Silver Mines
We don’t think it should be. Every campground should hold some sites for whoever drives up.Tell your representative →
- Right now
- Taking bookingsSites offered on 11 of the next 11 nights read 15:57 UTC
- A night
- $15–$35Across the site types the agency prices
- Sites
- 5749 on recreation.gov
The place
the agency’s own description · what’s there · 4 notices
In the agency’s own words
Silver Mines Campground is located on the St. Francis River in the Mark Twain National Forest. It offers a variety of recreational opportunities and abundant historic and geological wonders. Keep reading
Recreation
Parts of the river are available for swimming, while other portions provide good fishing. Whitewater kayaking is a popular activity during the springtime when water runs high. Depending on water levels, the state holds an annual kayaking competition the third weekend of March. The 2-mile Silver Mines Trail follows both sides of the river, leading to various picnic areas. A 1.2-mile trail spurs to a popular conservation area, where visitors can view spectacular rock formations along the river.
Facilities
The campground offers dozens of single-family campsites, as well as large group sites, all available for tent and RV camping. Some sites have 30-amp electric hookups. The large group site can accommodate up to 74 people. Additional sites are offered on a first-come, first-served basis. Picnic tables and campfire rings with grills are provided, as are accessible vault toilets and drinking water. Parking spurs vary from asphalt, to grass, to gravel or dirt.
Natural Features
This beautiful area is located along the St. Francis River, the only river in Missouri classified as a whitewater river. It is widely used for kayaking during springtime. The campground is located at a historic mining operation and is known for its Precambrian granite and felsite rocks. A variety of wildlife makes its home in the area.
Nearby Attractions
The Millstream Gardens Conservation Area is located eight miles west of Fredericktown, or four miles west of the campground, on Highway 72. It is home to the scenic Tiemann Shut-ins and other spectacular sights along the riverbed.
What the agency tells you
Additional fees will be collected at the campground for extra vehicles
Group Shelter is for day use only, no overnight camping. This site is not available for reservation however is availalbe through the campground consessionaire. Site fee is $25 plus the day use fee of each vehicle. Please contact the manager at 573-783-3769.
Click here for more information on the Mark Twain National Forest
Everything else this campground posts · 1
Don't move firewood: To limit the spread of invasive tree-killing pests, firewood from outside the area is not permitted. Some states have quarantines and may confiscate your firewood. Please help protect our forests from invasive species by obtaining your firewood at or near your camping destination and burning it on-site. Visit dontmovefirewood.org for more information.
Tents and rigs
- Sites
- 57 · 12 tent-only, 1 group
- Hookups
- 9 electric
- Longest rig
- 60 ft
- Paved pads
- 26 of 57
- Accessible sites
- None listed
- Pets
- Allowed
- Campfires
- Allowed, barring fire bans
- Shade
- Every site
Facilities
- Toilets
- Vault Toilets
- VAULT TOILETS on 1 of 76 campsite records
- Drinking water
- Yes
- WATER SPIGOT on 1 of 76 campsite records
Around the campground
- On the water
- River
- Boating
- Fishing
- Hiking
- Swimming
- Wildlife viewing
- Night sky · 66th darkest of 118 in MO
- Bortle 4
Full this Saturdayread 15:57 UTC
How full the weekend is nationally.
OpenBooked
Every one of the 18 sites on offer is taken this Friday and Saturday. 29 are free on Tue, Oct 20. read 15:57 UTC Why the weekend fills and the week doesn’t
Watch for a cancellation
Watch this campground
One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.
We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.
Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.
Tell me when the season opens
Watch for the season to open
One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.
We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.
Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.
We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.
Every line of the receipt · 17
What you actually pay
Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $15–$35 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.
Who keeps the booking fee
The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →
How we know this receipt · 5
recreation.gov availability, read 15:57 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this
The sites
76 records · which ones have room · the site map
The sites, ranked
from 41 mapped sites2 sites share one published coordinate and are left out of the rankings.
All 76 records
Toilet distances are OpenStreetMap’s, measured for 53 of the 76 sites listed. A site with no reading is unknown, never far.
