U.S. Forest Service · Daniel Boone National Forest · KY

Koomer Ridge Campground

Reservable, and full this SaturdayEvery one of the 31 sites on offer is taken this Saturday, and the record lists no site held back for a walk-up. read 15:39 UTC

We don’t think it should be. Every campground should hold some sites for whoever drives up.Tell your representative →

Right now
Taking bookingsSites offered on 15 of the next 30 nights read 15:39 UTC
A night
$35–$45Across the site types the agency prices
Sites
5452 on recreation.gov
1,250 ftElevation
1,673 ftWater · an unnamed pond
11.5 miSE of Stanton, KY
80%Tree cover
Bortle 4Night sky · 5th darkest of 60 in KY

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 9 notices

In the agency’s own words

This Campground offers dozens of shaded, wooded campsites. 54 suitable for tents and 19 suitable for a trailer. Camping and fires are prohibited in rock shelters. Keep reading

Recreation

The Red River Gorge offers untouched beauty for hiking enthusiasts. From the campground access: Hidden Arch Trail, Koomer Ridge Trail, Cliff Trail and Silvermine Arch Trail.

Facilities

All sites have a picnic table and fire ring. Accessible vault toilets are available year round. Flush toilets and showers are available seasonally: April 1 through October 31. Drinking water is available seasonally: April 1 through October 31.

Natural Features

Koomer Ridge is located in the heart of the Red River Gorge on the Cumberland District in the Daniel Boone National Forest. Scenic sweeping views and amazing hiking trails.

Nearby Attractions

Red River Gorge, NADA Tunnel, Zilpo Campground, Tater Knob, Natural Bridge, Sky Bridge, Clifty Wilderness.

What the agency tells you

Rule

Please Note: One RV with tow vehicle per single site or one vehicle per tent site. Most sites can accommodate 1 extra vehicle that is not included with the reservation fee. Extra vehicle will be charged a per night fee and collected at the campground if you did not pay for the Extra Vehicle Add On.

Rule

Reserved Sites will be held until check out time (NOON) the day following your arrival date. Sites must be occupied by the checkout time of that following day to hold a reservation or the site will be forfeited and released to other guests. Once your reservation start date has begun, neither the Recreation.gov Contact Center nor the campground manager will be able to modify your reservation.

Rule

Fire Restrictions: Fire restrictions may be imposed at any time due to hot, dry weather conditions, at which time campfires and charcoal fires may not be allowed.

Everything else this campground posts · 6
Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Protect Kentucky's forests from tree-killing pests by buying your firewood locally and burning it on-site. For more information visit https://www.dontmovefirewood.org/

Rule

For more information about the Daniel Boone National Forest, click here https://www.fs.usda.gov/dbnf

Rule

2 pets are allowed per site.

Rule

No electricity at the campground.

Rule

This is Bear Country! For bear and human safety, keep a clean campsite and do not place food or other attractants in your tent.

Rule

Refunds: Refund requests made through www.recreation.gov will be charged a $10 processing fee. This fee is retained by the reservation service contractor along with the non-refundable reservation fee. All requests for the return of the non-refundable reservation fee and the cancellation fee will be declined by the campground concessionaire as they did not receive these fees (these are the fees retained by the reservation contractor, a different entity).

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
54 · 9 walk-in
Hookups
None
Accessible sites
None listed
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Flush Toilets · Vault Toilets
“…a picnic table and fire ring. Accessible vault toilets are available year round. Flush toilets and showers…”
Showers
Seasonal Showers
“Flush toilets and showers are available seasonally: April 1 through October 31.”
Drinking water
Yes
“…seasonally: April 1 through October 31. Drinking water is available seasonally: April 1 through October…”
Stay limit
14 nights
recreation.gov facility rule maxStay

Around the campground

On the water
River
Hiking
Picnicking
Wildlife viewing
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026

Full this Saturdayread 15:39 UTC

How full the weekend is nationally.

