2Heads up2 fires, nearest 37 mi
Wildfire
Grant 257 fire · 37 mi away · 1 acres · updated Oct 16, 2026
Wildfire
Jefferson 315 fire · 45 mi away · 176 acres · updated Oct 16, 2026
Reservable, and full this SaturdayEvery one of the 136 sites on offer is taken this Saturday, and the record lists no site held back for a walk-up. read 16:13 UTC

We don’t think it should be. Every campground should hold some sites for whoever drives up.Tell your representative →

Right now
Taking bookingsSites offered on 30 of the next 30 nights read 16:13 UTC
A night
$28–$32Across the site types the agency prices
Sites
140All of them booked ahead
100 ftLongest rig
270 ftElevation
720 ftWater · Murray Lake
0.5 miSW of Maumelle, AR
66%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 6 notices

In the agency’s own words

Maumelle Park Map Customer Comment Card Special Event Application HERE All Sites in the UAMS Medical Loop MUST have Approval from a Park Ranger and a Physician Prior to Making Reservations. Keep reading

Recreation

The Nuttall Trail runs through the park, offering visitors hiking opportunities. Anglers will find a selection of crappie, bream, hybrid bass, white bass and more. A boat ramp is provided for campers to enjoy the river.

Facilities

Maumelle Campground offers 128 spacious campsites with electric hookups, along with eight large group picnic shelters. Amenities include a dock, hot showers, a boat ramp and playground.

Natural Features

The campground is set on the McClellan-Kerr Arkansas River Navigation System, a series of navigation pools used to help ships navigate upstream toward Oklahoma. The Arkansas River is one of the Mississippi's largest tributaries, flowing 1,450 miles from the Rocky Mountains of Colorado, through to Kansas, Oklahoma and Arkansas. Wintering eagles can be seen in large numbers along the Arkansas River. Most of these eagles migrate from Canada and the U.S. Great Lakes region.

Nearby Attractions

The Pinnacle Mountain State Park is just two miles from the campground. The 13 mountain trails here range from easy to strenuous, and each one promises captivating scenery. They also have several new mountain biking trails. See Pinnacle Mountain State Park for more information. Two Rivers Park is a city park that is also two miles form the campground. This park hase numerous hiking and biking trails, as well as, a bridge that connect the trails to the vast Arkansas River Trail. See Two Rivers Park and Arkansas River Trail Charges & Cancellations Late Cancellations or Cancellations within the Cut-off Window Individual Campsites: A customer who cancels a reservation the day before or on the day of arrival will pay a $10.00 service fee AND forfeit the first night's use fee (not to exceed the total paid for the original reservation). Cancellations for a one-night reservation will forfeit the entire amount paid and will not be subject to an additional service fee. Once a reservation date has begun, customers cannot change a reservation using the online system or through the Call Center For specific information about fees and cancellations/Changes please visit: Rules and Regulations

What the agency tells you

Rule

Sites listed under the "Medical" loop are reserved for UAMS convalescing patients. Reservations MUST be approved by your physician and prearranged with Park Rangers at 501-340-1004 or 1003. or email at CESWL-OP-KR-REC@usace.army.mil. Reservations without preapproval will be cancelled.

Rule

NOTICE: Camping at one or more campsites at any one water resource project for a period longer than 14 days during any 30-consecutive-day period is prohibited without the written permission of the District Commander. CFR 327.7 (b)

