2Heads up2 fires, nearest 2 mi
Wildfire
Lake fire · 2.3 mi away · 105 acres · 50% contained · updated Oct 16, 2026
Wildfire
South White Wolf fire · 26 mi away · 128 acres · 75% contained · updated Oct 16, 2026
ReservableBookable through October 31; an off-peak season follows November 1 to February 28.
Book on recreation.govWe make nothing when you book
Right now
Taking bookingsSites offered on 23 of the next 30 nights read 16:22 UTC
A night
$16–$26Across the site types the agency prices
Sites
4241 on recreation.gov
64 ftLongest rig
480 ftElevation
354 ftWater · an unnamed pond
16.7 miNW of Idabel, OK
0%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 2 notices

In the agency’s own words

Pine Creek Cove is located on the western shore of Pine Creek Lake near the main dam. Visitors enjoy boating, fishing, swimming and birding. Keep reading

Recreation

The beach attracts swimmers, sunbathers and sandcastle builders. Boating and picnicking are also popular. The park's location near the dam is convenient for reaching prime fishing spots.

Facilities

Pine Creek Cove's 41 campsites have electric and water hookups. A group camping shelter with electric hookups is also available. Additional amenities include flush toilets, showers, a dump station and boat ramp.

Natural Features

Pine Creek Lake, fed by the Little River, boasts 3,750 acres with 74 miles of shoreline. The lake is in southeastern Oklahoma at the edge of the Ouachita Mountains.

Nearby Attractions

Beavers Bend and Raymond Gary State Parks are within driving distance. Also, the historic ruins of Fort Towson, a confederate command post that was built in 1824, are interesting as well.

What the agency tells you

Rule

Visitors are expected to be aware of general park rules

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Protect your forests from tree-killing pests by buying your firewood locally and burning it on-site. Visit Dontmovefirewood.org for further information.

Tents and rigs

Sites
42 · 1 group
Hookups
40 electric, 40 water, 1 sewer
Longest rig
64 ft
Paved pads
23 of 42
Accessible sites
None listed
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Flush Toilets
“…available. Additional amenities include flush toilets, showers, a dump station and boat ramp. Natural…”
Showers
Yes, the record doesn’t say what kind
“Additional amenities include flush toilets, showers, a dump station and boat ramp.”
Dump station
Yes
Boat ramp
Yes
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026
Water, toilets and showers: read from the agency description, shown above · Sep 12, 2026

Around the campground

On the water
Lake, River, Creek, Beach
Boating
Fishing
Picnicking
Swimming
Water access
Night sky · 15th darkest of 106 in OK
Bortle 4
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026

48 of 80 site-nights open this Friday and Saturdayread 16:22 UTC

recreation.gov lists 41 of the 42 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.

OpenBookedClosed

Booking windowThrough October 31Bookable now through October 31, 2026, the end of the peak season. The off-peak season that follows runs November 1, 2026 through February 28, 2027; recreation.gov releases it on its own schedule, so check there before counting on those nights.recreation.gov
Max stay14 nightsthe facility record
A night$16–$26plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$40–$60DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Army Corps of EngineersBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Full? Watch it.

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Sun, Nov 1 2026 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 16

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Army Corps of Engineers
A night, per site$16–$26
Standard Nonelectric$16
Standard Electric$20
Standard Electric$24
Standard Electric$26
Group area, a night$100
Rates for the season the campground is in now, Mar 1, 2026 to Oct 31, 2026.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$24–$34
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$40–$60

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $16–$26 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5

recreation.gov availability, read 16:22 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

42 sites · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 41 mapped sites
75 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least roomLoop LROA L03 42 ftLoop LROA L04 42 ftLoop MROA M10 49 ft

All 42 sites

42 of 42 sites located
Standard1RV / electric39Group1Type not stated1
SleepsTakes aUp to

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 41 of the 42 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.

