4Heads up4 fires, nearest 11 mi
Wildfire
Grasshopper fire · 11 mi away · 93,972 acres · 98% contained · updated Sep 30, 2026
Wildfire
The Narrows fire · 20 mi away · 305 acres · 98% contained · updated Sep 16, 2026
Wildfire
Austin fire · 20 mi away · 12,888 acres · 98% contained · updated Oct 12, 2026
Wildfire
Latigo Lane fire · 27 mi away · updated Oct 16, 2026
Reservable, and full this SaturdayEvery one of the 20 sites on offer is taken this Saturday, and the record lists no site held back for a walk-up. read 16:08 UTC

We don’t think it should be. Every campground should hold some sites for whoever drives up.Tell your representative →

Right now
Taking bookingsSites offered on 17 of the next 18 nights; a database flag says not open read 16:08 UTC
A night
$30–$60Across the site types the agency prices
Sites
6350 on recreation.gov
95 ftLongest rig
3,620 ftElevation
671 ftWater · Trillium Lake
10.2 miSE of Mount Hood Villages, OR
68%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 8 notices

In the agency’s own words

Trillium Lake Campground is a beautiful and popular campground not far from the quaint town of Government Camp. It provides spectacular views of majestic Mt. Hood, Oregon's highest point. The campground is well-known for its scenery and abundant recreational opportunities, as well as being a great, family-friendly place to camp. Keep reading

Recreation

Boating, swimming and fishing are popular on 63-acre Trillium Lake. A small boat ramp is available within the campground and a larger ramp is available in the nearby day-use area. An accessible fishing pier is also available. Anglers cast for a variety of trout. The 2-mile Trillium Shoreline Trail circles the lake, and parts of it are accessible. Visitors also enjoy hiking and biking on other trails in the vicinity. Tours of the area's historical sites are also popular.

Facilities

The campground offers dozens of single and double sites for tent and RV camping. Some first-come, first-served sites are available, as well as some fully accessible sites. Parking surfaces are mostly paved, but some are gravel. Each site is equipped with a table and campfire ring with grill. Accessible vault toilets and drinking water are provided. An accessible picnic shelter is adjacent and can accommodate up to 30 people. Parking is available. An accessible amphitheater within the campground can be reserved for day use and can accommodate up to 30 people. Educational programs are held on weekends throughout the summer.

Natural Features

The campground is located about 40 miles southeast of Portland, in the Mt. Hood National Forest. It sits alongside Trillium Lake at an elevation of 3,600 feet, and is nestled in a shady, mixed conifer forest that provides privacy between campsites.

Nearby Attractions

Timberline Lodge, a National Historic Landmark on Mt. Hood, is located within 10 miles of the campground. Contact Info For facility specific information, please call (503) 622-3191.

What the agency tells you

Rule

Utility hookups are not available

Rule

Off-road vehicle use is prohibited within the campground

Rule

In accordance with standard industry practices, Mount Hood Recreation will be assessing an additional vehicle fee on the second vehicle in each single family campsite, and on the third and fourth vehicle in any double family campsite, provided these vehicles are not joined to the first vehicle by a hitch and towed onto the site. In the case of motorcycles, the first two are considered as one vehicle for determining additional vehicle fees. The third and fourth motorcycle would also be considered as one vehicle. No additional vehicle fees are collected for bicycles

Everything else this campground posts · 5
Rule

Fire Restrictions: Fire restrictions may be imposed at any time due to hot, dry weather conditions, at which time campfires and charcoal fires may not be allowed.

Rule

Refunds: Refund requests made through www.recreation.gov will be charged a $10 processing fee. This fee is retained by the reservation service contractor along with the non-refundable reservation fee. All requests for the return of the non-refundable reservation fee and the cancellation fee will be declined by the campground concessionaire as they did not receive these fees (these are the fees retained by the reservation contractor, a different entity).

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Please protect Pacific Northwest forests by preventing the spread of invasive species. Firewood can carry insects and diseases that can threaten the health of our western forests. You can make a difference by obtaining and burning your firewood near your camping destination. Visit Dontmovefirewood.org for further information.