Rule

NOTICE: Group shelters are open for reservations, Please follow all CDC/State guidelines for social distancing, sanitizing, and face covering for COVID-19.   NOTE: A special event application is required for any event including, but not limited to one or more of the following:  1. An entry, spectator, or participating fee is charged 2. If you have an anticipated attendance of 100 or more persons  3. An extraordinary impact on project resources is expected  4. Corps personnel provide additional patrols, surveillance, refuse collection, and/or crowd control 5. Event involves the use of concession tents and/or vendors  6. Event involves Bounce Houses/Bump N Jump Inflatables  7. Fishing Tournament 8. Music Festivals: In addition to the special event application, you may be asked to submit the following information before approval can be granted: (1) proof of liability insurance; (2) event details & description; (3) schedule of events; (4) parking plans.  PROHIBITED: Please note that livestock, exotic animals, explosives, loaded projectile firing devices, pinatas, water balloons, and commercial activities are prohibited on project lands unless written permission has been received from the District Commander. If commercial tents are permitted for your special event, please note that driving tent stakes into concrete or asphalt on project lands is prohibited. For additional information regarding Special Event Applications & Permit Fees, please contact the Toad Suck site Office at 501-340-1004 or 1003. or email at CESWL-OP-KR-REC@usace.army.mil

Everything else this campground posts · 3
Rule

High water levels or storm damage may cause park closures

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Protect your forests from tree-killing pests by buying your firewood locally and burning it on-site. Visit Dontmovefirewood.org for further information.

Rule

• For Aquatic Facilities (Lake, Reservoir, or River Recreation): CLEAN, DRAIN, DRY boats and any other recreational equipment that contacts water. Dispose of unwanted bait, worms, fish parts, or other organisms into the trash and not into the environment. For more information visit https://www.invasivespeciesinfo.gov/rec.     • For Terrestrial Facilities (Trailheads or Campsites): STOP THE SPREAD OF INVASIVE SPECIES. Remove plants, seeds, animals, and mud from boots, gear, pets, and vehicles. Clean your gear before entering and leaving the recreation site. Stay on designated roads and trails, and follow local guidelines for firewood. For more information visit https://www.invasivespeciesinfo.gov/rec .    • For Combined Aquatic and Terrestrial Facilities (Trailheads or Campsites with Lake, Reservoir, or River Recreation): STOP THE SPREAD OF INVASIVE SPECIES. Remove plants, seeds, animals, and mud from boots, gear, pets, and vehicles. Clean your gear before entering and leaving the recreation site. Stay on designated roads and trails, and follow local guidelines for firewood. CLEAN, DRAIN, DRY boats and any other recreational equipment that contacts water. Dispose of unwanted bait, worms, fish parts, or other organisms into the trash and not into the environment. For more information visit https://www.invasivespeciesinfo.gov/rec.

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
140
Hookups
135 electric, 130 water
Longest rig
100 ft
Paved pads
All
Accessible sites
1
Pets
Allowed at 130 of 140 sites
Campfires
129 of 138 sites
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Showers
Yes, the record doesn’t say what kind
“Amenities include a dock, hot showers, a boat ramp and playground.”
Dump station
Yes
recreation.gov lists “Dump Station”
Boat ramp
Yes
Playground
Yes
Stay limit
28 nights
recreation.gov facility rule maxStay
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026
Water, toilets and showers: read from the agency description, shown above · Sep 12, 2026

Around the campground

On the water
Lake, River
Boating
Fishing
Hiking
Night sky · 158th darkest of 158 in AR
Bortle 5
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026

Full this Saturdayread 16:13 UTC

How full the weekend is nationally.

3 campgrounds have sites open within 30 miles, read 16:07 UTC. See them

OpenBooked

Every one of the 136 sites on offer is taken this Saturday. 49 are free on Wed, Oct 21. read 16:13 UTC Why the weekend fills and the week doesn’t

Booking window6 months outBookable now through April 16, 2027. Today at 10 AM ET, availability opens through April 17, 2027.recreation.gov
Max stay28 nightsthe facility record
A night$28–$32plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$64–$72DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservation; this campground publishes its own terms toorecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Army Corps of EngineersBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Watch this campground

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Where there’s room this weekendBook on recreation.gov ↗

