U.S. Forest Service · Tonto National Forest · AZ

Ponderosa (AZ)

Reservable, and full this SaturdayEvery one of the 36 sites on offer is taken this Saturday, and the record lists no site held back for a walk-up. read 16:37 UTC

We don’t think it should be. Every campground should hold some sites for whoever drives up.Tell your representative →

Right now
Taking bookingsSites offered on 17 of the next 17 nights read 16:37 UTC
A night
$22From, per site
Sites
5251 on recreation.gov
130 ftLongest rig
5,670 ftElevation
1.2 miWater · an unnamed pond
3 miNE of Star Valley, AZ
40%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 9 notices

In the agency’s own words

Named for the towering pines under which it sits, Ponderosa Campground is tucked in the rolling forests of northern Arizona. As one of the largest forest in the country, the Tonto National Forest is one of the most-visited urban forests in the United States, boasting about 5.8 million visitors annually. Its boundaries are Phoenix to the south, the Mogollon Rim to the north and the San Carlos and Fort Apache Indian reservations to the east. While this campground did undergo a timber sale a few years ago it still has many ponderosa trees that will be stronger and healthier for future generations to enjoy. Keep reading

Recreation

Take advantage of the area's hiking/biking trails and lakes or simply relaxing at the campsite. Scenic driving and outdoor recreation abound in the surrounding Tonto National Forest. A series of lakes called the Rim Country Lakes are about a 15 minute drive east. Woods Canyon Lake is one of the most popular recreational lakes in the state and offers options for boating.

Facilities

The facility provides 48 single campsites and two group sites that can accommodate up to 25 people guests each. The campsites are clean, flat and spacious with a good amount of shade from pine trees. In addition, first-come, first-serve sites are available with payment completed using the on-site fee machine. No cash is accepted. Check-In is 2:00 pm Check-Out is 11:00 am Natural Features The ponderosa pine trees make this a memorable campground. Larger ponderosas release a vanilla scent into the air and have a relatively open understory, making the area perfect for camping. Mixed into the understory are junipers, oaks and manzanita shrubs. The campground sits on the border of the Mogollon Rim, pronounced by locals as "muggy-own," a 200-mile-long cliff in northern Arizona that ranges between 5,000 and 7,000 feet in elevation. The unique landscape was created by extreme erosion and faulting that has sculpted spectacular canyons and buttes. The rim serves as the geographical dividing line between the cool high country above and the hot, dry desert below. Contact Info For facility specific information, please call (928) 474-7900.

Nearby Attractions

The nearby town of Payson, Arizona, offers restaurants, shopping and other conveniences.

What the agency tells you

Rule

Extra (second) vehicle charge of $8 per night is required. An RV towing a car counts as one vehicle and a vehicle pulling a trailer counts as one vehicle. Fee can be bundled with online reservation or purchased on-site at fee machine. Maximum of 2 vehicles per campsite.

Rule

There are no electricity, water or sewer site hookups.

Rule

First-come, first-served sites are available. Payment is done with onsite fee machine.

Everything else this campground posts · 6
Rule

No firewood sales available at campground. Plan to purchase ahead of time.

Rule

No Dump or Fill Station Services.

Rule

For First-Come, First-Served sites, you must physically arrive at the campground to see if the campsite is available. There is no guarantee this site will be available to purchase upon your arrival.

Rule

Check in time is 2:00pm and check out time is 11:00am. Quiet Hours are from 10:00pm to 6:00am.

Rule

Fireworks are always prohibited on National Forest Land.

Rule

Maximum stay limit is 14 days within 30 consecutive days on the Tonto National Forest including dispersed sites.

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
52 · 2 group
Hookups
None
Longest rig
130 ft
Paved pads
All
Accessible sites
1
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Stay limit
14 nights
recreation.gov facility rule maxStay
Source: recreation.gov facility record · Sep 9, 2026

Around the campground

On the water
Lake
Fish Hatchery
Fishing
Hiking
Horseback riding
Night sky · 127th darkest of 262 in AZ
Bortle 3
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026

Full this Saturdayread 16:37 UTC

How full the weekend is nationally.

