U.S. Forest Service · Tonto National Forest · AZ

Upper Tonto Creek

Closedrecreation.gov lists every site closed this weekend, read 14:23 UTC
Right now
Closedrecreation.gov lists every site closed this weekend, read 14:23 UTC
A night
$20When it reopens, per site
Sites
10In the agency’s record
Season
April 1 – October 31Open April 1 through October 31
5,540 ftElevation
414 ftWater · Horton Creek
4.8 miNE of Star Valley, AZ
45%Tree cover
Bortle 3Night sky · 107th darkest of 262 in AZ
Open April 1 through October 31Today

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 3 notices

In the agency’s own words

The Upper Tonto Creek is a small campground tucked away from the main highway where the Tonto and Horton Creeks merge. 6 Campsites are available for reservation only. This location is available only through reservation May 1through November 3rd. Campground map available here . Keep reading

Recreation

Families may enjoy fishing at both Tonto and Horton Creeks or pass time hiking through nearby Horton Creek Trail or Derrick Trail. Both of these trails access the Highline National Recreation Trail (#31).

Facilities

This campground contains 6 campsites, 3 picnic sites, and a double vault toilet.

Natural Features

The union of Tonto and Horton Creeks is at the north end of the Upper Tonto Creek campground. Fishing in both creeks is a popular sport. Contact Info This location is unstaffed. To speak with our main office for general information, please call: (928) 474-7900.

What the agency tells you

Rule

Sites are small in this campground so trailers have to be short or only over camper type mounts.

Rule

This campground is small with 6 sites sitting above Tonto Creek. The campground road is tight with no turn around options.

Rule

Check in time is 2:00pm and check out time is 11:00am. Quiet hours are from 10:00pm to 6:00am.

Tents and rigs

Sites
10
Hookups
None
Accessible sites
None listed
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Shade
1 of 6 sites
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Vault Toilets
“…campsites, 3 picnic sites, and a double vault toilet. Natural Features The union of Tonto and Horton…”
Stay limit
13 nights
recreation.gov facility rule maxStay

Around the campground

On the water
Creek
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026

Nothing to book until it reopensread 14:23 UTC

recreation.gov lists every site closed this weekend

Every one of the next thirty nights is in recreation.gov’s record and not one site is being offered on any of them. That’s a campground closed or not yet released for booking, not a sold-out one.

Max stay13 nightsthe facility record
A night, when it reopens$20plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Forest ServiceBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
What’s open near here
Tell me when it reopens

Watch for it to come back

One email when the agency reopens it, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check the agency’s own record once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time it stops saying closed.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the agency reopens it.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Every line of the receipt · 10

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night, when it reopens$20
Standard$20
Rates for the season the campground is in now, Apr 15, 2026 to Nov 1, 2026.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 4
Why this page can’t say why

recreation.gov lists every site at Upper Tonto Creek closed this Friday and Saturday night. The U.S. Forest Service has published no closure notice we hold, so this page can’t say why, and it won’t fill the gap with a guess. A closed night isn’t a sold-out one: the reservations its record still carries were taken before the sites were closed.

Closure: U.S. Forest Service status record · Oct 17, 2026

There’s no notice to quote and no reason to argue with, so this page offers you the watch and the list below, and no letter.

Open within 60 miles · 4

The agency’s own word that these are open, not our reading of a season.

Open near here: Agency-published status, in the CAMPANAC campground index · Oct 17, 2026

recreation.gov availability, read 14:23 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

13 records · the site map

All 13 records

1 of 13 records located
Type not stated1
Aerial · Esri World Imagery
SleepsUp to

Toilet distances are OpenStreetMap’s, measured for 1 of the 13 sites listed. A site with no reading is unknown, never far.

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 6 of the 13 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.

Scan and PayScanpay 1type not stated414 ft627 ft
Scan and PayScanPay 2type not stated
Scan and PayScanPay 3type not stated
Scan and PayScanPay 4type not stated
Upper Tonto Creek1standard nonelectric$20
Upper Tonto Creek2standard nonelectric$20
Upper Tonto Creek3standard nonelectric$20
Upper Tonto Creek4standard nonelectric$20
Upper Tonto Creek5standard nonelectric$20
Upper Tonto Creek6standard nonelectric$20
Upper Tonto Creekday use
Upper Tonto Creekday use
Upper Tonto Creekday use

The agency files 3 more records here that aren’t sites for the night. It files them as day use. They’re in the table above, marked for what they are, and none of them is counted as a site.

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate34.33931, -111.09422
The phoneN/A
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

Getting there

This site is 17 miles northeast of Payson. From Payson, travel 16 miles east on State Hwy. 260. Just east of mile marker 268 at Kohl’s Ranch, turn left (north) on Forest Road (FR) 289. Travel one mile and turn right into the site.

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

This Afternoon62°Chance Rain Showers27% rain
Tonight47°Chance Rain Showers43% rain
Sunday63°Chance Rain Showers43% rain
Sunday Night49°Slight Chance Showers And Thunderstorms23% rain

NWS forecast for Kohls Ranch, AZ

Typical weather

Typical October night 41°F, day 76°F.

Coldest night of the open season: typical April night 36°F. Bring the bag rated for it.

100°32°20°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or moreOutside the published season

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: PAYSON, AZ (USW00093139), 16 miles away and 690 ft lower

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it

Roadless country, and what’s coming for it

Roadless
Hellsgate6,171 acres · 9 mi · inventoried roadless area

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Who answers for this land

Eli Crane, official portrait

Upper Tonto Creek is in Arizona’s 2nd congressional district. Its representative, Eli Crane (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: recreation.gov lists every site here closed on Friday and Saturday night (read 14:23 UTC). U.S. Forest Service has published no closure notice we hold, so the reason isn’t on this page. A closed night isn’t a sold-out one, and the reservations the record still carries predate the closure. That reading is ours, off the agency’s own booking record.
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.
Nearest place of any size: Kohls Ranch, AZ, 0.7 mi NNW (a census designated place). Straight line.