Rule

Check out the forest's campground description for specific information to Fish Your National Forest

Rule

Click here for more information on the Mt. Hood National Forest

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
63 · 14 tent-only, 1 cabin
Hookups
None
Longest rig
95 ft
Paved pads
56 of 63
Accessible sites
7
Pets
Allowed
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Vault Toilets
“…and campfire ring with grill. Accessible vault toilets and drinking water are provided. An accessible…”
Drinking water
Yes
“…with grill. Accessible vault toilets and drinking water are provided. An accessible picnic shelter is…”
Boat ramp
Yes
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026
Water, toilets and showers: read from the agency description, shown above · Sep 12, 2026

Around the campground

On the water
Lake, Beach
Fishing
Hiking
Historic site
Ranger programs
Swimming
Night sky · 689th darkest of 770 in OR
Bortle 3
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026

Full this Saturdayread 16:08 UTC

How full the weekend is nationally.

1 campground has sites open within 30 miles, read 16:31 UTC. See them

OpenBookedClosed

Every one of the 20 sites on offer is taken this Friday and Saturday. 2 are free on Wed, Oct 21. read 16:08 UTC Why the weekend fills and the week doesn’t

Booking windowThrough October 19Bookable now through October 19, 2026, the end of the reservable season. On November 23, 2026 at 10 AM ET, availability opens through May 23, 2027.recreation.govAdd to calendar (.ics)
Max stay14 nightsthe facility record
A night$30–$60plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$68–$128DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itAlaska Recreational Management, Inc.A private concessionaire under permit from U.S. Forest Servicethe operator link
Watch for a cancellation

Watch this campground

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Sun, May 23 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Where there’s room this weekendBook on recreation.gov ↗

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 17

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night, per site$30–$60
Standard Nonelectric$30
Tent Only Nonelectric$30
Tent Only Nonelectric$30
Standard Nonelectric Double$60
Standard Nonelectric Double$60
Group areas, a night$100–$120
Rates for the season the campground is in now, May 20, 2026 to Oct 19, 2026.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$38–$68
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$68–$128

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $30–$60 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5
Open within 30 miles this weekend · 1

Sites the agency is offering this Friday and Saturday that nobody has taken, nearest first. read 16:31 UTC

recreation.gov availability, read 16:08 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Oct 1, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

65 records · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 47 mapped sites
99 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least room019 54 ft021 54 ft015 71 ft

All 65 records

57 of 65 records located
Standard33Tent only14Type not stated8Day use2
SleepsTakes aUp to

Toilet distances are OpenStreetMap’s, measured for 57 of the 65 sites listed. A site with no reading is unknown, never far.

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 48 of the 65 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.