The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 56 of the 76 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.
Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.
| DBLS | 022 | standard nonelectric | 30 ft | 139 ft | 774 ft | 172 ft | $15–$25 | ||
| DBLS | 034 | standard nonelectric | 60 ft | 79 ft | 809 ft | 181 ft | $15–$25 | ||
| GRP | 001 | group standard nonelectric | 45 ft | 594 ft | 108 ft | ||||
| GRP | Riverside Pavilion | day use | yes | 311 ft | 288 ft | 175 ft | $50 | ||
| MANAGEMENT SITES | 10 | type not stated | 340 ft | 184 ft | $33.97 | ||||
| MANAGEMENT SITES | 12 | type not stated | 261 ft | 106 ft | $33.97 | ||||
| MANAGEMENT SITES | 16 | type not stated | 1,075 ft | 67 ft | $33.97 | ||||
| MANAGEMENT SITES | 17 | type not stated | 1,017 ft | 131 ft | $33.97 | ||||
| MANAGEMENT SITES | 19 | type not stated | 933 ft | 164 ft | $33.97 | ||||
| MANAGEMENT SITES | 2 | type not stated | 479 ft | 205 ft | $33.97 | ||||
| MANAGEMENT SITES | 21 | type not stated | 740 ft | 249 ft | $33.97 | ||||
| MANAGEMENT SITES | 25 | type not stated | 549 ft | 385 ft | $33.97 | ||||
| MANAGEMENT SITES | 3 | type not stated | 382 ft | 84 ft | $33.97 | ||||
| MANAGEMENT SITES | XXX | unnamed record | 45 ft | $33.97 | |||||
| MANAGEMENT SITES | XXX1 | unnamed record | $33.97 | ||||||
| MANAGEMENT SITES | XXX11 | unnamed record | $33.97 | ||||||
| MANAGEMENT SITES | XXX13 | unnamed record | $33.97 | ||||||
| MANAGEMENT SITES | XXX14 | unnamed record | 1,257 ft | 150 ft | $33.97 | ||||
| MANAGEMENT SITES | XXX15 | unnamed record | $33.97 | ||||||
| MANAGEMENT SITES | XXX18 | unnamed record | $33.97 | ||||||
| MANAGEMENT SITES | XXX20 | unnamed record | $33.97 | ||||||
| MANAGEMENT SITES | XXX22 | unnamed record | $33.97 | ||||||
| MANAGEMENT SITES | XXX23 | unnamed record | 705 ft | 230 ft | $33.97 | ||||
| MANAGEMENT SITES | XXX24 | unnamed record | $33.97 | ||||||
| MANAGEMENT SITES | XXX26 | unnamed record | $33.97 | ||||||
| MANAGEMENT SITES | XXX4 | unnamed record | $33.97 | ||||||
| MANAGEMENT SITES | XXX5 | unnamed record | 1,241 ftSilver Mines Dam | 114 ft | $33.97 | ||||
| MANAGEMENT SITES | XXX6 | unnamed record | $33.97 | ||||||
| MANAGEMENT SITES | XXX7 | unnamed record | $33.97 | ||||||
| MANAGEMENT SITES | XXX8 | unnamed record | $33.97 | ||||||
| MANAGEMENT SITES | XXX9 | unnamed record | $33.97 | ||||||
| PSNG | 039 | standard nonelectric | 35 ft | 185 ft | 983 ft | 176 ft | $15–$25 | ||
| PSNG | 041 | tent only nonelectric | 170 ft | 814 ft | 347 ft | $15 | |||
| PSNG | 042 | tent only nonelectric | 170 ft | 909 ft | 423 ft | $15 | |||
| PSNG | 045 | standard nonelectric | 30 ft | 157 ft | 1,079 ft | 240 ft | $15–$25 | ||
| PSNG | 046 | standard nonelectric | 35 ft | 70 ft | 1,153 ft | 254 ft | $15–$25 | ||
| PSNG | 048 | tent only nonelectric | 70 ft | 1,145 ftSilver Mines Dam | 268 ft | $15 | |||
| PSNG | 049 | standard nonelectric | 30 ft | 91 ft | 1,055 ftSilver Mines Dam | 321 ft | $15–$25 | ||
| PSNG | 053 | standard nonelectric | 30 ft | 125 ft | 1,197 ftSilver Mines Dam | 57 ft | $15–$25 | ||
| PSNG | 055 | standard nonelectric | 35 ft | 125 ft | 1,195 ft | 92 ft | $15–$25 | ||
