U.S. Forest Service · Manti-La Sal National Forest · UT

Potters Pond

ReservableOut of season, no booking; December 5 opens June 5.
Book on recreation.govWe make nothing when you book
Right now
OpenInside the published season, our reading
A night
$10–$25Across the site types the agency prices
Sites
2219 on recreation.gov
Season
June 1Opens June 1. No closing date published.
50 ftLongest rig
8,990 ftElevation
617 ftWater · Lowry Water
10.6 miSE of Mount Pleasant, UT
0%Tree cover
Opens June 1. No closing date published.Today

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 5 notices

In the agency’s own words

Potters Pond Campground is located in a high mountain valley next to two scenic ponds, at an elevation of 8,900 feet. Visitors enjoy fishing, canoeing, horseback riding and exploring the surrounding off-road vehicle trails. Keep reading

Recreation

The ponds offer great canoeing and rainbow trout fishing. Horseback riding, hiking and mountain biking are popular in the area as well. The expansive Arapeen OHV Trail System can be accessed from the campground and has more than 350 miles of designated, well-maintained trails for off-road vehicles. The trails are suitable for all riding levels.

Facilities

This campground offers a variety of campsites, including single, double and equestrian sites. Some sites have views of the ponds and most sites are shaded. Sites are equipped with tables and campfire rings with grills. Vault toilets are provided, but there is no water, electricity or trash collection available within the campground. Visitors will need to bring their own water, as well as pack out all garbage. Roads and parking spurs within the campground are dirt. The campground can be reached via the well-maintained dirt and gravel Miller Flat Road, which provides relatively easy access for cars and RVs.

Natural Features

Potters Pond lies in Upper Joe's Valley in Central Utah. Pine trees and wild grasses cover the area, while aspens dot the surrounding mountainsides.

Charges & Cancellations

A $10.00 service fee will apply if you change or cancel your reservation. Late cancellations are subject to additional fees. For full details see NRRS Reservation Policy.

What the agency tells you

Rule

Drinking water is not available at the campground

Rule

Equestrian sites 16-19 are available for reservation and first-come, first-served use by all visitors. Those camping with horses must use these four sites.

Rule

Campsites that are not reserved are available on a first-come, first-served basis, for $3 per vehicle

Everything else this campground posts · 2
Rule

Click here for more information on the Manti-La Sal National Forest

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Help prevent the spread of tree-killing pests in our national forests by obtaining firewood near your destination and burning it on-site. For more information visit dontmovefirewood.org.

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
22 · 1 group, 4 equestrian
Hookups
None
Longest rig
50 ft
Accessible sites
None listed
Pets
Allowed at 17 of 20 sites
Campfires
19 of 22 sites
Shade
16 of 19 sites
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Vault Toilets
VAULT TOILETS on 19 of 22 campsite records
Drinking water
None, bring your own
“…the campground. Visitors will need to bring their own water, as well as pack out all garbage. Roads and parking…”

Around the campground

Biking
Boating
Fishing
Hiking
Horseback riding
Hunting
Night sky · 236th darkest of 458 in UT
Bortle 3
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026

Nothing on the booking system for the next 30 nightsread 15:10 UTC

recreation.gov lists 19 of the 22 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.

Every one of the next thirty nights is in recreation.gov’s record and not one site is being offered on any of them. That’s a campground closed or not yet released for booking, not a sold-out one.

Booking windowOut of seasonOut of season, no booking. On December 5, 2026 at 10 AM ET, availability opens through June 5, 2027.recreation.govAdd to calendar (.ics)
A night$10–$25plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$28–$58DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservation; this campground publishes its own terms toorecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Forest ServiceBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Full? Watch it.