OpenBookedNot reservable

Every one of the 31 sites on offer is taken this Saturday. 15 are free on Mon, Oct 19. read 15:39 UTC Why the weekend fills and the week doesn’t

Booking windowThrough October 31Bookable now through October 31, 2026, the end of this reservable season, and again for March 21, 2027 through April 16, 2027. Today at 10 AM ET, availability opens through April 17, 2027.recreation.gov
Max stay14 nightsthe facility record
A night$35–$45plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$78–$98DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itVista RecreationA private concessionaire under permit from U.S. Forest Servicethe operator link
Watch for a cancellation

Watch this campground

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Sun, Mar 21 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov ↗

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 13

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night, per site$35–$45
Single Campsite$35
Double Campsite$45
Rates for the season the campground is in now, Mar 22, 2026 to Oct 31, 2026.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$43–$53
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$78–$98

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $35–$45 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5

recreation.gov availability, read 15:39 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

54 sites

All 54 sites

SleepsUp to

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 52 of the 54 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Koomer Ridge1standard nonelectric$35–$45
Koomer Ridge10standard nonelectric$35–$45
Koomer Ridge11standard nonelectric$35–$45
Koomer Ridge12standard nonelectric$35–$45
Koomer Ridge13standard nonelectric$35–$45
Koomer Ridge14standard nonelectric$35–$45
Koomer Ridge15standard nonelectric$35–$45
Koomer Ridge16type not stated
Koomer Ridge17standard nonelectric$35–$45
Koomer Ridge18standard nonelectric$35–$45
Koomer Ridge19standard nonelectric$35–$45
Koomer Ridge2standard nonelectric$35–$45
Koomer Ridge20standard nonelectric$35–$45
Koomer Ridge21standard nonelectric$35–$45
Koomer Ridge22standard nonelectric$35–$45
Koomer Ridge23standard nonelectric$35–$45
Koomer Ridge24standard nonelectric$35–$45
Koomer Ridge25standard nonelectric$35–$45
Koomer Ridge26standard nonelectric$35–$45
Koomer Ridge27standard nonelectric$35–$45
Koomer Ridge28standard nonelectric$35–$45
Koomer Ridge29standard nonelectric$35–$45
Koomer Ridge3standard nonelectric$35–$45
Koomer Ridge30standard nonelectric$35–$45
Koomer Ridge31standard nonelectric$35–$45
Koomer Ridge32standard nonelectric$35–$45
Koomer Ridge33standard nonelectric$35–$45
Koomer Ridge34standard nonelectric$35–$45
Koomer Ridge35standard nonelectric$35–$45
Koomer Ridge36standard nonelectric$35–$45
Koomer Ridge37standard nonelectric$35–$45
Koomer Ridge38standard nonelectric$35–$45
Koomer Ridge39standard nonelectric$35–$45
Koomer Ridge4standard nonelectric$35–$45
Koomer Ridge40standard nonelectric$35–$45
Koomer Ridge41standard nonelectric$35–$45
Koomer Ridge42standard nonelectric$35–$45
Koomer Ridge43standard nonelectric$35–$45
Koomer Ridge44standard nonelectric$35–$45
Koomer Ridge45standard nonelectric$35–$45
Koomer Ridge46walk to$27
Koomer Ridge47walk to$27
Koomer Ridge48walk to$27
Koomer Ridge49walk to$27
Koomer Ridge5type not stated
Koomer Ridge50walk to$27
Koomer Ridge51walk to$27
Koomer Ridge52walk to$27
Koomer Ridge53walk to$27
Koomer Ridge54walk to$27
Koomer Ridge6standard nonelectric$35–$45
Koomer Ridge7standard nonelectric$35–$45
Koomer Ridge8standard nonelectric$35–$45
Koomer Ridge9standard nonelectric$35–$45