| RDBL | 004 | standard electric | 50 ft | 50 amp | 139 ft | 551 ft | 328 ft | $25–$35 | |
| RSNG | 001 | standard nonelectric | 25 ft | 594 ft | 108 ft | $15–$25 | |||
| RSNG | 005 | standard electric | 50 ft | 30 amp | 103 ft | 424 ft | 366 ft | $25–$35 | |
| RSNG | 006 | standard electric | 50 ft | 30 amp | 97 ft | 394 ft | 270 ft | $25–$35 | |
| RSNG | 007 | standard electric | 25 ft | 30 amp | $25–$35 | ||||
| RSNG | 008 | standard electric | 50 ft | 30 amp | 72 ft | 297 ft | 303 ft | $25–$35 | |
| RSNG | 009 | standard electric | 50 ft | 30 amp | 72 ft | 274 ft | 259 ft | $25–$35 | |
| RSNG | 010 | standard electric | 30 amp | $25–$35 | |||||
| RSNG | 011 | standard electric | 50 ft | 30 amp | 119 ft | 246 ft | 181 ft | $25–$35 | |
| RSNG | 012 | standard electric | 30 amp | $25–$35 | |||||
| SPRG | 057 | standard nonelectric | 25 ft | 136 ft | 745 ftTurkey Creek | 183 ft | $15–$25 | ||
| SPRG | 058 | standard nonelectric | 25 ft | 136 ft | 866 ftTurkey Creek | 289 ft | $15–$25 | ||
| SPRG | 059 | tent only nonelectric | 150 ft | 921 ft | 319 ft | $15 | |||
| SPRG | 060 | tent only nonelectric | 135 ft | 955 ft | 432 ft | $15 | |||
| SPRG | 061 | standard nonelectric | 25 ft | 135 ft | 893 ft | 565 ft | $15–$25 | ||
| SPRG | 062 | tent only nonelectric | 158 ft | 792 ft | 706 ft | $15 | |||
| SPRG | 063 | tent only nonelectric | 189 ft | 487 ft | 743 ft | $15 | |||
| SPRG | 064 | tent only nonelectric | 189 ft | 476 ft | 680 ft | $15 | |||
| SPRG | 065 | standard nonelectric | 25 ft | 181 ft | 664 ftTurkey Creek | 358 ft | $15–$25 | ||
| SPRG | 066 | tent only nonelectric | 115 ft | 712 ftTurkey Creek | 205 ft | $15 | |||
| SPRG | 067 | tent only nonelectric | 115 ft | 624 ftTurkey Creek | 122 ft | $15 | |||
| SPRG | 068 | tent only nonelectric | $15 | ||||||
| SPRG | 069 | tent only nonelectric | $15 | ||||||
| SPRG | 073 | standard nonelectric | 25 ft | $15–$25 | |||||
| SPRG | 074 | standard nonelectric | 25 ft | $15–$25 | |||||
| SPRG | 075 | standard nonelectric | 25 ft | $15–$25 | |||||
| SUMM | 013 | standard nonelectric | 25 ft | 117 ft | 1,190 ft | 170 ft | $15–$25 | ||
| SUMM | 015 | standard nonelectric | 35 ft | 117 ft | 1,125 ft | 60 ft | $15–$25 | ||
| SUMM | 018 | standard nonelectric | 35 ft | 105 ft | 946 ft | 180 ft | $15–$25 | ||
| SUMM | 020 | standard nonelectric | 35 ft | 105 ft | 870 ft | 217 ft | $15–$25 | ||
| SUMM | 024 | standard nonelectric | 35 ft | 131 ft | 640 ft | 309 ft | $15–$25 | ||
| SUMM | 026 | standard nonelectric | 25 ft | 131 ft | 632 ft | 307 ft | $15–$25 | ||
| SUMM | 027 | standard nonelectric | 30 ft | 133 ft | 503 ft | 438 ft | $15–$25 | ||
| SUMM | 030 | standard nonelectric | 35 ft | 99 ft | 656 ft | 312 ft | $15–$25 | ||
| SUMM | 033 | standard nonelectric | 25 ft | 79 ft | 748 ft | 213 ft | $15–$25 | ||
| SUMM | 037 | standard nonelectric | 25 ft | 194 ft | 986 ft | 63 ft | $15–$25 |
The agency files 19 more records here that aren’t sites for the night: 1 it files as day use and 18 it types MANAGEMENT rather than a campsite. They’re in the table above, marked for what they are, and none of them is counted as a site.