OpenBooked

Every one of the 36 sites on offer is taken this Friday and Saturday. 35 are free on Wed, Oct 21. read 16:37 UTC Why the weekend fills and the week doesn’t

Booking windowThrough November 1Bookable now through November 1, 2026, the end of this reservable season, and again for April 15, 2027 through April 16, 2027. Tomorrow at 10 AM ET, availability opens through April 17, 2027.recreation.gov
Max stay14 nights2-night minimum on weekendsthe facility record
A night$22plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$52DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Forest ServiceBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Watch this campground

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Thu, Apr 15 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov ↗

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 13

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night$22
Standard Nonelectric$22
Group area, a night$100
Rates for the season the campground is in now, Apr 15, 2026 to Nov 1, 2026.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$30
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$52

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rate for this season, $22 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5

recreation.gov availability, read 16:37 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

52 sites · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 47 mapped sites
111 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least roomLoop ALOO A-21 51 ftLoop ALOO A-22 51 ftLoop ALOO A-06 52 ft

All 52 sites

48 of 52 sites located
Standard45Group2Type not stated1
SleepsTakes aUp to

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 51 of the 52 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.

ALOOA-03standard nonelectric40 ft94 ft1.2 mi$22
ALOOA-04standard nonelectric70 ft94 ft1.2 mi$22
ALOOA-05standard nonelectric70 ft158 ft1.2 mi$22
ALOOA-06standard nonelectric37 ft52 ft1.2 mi$22
ALOOA-07standard nonelectric100 ft91 ft1.2 mi$22
ALOOA-08standard nonelectric30 ftyes214 ft1.1 mi$22
ALOOA-09standard nonelectric35 ft170 ft1.1 mi$22
ALOOA-10standard nonelectric40 ft68 ft1.0 mi$22
ALOOA-11standard nonelectric45 ft68 ft1.0 mi$22
ALOOA-14standard nonelectric42 ft156 ft1.1 mi$22
ALOOA-16standard nonelectric40 ft156 ft1.1 mi$22
ALOOA-18standard nonelectric130 ft104 ft1.1 mi$22
ALOOA-19standard nonelectric38 ft104 ft1.1 mi$22
ALOOA-20standard nonelectric35 ft98 ft1.2 mi$22
ALOOA-21standard nonelectric35 ft51 ft1.2 mi$22
ALOOA-22standard nonelectric20 ft51 ft1.2 mi$22
ALOOA-23standard nonelectric37 ft111 ft1.2 mi$22
ALOOA12standard nonelectric65 ft$22
ALOOA13standard nonelectric25 ft$22
ALOOA15standard nonelectric35 ft$22
ALOOA17standard nonelectric25 ft$22
BLOOB-01standard nonelectric45 ft110 ft1.2 mi$22
BLOOB-02standard nonelectric45 ft110 ft1.2 mi$22
BLOOB-03standard nonelectric25 ft81 ft1.2 mi$22
BLOOB-04standard nonelectric35 ft96 ft1.1 mi$22
BLOOB-05standard nonelectric30 ft96 ft1.1 mi$22
BLOOB-06standard nonelectric35 ft52 ft1.2 mi$22
BLOOB-07standard nonelectric35 ft113 ft1.2 mi$22
CLOOC-01standard nonelectric35 ft122 ft1.2 mi$22
CLOOC-02standard nonelectric25 ft122 ft1.2 mi$22
CLOOC-03standard nonelectric35 ft122 ft1.2 mi$22
CLOOC-04standard nonelectric35 ft110 ft1.2 mi$22
CLOOC-05standard nonelectric35 ft110 ft1.2 mi$22
CLOOC-06standard nonelectric35 ft110 ft1.2 mi$22
CLOOC-07standard nonelectric35 ft101 ft1.1 mi$22
CLOOC-08standard nonelectric35 ft171 ft1.1 mi$22
CLOOC-09standard nonelectric35 ft171 ft1.1 mi$22
CLOOC-10standard nonelectric35 ft81 ft1.2 mi$22
CLOOC-11standard nonelectric25 ft131 ft1.2 mi$22
DLOOD-01standard nonelectric35 ft143 ft1.3 mi$22
DLOOD-02standard nonelectric35 ft143 ft1.3 mi$22
DLOOD-03standard nonelectric35 ft117 ft1.3 mi$22
DLOOD-04standard nonelectric35 ft117 ft1.3 mi$22
DLOOD-05standard nonelectric25 ft198 ft1.3 mi$22
DLOOD-06standard nonelectric28 ft77 ft1.2 mi$22
DLOOD-07standard nonelectric35 ft77 ft1.2 mi$22
DLOOD-08standard nonelectric35 ft157 ft1.2 mi$22
DLOOD-10standard nonelectric30 ft117 ft1.2 mi$22
DLOOD-11standard nonelectric35 ft117 ft1.2 mi$22
ELOOGR-Egroup standard area nonelectric152 ft1.3 mi$100
FLOOGR-Fgroup standard area nonelectric352 ft1.4 mi$100
Scan & PayScan & Paytype not stated25 ft1.2 mi

OpenStreetMap has no toilet mapped within 1 km of this campground, so no site here carries a toilet distance. That’s a gap in the map, not a finding about the campground.

