U.S. Forest Service · Mark Twain National Forest · MO

Red Bluff Campground

Reservable, and full this SaturdayEvery one of the 16 sites on offer is taken this Saturday, and the record lists no site held back for a walk-up. read 16:01 UTC

We don’t think it should be. Every campground should hold some sites for whoever drives up.Tell your representative →

Right now
Taking bookingsSites offered on 10 of the next 10 nights read 16:01 UTC
A night
$15–$35Across the site types the agency prices
Sites
8262 on recreation.gov
60 ftLongest rig
830 ftElevation
445 ftWater · Huzzah Creek
13.6 miSE of Steelville, MO
0%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 4 notices

In the agency’s own words

Red Bluff Campground is named for towering red bluffs along Huzzah Creek, carved by the elements over the past 10,000 years. The area used to be home to timber mills, but now provides a serene spot for camping and enjoying nature. Early settlement of the area surrounded the Boyer Mill constructed around 1830. Railroads created a thriving timber industry till the supply was depleted. The land was purchased by the U.S. Forest Service in 1940 and has been used as a recreation area. Red Bluff is located in the Potosi-Fredericktown Ranger District of the Mark Twain National Forest. Keep reading

Large, red bluffs on the opposite side of Huzzah Creek, gravel bars along the creek, a mixture of pools and riffles and natural vegetation provide a backdrop for a very relaxing camping experience. Wading and swimming in Huzzah Creek are enjoyed by visitors. The water can be swift-moving at times and rocks and drop-offs are not marked. Fishing is also popular in the area and anglers can expect to find bass, sunfish, suckers, and catfish. Three new camping loops were constructed above the Huzzah Creek floodplain – Ridge Top Loop, Creek Loop, and Group Loop - each of which have modern restrooms, water, and electricity on 2023. A new shower house, a dump station, and second pavilion were also added for visitor convenience. Camping spurs are variable in size and layout to accommodate recreational vehicles and trailers of all types. A fourth camping loop, Pines Overlook, was renovated but remains a non-electric loop.

Recreation

Many sites are within 200 yards of Huzzah Creek, where tubing and swimming are enjoyed by visitors. The water can be swift-moving at times and rocks and drop-offs are not marked. Fishing is also popular in the area and anglers can expect to find bass, perch and catfish. The Red Bluff Trail lies within the boundaries of the campground. It is a 1.2-mile loop that winds through a pine plantation and big oak timber, into an adjoining hollow before returning to the campground. The short trail provides an opportunity for visitors to enjoy a variety of ecological communities, while reaping the benefits of a half-hour of hiking.

Facilities

The campground offers several large sites available for tent and RV camping. All campground loops offer 30 amp & 50 amp pedestals, except for Pines Overlook (PO). Individual picnic sites are available as well, some of which have shelters. Two accessible group picnic shelters can be reserved and can accommodate up to 74 people (PAV 1 has electric and lighting). Additional sites are available on a first-come, first-served basis. Each site is equipped with a picnic table, lantern post and campfire ring with grill. Vault toilets, flush toilets, showers and drinking water are provided. The roads within the campground are paved.

Natural Features

Large, red bluffs on the opposite side of Huzzah Creek, gravel bars along the creek, a mixture of pools and riffles and natural vegetation provide a backdrop for a very relaxing camping experience at the campground. Red Bluff is located in the Potosi-Fredericktown Ranger District of the Mark Twain National Forest.

Nearby Attractions

This campground is located in southeastern Missouri, approximately one mile from the town of Davisville.

What the agency tells you

Rule

Flash flooding is possible in the area

Rule

At each single site you are allowed two vehicles and one towed vehicle (e.g. a pop-up, fifth-wheel, etc). At each double site you are allowed three vehicles and two towed vehicles (e.g. a pop-up, fifth-wheel, etc.). All vehicles must be parked on pavement at designated parking areas. If allowable vehicle use creates a safety hazard, then vehicles must be parked in designated parking areas to mitigate the hazard to visitors. This determination may be made by Campground Host or Forest Service staff. Additional vehicles are charged $2.00 per day and must display a proper fee envelope stub in the windshield.

