U.S. Forest Service · Giant Sequoia National Monument · CA

Redwood Meadow

1Heads up1 fire 22 mi away
Wildfire
Cyrus fire · 22 mi away · 543 acres · 95% contained · updated Oct 16, 2026
Reservable, and full this SaturdayEvery one of the 10 sites on offer is taken this Saturday, and the record lists no site held back for a walk-up. read 16:04 UTC

We don’t think it should be. Every campground should hold some sites for whoever drives up.Tell your representative →

Right now
Taking bookingsSites offered on 9 of the next 9 nights; a database flag says not open read 16:04 UTC
A night
$36From, per site
Sites
1412 on recreation.gov
30 ftLongest rig
6,150 ftElevation
149 ftWater · an unnamed stream
18.1 miNW of Wofford Heights, CA
22%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 7 notices

In the agency’s own words

Redwood Meadow Campground located within Sequoia National Forest, in the southern portion of Giant Sequoia National Monument. The area is named for the giant sequoia, the world's largest tree, which grows in more than 30 groves on the forest's lower slopes. Keep reading

Recreation

Touring the Sequoia National Monument is the area's most popular activity. Hikers enjoy the Trail of a Hundred Giants as it wanders through the ong Meadow Giant Sequoia Grove. Other points of interest within the sourthern section include the Belknap Grove and the Freeman Grove.

Facilities

Redwood Meadow offers 6 singles sites and 6 yurts which can accommodate up to 6 people. No hookups or water available. Vault toilets are provided. This facility is operated by ExplorUS and comments are welcome; comment forms are available from campground hosts or online.

Natural Features

Sequoiia National Forest comprises about 1.1 million acres. Elevations range from about 1,000 to 12,000 feet, creating precipitous canyons and mountain streams with spectacular waterfalls such as Salmon Creek Falls and Grizzly Falls. The campground sits at an evelvation of 6,400 feet, near trails that wind through gian sequoia groves, climb up mountains and meander along wild rivers. Contact Info For facility specific information, please call (661) 455-6010.

Nearby Attractions

Trail of a Hundred Giants

What the agency tells you

Rule

Water is not available at this campground this season. Water has not been available for over 2 years due to the system breaking down. Please bring all water necessary for the duration of your stay. This would include drinking water, water to clean dishes and put out your campfire, etc. We apologize for the inconvenience and appreciate your patience and understanding.

Rule

Pets must be leashed at all times.

Rule

All equipment must fit on the site pad and parked in developed areas only.

Everything else this campground posts · 4
Rule

No all-terrain or off-highway vehicle use in the campground.

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Protect California's forests from tree-killing pests by buying your firewood locally and burning it on-site. For more information visit firewood.ca.gov.

Rule

This is bear country; please take precautions and do not leave unattended food, garbage or other attractants. Use bear resistant food storage lockers or bear resistant trash cans where available. Visit www.sierrawild.gov/bears/food-storage/ for more information about food storage in bear country.

Rule

There is an extra vehicle fee of $8.00/night on the 2nd vehicle in each single campsite and on the 3rd & 4th vehicle in any double campsite, provided these vehicles are not joined to the 1st vehicle by a hitch and towed onto the site. In the case of motorcycles, the 1st and 2nd are considered to be one vehicle and the 3rd and 4th are also considered to be one vehicle. So the fee would be a single $8.00/night of stay for the 3rd/4th motorcycle.

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
14 · 1 tent-only, 6 cabin
Hookups
None
Longest rig
30 ft
Accessible sites
6
Pets
Allowed at 1 of 7 sites
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Vault Toilets
“…6 people. No hookups or water available. Vault toilets are provided. This facility is operated by ExplorUS…”
Stay limit
14 nights
recreation.gov facility rule maxStay

Around the campground

On the water
Waterfall, River, Creek, Meadow
Hiking
Picnicking
Night sky · 735th darkest of 1,201 in CA
Bortle 3
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026

Full this Saturdayread 16:04 UTC

How full the weekend is nationally.