LROAL01standard electric15 amp109 ft175 ft$20–$26
LROAL02standard nonelectric142 ft170 ft$16
LROAL03standard electric15 amp42 ft158 ft$20–$26
LROAL04standard electric15 amp42 ft142 ft$20–$26
LROAL05standard electric15 amp69 ft143 ft$20–$26
LROAL06standard electric15 amp72 ft124 ft$20–$26
LROAL07standard electric15 amp111 ft186 ft$20–$26
LROAL08standard electric15 amp111 ft241 ft$20–$26
LROAL09standard electric15 amp57 ft282 ft$20–$26
LROAL10standard electric15 amp57 ft241 ft$20–$26
LROAL11standard electric15 amp98 ft252 ft$20–$26
MROAM01type not stated50 amp442 ft
MROAM02standard electric64 ft50 amp95 ft159 ft$20–$26
MROAM03standard electric50 amp95 ft208 ft$20–$26
MROAM04standard electric50 amp113 ft315 ft$20–$26
MROAM05standard electric15 amp148 ft176 ft$20–$26
MROAM06standard electric15 amp75 ft115 ft$20–$26
MROAM07standard electric15 amp75 ft92 ft$20–$26
MROAM08standard electric15 amp58 ft84 ft$20–$26
MROAM09standard electric15 amp58 ft92 ft$20–$26
MROAM10standard electric15 amp48 ft102 ft$20–$26
MROAM11standard electric15 amp48 ft93 ft$20–$26
MROAM12standard electric15 amp58 ft118 ft$20–$26
NROAN01standard electric15 amp49 ft262 ft$20–$26
NROAN02standard electric15 amp49 ft280 ft$20–$26
NROAN03standard electric15 amp82 ft321 ft$20–$26
NROAN04standard electric15 amp82 ft346 ft$20–$26
NROAN05standard electric15 amp102 ft409 ft$20–$26
NROAN06standard electric15 amp103 ft429 ft$20–$26
NROAN07standard electric15 amp82 ft456 ft$20–$26
NROAN08standard electric15 amp82 ft468 ft$20–$26
OROAF65group standard electric15 amp593 ft217 ft$100
OROAO01standard electric50 amp130 ft115 ft$20–$26
OROAO02standard electric50 amp91 ft172 ft$20–$26
OROAO03standard electric50 amp91 ft181 ft$20–$26
OROAO04standard electric50 amp65 ft137 ft$20–$26
OROAO05standard electric50 amp65 ft112 ft$20–$26
OROAO06standard electric50 amp68 ft117 ft$20–$26
OROAO07standard electric50 amp74 ft131 ft$20–$26
OROAO08standard electric50 amp72 ft136 ft$20–$26
OROAO09standard electric50 amp72 ft118 ft$20–$26
OROAO10standard electric50 amp100 ft133 ft$20–$26

OpenStreetMap has no toilet mapped within 1 km of this campground, so no site here carries a toilet distance. That’s a gap in the map, not a finding about the campground.

25 of 42 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate34.10877, -95.09008
The phone580-933-4215
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

Getting there

From Valliant, OK, travel Pine Creek Road 7 miles north to the access road. Follow signs into the campground.

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Tonight43°Mostly Clear
Saturday68°Sunny
Saturday Night41°Clear
Sunday70°Sunny

NWS forecast for Wright City, OK

Typical weather

Typical October night 49°F, day 77°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical January night 29°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

100°32°20°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Augusts are colder than the August line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: IDABEL, OK (USC00344451), 19 miles away and 115 ft lower

The land, and who answers for it

who answers for it

Who answers for this land

Josh Brecheen, official portrait

Pine Creek Cove is in Oklahoma’s 2nd congressional district. Its representative, Josh Brecheen (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: recreation.gov is offering sites on 23 of the next 30 nights, which isn’t something a closed campground does.
Cell signal: the Army Corps’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.
Nearest place of any size: Wright City, OK, 5 mi WNW. Straight line.