U.S. Forest Service · Mt. Hood National Forest · OR

Rock Creek Campground (Mt. Hood National Forest, OR)

2Heads up2 fires, nearest 7 mi
Wildfire
Grasshopper fire · 6.6 mi away · 93,972 acres · 98% contained · updated Sep 30, 2026
Wildfire
Latigo Lane fire · 44 mi away · updated Oct 16, 2026
ReservableOut of season, no booking; October 18 opens April 18.
Book on recreation.govWe make nothing when you book
Right now
Nobody has saidNo season, no closure, no bookings to read
A night
$30From, per site
Sites
3332 on recreation.gov
40 ftLongest rig
2,210 ftElevation
396 ftWater · Rock Creek Reservoir
26.3 miSW of Chenoweth, OR
49%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 9 notices

In the agency’s own words

Rock Creek Campground sits on the shores of scenic Rock Creek Reservoir in the pine-covered mountains of Mt. Hood National Forest. It is a family-friendly campground with many sites right on the water's edge. The campground provides access to a variety of recreational activities, as well as historic sites throughout the forest. Keep reading

Recreation

The reservoir is a popular spot for fishing, canoeing and boating, however, boats must have electric motors. Anglers can expect a catch of bass and bluegill, and the lake is regularly stocked with rainbow trout. An unmarked trail connects the campground to nearby Sportsman Campground, which offers a network of off-road vehicle trails. A boat ramp, picnic area and hiking trail are available at the adjacent day use area.

Facilities

The campground offers single-family sites for tent and RV camping. RVs over 35 feet are not recommended. Some sites are available on a first-come, first-served basis. Each site is equipped with a table and campfire ring with grill. Vault toilets and drinking water are provided, but utility hookups are not available. Water disposal locations can be found throughout the campground. Parking surfaces are gravel. Firewood can be purchased from host.

Natural Features

The campground is situated in a stand of mixed oak and pine trees, along the southeastern shore of the 180-acre reservoir, which is rarely at capacity because it is used for irrigation purposes. At an elevation of about 4,600 feet, the campground provides scenic views of the adjacent lake and surrounding forest. A variety of wildlife make its home in the area and eagles are commonly spotted nesting.

Nearby Attractions

The campground is about 30 miles from the town of Government Camp at the base of Mt. Hood. Year-round skiing, a variety of trailheads and many sightseeing opportunities can be found there. Contact Info For facility specific information, please call (541) 467-2291.

What the agency tells you

Rule

Water level and lake access are highly dependent on weather conditions, snow melt, and irrigation usage. We have no control of water levels and cannot assure you water activities will be available to you at the time of your reservation. The water level progressively drops throughout the year.

Rule

Gas-powered engines are not allowed on the lake

Rule

Off-road vehicle use is prohibited within the campground

Everything else this campground posts · 6
Rule

Picnic area is closed when eagles are nesting nearby

Rule

In accordance with standard industry practices, Mount Hood Recreation will be assessing an additional vehicle fee on the second vehicle in each single family campsite, and on the third and fourth vehicle in any double family campsite, provided these vehicles are not joined to the first vehicle by a hitch and towed onto the site. In the case of motorcycles, the first two are considered as one vehicle for determining additional vehicle fees. The third and fourth motorcycle would also be considered as one vehicle. No additional vehicle fees are collected for bicycles.

Rule

Click here for more information on the Mt. Hood National Forest

Rule

Fire Restrictions: Fire restrictions may be imposed at any time due to hot, dry weather conditions, at which time campfires and charcoal fires may not be allowed.

Rule

Refunds: Refund requests made through www.recreation.gov will be charged a $10 processing fee. This fee is retained by the reservation service contractor along with the non-refundable reservation fee. All requests for the return of the non-refundable reservation fee and the cancellation fee will be declined by the campground concessionaire as they did not receive these fees (these are the fees retained by the reservation contractor, a different entity).

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Please protect Pacific Northwest forests by preventing the spread of invasive species. Firewood can carry insects and diseases that can threaten the health of our western forests. You can make a difference by obtaining and burning your firewood near your camping destination. Visit Dontmovefirewood.org for further information.

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
33 · 5 tent-only
Hookups
None
Longest rig
40 ft
Accessible sites
None listed
Pets
Allowed
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Vault Toilets
“…a table and campfire ring with grill. Vault toilets and drinking water are provided, but utility…”
Drinking water
Yes
“…ring with grill. Vault toilets and drinking water are provided, but utility hookups are not…”
Boat ramp
Yes
Firewood
Sold here
Stay limit
14 nights
recreation.gov facility rule maxStay
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026
Water, toilets and showers: read from the agency description, shown above · Sep 12, 2026

Around the campground

On the water
Reservoir, Lake, Creek
Boating
Fishing
Hiking
Swimming
Visitor center
Wildlife viewing
Night sky · 485th darkest of 770 in OR
Bortle 2
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026

No reading yet, book on recreation.gov

recreation.gov lists 32 of the 33 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.

No availability snapshot inside the last 36 hours, so this page draws nothing rather than ageing a reading into fiction.

