U.S. Forest Service · Uinta National Forest · UT

Strawberry Bay Long Term

ReservableOut of season, no booking; January 22 opens May 22.
Book on recreation.govWe make nothing when you book
Right now
Nobody has saidNo season, no closure, no bookings to read
A night
$22–$27Across the site types the agency prices
Sites
4543 on recreation.gov
60 ftLongest rig
7,640 ftElevation
848 ftWater · Strawberry Reservoir
19.6 miE of Mapleton, UT
0%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 12 notices

In the agency’s own words

Strawberry Bay Campground is located on the shore of beautiful Strawberry Reservoir at an elevation of 7,200 feet. Visitors flock to Strawberry for its great fishing, boating and trail opportunities. Keep reading

Recreation

Strawberry Reservoir offers excellent boating, water skiing and canoeing. Anglers fish for rainbow trout, cutthroat trout and Kokanee salmon. The campground provides great beach access. Other popular activities in the Strawberry area include hiking, biking and horseback riding.

Facilities

There are no shower facilites at this campground. Firewood is avaliable for purchase from the host. Vault tiolets and drinking water from spigots are provided.

Natural Features

The campground is set among rolling sagebrush covered hills next to Strawberry Reservoir. Most campsites offer sweeping views of the reservoir and surrounding hills. Small pine trees dot the campground but provide very little shade.

Nearby Attractions

The Strawberry OHV Trail System offers 75 miles of trails. Hikers and mountain bikers enjoy the extensive trail system as well. Strawberry Visitor Center has interpretive displays, a working fish trap and egg collection station and a nature trail.

What the agency tells you

Rule

Camping fees include access to Boat-Launch facilities, Day-Use areas, and dump stations around Strawberry Reservoir.

Rule

RV( Max length) is the TOTAL length of the site. RV( Max length - includes tow vehicle )

Rule

For campground Rules and Regulations visit https://www.gocamputah.com/rules

Everything else this campground posts · 9
Rule

Long term is a minimum of 30 days and a maximum of the entire summer season. (May-October weather depending.)

Rule

Senior Pass Discounts do not apply to long term sites.

Rule

Site Capacities are one personal vehicle per single site and two vehicles per double site and one camping unit per site; 8 people at any one time. An extra vehicle fee will be applicable after the first vehicle, whether for day use or overnight use.

Rule

Please understand that camping is an outdoor experience; therefore, we do not give refunds or credits for weather or natural conditions.

Rule

No ATVs or OHVs in campground.

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Help prevent the spread of tree-killing pests in our national forests by obtaining firewood near your destination and burning it on-site.

Rule

For more information, please call Heber Ranger District at 435-654-0470, Strawberry Visitor Center at 435-548-2321, or Utah Recreation Company at 385-273-1100 Visit our webiste www.gocamputah.com or Facebook facebook.com/gocamputah  To reserve a campsite call Recreation.gov reservation line 1-877-444-6777

Rule

Please note: Utah Recreation Company is not responsible for accident or injury to any person or property resulting from the use of this facility and is not responsible for the loss of money or valuables of any kind. The user of this permit assumes full and complete responsibility for the conduct and actions of all members in his or her party.

Rule

The following are prohibited on site: Tarps covering your RV Dog fences/runs Yard fences Firewood piles larger than a cubic yard  Boxes under the RV Visible plywood Tents – cannot remain standing when not occupying the site or overnight sleeping Free-standing screen rooms – cannot remain up when the site is not occupied Free-standing stairways, ramps, or decks. Non-attached enclosures (i.e. porches, sunrooms, sheds, etc.). Bikes must be neatly stored at the campsite and out of sight, if possible.   Enclosed storage type trailers and tow dollies must fit on the parking spur or be put into a dry storage at the marina.   Yard decorations, including but not limited to, windmills, sunflowers, flamingoes, sundials, wind chimes, etc. Auto/boat repair work will not be allowed on-site.  No physical fasteners (screws, nails, etc.) to tables, sunshades, windscreens. No planting or removal of vegetation, including flower pots or hanging house plants. No defining of walkways/trails / etc., with rocks or other materials. No temporary structures, ramps, carpets, pallets, or any other means of access to boats moored on the lake are allowed.   Motorized access to the lake shoreline is allowed only via designated public roads. Individuals requiring assistance with loading and unloading are encouraged to use the developed facilities at Strawberry Bay Boat Ramp.   All animals must be kept on a leash and cleaned up after properly and promptly. Animals may not be left unattended. After one request to quiet the animal, barking dogs must be kept inside your rig.   Trash receptacles are for refuse produced on site.  Dumping of refuse from home is strictly prohibited.  No mowing, trimming, or weed whacking is allowed with electrical or gas-powered equipment.   All Long-term customers must obey all campground rules and regulations.  All equipment and personal items must be removed by the end of the season.    BOAT STORAGE is available: At the campsite only if the boat and all other approved vehicles fit on the camp spur. In dry storage at the Marina. Boat and/or trailer cannot be left in any day-use parking lot.   MOORING is available: Can use a slip at the marina Can only moor the boat on the lake while present at the campsite. Additionally, boats can only remain on the lake for 16 consecutive days in a 30-day period as per Forest Order. Anchoring the boat on the lakeshore is not allowed

