U.S. Forest Service · Sawtooth National Forest · ID

Porcupine Springs

ReservableOut of season, no booking; November 22 opens May 22.
Book on recreation.govWe make nothing when you book
Right now
Nobody has saidNo season, no closure, no bookings to read
A night
$10–$14Across the site types the agency prices
Sites
97 on recreation.gov
30 ftLongest rig
6,920 ftElevation
1,321 ftWater · an unnamed stream
23.2 miNE of Jackpot, NV
19%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 4 notices

In the agency’s own words

Porcupine Springs Campground is located along the scenic Rock Creek Road, in southern Idaho. It sits at an elevation of 6,950 feet. Visitors enjoy the area for its abundance of trails and scenic beauty. Keep reading

Recreation

Numerous hiking, biking, horseback riding and off-road vehicle trails begin within or near the campground, including Porcupine Springs, Ross Falls, Rim View, Pike Mountain and Third Fork trails. Fishing is popular on Rock Creek.

Facilities

This large campground contains three group sites that each accommodate up to 50 and 100 people. The recently updated sites are accessible and equipped with picnic tables, grills, serving and utility tables and campfire circles. The group site on Loop C has large corrals for horses. Several single-family campsites are available as well. Each is equipped with a picnic table, campfire ring, grill and a utility table. Additional sites not listed for reservation are available on a first-come, first-served basis. Accessible vault toilets and drinking water are provided. A campground host is located on-site. Roads and parking spurs within the campground are gravel.

Natural Features

The campground is situated in a scenic forest of pine and aspen trees. Summer wildflowers are vivid and abundant, and wildlife frequents the area.

What the agency tells you

Rule

Idaho OHV Safety Message

Rule

Click here for more information on the Sawtooth National Forest

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Help prevent the spread of tree-killing pests in our national forests by obtaining firewood near your destination and burning it on-site. For more information visit dontmovefirewood.org.

Everything else this campground posts · 1
Rule

Due to a new well installation for the Rock Creek water system, there will be no water available until August 31th, 2019. Please plan accordingly and bring all the water you will need for your stay. For more information, please contact the Minidoka Ranger District at 208-678-0430.

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
9 · 3 group
Hookups
None
Longest rig
30 ft
Accessible sites
4
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Vault Toilets
“…first-served basis. Accessible vault toilets and drinking water are provided. A campground host…”
Drinking water
Yes
“…basis. Accessible vault toilets and drinking water are provided. A campground host is located on-site.…”

Around the campground

On the water
Creek
Biking
Fishing
Hiking
Wildlife viewing
Night sky · 384th darkest of 523 in ID
Bortle 2
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026

No reading yet, book on recreation.gov

recreation.gov lists 7 of the 9 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.

No availability snapshot inside the last 36 hours, so this page draws nothing rather than ageing a reading into fiction.

Booking windowOut of seasonOut of season, no booking. On November 22, 2026 at 10 AM ET, availability opens through May 22, 2027.recreation.govAdd to calendar (.ics)
A night$10–$14plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$28–$36DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Forest ServiceBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Full? Watch it.

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Sat, May 22 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 14

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night, per site$10–$14
Standard Nonelectric$10
Double Site$14
Group area, a night$75
These are next season’s rates, May 22, 2027 to Sep 30, 2027. The campground is between seasons now.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$18–$22
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$28–$36

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $10–$14 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5

rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Oct 1, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

9 sites · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 7 mapped sites
132 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least roomLOOP D 15 101 ftLOOP D 16 101 ftLOOP D 18 122 ft

All 9 sites

7 of 9 sites located
Standard4Group3
Aerial · Esri World Imagery
SleepsTakes aUp to

Toilet distances are OpenStreetMap’s, measured for 7 of the 9 sites listed. A site with no reading is unknown, never far.

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 9 of the 9 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

LOOALOPAgroup standard nonelectric30 ftyes404 ft997 ftLittle Fork Third Fork Rock Creek873 ft$75
LOOBLOPBgroup standard nonelectric30 ftyes260 ft1,105 ftLittle Fork Third Fork Rock Creek602 ft$75
LOOCLOPCgroup standard nonelectric30 ftyes454 ft1,029 ftLittle Fork Third Fork Rock Creek837 ft$75
LOOP D15standard nonelectric30 ft101 ft1,365 ftLittle Fork Third Fork Rock Creek345 ft$10–$14
LOOP D16standard nonelectric30 ft101 ft1,401 ftLittle Fork Third Fork Rock Creek307 ft$10–$14
LOOP D17standard nonelectric30 ftyes132 ft1,568 ftLittle Fork Third Fork Rock Creek137 ft$10–$14
LOOP D18standard nonelectric30 ft122 ft1,504 ftLittle Fork Third Fork Rock Creek231 ft$10–$14
S&PDouble S&Ptype not stated30 ft$10–$14
S&PSingle S&Ptype not stated30 ft$10–$14

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions
Coordinate42.16694, -114.26222
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

Getting there

From Hansen, Idaho, travel south on County Road G3 for approximately 31 miles. The road becomes Forest Road 515. Continue on FR 515 as it becomes gravel and turns into Forest Road 500. The Porcupine Springs Campground sign will be on the left.

The weather

the next four days

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Overnight39°Partly Cloudy
Saturday63°Sunny
Saturday Night38°Mostly Clear
Sunday60°Mostly Sunny

NWS forecast for Oakley, ID

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it

Roadless country, and what’s coming for it

Roadless
Third Fork Rock Creek14,252 acres · 4 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Fifth Fork Rock Creek16,563 acres · 9 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Thorobred6,073 acres · 9 mi · inventoried roadless area

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Who answers for this land

Mike Simpson, official portrait

Porcupine Springs is in Idaho’s 2nd congressional district. Its representative, Mike Simpson (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: U.S. Forest Service publishes no season and no closure for this campground, and it takes no bookings we can read. That’s a gap in the record and not a locked gate.
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.
Nearest place of any size: Oakley, ID, 19 mi WSW. Straight line.