
B-LOB34standard electric45 ft30 amp104 ft142 ft$20–$24
B-LOB35standard electric35 ft30 amp104 ft203 ft$20–$24
B-LOB36standard electric45 ft30 amp92 ft99 ft$20–$24
B-LOB37standard electric35 ft30 amp83 ft111 ft$20–$24
B-LOB38standard electric30 ft30 amp76 ft147 ft$20–$24
B-LOB39standard electric55 ft30 amp76 ft185 ft$20–$24
C-LOC01standard electric35 ft30 amp46 ft106 ft$20–$24
C-LOC02standard electric60 ft30 amp46 ft96 ft$20–$24
C-LOC03standard electric35 ft30 amp53 ft101 ft$20–$24
C-LOC04standard electric55 ft30 amp101 ft47 ft$20–$24
C-LOC05standard electric55 ft30 amp75 ft49 ft$20–$24
C-LOC06standard electric60 ft30 amp75 ft50 ft$20–$24
C-LOC07standard electric55 ft30 amp51 ft75 ft$20–$24
C-LOC08standard electric55 ft30 amp51 ft100 ft$20–$24
C-LOC09standard electric75 ft30 amp62 ft146 ft$20–$24
C-LOC10standard electric55 ft30 amp116 ft110 ft$20–$24
C-LOC11standard electric55 ft30 amp80 ft28 ft$20–$24
C-LOC12standard electric75 ft30 amp115 ft145 ft$20–$24
C-LOC13standard electric60 ft30 amp80 ft59 ft$20–$24
C-LOC14standard electric55 ft30 amp192 ft88 ft$20–$24
C-LOC15standard electric90 ft30 amp154 ft257 ft$20–$24

OpenStreetMap has no toilet mapped within 1 km of this campground, so no site here carries a toilet distance. That’s a gap in the map, not a finding about the campground.

25 of 88 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate33.84778, -95.60694
The phone903-732-4956
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

Getting there

From Paris, TX, take HWY 271 north for 12 miles to FM 906 W, then 4 miles to FM 197. Turn west for 3 miles to CR 35810, turn left 1 mile to CR 35800, then left into the park.

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Overnight44°Mostly Clear
Saturday68°Sunny
Saturday Night44°Clear
Sunday70°Sunny

NWS forecast for Powderly, TX

Typical weather

Typical October night 55°F, day 78°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical January night 33°F. Bring the bag rated for it.

110°32°20°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Augusts are colder than the August line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: PARIS, TX (USC00416794), 12 miles away and 72 ft higher

The land, and who answers for it

who answers for it

Who answers for this land

Pat Fallon, official portrait

Pat Mayse West is in Texas’s 4th congressional district. Its representative, Pat Fallon (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: recreation.gov is offering sites on 30 of the next 30 nights, which isn’t something a closed campground does.
Cell signal: the Army Corps’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.