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
45
Hookups
None
Longest rig
60 ft
Accessible sites
None listed
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Vault Toilets
VAULT TOILETS on 45 of 45 campsite records
Showers
None at this campground
“Facilities There are no shower facilites at this campground.”
Drinking water
Yes
WATER (SEASONAL) on 45 of 45 campsite records
Dump station
Yes
recreation.gov lists “Dump Station”
Firewood
Sold here
Camp host
On site
recreation.gov lists “Host”
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026

Around the campground

On the water
Reservoir, Beach, Coast
Boating
Fishing
Night sky · 375th darkest of 458 in UT
Bortle 4
Fall color · reported 10 days ago, 27 km away
Past peak
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026
Fall color: More Than Just Parks foliage tracker, joined to this campground by distance (27 km) · Oct 6, 2026

No reading yet, book on recreation.gov

recreation.gov lists 43 of the 45 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.

No availability snapshot inside the last 36 hours, so this page draws nothing rather than ageing a reading into fiction.

Booking windowOut of seasonOut of season, no booking. On January 22, 2027 at 10 AM ET, availability opens through May 22, 2027.recreation.govAdd to calendar (.ics)
Max stay145 nightsthe facility record
A night$22–$27plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$52–$62DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Forest ServiceBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Full? Watch it.

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Sat, May 22 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 14

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night, per site$22–$27
Single Site$22
Double Site$27
Rates for the season the campground is in now, May 22, 2026 to Oct 4, 2026.
Long term rates: $22.00/night single sites $27.00/night double sites
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$30–$35
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$52–$62

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $22–$27 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5

rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

45 sites

All 45 sites

SleepsTakes aUp to

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 43 of the 45 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

DD-1standard nonelectric50 ft$22–$27
DD-10standard nonelectric60 ft$22–$27
DD-11standard nonelectric40 ft$22–$27
DD-12standard nonelectric35 ft$22–$27
DD-13standard nonelectric40 ft$22–$27
DD-14standard nonelectric44 ft$22–$27
DD-15standard nonelectric42 ft$22–$27
DD-16standard nonelectric45 ft$22–$27
DD-17standard nonelectric47 ft$22–$27
DD-18standard nonelectric40 ft$22–$27
DD-19standard nonelectric35 ft$22–$27
DD-2standard nonelectric50 ft$22–$27
DD-20type not stated50 ft
DD-21standard nonelectric45 ft$22–$27
DD-22standard nonelectric60 ft$22–$27
DD-23standard nonelectric50 ft$22–$27
DD-24standard nonelectric35 ft$22–$27
DD-25standard nonelectric40 ft$22–$27
DD-26standard nonelectric30 ft$22–$27
DD-27standard nonelectric40 ft$22–$27
DD-28standard nonelectric50 ft$22–$27
DD-29standard nonelectric43 ft$22–$27
DD-3standard nonelectric50 ft$22–$27
DD-30standard nonelectric44 ft$22–$27
DD-31standard nonelectric40 ft$22–$27
DD-32standard nonelectric47 ft$22–$27
DD-33standard nonelectric40 ft$22–$27
DD-34standard nonelectric35 ft$22–$27
DD-35standard nonelectric45 ft$22–$27
DD-36standard nonelectric50 ft$22–$27
DD-37standard nonelectric30 ft$22–$27
DD-38standard nonelectric50 ft$22–$27
DD-39standard nonelectric35 ft$22–$27
DD-4standard nonelectric50 ft$22–$27
DD-40standard nonelectric45 ft$22–$27
DD-41standard nonelectric40 ft$22–$27
DD-42standard nonelectric45 ft$22–$27
DD-43standard nonelectric40 ft$22–$27
DD-44standard nonelectric45 ft$22–$27
DD-45standard nonelectric40 ft$22–$27
DD-5standard nonelectric45 ft$22–$27
DD-6standard nonelectric30 ft$22–$27
DD-7standard nonelectric35 ft$22–$27
DD-8type not stated50 ft
DD-9standard nonelectric30 ft$22–$27

25 of 45 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the phone number

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Today56°Sunny1% rain
Tonight32°Mostly Clear
Saturday60°Sunny
Saturday Night34°Mostly Clear

NWS forecast for Independence, UT

Typical weather

Typical October night 22°F, day 48°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical December night 2°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

80°32°-10°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: ELECTRIC LAKE, UT (USC00422424), 40 miles away and 740 ft higher

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it

Roadless country, and what’s coming for it

Roadless
Baldy Mountain9,367 acres · 6 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Fifth Water17,289 acres · 7 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Jimmies Point5,495 acres · 8 mi · inventoried roadless area

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Who answers for this land

Mike Kennedy, official portrait

Strawberry Bay Long Term is in Utah’s 3rd congressional district. Its representative, Mike Kennedy (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: U.S. Forest Service publishes no season and no closure for this campground, and it takes no bookings we can read. That’s a gap in the record and not a locked gate: the number below is the only way to be sure.
Fall color: More Than Just Parks foliage tracker, joined to this campground by distance (27 km) · Oct 6, 2026
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.
Nearest place of any size: Independence, UT, 9.3 mi SSE. Straight line.