25 of 54 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Today53°Light Rain Likely then Partly Sunny63% rain
Tonight35°Clear then Areas Of Frost3% rain
Sunday61°Areas Of Frost then Sunny1% rain
Sunday Night39°Clear1% rain

NWS forecast for Campton, KY

Typical weather

Typical October night 45°F, day 69°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical January night 24°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

90°32°20°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: BEATTYVILLE 4N, KY (USC00150483), 11 miles away and 170 ft lower

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it · a letter you can send

What threatens this place

Roadless
Wolfpen2,835 acres · 4 mi · inventoried roadless area

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Source: MTJP Threatened Lands map · Sep 28, 2026

Who answers for this land

Hal Rogers, official portrait

Koomer Ridge Campground is in Kentucky’s 5th congressional district. Its representative, Hal Rogers (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

Who can change it · 3
Write to somebody who can change it

Two offices, two different asks. The draft to the agency asks it to set aside a published share of the sites here for whoever drives up. The draft to Congress asks why that share is zero and presses for a published minimum at the campgrounds it funds.

Read the draft, or change the wording

For the camper who turned up, or tried to book, and couldn’t get in. Every draft is written from this campground’s own record (its agency, its unit, its site count and its own weekend) and the buttons above copy whichever wording is selected here.

To Harold Rogers

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Koomer Ridge Campground, Daniel Boone National Forest, Kentucky

Dear Harold Rogers,

I’m a constituent in Kentucky’s 5th district. I tried to camp at Koomer Ridge Campground, Daniel Boone National Forest, Kentucky, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 52 of the 54 campsites the agency files at Koomer Ridge Campground, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 31 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Koomer Ridge Campground keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Koomer Ridge Campground. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Koomer Ridge Campground (Daniel Boone National Forest, Kentucky) via campanac.com
To Mitch McConnell

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Koomer Ridge Campground, Daniel Boone National Forest, Kentucky

Dear Mitch McConnell,

I’m a constituent in Kentucky. I tried to camp at Koomer Ridge Campground, Daniel Boone National Forest, Kentucky, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 52 of the 54 campsites the agency files at Koomer Ridge Campground, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 31 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Koomer Ridge Campground keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Koomer Ridge Campground. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Koomer Ridge Campground (Daniel Boone National Forest, Kentucky) via campanac.com
To Rand Paul

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Koomer Ridge Campground, Daniel Boone National Forest, Kentucky

Dear Rand Paul,

I’m a constituent in Kentucky. I tried to camp at Koomer Ridge Campground, Daniel Boone National Forest, Kentucky, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 52 of the 54 campsites the agency files at Koomer Ridge Campground, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 31 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Koomer Ridge Campground keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Koomer Ridge Campground. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Koomer Ridge Campground (Daniel Boone National Forest, Kentucky) via campanac.com
How we know this · 4
The figures in these drafts: Navy Ford (CVN-78) Class Aircraft Carrier Program: Background and Issues for Congress (CRS Report RS20643) · Updated December 4, 2025 · “The ship’s final procurement cost was $13,316.5 million (i.e., about $13.3 billion) in then-year dollars.”
The figures in these drafts: Salary Table 2026-GS, Incorporating the 1% General Schedule Increase, Effective January 2026 (U.S. Office of Personnel Management) · Effective January 2026 · “Grade 5, Step 1: $34,799 (annual rate, before locality pay).”
The figures in these drafts: Update to Civilian Position Full Fringe Benefit Cost Factor, Federal Pay Raise Assumptions, and Inflation Factors used in OMB Circular No. A-76 (OMB Memorandum M-08-13) · March 11, 2008 · “the civilian position full fringe benefit cost factor needs to be adjusted downward, from 36.45 percent to 36.25 percent”

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: recreation.gov is offering sites on 15 of the next 30 nights, which isn’t something a closed campground does.
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.
Nearest place of any size: Campton, KY, 5.1 mi NW. Straight line.