Reservable, and full this SaturdayEvery one of the 36 sites on offer is taken this Saturday, and the record lists no site held back for a walk-up. read 16:28 UTC

We don’t think it should be. Every campground should hold some sites for whoever drives up.Tell your representative →

Right now
Taking bookingsSites offered on 30 of the next 30 nights read 16:28 UTC
A night
$39–$51Across the site types the agency prices
Sites
5958 on recreation.gov
66 ftLongest rig
60 ftElevation
1,034 ftWater · Big CreekOcean · 525 ft · to the Pacific Ocean
1.9 miSW of Waldport, OR
59%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 8 notices

In the agency’s own words

Tillicum Beach Campground is popular for many reasons, but the number one and most obvious is its location right on the beach. Campers are lulled to sleep by the sound of the ocean waves, then wake to sweeping views of the Pacific. The campground offers an ideal location for whale watching. Most campsites have beachfront views, and sunsets are not to be missed. Fishing, swimming and playing in the sand are the campground's most popular activities. Keep reading

Recreation

Campers enjoy Tillicum for its expansive sandy beach. Surfers and swimmers play in the waves just off-shore. Children love building sandcastles on the beach. Walking along the beach is a great way to explore the area. Cape Perpetua is 6 miles south, where visitors can wander through old-growth Sitka spruce, experience the crashing surf, investigate tide pools, whale watch or take a guided hike. Waldport, just 4 miles north, provides access to fishing, crabbing, clamming and shrimping in the Alsea Bay and River.

Facilities

The campground offers several single-family campsites, a few of which have both electric and water hookups. Sites with hookups are not on the waterfront. Due to the campground's popularity, it's a good idea to make reservations in advance. Each site is equipped with a picnic table and campfire ring. Flush toilets and drinking water are provided but there are no showers.

Natural Features

The coastal campground lies a couple miles south of where the Alsea River meets the Pacific Ocean. Tillicum is perfectly perched on the sandy beach yet it still offers some shade. The campground offers views of both the ocean and the Coastal Range.

Nearby Attractions

Heceta Beach is located nearby, giving visitors the opportunity to enjoy the Pacific Ocean. Mary's Peak is the highest point in Oregon's Coast Range and has been designed a Scenic Botanical Area because of its rich, unique scenery and plants. Contact Info For facility specific information, please call (801) 226-3564.

What the agency tells you

Rule

Be sure to reserve a site that will accommodate your equipment. The site you reserve is your site. You may not move to another site.

Rule

This campground has first-come, first-served sites

Rule

Some loops are open year-round

Everything else this campground posts · 5
Rule

A $12 fee will be charged per extra vehicle per day. Cash or check only.

Rule

Click here for more information on the Siuslaw National Forest

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Please protect Pacific Northwest forests by preventing the spread of invasive species. Firewood can carry insects and diseases that can threaten the health of our western forests. You can make a difference by obtaining and burning your firewood near your camping destination. Visit Dontmovefirewood.org for further information.

Rule

Any accepted senior passes must be entered for the discount at the time of booking for single sites only.

Rule

Customer Service Contact 801-226-3564 or Help.Siuslaw.CentralCoast@AmericanLL.com

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
59
Hookups
19 electric, 20 water
Longest rig
66 ft
Paved pads
All
Accessible sites
None listed
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Flush Toilets
“…with a picnic table and campfire ring. Flush toilets and drinking water are provided but there are no…”
Showers
None at this campground
“Flush toilets and drinking water are provided but there are no showers.”
Drinking water
Yes
“…and campfire ring. Flush toilets and drinking water are provided but there are no showers. Natural…”
Camp host
On site
recreation.gov lists “Host”
Stay limit
14 nights
recreation.gov facility rule maxStay

Around the campground

On the water
River, Beach, Coast
Fishing
Hiking
Swimming
Night sky · 593rd darkest of 770 in OR
Bortle 3
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026

Full this Saturdayread 16:28 UTC

How full the weekend is nationally.