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 17

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Army Corps of Engineers
A night, per site$28–$32
Standard Electric$28
D-Standard Electric$30
E-Standard Electric$30
Standard Electric$30
Standard Electric$32
Group area, a night$75
Rates for the season the campground is in now, Jan 1, 2026 to Dec 31, 2026.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$36–$40
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$64–$72

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $28–$32 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

“Late Cancellations or Cancellations within the Cut-off Window Individual Campsites: A customer who cancels a reservation the day before or on the day of arrival will pay a $10.00 service fee AND forfeit the first night's use fee (not to exceed the total paid for the original reservation).” · this campground’s own terms

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 6
Open within 30 miles this weekend · 3

Sites the agency is offering this Friday and Saturday that nobody has taken, nearest first. read 16:07 UTC

  • Toad SuckArkansas River - Toad Suck Ferry Pool · 18 mi · 7 of 104 site-nights open
  • Willow BeachArkansas River - Terry Lock and Dam · 19 mi · 5 of 46 site-nights open
  • Cherokee (Arkansas River)Arkansas River - Rockefeller Lake · 29 mi · 30 of 66 site-nights open

recreation.gov availability, read 16:13 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

148 records · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 143 mapped sites
68 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least roomD03 21 ftD04 21 ftC01 23 ft

All 148 records

148 of 148 records located
RV / electric135Type not stated5Day use8
SleepsTakes aUp to

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 139 of the 148 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.

