U.S. Forest Service · Willamette National Forest · OR

Shadow Bay

ReservableBookable through October 30; December 26 opens June 26.
Book on recreation.govWe make nothing when you book
Right now
Taking bookingsSites offered on 12 of the next 15 nights read 16:31 UTC
A night
$28–$56Across the site types the agency prices
Sites
5721 on recreation.gov
40 ftLongest rig
5,450 ftElevation
265 ftWater · Waldo Lake
20.1 miE of Oakridge, OR
65%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 7 notices

In the agency’s own words

Shadow Bay Campground rests on the shores of Waldo Lake in a forest of towering conifers. This large recreation area provides plenty of things to see and do like sailing, canoeing, fishing and swimming. Keep reading

Recreation

Waldo Lake is circled by the Jim Weaver Loop, a 22-mile hiking and biking trail. The Shoreline Trail lines the lakeside of the campground and takes hikers and bikers to a network of other trails. From there, hikers can continue into the Waldo Lake Wilderness, but mountain bikers are not allowed in Wilderness. The lake offers boating and swimming. A boat ramp is located on-site.

Facilities

This 92 site campground is less busy than its neighboring campground, North Waldo, resulting in a quieter atmosphere. Nineteen sites are reservable. Garbage containers and gray water disposal areas are available at the campground.

Natural Features

Shadow Bay Campground is located on a large bay at the south end of Waldo Lake. It is considerably wetter than either North Waldo or Islet Campground, supporting a more diverse and prolific ground cover, and also more mosquitos. Situated high on the western slopes of the Oregon Cascades at 5,400 feet in elevation, Waldo Lake is one of the purest lakes in Oregon (9.8 square miles with a maximum depth of 427 feet). It has no permanent inlet to bring nutrients into the lake for plant growth. The lack of plant life contributes to its purity, allowing you to see to depths of 120 feet on a calm day.

Nearby Attractions

Explore Waldo Lake and surrounding hiking trails for views of the snow-capped North, Middle and South Sisters, three of the seven major peaks in Willamette National Forest.

What the agency tells you

Rule

THIS SITE CURRENTLY HAS NO DRINKING WATER. You will need to bring all your own water. There are severe maintenance issues with the current water system, that are taking a prolonged period of time to repair. Sorry for any inconvenience.

Rule

No electric hookups at this facility

Rule

Limit one vehicle per campsite; a fee will be charged for additional vehicles

Everything else this campground posts · 4
Rule

This facility has first-come, first-served sites

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Please protect Pacific Northwest forests by preventing the spread of invasive species. Firewood can carry insects and diseases that can threaten the health of our western forests. You can make a difference by obtaining and burning your firewood near your camping destination. Visit Dontmovefirewood.org for further information.

Rule

Any accepted senior passes must be entered for the discount at the time of booking for single sites only.

Rule

Customer Service Contact 801-226-3564 or Help.Willamette.MiddleFork@AmericanLL.com

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
57 · 3 group
Hookups
None
Longest rig
40 ft
Accessible sites
None listed
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Boat ramp
Yes
Stay limit
14 nights
recreation.gov facility rule maxStay
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026

Around the campground

On the water
Lake, Beach, Coast
Boating
Canoeing
Night sky · 247th darkest of 770 in OR
Bortle 2
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026

Fully booked this Friday and Saturday, all 11 site-nights takenread 16:31 UTC

recreation.gov lists 21 of the 57 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.

OpenBookedClosed

Booking windowThrough October 30Bookable now through October 30, 2026, the end of the reservable season. On December 26, 2026 at 10 AM ET, availability opens through June 26, 2027.recreation.govAdd to calendar (.ics)
Max stay14 nightsthe facility record
A night$28–$56plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$64–$120DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itAmerican Land & LeisureA private concessionaire under permit from U.S. Forest Servicethe operator link
Watch for a cancellation

Full? Watch it.

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Sat, Jun 26 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 14

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night, per site$28–$56
Standard Nonelectric - Single$28
Standard Nonelectric - Double Site$56
Group areas, a night$130–$465
Rates for the season the campground is in now, Jun 26, 2026 to Oct 30, 2026.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$36–$64
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$64–$120

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $28–$56 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5

recreation.gov availability, read 16:31 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

57 sites · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 19 mapped sites
68 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least roomLoop LOOF 087 46 ftLoop LOOF 089 46 ftLoop LOOF 088 49 ft

All 57 sites

19 of 57 sites located
Standard16Group3
SleepsTakes aUp to

Toilet distances are OpenStreetMap’s, measured for 19 of the 57 sites listed. A site with no reading is unknown, never far.