AREA TRILLIUM001type not stated363 ft222 ft
AREA TRILLIUM003standard nonelectric40 ft98 ft86 ft124 ft$30–$60
AREA TRILLIUM004standard nonelectric40 ft93 ft148 ft155 ft$30–$60
AREA TRILLIUM006standard nonelectric30 ft85 ft145 ft246 ft$30–$60
AREA TRILLIUM007standard nonelectric20 ft81 ft227 ft230 ft$30–$60
AREA TRILLIUM008standard nonelectric30 ft81 ft240 ft152 ft$30–$60
AREA TRILLIUM009type not stated26 ft142 ft137 ft
AREA TRILLIUM010type not stated20 ft194 ft22 ft
AREA TRILLIUM011standard nonelectric40 ft174 ft141 ft61 ft$30–$60
AREA TRILLIUM012type not stated98 ft84 ft
AREA TRILLIUM013type not stated24 ft77 ft157 ft
AREA TRILLIUM014tent only nonelectric98 ft141 ft258 ft$30–$60
AREA TRILLIUM015standard nonelectric20 ft70 ft162 ft147 ft$30–$60
AREA TRILLIUM016standard nonelectric60 ft70 ft212 ft211 ft$30–$60
AREA TRILLIUM017standard nonelectric40 ft99 ft252 ft250 ft$30–$60
AREA TRILLIUM018standard nonelectric30 ft117 ft136 ft344 ft$30–$60
AREA TRILLIUM019tent only nonelectric55 ft294 ft168 ft$30–$60
AREA TRILLIUM020standard nonelectric40 ft100 ft229 ft227 ft$30–$60
AREA TRILLIUM021standard nonelectric40 ft55 ft347 ft126 ft$30–$60
AREA TRILLIUM022standard nonelectric40 ft100 ft329 ft138 ft$30–$60
AREA TRILLIUM023standard nonelectric35 ft111 ft427 ft26 ft$30–$60
AREA TRILLIUM024standard nonelectric30 ft71 ft550 ft159 ft$30–$60
AREA TRILLIUM025standard nonelectric30 ft89 ft427 ft113 ft$30–$60
AREA TRILLIUM026standard nonelectric20 ft104 ft537 ft239 ft$30–$60
AREA TRILLIUM027standard nonelectric40 ft71 ft610 ft212 ft$30–$60
AREA TRILLIUM028standard nonelectric35 ft101 ft674 ft119 ft$30–$60
AREA TRILLIUM029type not stated45 ftyes635 ft159 ft
AREA TRILLIUM030standard nonelectric30 ftyes140 ft413 ft231 ft$30–$60
AREA TRILLIUM031type not stated470 ft303 ft
AREA TRILLIUM032standard nonelectric40 ft106 ft387 ft228 ft$30–$60
AREA TRILLIUM033standard nonelectric30 ft92 ft364 ft275 ft$30–$60
AREA TRILLIUM034standard nonelectric80 ft92 ft437 ft365 ft$30–$60
AREA TRILLIUM035standard nonelectric26 ftyes96 ft350 ft277 ft$30–$60
AREA TRILLIUM036tent only nonelectric128 ft305 ft337 ft$30–$60
AREA TRILLIUM037standard nonelectric26 ft98 ft111 ft144 ft$30–$60
AREA TRILLIUM038type not stated203 ft26 ft
AREA TRILLIUM039standard nonelectric30 ft155 ft94 ft90 ft$30–$60
AREA TRILLIUM040tent only nonelectric112 ft180 ft161 ft$30–$60
AREA TRILLIUM041standard nonelectric25 ft92 ft85 ft132 ft$30–$60
AREA TRILLIUM042tent only nonelectric112 ft196 ft147 ft$30–$60
AREA TRILLIUM043standard nonelectric25 ft84 ft69 ft57 ft$30–$60
AREA TRILLIUM044tent only nonelectric84 ft144 ft33 ft$30–$60
AREA TRILLIUM045tent only nonelectric119 ft48 ft300 ft$30–$60
AREA TRILLIUM046tent only nonelectric113 ft158 ft232 ft$30–$60
AREA TRILLIUM047tent only nonelectric96 ft267 ft185 ft$30–$60
AREA TRILLIUM048type not statedyes
AREA TRILLIUM048Astandard nonelectric95 ftyes76 ft362 ft91 ft$30–$60
AREA TRILLIUM049standard nonelectric20 ft76 ft341 ft90 ft$30–$60
AREA TRILLIUM050tent only nonelectric127 ft510 ft94 ft$30–$60
AREA TRILLIUM051standard nonelectric20 ft99 ft387 ft91 ft$30–$60
AREA TRILLIUM052tent only nonelectric114 ft457 ft173 ft$30–$60
AREA TRILLIUM053standard nonelectric26 ft132 ft615 ft297 ft$30–$60
AREA TRILLIUM054tent only nonelectric101 ft544 ft330 ft$30–$60
AREA TRILLIUM055standard nonelectric26 ft100 ft649 ft262 ft$30–$60
AREA TRILLIUM056tent only nonelectric100 ft580 ft233 ft$30–$60
AREA TRILLIUM057tent only nonelectricyes144 ft707 ft109 ft$30–$60
AREA TRILLIUMDay Use Amphitheaterday use48 ft272 ft$100
AREA TRILLIUMPS1-Day Useday useunder 10 ft289 ft$100
Dam Area058type not stated
Dam Area059type not stated
Dam Area060type not stated
Dam Area061yurtyes$120
Dam Area062type not stated
Dam Area063type not stated
Dam Area064type not stated

The agency files 2 more records here that aren’t sites for the night. It files them as day use. They’re in the table above, marked for what they are, and none of them is counted as a site.