1 campground has sites open within 30 miles, read 16:26 UTC. See them

OpenBooked

Every one of the 36 sites on offer is taken this Saturday. 16 are free on Thu, Oct 22. read 16:28 UTC Why the weekend fills and the week doesn’t

Booking window6 months outBookable now through April 16, 2027. Today at 10 AM ET, availability opens through April 17, 2027.recreation.gov
Max stay14 nights2-night minimum on weekendsthe facility record
A night$39–$51plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$86–$110DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itAmerican Land & LeisureA private concessionaire under permit from U.S. Forest Servicethe operator link
Watch for a cancellation

Watch this campground

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Where there’s room this weekendBook on recreation.gov ↗

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 14

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night, per site$39–$51
Standard Nonelectric$39
Standard Electric$51
Rates for the season the campground is in now, Jan 1, 2026 to Dec 31, 2026.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What this campground addsits own record
Extra vehicle$12

“A $12 fee will be charged per extra vehicle per day.” · the U.S. Forest Service’s own agency notice

What a stay costs
One nightDerived$47–$59
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$86–$110

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $39–$51 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 6
Open within 30 miles this weekend · 1

Sites the agency is offering this Friday and Saturday that nobody has taken, nearest first. read 16:26 UTC

recreation.gov availability, read 16:28 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

61 records · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 58 mapped sites
63 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
21%of tent sites sit clear of electric or RV sites
Least roomLoop 2 23 47 ftLoop 2 25 47 ftLoop 1 15 48 ft

All 61 records

61 of 61 records located
Standard39RV / electric19Type not stated1Host pad2
SleepsTakes aUp to

Toilet distances are OpenStreetMap’s, measured for 61 of the 61 sites listed. A site with no reading is unknown, never far.

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 59 of the 61 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.