Rule

Click here for more information on the Mark Twain National Forest

Everything else this campground posts · 1
Rule

Don't move firewood: To limit the spread of invasive tree-killing pests, firewood from outside the area is not permitted. Some states have quarantines and may confiscate your firewood. Please help protect our forests from invasive species by obtaining your firewood at or near your camping destination and burning it on-site. Visit dontmovefirewood.org for more information.

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
82 · 11 group
Hookups
52 electric
Longest rig
60 ft
Paved pads
52 of 82
Accessible sites
51
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Shade
25 of 75 sites
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Vault Toilets
ACCESSIBLE VAULT TOILETS on 1 of 85 campsite records
Showers
Yes, the record doesn’t say what kind
“A new shower house, a dump station, and second pavilion were also added for visitor convenience.”
Drinking water
Yes
“…toilets, flush toilets, showers and drinking water are provided. The roads within the campground are…”
Dump station
Yes
recreation.gov lists “Dump Station”
Source: National Park Service and agency records

Around the campground

On the water
Creek
Fishing
Water sports
Night sky · 38th darkest of 118 in MO
Bortle 3
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026

Full this Saturdayread 16:01 UTC

How full the weekend is nationally.

OpenBooked

Every one of the 16 sites on offer is taken this Saturday. 52 are free on Tue, Oct 20. read 16:01 UTC Why the weekend fills and the week doesn’t

Booking windowThrough October 26Bookable now through October 26, 2026, the end of the reservable season. On October 24, 2026 at 10 AM ET, availability opens through April 24, 2027.recreation.govAdd to calendar (.ics)
A night$15–$35plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$38–$78DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Forest ServiceBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Watch this campground

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Sat, Apr 24 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov ↗

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 20

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night, per site$15–$35
Asng-Standard Nonelectric$15
Standard Nonelectric$15
Rlt-single electric$25
Standard Electric$25
Standard Nonelectric-Double$25
Rlt Double Electric$35
Standard Electric-Double$35
Group areas, a night$50
Rates for the season the campground is in now, Apr 23, 2026 to Oct 26, 2026.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What this campground addsits own record
Extra vehicle$2

“Additional vehicles are charged $2.00 per day and must display a proper fee envelope stub in the windshield.” · the U.S. Forest Service’s own agency notice

What a stay costs
One nightDerived$23–$43
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$38–$78

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $15–$35 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 6

recreation.gov availability, read 16:01 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

85 records · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 62 mapped sites
74 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
0%of tent sites sit clear of electric or RV sites
Least roomRidge Top Loop RTL2 56 ftRidge Top Loop RTL3 56 ftCreek Loop CL7 60 ft

All 85 records

84 of 85 records located
Standard7RV / electric42Group11Type not stated22Day use2
SleepsTakes aUp to

Toilet distances are OpenStreetMap’s, measured for 84 of the 85 sites listed. A site with no reading is unknown, never far.

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 71 of the 85 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.