AA01standard electric69 ft50 amp70 ft336 ft$28–$32
AA02standard electric63 ft50 amp70 ft324 ft$28–$32
AA03standard electric49 ft50 amp88 ft320 ft$28–$32
AA04standard electric60 ft50 amp88 ft305 ft$28–$32
AA05standard electric70 ft50 amp102 ft290 ft$28–$32
AA06standard electric64 ft50 amp91 ft269 ft$28–$32
AA07standard electric62 ft50 amp74 ft281 ft$28–$32
AA08standard electric80 ft50 amp69 ft290 ft$28–$32
AA09standard electric57 ft50 amp84 ft217 ft$28–$32
AA10standard electric60 ft50 amp95 ft103 ft$28–$32
AA11standard electric65 ft50 amp95 ft148 ft$28–$32
AA12standard electric56 ft50 amp112 ft123 ft$28–$32
AA13standard electric55 ft50 amp88 ft95 ft$28–$32
AA14standard electric70 ft50 amp73 ft77 ft$28–$32
AA15standard electric60 ft50 amp49 ft75 ft$28–$32
AA16standard electric50 ft50 amp62 ft68 ft$28–$32
AA17standard electric100 ft50 amp62 ft64 ft$28–$32
AA18standard electric72 ft50 amp79 ft64 ft$28–$32
AA19standard electric62 ft50 amp73 ft324 ft$28–$32
AA20standard electric72 ft50 amp73 ft361 ft$28–$32
BB01standard electric57 ft50 amp75 ft167 ft$28–$32
BB02standard electric60 ft50 amp92 ft188 ft$28–$32
BB03standard electric67 ft50 amp86 ft200 ft$28–$32
BB04standard electric50 ft50 amp87 ft207 ft$28–$32
BB05standard electric65 ft50 amp81 ft200 ft$28–$32
BB06standard electric67 ft50 amp67 ft197 ft$28–$32
BB07standard electric67 ft30 amp67 ft200 ft$28–$32
BB08standard electric63 ft30 amp67 ft198 ft$28–$32
BB09standard electric55 ft30 amp72 ft196 ft$28–$32
BB10standard electric66 ft30 amp82 ft234 ft$28–$32
BB11standard electric75 ft30 amp57 ft399 ft$28–$32
BB12standard electric75 ft30 amp46 ft446 ft$28–$32
BB13standard electric75 ft30 amp46 ft481 ft$28–$32
BB14standard electric75 ft30 amp60 ft546 ft$28–$32
BB15standard electric62 ft30 amp60 ft576 ft$28–$32
BB16standard electric70 ft30 amp50 ft345 ft$28–$32
BB17standard electric70 ft30 amp48 ft312 ft$28–$32
BB18standard electric70 ft30 amp48 ft277 ft$28–$32
BB19standard electric65 ft30 amp68 ft238 ft$28–$32
BB20standard electric75 ft30 amp69 ft104 ft$28–$32
BB21standard electric60 ft30 amp72 ft163 ft$28–$32
BB22standard electric60 ft30 amp65 ft96 ft$28–$32
BB23standard electric60 ft30 amp66 ft158 ft$28–$32
BB24standard electric70 ft30 amp65 ft90 ft$28–$32
BB25standard electric75 ft30 amp66 ft154 ft$28–$32
BB26standard electric70 ft30 amp77 ft85 ft$28–$32
BB27standard electric60 ft30 amp72 ft148 ft$28–$32
BB28standard electric75 ft30 amp72 ft91 ft$28–$32
BB29standard electric75 ft30 amp89 ft108 ft$28–$32
BB30standard electric65 ft50 amp92 ft108 ft$28–$32
BB31standard electric70 ft50 amp85 ft116 ft$28–$32
BB32standard electric67 ft50 amp87 ft126 ft$28–$32
BB33standard electric50 ft50 amp83 ft121 ft$28–$32
BB34standard electric70 ft50 amp83 ft110 ft$28–$32
BB35standard electric60 ft50 amp83 ft96 ft$28–$32
BB36standard electric55 ft50 amp56 ft93 ft$28–$32
BB37standard electric45 ft50 amp56 ft64 ft$28–$32
CC01standard electric20 ft50 amp23 ft484 ft$28–$32
CC02standard electric20 ft50 amp23 ft496 ft$28–$32
CC03standard electric65 ft50 amp31 ft501 ft$28–$32
CC04standard electric75 ft50 amp31 ft511 ft$28–$32
CC05standard electric67 ft50 amp110 ft535 ft$28–$32
CC06standard electric85 ft50 amp92 ft551 ft$28–$32
CC07standard electric70 ft50 amp26 ft619 ft$28–$32
CC08standard electric90 ft50 amp26 ft639 ft$28–$32
CC09type not stated90 ft50 amp672 ft$30
CC10standard electric70 ft50 amp67 ft650 ft$28–$32
CC11standard electric70 ft50 amp67 ft703 ft$28–$32
DD01standard electric57 ft50 amp26 ft289 ft$28–$32
DD02standard electric50 ft50 amp26 ft310 ft$28–$32
DD03standard electric60 ft50 amp21 ft298 ft$28–$32
DD04standard electric60 ft50 amp21 ft306 ft$28–$32
DD05standard electric65 ft50 amp37 ft329 ft$28–$32