Loop 101 - HOSThost pad34 ft30 amp1,368 ft178 ft$39
Loop 102standard nonelectric66 ft57 ft1,301 ft179 ft$39
Loop 103 - HOSThost pad45 ft1,358 ft87 ft$39
Loop 104standard nonelectric48 ft57 ft1,257 ft168 ft$39
Loop 105standard nonelectric60 ft75 ft1,186 ft188 ft$39
Loop 106standard nonelectric32 ft54 ft1,136 ft231 ft$39
Loop 107standard electric36 ft30 amp66 ft1,196 ft174 ft$51
Loop 108standard nonelectric33 ft54 ft1,126 ft247 ft$39
Loop 109standard nonelectric50 ft55 ft1,143 ft253 ft$39
Loop 110standard nonelectric44 ft63 ft1,252 ft208 ft$39
Loop 111standard electric47 ft30 amp63 ft1,238 ft168 ft$51
Loop 112standard nonelectric45 ft79 ft1,327 ft158 ft$39
Loop 113standard nonelectric30 ft50 ft1,428 ft157 ft$39
Loop 114type not stated58 ft30 amp1,344 ft93 ft$39
Loop 115standard nonelectric30 ft48 ft1,466 ft150 ft$39
Loop 116standard electric40 ft30 amp80 ft1,399 ft77 ft$51
Loop 117standard nonelectric40 ft48 ft1,495 ft147 ft$39
Loop 118standard nonelectric40 ft73 ft1,537 ft165 ft$39
Loop 119standard electric40 ft30 amp79 ft1,461 ft87 ft$51
Loop 120standard electric33 ft30 amp68 ft1,429 ft174 ft$51
Loop 221standard nonelectric55 ft69 ft1,484 ft155 ft$39
Loop 222standard nonelectric50 ft66 ft1,495 ft127 ft$39
Loop 223standard nonelectric50 ft47 ft1,566 ft160 ft$39
Loop 224standard electric35 ft30 amp66 ft1,530 ft117 ft$51
Loop 225standard nonelectric26 ft47 ft1,607 ft130 ft$39
Loop 226standard nonelectric28 ft65 ft1,667 ft114 ft$39
Loop 227standard electric36 ft30 amp68 ft1,628 ft49 ft$51
Loop 228standard electric24 ft30 amp67 ft1,655 ftBig Creek Log Pond89 ft$51
Loop 229standard nonelectric35 ft60 ft1,721 ftBig Creek Log Pond139 ft$39
Loop 230standard nonelectric35 ft58 ft1,703 ftBig Creek Log Pond169 ft$39
Loop 231standard nonelectric30 ft58 ft1,693 ftBig Creek Log Pond167 ft$39
Loop 232standard electric33 ft30 amp73 ft1,620 ftBig Creek Log Pond120 ft$51
Loop 233standard electric26 ft30 amp72 ft1,532 ftBig Creek Log Pond44 ft$51
Loop 234standard electric25 ft30 amp62 ft1,498 ftBig Creek Log Pond116 ft$51
Loop 235standard electric30 ft30 amp62 ft1,444 ftBig Creek Log Pond170 ft$51
Loop 236standard nonelectric27 ft73 ft1,372 ftBig Creek Log Pond251 ft$39
Loop 237standard nonelectric31 ft53 ft1,412 ftBig Creek Log Pond204 ft$39
Loop 238standard electric32 ft30 amp53 ft1,452 ftBig Creek Log Pond166 ft$51
Loop 239standard nonelectric34 ft54 ft1,503 ftBig Creek Log Pond127 ft$39
Loop 240standard nonelectric44 ft54 ft1,459 ftBig Creek Log Pond181 ft$39
Loop 341standard nonelectric35 ft63 ft1,682 ftBig Creek Log Pond130 ft$39
Loop 342standard electric38 ft30 amp78 ft1,591 ftBig Creek Log Pond44 ft$51
Loop 343standard nonelectric35 ft58 ft1,664 ftBig Creek Log Pond122 ft$39
Loop 344standard nonelectric38 ft58 ft1,655 ftBig Creek Log Pond146 ft$39
Loop 344Astandard nonelectric36 ft58 ft1,630 ftBig Creek Log Pond188 ft$39
Loop 345standard electric39 ft15 amp82 ft1,549 ftBig Creek Log Pond158 ft$51
Loop 346standard nonelectric31 ft58 ft1,611 ftBig Creek Log Pond232 ft$39
Loop 347standard electric32 ft30 amp56 ft1,490 ftBig Creek Log Pond284 ft$51
Loop 348standard nonelectric48 ft66 ft1,582 ftBig Creek Log Pond286 ft$39
Loop 349standard nonelectric33 ft63 ft1,531 ftBig Creek Log Pond326 ft$39
Loop 350standard nonelectric40 ft56 ft1,457 ftBig Creek Log Pond336 ft$39
Loop 351standard nonelectric28 ft71 ft1,430 ftBig Creek Log Pond267 ft$39
Loop 352standard nonelectric46 ft74 ft1,363 ftBig Creek Log Pond328 ft$39
Loop 353standard nonelectric36 ft61 ft1,324 ftBig Creek Log Pond304 ft$39
Loop 354standard nonelectric45 ft61 ft1,315 ftBig Creek Log Pond275 ft$39
Loop 355standard electric33 ft30 amp76 ft1,391 ftBig Creek Log Pond211 ft$51
Loop 356standard nonelectric33 ft76 ft1,315 ftBig Creek Log Pond244 ft$39
Loop 357standard electric26 ft30 amp81 ft1,413 ftBig Creek Log Pond142 ft$51
Loop 358standard nonelectric38 ft73 ft1,334 ftBig Creek Log Pond220 ft$39
Loop 359standard electric27 ft30 amp77 ft1,411 ftBig Creek Log Pond152 ft$51
Loop 360standard nonelectric33 ft73 ft1,350 ftBig Creek Log Pond227 ft$39

The agency files 2 more records here that aren’t sites for the night. It names them host pads. They’re in the table above, marked for what they are, and none of them is counted as a site.