ASNGx_003type not stated40 ft202 ft2,105 ft$34
Creek LoopCL1standard electric40 ft50/30 ampyes74 ft385 ft1,377 ft$25–$35
Creek LoopCL10standard electric40 ft50/30 ampyes67 ft445 ft1,193 ft$25–$35
Creek LoopCL11standard electric40 ft50/30 ampyes67 ft512 ft1,232 ft$25–$35
Creek LoopCL12standard electric40 ft50/30 ampyes72 ft537 ft1,302 ft$25–$35
Creek LoopCL13standard electric40 ft50/30 ampyes70 ft566 ft1,415 ft$25–$35
Creek LoopCL14standard electric40 ft50/30 ampyes80 ft626 ft1,402 ft$25–$35
Creek LoopCL15standard electric40 ft50/30 ampyes70 ft625 ft1,471 ft$25–$35
Creek LoopCL16standard electric40 ft50/30 ampyes72 ft702 ft1,468 ft$25–$35
Creek LoopCL17standard electric40 ft50/30 ampyes67 ft673 ft1,530 ft$25–$35
Creek LoopCL18standard electric40 ft50/30 ampyes67 ft697 ft1,570 ft$25–$35
Creek LoopCL19standard electric40 ft50/30 ampyes111 ft589 ft1,614 ft$25–$35
Creek LoopCL2standard electric40 ft50/30 ampyes74 ft335 ft1,307 ft$25–$35
Creek LoopCL3standard electric40 ft50/30 ampyes95 ft308 ft1,213 ft$25–$35
Creek LoopCL4standard electric40 ft50/30 ampyes95 ft290 ft1,121 ft$25–$35
Creek LoopCL5standard electric40 ft50/30 ampyes136 ft286 ft989 ft$25–$35
Creek LoopCL6standard electric40 ft50/30 ampyes92 ft533 ft1,031 ft$25–$35
Creek LoopCL7standard electric40 ft50/30 ampyes60 ft515 ft1,141 ft$25–$35
Creek LoopCL8standard electric40 ft50/30 ampyes83 ft468 ft1,058 ft$25–$35
Creek LoopCL9standard electric40 ft50/30 ampyes60 ft456 ft1,129 ft$25–$35
Group LoopGL1group standard electric40 ft50/30 ampyes94 ft687 ft2,002 ft
Group LoopGL2group standard electric40 ft50/30 ampyes90 ft767 ft2,037 ft
Group LoopGL3group standard electric40 ft50/30 ampyes88 ft703 ft2,121 ft
Group LoopGL4group standard electric40 ft50/30 ampyes88 ft616 ft2,156 ft
Group LoopGL5group standard electric40 ft50/30 ampyes92 ft603 ft2,080 ft
Group LoopGL6group standard electric40 ft50/30 ampyes90 ft544 ft2,033 ft
Group LoopGL7group standard electric40 ft50/30 ampyes98 ft512 ft1,939 ft
Group LoopGL8group standard electric40 ft50/30 ampyes98 ft605 ft1,875 ft
Group LoopGL9group standard electric40 ft50/30 ampyes90 ft631 ft1,957 ft
MANAGEMENT SITES002type not stated245 ft2,026 ft$34
MANAGEMENT SITES004type not stated152 ft2,209 ft$34
MANAGEMENT SITES005type not stated241 ft2,195 ft$34
MANAGEMENT SITES007type not stated187 ft2,342 ft$34
MANAGEMENT SITES010type not stated189 ft2,282 ft$34
MANAGEMENT SITES011type not stated92 ft2,342 ft$34
MANAGEMENT SITES014type not stated183 ft2,196 ft$34
MANAGEMENT SITES015type not stated136 ft2,244 ft$34
MANAGEMENT SITES018type not stated380 ft1,986 ft$34
MANAGEMENT SITES020type not stated370 ft2,042 ft$34
MANAGEMENT SITES021type not stated460 ft1,950 ft$34
MANAGEMENT SITES030type not stated145 ft408 ft$34
MANAGEMENT SITES032type not stated122 ft191 ft$34
MANAGEMENT SITES033type not stated61 ft300 ft$34
MANAGEMENT SITES034type not stated132 ft58 ft$34
MANAGEMENT SITES037type not stated167 ft91 ft$34