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Sat, Jun 5 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 15

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night, per site$10–$25
Standard Nonelectric$10
Equestrian Nonelectric$15
Equestrian Nonelectric-$25$25
Group areas, a night$15–$40
Rates for the season the campground is in now, Jun 5, 2026 to Oct 4, 2026.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$18–$33
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$28–$58

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $10–$25 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

“A $10.00 service fee will apply if you change or cancel your reservation.” · this campground’s own terms

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 6

recreation.gov availability, read 15:10 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

22 sites · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 19 mapped sites
181 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least roomPOTTERS PONDS 003 117 ftPOTTERS PONDS 005 117 ftPOTTERS PONDS 004 130 ft

All 22 sites

19 of 22 sites located
Standard14Group1Equestrian4
SleepsTakes aUp to

Toilet distances are OpenStreetMap’s, measured for 19 of the 22 sites listed. A site with no reading is unknown, never far.

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 22 of the 22 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

POTTERS PONDS001standard nonelectric40 ft181 ft257 ftPotters Ponds122 ft$10
POTTERS PONDS002standard nonelectric25 ft181 ft421 ft172 ft$10
POTTERS PONDS003standard nonelectric30 ft117 ft535 ft214 ft$10
POTTERS PONDS004standard nonelectric30 ft130 ft713 ft235 ft$10
POTTERS PONDS005standard nonelectric50 ft117 ft498 ft205 ft$10
POTTERS PONDS006group standard nonelectric40 ft309 ft374 ft204 ft$15–$40
POTTERS PONDS007standard nonelectric30 ft130 ft620 ft113 ft$10
POTTERS PONDS008standard nonelectric30 ft398 ft518 ft545 ft$10
POTTERS PONDS009standard nonelectric30 ft323 ft852 ft1,279 ft$10
POTTERS PONDS010standard nonelectric30 ft323 ft529 ft1,130 ft$10
POTTERS PONDS011standard nonelectric30 ft225 ft132 ftPotters Ponds198 ft$10
POTTERS PONDS012standard nonelectric30 ft147 ft162 ft173 ft$10
POTTERS PONDS013standard nonelectric30 ft147 ft238 ft81 ft$10
POTTERS PONDS014standard nonelectric30 ft216 ftunder 10 ft181 ft$10
POTTERS PONDS015standard nonelectric35 ft249 ft139 ft275 ft$10
POTTERS PONDS016equestrian nonelectric30 ft202 ft110 ft298 ft$15–$25
POTTERS PONDS017equestrian nonelectric30 ft202 ft206 ft97 ft$15–$25
POTTERS PONDS018equestrian nonelectric40 ft141 ft231 ft310 ft$15–$25
POTTERS PONDS019equestrian nonelectric40 ft141 ft347 ft319 ft$15–$25
Scan and PayScanPay 1type not stated$10–$20
Scan and PayScanPay 2type not stated$10–$20
Scan and PayScanPay 3type not stated$10–$20

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate39.44667, -111.27333
The phone435-384-2372
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

Getting there

From Price, Utah, travel south on Highway 10 for 20 miles, to Huntington. Turn right onto Highway 31 and travel northwest for 30 miles. Turn south onto Miller Flat Road and travel 11 miles. Turn right onto Potter Canyon Road and continue for less than a mile to the campground.

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Today51°Sunny
Tonight33°Partly Cloudy
Sunday47°Partly Sunny2% rain
Sunday Night32°Partly Cloudy1% rain

NWS forecast for Mount Pleasant, UT

Typical weather

Typical June night 35°F, day 66°F.

Coldest night of the open season: typical June night 35°F. Bring the bag rated for it.

80°32°-10°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or moreOutside the published season

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: ELECTRIC LAKE, UT (USC00422424), 11 miles away and 610 ft lower

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it

Roadless country, and what’s coming for it

Roadless
Boulger - Black Canyon23,286 acres · 5 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
East Mountain30,705 acres · 6 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Rolfson - Staker7,018 acres · 8 mi · inventoried roadless area

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Who answers for this land

Mike Kennedy, official portrait

Potters Pond is in Utah’s 3rd congressional district. Its representative, Mike Kennedy (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: Today falls inside the season the agency publishes, and it has posted nothing else. That reading is ours.
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.