DD06standard electric55 ft50 amp32 ft313 ft$28–$32
DD07standard electric45 ft50 amp32 ft339 ft$28–$32
DD08standard electric70 ft50 amp96 ft313 ft$28–$32
DD09standard electric85 ft50 amp49 ft339 ft$28–$32
DD10standard electric55 ft50 amp32 ft366 ft$28–$32
DD11standard electric58 ft50 amp32 ft389 ft$28–$32
DD12standard electric54 ft50 amp93 ft365 ft$28–$32
EE01standard electric80 ft50 ampyes106 ft373 ft$28–$32
EE02standard electric70 ft50 amp96 ft477 ft$28–$32
EE03standard electric70 ft50 amp66 ft568 ft$28–$32
EE04standard electric70 ft50 amp66 ft617 ft$28–$32
EE05type not stated75 ft50 amp676 ft$30
EE06type not stated65 ft50 amp747 ft$30
EE07standard electric65 ft50 amp83 ft820 ft$28–$32
EE08standard electric70 ft50 amp83 ft888 ft$28–$32
EE09standard electric75 ft50 amp76 ft944 ft$28–$32
EE10standard electric70 ft50 amp76 ft956 ft$28–$32
EE11standard electric70 ft50 amp81 ft915 ft$28–$32
EE12standard electric60 ft50 amp85 ft843 ft$28–$32
EE13standard electric67 ft50 amp77 ft762 ft$28–$32
EE14standard electric80 ft50 amp77 ft686 ft$28–$32
EE15type not stated73 ft50 amp604 ft$30
EE16rv electric75 ft50 amp165 ft544 ft
EE17standard electric61 ft50 amp58 ft388 ft$28–$32
EE18standard electric65 ft50 amp51 ft344 ft$28–$32
EE19standard electric76 ft50 amp51 ft311 ft$28–$32
EE20standard electric73 ft50 amp75 ft386 ft$28–$32
EE21type not stated71 ft50 amp332 ft$30
EE22standard electric80 ft50 amp75 ft412 ft$28–$32
EE23standard electric75 ft50 amp78 ft358 ft$28–$32
EE24standard electric82 ft50 amp73 ft456 ft$28–$32
EE25standard electric80 ft50 amp73 ft427 ft$28–$32
EE26standard electric74 ft50 amp67 ft540 ft$28–$32
EE27standard electric67 ft50 amp71 ft473 ft$28–$32
EE28standard electric70 ft50 amp67 ft536 ft$28–$32
EE29standard electric88 ft50 amp76 ft458 ft$28–$32
EE30standard electric68 ft50 amp76 ft527 ft$28–$32
EE31standard electric80 ft50 amp65 ft440 ft$28–$32
EE32standard electric70 ft50 amp65 ft409 ft$28–$32
FF01standard electric70 ft50 amp65 ft90 ft$28–$32
FF02standard electric66 ft50 amp68 ft121 ft$28–$32
FF03standard electric70 ft30 amp59 ft263 ft$28–$32
FF04standard electric70 ft30 amp59 ft321 ft$28–$32
FF05standard electric66 ft50 amp56 ft403 ft$28–$32
FF06standard electric64 ft30 amp56 ft427 ft$28–$32
FF07standard electric60 ft30 amp72 ft473 ft$28–$32
FF08standard electric60 ft30 amp62 ft431 ft$28–$32
FF09standard electric54 ft30 amp69 ft509 ft$28–$32
FF10standard electric61 ft30 amp62 ft468 ft$28–$32
FF11standard electric50 ft30 amp88 ft555 ft$28–$32
FF12standard electric64 ft30 amp59 ft515 ft$28–$32
FF13standard electric61 ft30 amp59 ft456 ft$28–$32
FF14standard electric64 ft30 amp63 ft397 ft$28–$32
FF15standard electric60 ft30 amp63 ft355 ft$28–$32
FF16standard electric60 ft50 amp81 ft309 ft$28–$32
FF17standard electric70 ft30 amp68 ft185 ft$28–$32
FF18standard electric70 ft30 amp65 ft152 ft$28–$32
MAUMGS1day use20 ft15 ampyes171 ft148 ft$75
MAUMGS2day use20 ft15 ampyes353 ft670 ft$75
MAUMGS3day use20 ft15 ampyes236 ft1,042 ft$75
MAUMGS4day use20 ft15 ampyes162 ft500 ft$75
MAUMGS5day use20 ft15 ampyes139 ft214 ft$75
MAUMGS6day use20 ft15 ampyes265 ft1,216 ft$75
MAUMGS7day use20 ft15 ampyes236 ft964 ft$75
MAUMGS8day use20 ft15 ampyes626 ft1,771 ft$75
Medical1standard electric44 ft67 ft175 ft$28–$32
Medical10standard electric44 ft43 ft224 ft$28–$32
Medical2standard electric44 ft50 ft125 ft$28–$32
Medical3standard electric44 ft50 ft90 ft$28–$32
Medical4standard electric44 ft49 ft123 ft$28–$32
Medical5standard electric44 ft44 ft172 ft$28–$32
Medical6standard electric44 ft44 ft178 ft$28–$32
Medical7standard electric44 ft43 ft180 ft$28–$32
Medical8standard electric44 ft43 ft187 ft$28–$32
Medical9standard electric44 ft43 ft215 ft$28–$32