25 of 65 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate45.27070, -121.73451
The phone503-630-5721
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

This Afternoon66°Mostly Sunny
Tonight42°Mostly Cloudy then Slight Chance Light Rain18% rain
Saturday48°Chance Light Rain then Mostly Cloudy42% rain
Saturday Night33°Areas Of Fog

NWS forecast for Government Camp, OR

Typical weather

Typical October night 37°F, day 53°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical December night 26°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

80°32°20°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Augusts are colder than the August line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: GOVERNMENT CAMP, OR (USC00353402), 2 miles away and 360 ft higher

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it · a letter you can send

What threatens this place

developing
Roadless
Twin Lakes6,055 acres · 3 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Wind Creek5,438 acres · 4 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Mt. Hood Additions13,061 acres · 8 mi · inventoried roadless area

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Source: MTJP Threatened Lands map · Oct 4, 2026

Who answers for this land

Maxine Dexter, official portrait

Trillium is in Oregon’s 3rd congressional district. Its representative, Maxine Dexter (D), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: A+. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

Who can change it · 3
Write to somebody who can change it

Two offices, two different asks. The draft to the agency asks it to set aside a published share of the sites here for whoever drives up. The draft to Congress asks why that share is zero and presses for a published minimum at the campgrounds it funds.

Read the draft, or change the wording

For the camper who turned up, or tried to book, and couldn’t get in. Every draft is written from this campground’s own record (its agency, its unit, its site count and its own weekend) and the buttons above copy whichever wording is selected here.

To Maxine Dexter

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Trillium, Mt. Hood National Forest, Oregon

Dear Maxine Dexter,

I’m a constituent in Oregon’s 3rd district. I tried to camp at Trillium, Mt. Hood National Forest, Oregon, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 50 of the 63 campsites the agency files at Trillium, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 20 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Trillium keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Trillium. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Trillium (Mt. Hood National Forest, Oregon) via campanac.com
To Jeff Merkley

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Trillium, Mt. Hood National Forest, Oregon

Dear Jeff Merkley,

I’m a constituent in Oregon. I tried to camp at Trillium, Mt. Hood National Forest, Oregon, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 50 of the 63 campsites the agency files at Trillium, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 20 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Trillium keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Trillium. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Trillium (Mt. Hood National Forest, Oregon) via campanac.com
To Ron Wyden

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Trillium, Mt. Hood National Forest, Oregon

Dear Ron Wyden,

I’m a constituent in Oregon. I tried to camp at Trillium, Mt. Hood National Forest, Oregon, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 50 of the 63 campsites the agency files at Trillium, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 20 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Trillium keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Trillium. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Trillium (Mt. Hood National Forest, Oregon) via campanac.com
How we know this · 4
The figures in these drafts: Navy Ford (CVN-78) Class Aircraft Carrier Program: Background and Issues for Congress (CRS Report RS20643) · Updated December 4, 2025 · “The ship’s final procurement cost was $13,316.5 million (i.e., about $13.3 billion) in then-year dollars.”
The figures in these drafts: Salary Table 2026-GS, Incorporating the 1% General Schedule Increase, Effective January 2026 (U.S. Office of Personnel Management) · Effective January 2026 · “Grade 5, Step 1: $34,799 (annual rate, before locality pay).”
The figures in these drafts: Update to Civilian Position Full Fringe Benefit Cost Factor, Federal Pay Raise Assumptions, and Inflation Factors used in OMB Circular No. A-76 (OMB Memorandum M-08-13) · March 11, 2008 · “the civilian position full fringe benefit cost factor needs to be adjusted downward, from 36.45 percent to 36.25 percent”

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: recreation.gov is offering sites on 17 of the next 18 nights, which isn’t something a closed campground does. The U.S. Forest Service’s own database, though, flags it not open with no reason or date; the flag is named under How we know all this.
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.
Nearest place of any size: Government Camp, OR, 1.7 mi SSE (a census designated place). Straight line.