1 campground has sites open within 30 miles, read 16:23 UTC. See them

OpenBooked

Every one of the 10 sites on offer is taken this Friday and Saturday. 12 are free on Mon, Oct 19. read 16:04 UTC Why the weekend fills and the week doesn’t

Booking windowThrough October 24Bookable now through October 24, 2026, the end of the reservable season. On November 28, 2026 at 10 AM ET, availability opens through May 28, 2027.recreation.govAdd to calendar (.ics)
Max stay14 nightsthe facility record
A night$36plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$80DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itRocky Mountain Recreation CompanyA private concessionaire under permit from U.S. Forest Service (parent: ExplorUS)the operator link
Watch for a cancellation

Watch this campground

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Fri, May 28 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Where there’s room this weekendBook on recreation.gov ↗

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 15

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night$36
Standard Nonelectric$36
Tent Only Nonelectric$36
Group area, a night$116
Rates for the season the campground is in now, May 22, 2026 to Oct 24, 2026.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What this campground addsits own record
Extra vehicle$8

“There is an extra vehicle fee of $8.00/night on the 2nd vehicle in each single campsite and on the 3rd & 4th vehicle in any double campsite, provided these vehicles are not joined to the 1st vehicle by a hitch and tow…” · the U.S. Forest Service’s own agency notice

What a stay costs
One nightDerived$44
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$80

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rate for this season, $36 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 6
Open within 30 miles this weekend · 1

Sites the agency is offering this Friday and Saturday that nobody has taken, nearest first. read 16:23 UTC

  • TuleSuccess Lake · 19 mi · 110 of 184 site-nights open

recreation.gov availability, read 16:04 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

14 sites · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 11 mapped sites
53 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least room001 44 ft002 44 ft008 49 ft

All 14 sites

12 of 14 sites located
Standard4Tent only1Cabin or shelter6Type not stated1
Aerial · Esri World Imagery
SleepsTakes aUp to

Toilet distances are OpenStreetMap’s, measured for 12 of the 14 sites listed. A site with no reading is unknown, never far.

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 12 of the 14 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

AREA REDWOOD MEADOW001yurt20 ftyes44 ft240 ft824 ft$116
AREA REDWOOD MEADOW002yurt20 ftyes44 ft264 ft821 ft$116
AREA REDWOOD MEADOW003yurt20 ftyes53 ft319 ft850 ft$116
AREA REDWOOD MEADOW004tent only nonelectric16 ft53 ft369 ftLong Meadow Creek879 ft$36
AREA REDWOOD MEADOW005standard nonelectric15 ft59 ft380 ftLong Meadow Creek928 ft$36
AREA REDWOOD MEADOW006yurt20 ft71 ft310 ftLong Meadow Creek940 ft$116
AREA REDWOOD MEADOW007standard nonelectric15 ft$36
AREA REDWOOD MEADOW008standard nonelectric30 ft48 ft266 ftLong Meadow Creek1,130 ft$36
AREA REDWOOD MEADOW009standard nonelectric20 ft48 ft245 ftLong Meadow Creek1,140 ft$36
AREA REDWOOD MEADOW010yurt20 ftyes76 ft322 ftLong Meadow Creek1,062 ft$116
AREA REDWOOD MEADOW011standard nonelectric14 ft74 ft255 ftLong Meadow Creek1,135 ft$36
AREA REDWOOD MEADOW012yurt20 ftyes76 ft368 ftLong Meadow Creek1,022 ft$116
AREA REDWOOD MEADOW013type not stated20 ftyes350 ftLong Meadow Creek1,055 ft
AREA REDWOOD MEADOW015type not stated20 ft

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate35.97717, -118.59387
The phone559-539-5230
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

Getting there

From Highway 99 turn east on J22. Travel on J22 through California Hot Springs to the "T" intersection and turn left on M50. Travel on M50, 10 miles. Turn left at M107 and travel approximately 4 more miles to the campground entrance on the right.