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 57 of the 57 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

LOOA001standard nonelectric$28–$56
LOOA001-24standard nonelectric20 ft$28–$56
LOOA002standard nonelectric$28–$56
LOOA003standard nonelectric$28–$56
LOOA004standard nonelectric$28–$56
LOOA005standard nonelectric$28–$56
LOOA006standard nonelectric$28–$56
LOOA007standard nonelectric$28–$56
LOOA008standard nonelectric$28–$56
LOOA009standard nonelectric$28–$56
LOOA010standard nonelectric$28–$56
LOOA011standard nonelectric$28–$56
LOOA012standard nonelectric$28–$56
LOOA013standard nonelectric$28–$56
LOOA014standard nonelectric$28–$56
LOOA015standard nonelectric$28–$56
LOOA016standard nonelectric$28–$56
LOOA017standard nonelectric$28–$56
LOOA018standard nonelectric$28–$56
LOOA019standard nonelectric$28–$56
LOOA020standard nonelectric$28–$56
LOOA021standard nonelectric$28–$56
LOOA022standard nonelectric$28–$56
LOOA023standard nonelectric$28–$56
LOOA024standard nonelectric$28–$56
LOOBGP_Bgroup standard nonelectric40 ft451 ft371 ft166 ft$130
LOOCGP_Cgroup standard nonelectric40 ft451 ft286 ft194 ft$130
LOOD061standard nonelectric$28–$56
LOOD061-70standard nonelectric30 ft$28–$56
LOOD062standard nonelectric$28–$56
LOOD063standard nonelectric$28–$56
LOOD064standard nonelectric$28–$56
LOOD065standard nonelectric$28–$56
LOOD066standard nonelectric$28–$56
LOOD067standard nonelectric$28–$56
LOOD068standard nonelectric$28–$56
LOOD069standard nonelectric$28–$56
LOOD070standard nonelectric$28–$56
LOOEGP_Egroup standard nonelectric40 ft165 ft460 ft311 ft$130
LOOF076standard nonelectric24 ft104 ft214 ft338 ft$28–$56
LOOF077standard nonelectric30 ft104 ft309 ft359 ft$28–$56
LOOF078standard nonelectric24 ft50 ft231 ft219 ft$28–$56
LOOF079standard nonelectric30 ft104 ft304 ft165 ft$28–$56
LOOF080standard nonelectric30 ft50 ft203 ft172 ft$28–$56
LOOF081standard nonelectric24 ft61 ft253 ft61 ft$28–$56
LOOF082standard nonelectric30 ft61 ft196 ft53 ft$28–$56
LOOF083standard nonelectric28 ft105 ft205 ft85 ft$28–$56
LOOF084standard nonelectric18 ft67 ft208 ft211 ft$28–$56
LOOF085standard nonelectric30 ft67 ft272 ft202 ft$28–$56
LOOF086standard nonelectric30 ft76 ft230 ft285 ft$28–$56
LOOF087standard nonelectric24 ft46 ft194 ft304 ft$28–$56
LOOF088standard nonelectric36 ft49 ft181 ft352 ft$28–$56
LOOF089standard nonelectric20 ft46 ft154 ft350 ft$28–$56
LOOF090standard nonelectric30 ft57 ft84 ft400 ft$28–$56
LOOF091standard nonelectric38 ft57 ft118 ft381 ft$28–$56
S&PDouble S&Ptype not stated24 ft$27–$50
S&PSingle S&Ptype not stated20 ft$27–$50

25 of 57 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate43.69306, -122.04167
The phone801-226-3564
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

Getting there

From Oakridge, Oregon: At the intersection of Crestview Street and Oregon State Highway 58 (the only traffic light on State Highway 58 in Oakridge), travel east on Highway 58 for 23.3 miles. Turn left on the Waldo Lake Road/Forest Road 5897 and travel 6.7 miles to Forest Road 5896. Turn left onto Forest Road 5896, travel 1.7 miles and the destination will be on your right.

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

This Afternoon69°Mostly Sunny
Tonight37°Mostly Cloudy
Saturday55°Partly Sunny
Saturday Night33°Mostly Cloudy

NWS forecast for Crescent Lake, OR

Typical weather

Typical October night 30°F, day 55°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical December night 20°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

80°32°10°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Augusts are colder than the August line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: ODELL LAKE-EAST, OR (USC00356252), 11 miles away and 650 ft lower

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it

Roadless country, and what’s coming for it

Roadless
Waldo - Lake2,993 acres · 2 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Waldo - Koch245 acres · 4 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Maiden Peak9,627 acres · 5 mi · inventoried roadless area

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Who answers for this land

Val Hoyle, official portrait

Shadow Bay is in Oregon’s 4th congressional district. Its representative, Val Hoyle (D), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: A+. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: recreation.gov is offering sites on 12 of the next 15 nights, which isn’t something a closed campground does.
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.
Nearest place of any size: Crescent Lake, OR, 12.3 mi NNW (a census designated place). Straight line.