Booking windowOut of seasonOut of season, no booking. On October 18, 2026 at 10 AM ET, availability opens through April 18, 2027.recreation.govAdd to calendar (.ics)
Max stay14 nightsthe facility record
A night$30plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$68DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itAlaska Recreational Management, Inc.A private concessionaire under permit from U.S. Forest Servicethe operator link
Watch for a cancellation

Full? Watch it.

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Sun, Apr 18 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 13

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night$30
Standard Nonelectric$30
Tent Only Nonelectric$30
These are next season’s rates, Apr 18, 2027 to Sep 23, 2027. The campground is between seasons now.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$38
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$68

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rate for this season, $30 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5

rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Oct 1, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

33 sites · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 32 mapped sites
59 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least roomLoop 1 004 40 ftLoop 1 006 40 ftLoop 1 018 49 ft

All 33 sites

33 of 33 sites located
Standard27Tent only5Type not stated1
SleepsTakes aUp to

Toilet distances are OpenStreetMap’s, measured for 33 of the 33 sites listed. A site with no reading is unknown, never far.

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 32 of the 33 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.

Loop 1001standard nonelectric35 ft59 ft369 ftRock Creek842 ft$30
Loop 1002standard nonelectric30 ft73 ft369 ft771 ft$30
Loop 1003HOSTtype not stated327 ft790 ft
Loop 1004standard nonelectric25 ft40 ft310 ftRock Creek876 ft$30
Loop 1005tent only nonelectric52 ft223 ft810 ft$30
Loop 1006standard nonelectric35 ft40 ft274 ftRock Creek888 ft$30
Loop 1007standard nonelectric35 ft50 ft247 ftRock Creek875 ft$30
Loop 1008standard nonelectric25 ft50 ft199 ft890 ft$30
Loop 1009standard nonelectric25 ft52 ft178 ft818 ft$30
Loop 1010tent only nonelectric87 ft120 ft908 ft$30
Loop 1011tent only nonelectric128 ft82 ft824 ft$30
Loop 1012standard nonelectric30 ft54 ft206 ft661 ft$30
Loop 1013standard nonelectric27 ft98 ft116 ft672 ft$30
Loop 1014standard nonelectric20 ft54 ft183 ft615 ft$30
Loop 1015standard nonelectric30 ft76 ft98 ft530 ft$30
Loop 1016standard nonelectric27 ft55 ft169 ft594 ft$30
Loop 1017standard nonelectric25 ft56 ft85 ft500 ft$30
Loop 1018standard nonelectric27 ft49 ft157 ft563 ft$30
Loop 1019standard nonelectric30 ft56 ft106 ft482 ft$30
Loop 1020standard nonelectric20 ft49 ft177 ft558 ft$30
Loop 1021standard nonelectric30 ft70 ft155 ft481 ft$30
Loop 1022standard nonelectric25 ft57 ft221 ft570 ft$30
Loop 2023standard nonelectric27 ft112 ft115 ft371 ft$30
Loop 2024standard nonelectric30 ft74 ft25 ft256 ft$30
Loop 2025standard nonelectric30 ft59 ft92 ft182 ft$30
Loop 2026standard nonelectric40 ft60 ft47 ft219 ft$30
Loop 2027standard nonelectric25 ft98 ft129 ft131 ft$30
Loop 2028tent only nonelectric59 ft104 ft160 ft$30
Loop 2029standard nonelectric25 ft73 ft167 ft162 ft$30
Loop 2030tent only nonelectric73 ft191 ft221 ft$30
Loop 2031standard nonelectric25 ft82 ft296 ft240 ft$30
Loop 2032standard nonelectric25 ft90 ft301 ft156 ft$30
Loop 2033standard nonelectric20 ft82 ft367 ft241 ft$30

25 of 33 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate45.21694, -121.38528
The phone503-630-5721
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

Getting there

From Portland, travel east on Highway 26 for 42 miles. Take the Highway 35 exit to Hood River and travel northeast for 3 miles. Turn right on Forest Road 48 and travel 22 miles. Turn left on Forest Road 4810 and continue to the campground.

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Overnight48°Mostly Cloudy9% rain
Saturday65°Partly Sunny9% rain
Saturday Night36°Partly Cloudy
Sunday60°Partly Sunny

NWS forecast for Sportsmans Park, OR

Typical weather

Typical October night 37°F, day 64°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical December night 27°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

100°32°20°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: DUFUR, OR (USC00352440), 21 miles away and 880 ft lower

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it

What threatens this place

developing
Roadless
Badger Creek847 acres · 5 mi · inventoried roadless area

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Source: MTJP Threatened Lands map · Oct 4, 2026

Who answers for this land

Cliff Bentz, official portrait

Rock Creek Campground (Mt. Hood National Forest, OR) is in Oregon’s 2nd congressional district. Its representative, Cliff Bentz (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: U.S. Forest Service publishes no season and no closure for this campground, and it takes no bookings we can read. That’s a gap in the record and not a locked gate: the number below is the only way to be sure.
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.
Nearest place of any size: Sportsmans Park, OR, 0.2 mi ESE (a census designated place). Straight line.