25 of 52 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions
Coordinate34.29889, -111.11417
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

This Afternoon70°Sunny
Tonight39°Mostly Clear1% rain
Saturday64°Partly Sunny then Slight Chance Rain Showers21% rain
Saturday Night43°Chance Rain Showers43% rain

NWS forecast for Tonto Village, AZ

Typical weather

Typical October night 41°F, day 76°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical December night 26°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

100°32°20°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: PAYSON, AZ (USW00093139), 14 miles away and 820 ft lower

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it · a letter you can send

Roadless country, and what’s coming for it

Roadless
Hellsgate6,171 acres · 6 mi · inventoried roadless area

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Who answers for this land

Eli Crane, official portrait

Ponderosa (AZ) is in Arizona’s 2nd congressional district. Its representative, Eli Crane (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

Who can change it · 3
Write to somebody who can change it

Two offices, two different asks. The draft to the agency asks it to set aside a published share of the sites here for whoever drives up. The draft to Congress asks why that share is zero and presses for a published minimum at the campgrounds it funds.

Read the draft, or change the wording

For the camper who turned up, or tried to book, and couldn’t get in. Every draft is written from this campground’s own record (its agency, its unit, its site count and its own weekend) and the buttons above copy whichever wording is selected here.

To Elijah Crane

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Ponderosa (AZ), Tonto National Forest, Arizona

Dear Elijah Crane,

I’m a constituent in Arizona’s 2nd district. I tried to camp at Ponderosa (AZ), Tonto National Forest, Arizona, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 51 of the 52 campsites the agency files at Ponderosa (AZ), and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 36 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Ponderosa (AZ) keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Ponderosa (AZ). I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Ponderosa (AZ) (Tonto National Forest, Arizona) via campanac.com
To Mark Kelly

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Ponderosa (AZ), Tonto National Forest, Arizona

Dear Mark Kelly,

I’m a constituent in Arizona. I tried to camp at Ponderosa (AZ), Tonto National Forest, Arizona, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 51 of the 52 campsites the agency files at Ponderosa (AZ), and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 36 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Ponderosa (AZ) keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Ponderosa (AZ). I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Ponderosa (AZ) (Tonto National Forest, Arizona) via campanac.com
To Ruben Gallego

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Ponderosa (AZ), Tonto National Forest, Arizona

Dear Ruben Gallego,

I’m a constituent in Arizona. I tried to camp at Ponderosa (AZ), Tonto National Forest, Arizona, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 51 of the 52 campsites the agency files at Ponderosa (AZ), and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 36 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Ponderosa (AZ) keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Ponderosa (AZ). I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Ponderosa (AZ) (Tonto National Forest, Arizona) via campanac.com
How we know this · 4
The figures in these drafts: Navy Ford (CVN-78) Class Aircraft Carrier Program: Background and Issues for Congress (CRS Report RS20643) · Updated December 4, 2025 · “The ship’s final procurement cost was $13,316.5 million (i.e., about $13.3 billion) in then-year dollars.”
The figures in these drafts: Salary Table 2026-GS, Incorporating the 1% General Schedule Increase, Effective January 2026 (U.S. Office of Personnel Management) · Effective January 2026 · “Grade 5, Step 1: $34,799 (annual rate, before locality pay).”
The figures in these drafts: Update to Civilian Position Full Fringe Benefit Cost Factor, Federal Pay Raise Assumptions, and Inflation Factors used in OMB Circular No. A-76 (OMB Memorandum M-08-13) · March 11, 2008 · “the civilian position full fringe benefit cost factor needs to be adjusted downward, from 36.45 percent to 36.25 percent”

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: recreation.gov is offering sites on 17 of the next 17 nights, which isn’t something a closed campground does.
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.
Nearest place of any size: Tonto Village, AZ, 1.4 mi SE (a census designated place). Straight line.