MANAGEMENT SITES039type not stated226 ft230 ft$34
MANAGEMENT SITES041type not stated2 ft181 ft371 ft$34
MANAGEMENT SITES043type not stated298 ft158 ft$34
MANAGEMENT SITES044type not stated514 ft2,545 ft$34
MANAGEMENT SITES046type not stated377 ft2,421 ft$34
MANAGEMENT SITESXXXunnamed record$34
Pavilion 1PAV1 Electricday use40 ft20 ampyes189 ft635 ft1,737 ft$50
Pavilion 2PAV2 NonElectricday use40 ft50 ampyes370 ft292 ft1,950 ft$50
Pines OverlookPO1standard nonelectric40 ft50 amp102 ft705 ft2,395 ft$15–$25
Pines OverlookPO2group standard nonelectric40 ft83 ft545 ft2,368 ft
Pines OverlookPO3standard nonelectric40 ft50 amp83 ft516 ft2,308 ft$15–$25
Pines OverlookPO4standard nonelectric40 ft50 amp95 ft379 ft2,437 ft$15–$25
Pines OverlookPO5standard nonelectric40 ft50 amp63 ft415 ft2,514 ft$15–$25
Pines OverlookPO6standard nonelectric40 ft50 amp63 ft475 ft2,522 ft$15–$25
Pines OverlookPO7standard nonelectric40 ft50 amp82 ft565 ft2,493 ft$15–$25
Pines OverlookPO8standard nonelectric40 ft50 amp82 ft646 ft2,485 ft$15–$25
Ridge Top LoopRTL1standard electric60 ft30/50 ampyes81 ft916 ft1,872 ft$25–$35
Ridge Top LoopRTL10standard electric40 ft30/50 ampyes72 ft899 ft2,120 ft$25–$35
Ridge Top LoopRTL11standard electric40 ft30/50 ampyes61 ft974 ft2,088 ft$25–$35
Ridge Top LoopRTL12standard electric45 ft30/50 ampyes72 ft919 ft2,183 ft$25–$35
Ridge Top LoopRTL13standard electric40 ft30/50 ampyes69 ft998 ft2,146 ft$25–$35
Ridge Top LoopRTL14standard electric40 ft30/50 ampyes67 ft943 ft2,250 ft$25–$35
Ridge Top LoopRTL15standard electric40 ft30/50 ampyes74 ft1,020 ft2,221 ft$25–$35
Ridge Top LoopRTL16standard electric40 ft30/50 ampyes67 ft953 ft2,314 ft$25–$35
Ridge Top LoopRTL17standard electric40 ft30/50 ampyes74 ft1,034 ft2,291 ft$25–$35
Ridge Top LoopRTL18group standard electric40 ft50/30 ampyes78 ft972 ft2,386 ft
Ridge Top LoopRTL19standard electric40 ft30/50 ampyes77 ft1,059 ft2,365 ft$25–$35
Ridge Top LoopRTL2standard electric40 ft30/50 ampyes56 ft999 ft1,834 ft$25–$35
Ridge Top LoopRTL20standard electric40 ft30/50 ampyes88 ft1,024 ft2,457 ft$25–$35
Ridge Top LoopRTL21standard electric30 ft30/50 ampyes77 ft1,065 ft2,412 ft$25–$35
Ridge Top LoopRTL22standard electric35 ft30/50 ampyes83 ft1,080 ft2,494 ft$25–$35
Ridge Top LoopRTL23rv electric35 ft71 ft987 ft2,440 ft$25
Ridge Top LoopRTL24standard electric30/50 ampyes71 ft942 ft2,494 ft$25–$35
Ridge Top LoopRTL3standard electric40 ft30/50 ampyes56 ft981 ft1,891 ft$25–$35
Ridge Top LoopRTL4standard electric40 ft30/50 ampyes63 ft1,096 ft1,854 ft$25–$35
Ridge Top LoopRTL5standard electric40 ft30/50 ampyes63 ft1,051 ft1,910 ft$25–$35
Ridge Top LoopRTL6standard electric40 ft30/50 ampyes67 ft1,144 ft1,870 ft$25–$35
Ridge Top LoopRTL7standard electric40 ft30/50 ampyes74 ft1,137 ft1,916 ft$25–$35
Ridge Top LoopRTL8standard electric40 ft30/50 ampyes67 ft1,094 ft1,929 ft$25–$35
Ridge Top LoopRTL9standard electric40 ft30/50 ampyes61 ft970 ft2,031 ft$25–$35