25 of 76 listed
Getting there
the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions
Where it is
Highway K24 mi
Council Bluff Recreation AreaMark Twain National Forest · 30 mi
Greenville Recreation Area31 mi
Sutton Bluff Recreation AreaMark Twain National Forest · 32 miFrom St. Louis, Missouri, take I-55 south to Festus, then take Highway 67 south to Fredericktown, then take Highway 72 west for approximately 4 miles to Highway D. Turn left and travel approximately 2 miles on Highway D to the recreation area.
The weather
the next four days · the thirty-year normal
Next four days, and the thirty-year normal
Forecast
NWS forecast for Fredericktown, MO
Typical weather
Typical October night 42°F, day 69°F.
Coldest month of the year: typical January night 21°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.
Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more
A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.
The land, and who answers for it
what threatens it · who answers for it · a letter you can send
What threatens this place
You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.
Who answers for this land

Silver Mines is in Missouri’s 8th congressional district. Its representative, Jason Smith (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →
Who can change it · 3
Two offices, two different asks. The draft to the agency asks it to set aside a published share of the sites here for whoever drives up. The draft to Congress asks why that share is zero and presses for a published minimum at the campgrounds it funds.
- The member who votes the moneyJason SmithU.S. Representative · Missouri’s 8th district
- Your senator, on the same appropriationEric SchmittU.S. Senator · Missouri
- Your senator, on the same appropriationJosh HawleyU.S. Senator · Missouri
Read the draft, or change the wording
For the camper who turned up, or tried to book, and couldn’t get in. Every draft is written from this campground’s own record (its agency, its unit, its site count and its own weekend) and the buttons above copy whichever wording is selected here.
Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.
Subject Walk-up camping at Silver Mines, Mark Twain National Forest, Missouri
Dear Jason Smith, I’m a constituent in Missouri’s 8th district. I tried to camp at Silver Mines, Mark Twain National Forest, Missouri, and couldn’t. recreation.gov lists 49 of the 57 campsites the agency files at Silver Mines, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 18 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked. 1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Silver Mines keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule. I’m not asking you to run Silver Mines. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund. The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them. Sent about Silver Mines (Mark Twain National Forest, Missouri) via campanac.com
Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.
Subject Walk-up camping at Silver Mines, Mark Twain National Forest, Missouri
Dear Eric Schmitt, I’m a constituent in Missouri. I tried to camp at Silver Mines, Mark Twain National Forest, Missouri, and couldn’t. recreation.gov lists 49 of the 57 campsites the agency files at Silver Mines, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 18 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked. 1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Silver Mines keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule. I’m not asking you to run Silver Mines. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund. The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them. Sent about Silver Mines (Mark Twain National Forest, Missouri) via campanac.com
Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.
Subject Walk-up camping at Silver Mines, Mark Twain National Forest, Missouri
Dear Josh Hawley, I’m a constituent in Missouri. I tried to camp at Silver Mines, Mark Twain National Forest, Missouri, and couldn’t. recreation.gov lists 49 of the 57 campsites the agency files at Silver Mines, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 18 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked. 1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Silver Mines keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule. I’m not asking you to run Silver Mines. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund. The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them. Sent about Silver Mines (Mark Twain National Forest, Missouri) via campanac.com