25 of 61 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate44.36722, -124.09111
The phone541-547-3679
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

Getting there

The campground is on Highway 101, 3 miles north of Yachats and 4 miles south of Waldport, Oregon. Look for campground and beach signs on 101.

Physical Address:

8199 Hwy 101 N

Yachats, OR 97498

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Overnight52°Chance Light Rain33% rain
Saturday58°Patchy Fog then Partly Sunny8% rain
Saturday Night44°Partly Cloudy
Sunday56°Partly Sunny

NWS forecast for San Marine, OR

Typical weather

Typical October night 48°F, day 61°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical December night 41°F. Bring the bag rated for it.

70°30°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Augusts are colder than the August line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: YACHATS, OR (USC00359588), 3 miles away and at about the same elevation

The land, and who answers for it

who answers for it · a letter you can send

Who answers for this land

Val Hoyle, official portrait

Tillicum is in Oregon’s 4th congressional district. Its representative, Val Hoyle (D), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: A. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

Who can change it · 3
Write to somebody who can change it

Two offices, two different asks. The draft to the agency asks it to set aside a published share of the sites here for whoever drives up. The draft to Congress asks why that share is zero and presses for a published minimum at the campgrounds it funds.

Read the draft, or change the wording

For the camper who turned up, or tried to book, and couldn’t get in. Every draft is written from this campground’s own record (its agency, its unit, its site count and its own weekend) and the buttons above copy whichever wording is selected here.

To Val T. Hoyle

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Tillicum, Siuslaw National Forest, Oregon

Dear Val T. Hoyle,

I’m a constituent in Oregon’s 4th district. I tried to camp at Tillicum, Siuslaw National Forest, Oregon, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 58 of the 59 campsites the agency files at Tillicum, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 36 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Tillicum keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Tillicum. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Tillicum (Siuslaw National Forest, Oregon) via campanac.com
To Jeff Merkley

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Tillicum, Siuslaw National Forest, Oregon

Dear Jeff Merkley,

I’m a constituent in Oregon. I tried to camp at Tillicum, Siuslaw National Forest, Oregon, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 58 of the 59 campsites the agency files at Tillicum, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 36 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Tillicum keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Tillicum. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Tillicum (Siuslaw National Forest, Oregon) via campanac.com
To Ron Wyden

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Tillicum, Siuslaw National Forest, Oregon

Dear Ron Wyden,

I’m a constituent in Oregon. I tried to camp at Tillicum, Siuslaw National Forest, Oregon, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 58 of the 59 campsites the agency files at Tillicum, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 36 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Tillicum keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Tillicum. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Tillicum (Siuslaw National Forest, Oregon) via campanac.com
How we know this · 4
The figures in these drafts: Navy Ford (CVN-78) Class Aircraft Carrier Program: Background and Issues for Congress (CRS Report RS20643) · Updated December 4, 2025 · “The ship’s final procurement cost was $13,316.5 million (i.e., about $13.3 billion) in then-year dollars.”
The figures in these drafts: Salary Table 2026-GS, Incorporating the 1% General Schedule Increase, Effective January 2026 (U.S. Office of Personnel Management) · Effective January 2026 · “Grade 5, Step 1: $34,799 (annual rate, before locality pay).”
The figures in these drafts: Update to Civilian Position Full Fringe Benefit Cost Factor, Federal Pay Raise Assumptions, and Inflation Factors used in OMB Circular No. A-76 (OMB Memorandum M-08-13) · March 11, 2008 · “the civilian position full fringe benefit cost factor needs to be adjusted downward, from 36.45 percent to 36.25 percent”

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: recreation.gov is offering sites on 30 of the next 30 nights, which isn’t something a closed campground does.
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.
Nearest place of any size: inside San Marine, OR (a census designated place). Straight line.