The agency files 3 more records here that aren’t sites for the night: 2 it files as day use and 1 it types MANAGEMENT rather than a campsite. They’re in the table above, marked for what they are, and none of them is counted as a site.

25 of 85 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate37.81639, -91.16639
The phone573-743-6042
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Today62°Sunny
Tonight36°Clear
Sunday67°Areas Of Frost then Sunny
Sunday Night37°Clear

NWS forecast for Viburnum, MO

Typical weather

Typical October night 46°F, day 68°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical January night 21°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

90°32°10°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: POTOSI 4 SW, MO (USC00236826), 19 miles away and 275 ft higher

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it · a letter you can send

What threatens this place

critical
Mark Twain National Foresttransfer, logging, mining

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Source: MTJP Threatened Lands map · Oct 3, 2026

Who answers for this land

Bob Onder, official portrait

Red Bluff Campground is in Missouri’s 3rd congressional district. Its representative, Bob Onder (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

Who can change it · 3
Write to somebody who can change it

Two offices, two different asks. The draft to the agency asks it to set aside a published share of the sites here for whoever drives up. The draft to Congress asks why that share is zero and presses for a published minimum at the campgrounds it funds.

Read the draft, or change the wording

For the camper who turned up, or tried to book, and couldn’t get in. Every draft is written from this campground’s own record (its agency, its unit, its site count and its own weekend) and the buttons above copy whichever wording is selected here.

To Robert F. Onder, Jr.

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Red Bluff Campground, Mark Twain National Forest, Missouri

Dear Robert F. Onder, Jr.,

I’m a constituent in Missouri’s 3rd district. I tried to camp at Red Bluff Campground, Mark Twain National Forest, Missouri, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 62 of the 82 campsites the agency files at Red Bluff Campground, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 16 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Red Bluff Campground keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Red Bluff Campground. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Red Bluff Campground (Mark Twain National Forest, Missouri) via campanac.com
To Eric Schmitt

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Red Bluff Campground, Mark Twain National Forest, Missouri

Dear Eric Schmitt,

I’m a constituent in Missouri. I tried to camp at Red Bluff Campground, Mark Twain National Forest, Missouri, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 62 of the 82 campsites the agency files at Red Bluff Campground, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 16 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Red Bluff Campground keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Red Bluff Campground. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Red Bluff Campground (Mark Twain National Forest, Missouri) via campanac.com
To Josh Hawley

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Red Bluff Campground, Mark Twain National Forest, Missouri

Dear Josh Hawley,

I’m a constituent in Missouri. I tried to camp at Red Bluff Campground, Mark Twain National Forest, Missouri, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 62 of the 82 campsites the agency files at Red Bluff Campground, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 16 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Red Bluff Campground keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Red Bluff Campground. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Red Bluff Campground (Mark Twain National Forest, Missouri) via campanac.com
How we know this · 4
The figures in these drafts: Navy Ford (CVN-78) Class Aircraft Carrier Program: Background and Issues for Congress (CRS Report RS20643) · Updated December 4, 2025 · “The ship’s final procurement cost was $13,316.5 million (i.e., about $13.3 billion) in then-year dollars.”
The figures in these drafts: Salary Table 2026-GS, Incorporating the 1% General Schedule Increase, Effective January 2026 (U.S. Office of Personnel Management) · Effective January 2026 · “Grade 5, Step 1: $34,799 (annual rate, before locality pay).”
The figures in these drafts: Update to Civilian Position Full Fringe Benefit Cost Factor, Federal Pay Raise Assumptions, and Inflation Factors used in OMB Circular No. A-76 (OMB Memorandum M-08-13) · March 11, 2008 · “the civilian position full fringe benefit cost factor needs to be adjusted downward, from 36.45 percent to 36.25 percent”

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: recreation.gov is offering sites on 10 of the next 10 nights, which isn’t something a closed campground does.
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.
Nearest place of any size: Viburnum, MO, 6.7 mi NNW. Straight line.