U.S. Forest Service · Gunnison National Forest · CO

Lodgepole (Taylor River Canyon near Gunnison, COLORADO)

ReservableOut of season, no booking; December 19 opens June 19.
Book on recreation.govWe make nothing when you book
Right now
OpenInside the published season, our reading; a database flag says not open
A night
$18From, per site
Sites
1513 on recreation.gov
Season
May 23Opens May 23. No closing date published.
40 ftLongest rig
8,940 ftElevation
472 ftWater · Taylor River
17.6 miSE of Crested Butte, CO
41%Tree cover
Opens May 23. No closing date published.Today

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 7 notices

In the agency’s own words

Lodgepole Campground is located 22 miles from Gunnison, COLORADO in the Taylor River Canyon. Visitors enjoy the area for its rafting, fishing and trail opportunities. Keep reading

Recreation

The Taylor River can be accessed from the campground, and offers a calm stretch for leisurely rafting and kayaking. Anglers cast for rainbow and brook trout. The Fossil Ridge Wilderness Area lies one mile south of the campground. The Summerville and South Lottis trailheads provide access to the scenic, natural area. A number of off-road trails are found in the surrounding area, including Doctor Park Trail, Taylor River Trail and Taylor Vista Trail.

Facilities

The campground offers single-family campsites, each equipped with a picnic table and campfire ring. Vault toilets and drinking water are provided.

Natural Features

The campground is situated in a dense stand of lodgepole pine trees, which provides shade and privacy between campsites. Summertime temperatures are warm during the day and cool at night. Contact Info For facility specific information, please call (928) 537-8888.

Nearby Attractions

Taylor Park Reservoir is located within 10 miles of the campground, offering boating, fishing and swimming. A boat ramp and boat rentals are available there as well.

What the agency tells you

Rule

Standard Single Family sites: Recreation Use Fee allows ONE camping unit ONLY.

Rule

Late Arrivals: campers are not considered a "no-show" until 24 hours after arrival date check in time. Our policy is that your site will not be released before that.

Rule

Extra Vehicles: Cannot be paid for in advance - upon arrival coordinate with the host for payment and where to park.

Everything else this campground posts · 4
Rule

FIRST COME FIRST SERVE sites must be booked in person. DO NOT call to determine availability, as they are only available on-site.

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Prevent the spread of tree-killing organisms by obtaining firewood at or near your destination and burning it on-site. For more information visit dontmovefirewood.org.

Rule

Click here for more information on the Grand Mesa, Uncompahgre and Gunnison National Forests

Rule

Opening and closing dates are weather permitting, please call 928-537-8888 for more information.

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
15 · 2 tent-only
Hookups
None
Longest rig
40 ft
Accessible sites
None listed
Pets
Allowed
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Vault Toilets
“…with a picnic table and campfire ring. Vault toilets and drinking water are provided. Natural Features…”
Drinking water
Yes
WATER (SEASONAL) on 14 of 16 campsite records
Boat ramp
Yes
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026

Around the campground

On the water
Reservoir, River
Biking
Boating
Fishing
Hiking
Horseback riding
Night sky · 110th darkest of 522 in CO
Bortle 2
Fall color · reported 13 days ago, 34 km away
Peak color
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026
Fall color: More Than Just Parks foliage tracker, joined to this campground by distance (34 km) · Oct 3, 2026

No reading yet, book on recreation.gov

recreation.gov lists 13 of the 15 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.

No availability snapshot inside the last 36 hours, so this page draws nothing rather than ageing a reading into fiction.

Booking windowOut of seasonOut of season, no booking. On December 19, 2026 at 10 AM ET, availability opens through June 19, 2027.recreation.govAdd to calendar (.ics)
A night$18plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$44DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Forest ServiceBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Full? Watch it.

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Sat, Jun 19 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 13

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night$18
Standard Nonelectric$18
Tent Only Nonelectric$18
These are next season’s rates, Jun 19, 2027 to Sep 12, 2027. The campground is between seasons now.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$26
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$44

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rate for this season, $18 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5

rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Oct 1, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

23 records · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 13 mapped sites
69 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least roomLoop LODG 014 30 ftLoop LODG 015 30 ftLoop LODG 013 44 ft

All 23 records

15 of 23 records located
Standard11Tent only2Type not stated2
SleepsTakes aUp to

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 15 of the 23 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.

LODG001standard nonelectric25 ft223 ft167 ft$18
LODG003standard nonelectric25 ft82 ft187 ft$18
LODG004standard nonelectric40 ft60 ft173 ft$18
LODG005standard nonelectric25 ft60 ft157 ft$18
LODG006standard nonelectric25 ft69 ft173 ft$18
LODG007standard nonelectric40 ft75 ft171 ft$18
LODG008standard nonelectric30 ft69 ft246 ft$18
LODG009standard nonelectric25 ft69 ft179 ft$18
LODG010tent only nonelectric77 ft261 ft$18
LODG011standard nonelectric30 ft77 ft266 ft$18
LODG013standard nonelectric25 ft44 ft217 ft$18
LODG014tent only nonelectric30 ft167 ft$18
LODG015standard nonelectric25 ft30 ft192 ft$18
MANAGEMENT002type not stated206 ft$18
MANAGEMENT012type not stated238 ft$18
MANAGEMENTXXXunnamed record40 ft$18
MANAGEMENTXXX10unnamed record$18
MANAGEMENTXXX4unnamed record$18
MANAGEMENTXXX5unnamed record$18
MANAGEMENTXXX6unnamed record$18
MANAGEMENTXXX7unnamed record$18
MANAGEMENTXXX8unnamed record$18
MANAGEMENTXXX9unnamed record$18

The agency files 8 more records here that aren’t sites for the night. It types every one of them MANAGEMENT rather than a campsite. They’re in the table above, marked for what they are, and none of them is counted as a site.

OpenStreetMap has no toilet mapped within 1 km of this campground, so no site here carries a toilet distance. That’s a gap in the map, not a finding about the campground.

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate38.76111, -106.66111
The phone970-642-0566
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

This Afternoon57°Sunny
Tonight29°Clear
Saturday61°Sunny
Saturday Night32°Mostly Clear

NWS forecast for Pitkin, CO

Typical weather

Typical May night 29°F, day 58°F.

Coldest night of the open season: typical May night 29°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

80°32°-20°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or moreOutside the published season

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: TAYLOR PARK, CO (USC00058184), 5 miles away and 239 ft higher

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it

What threatens this place

Roadless
Matchless34,068 acres · 3 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Crystal Creek68,549 acres · 4 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Boston Peak46,696 acres · 9 mi · inventoried roadless area

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Source: MTJP Threatened Lands map · Oct 16, 2026

Who answers for this land

Jeff Hurd, official portrait

Lodgepole (Taylor River Canyon near Gunnison, COLORADO) is in Colorado’s 3rd congressional district. Its representative, Jeff Hurd (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: Today falls inside the season the agency publishes, and it has posted nothing else. That reading is ours. The U.S. Forest Service’s own database, though, flags it not open with no reason or date; the flag is named under How we know all this.
Fall color: More Than Just Parks foliage tracker, joined to this campground by distance (34 km) · Oct 3, 2026
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.
Nearest place of any size: Pitkin, CO, 13 mi NW. Straight line.