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

This Afternoon69°Sunny
Tonight49°Clear
Saturday67°Sunny
Saturday Night49°Clear

NWS forecast for California Hot Springs, CA

Typical weather

Typical October night 31°F, day 59°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical December night 17°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

90°32°10°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: LODGEPOLE, CA (USC00045026), 44 miles away and 585 ft higher

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it · a letter you can send

What threatens this place

Watch
Roadless
Lion Ridge5,265 acres · 5 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Chico39,836 acres · 7 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Rincon54,610 acres · 8 mi · inventoried roadless area

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Source: MTJP Threatened Lands map · Oct 9, 2026

Who answers for this land

Vince Fong, official portrait

Redwood Meadow is in California’s 20th congressional district. Its representative, Vince Fong (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

Who can change it · 3
Write to somebody who can change it

Two offices, two different asks. The draft to the agency asks it to set aside a published share of the sites here for whoever drives up. The draft to Congress asks why that share is zero and presses for a published minimum at the campgrounds it funds.

Read the draft, or change the wording

For the camper who turned up, or tried to book, and couldn’t get in. Every draft is written from this campground’s own record (its agency, its unit, its site count and its own weekend) and the buttons above copy whichever wording is selected here.

To Vince Fong

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Redwood Meadow, Giant Sequoia National Monument, California

Dear Vince Fong,

I’m a constituent in California’s 20th district. I tried to camp at Redwood Meadow, Giant Sequoia National Monument, California, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 12 of the 14 campsites the agency files at Redwood Meadow, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 10 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Redwood Meadow keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Redwood Meadow. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Redwood Meadow (Giant Sequoia National Monument, California) via campanac.com
To Adam B. Schiff

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Redwood Meadow, Giant Sequoia National Monument, California

Dear Adam B. Schiff,

I’m a constituent in California. I tried to camp at Redwood Meadow, Giant Sequoia National Monument, California, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 12 of the 14 campsites the agency files at Redwood Meadow, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 10 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Redwood Meadow keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Redwood Meadow. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Redwood Meadow (Giant Sequoia National Monument, California) via campanac.com
To Alex Padilla

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Redwood Meadow, Giant Sequoia National Monument, California

Dear Alex Padilla,

I’m a constituent in California. I tried to camp at Redwood Meadow, Giant Sequoia National Monument, California, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 12 of the 14 campsites the agency files at Redwood Meadow, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 10 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Redwood Meadow keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Redwood Meadow. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Redwood Meadow (Giant Sequoia National Monument, California) via campanac.com
How we know this · 4
The figures in these drafts: Navy Ford (CVN-78) Class Aircraft Carrier Program: Background and Issues for Congress (CRS Report RS20643) · Updated December 4, 2025 · “The ship’s final procurement cost was $13,316.5 million (i.e., about $13.3 billion) in then-year dollars.”
The figures in these drafts: Salary Table 2026-GS, Incorporating the 1% General Schedule Increase, Effective January 2026 (U.S. Office of Personnel Management) · Effective January 2026 · “Grade 5, Step 1: $34,799 (annual rate, before locality pay).”
The figures in these drafts: Update to Civilian Position Full Fringe Benefit Cost Factor, Federal Pay Raise Assumptions, and Inflation Factors used in OMB Circular No. A-76 (OMB Memorandum M-08-13) · March 11, 2008 · “the civilian position full fringe benefit cost factor needs to be adjusted downward, from 36.45 percent to 36.25 percent”

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: recreation.gov is offering sites on 9 of the next 9 nights, which isn’t something a closed campground does. The U.S. Forest Service’s own database, though, flags it not open with no reason or date; the flag is named under How we know all this.
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.
Nearest place of any size: California Hot Springs, CA, 6.3 mi NNE (a census designated place). Straight line.