The agency files 8 more records here that aren’t sites for the night. It files them as day use. They’re in the table above, marked for what they are, and none of them is counted as a site.

OpenStreetMap has no toilet mapped within 1 km of this campground, so no site here carries a toilet distance. That’s a gap in the map, not a finding about the campground.

25 of 148 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate34.82944, -92.43194
The phone501-868-9477
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

Getting there

From Little Rock, Arkansas, travel west on SR-10. Turn north on Pinnacle Valley Road and follow signs into campground. 9009 Pinnacle Valley Road Little Rock, AR 72223

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Tonight45°Mostly Clear
Saturday67°Sunny
Saturday Night41°Clear
Sunday69°Sunny

NWS forecast for Maumelle, AR

Typical weather

Typical October night 53°F, day 73°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical January night 32°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

100°32°20°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: LITTLE ROCK, AR (USW00003952), 10 miles away and 298 ft higher

The land, and who answers for it

who answers for it · a letter you can send

Who answers for this land

J. French Hill, official portrait

Maumelle is in Arkansas’s 2nd congressional district. Its representative, J. French Hill (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

Who can change it · 3
Write to somebody who can change it

Two offices, two different asks. The draft to the agency asks it to set aside a published share of the sites here for whoever drives up. The draft to Congress asks why that share is zero and presses for a published minimum at the campgrounds it funds.

Read the draft, or change the wording

For the camper who turned up, or tried to book, and couldn’t get in. Every draft is written from this campground’s own record (its agency, its unit, its site count and its own weekend) and the buttons above copy whichever wording is selected here.

To J. French Hill

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Maumelle, Arkansas

Dear J. French Hill,

I’m a constituent in Arkansas’s 2nd district. I tried to camp at Maumelle, Arkansas, and couldn’t.

All 140 sites at Maumelle are reservable, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 136 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Maumelle keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Maumelle. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Maumelle (Arkansas) via campanac.com
To John Boozman

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Maumelle, Arkansas

Dear John Boozman,

I’m a constituent in Arkansas. I tried to camp at Maumelle, Arkansas, and couldn’t.

All 140 sites at Maumelle are reservable, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 136 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Maumelle keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Maumelle. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Maumelle (Arkansas) via campanac.com
To Tom Cotton

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Maumelle, Arkansas

Dear Tom Cotton,

I’m a constituent in Arkansas. I tried to camp at Maumelle, Arkansas, and couldn’t.

All 140 sites at Maumelle are reservable, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 136 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Maumelle keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Maumelle. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Maumelle (Arkansas) via campanac.com
How we know this · 4
The figures in these drafts: Navy Ford (CVN-78) Class Aircraft Carrier Program: Background and Issues for Congress (CRS Report RS20643) · Updated December 4, 2025 · “The ship’s final procurement cost was $13,316.5 million (i.e., about $13.3 billion) in then-year dollars.”
The figures in these drafts: Salary Table 2026-GS, Incorporating the 1% General Schedule Increase, Effective January 2026 (U.S. Office of Personnel Management) · Effective January 2026 · “Grade 5, Step 1: $34,799 (annual rate, before locality pay).”
The figures in these drafts: Update to Civilian Position Full Fringe Benefit Cost Factor, Federal Pay Raise Assumptions, and Inflation Factors used in OMB Circular No. A-76 (OMB Memorandum M-08-13) · March 11, 2008 · “the civilian position full fringe benefit cost factor needs to be adjusted downward, from 36.45 percent to 36.25 percent”

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: recreation.gov is offering sites on 30 of the next 30 nights, which isn’t something a closed campground does.
Cell signal: the Army Corps’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.