3Heads up3 fires, nearest 22 mi
Wildfire
106 fire · 22 mi away · 0 acres · updated Oct 14, 2026
Wildfire
Stuck fire · 26 mi away · 30 acres · updated Oct 17, 2026
Wildfire
Hoye Pace fire · 28 mi away · 0 acres · updated Oct 16, 2026
ReservableBookable through April 16; today opens April 17.
Book on recreation.govWe make nothing when you book
Right now
Taking bookingsSites offered on 30 of the next 30 nights read 16:02 UTC
A night
$14–$20Across the site types the agency prices
Sites
6563 on recreation.gov
Drawn from the record · 350 ft · 55% tree cover · Okatibbee Lake within reach · Bortle 4 sky
130 ftLongest rig
350 ftElevation
312 ftWater · Okatibbee Lake
0.8 miNE of Collinsville, MS
55%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 2 notices

In the agency’s own words

Twiltley Campground is the only full-service campground managed by the Corps of Engineers at Okatibbee Lake, a 11,000 acre multi-purpose recreation area in eastern Mississippi. Keep reading

Recreation

With eagles and hawks in the area, families will enjoy keeping an eye out for these magnificent birds. Water sports including fishing and water skiing are always popular on the lake; however, fishing from the banks also yields a good amount of crappie, bass and bream.

Facilities

With four boat ramps and three designated swimming areas, there's plenty of ways to enjoy the lake shore. Many sites have electric hookups and there's a pay phone onsite. Pets are allowed on a six (6) foot or shorter leash.

Natural Features

Okatibbee Lake boasts 4,000 acres of water surface in the Pascagoula River Basin. Extensive beaver flowages, stump beds and old creek channels provide abundant cover where anglers battle largemouth bass and crappie. Summers are hot and humid, with temperatures ranging from 70 to 98 degrees Fahrenheit.

Nearby Attractions

Explore Chicasawhay and Okatibbee Creeks upstream of the lake. The creeks flow through the Okatibbee State Wildlife Area.

What the agency tells you

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Protect your forests from tree-killing pests by buying your firewood locally and burning it on-site. Visit Dontmovefirewood.org for further information.

Rule

Twiltley Branch Campground Gatehouse hours: 6:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. Reservations made after 10:00 p.m. may not be let in.  Visiting Hours: 6:00 a.m. to 9:30 p.m. Gate closes at 10:00 p.m. and will not be opened until 6:00 a.m. the following morning.

Tents and rigs

Sites
65 · 2 group
Hookups
50 electric, 65 water
Longest rig
130 ft
Paved pads
62 of 65
Accessible sites
65
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Boat ramp
Yes
Stay limit
14 nights
recreation.gov facility rule maxStay
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026

Around the campground

On the water
Lake, River, Creek
Biking
Fishing
Hiking
Hunting
Swimming
Night sky · 30th darkest of 61 in MS
Bortle 4
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026

27 of 124 site-nights open this Friday and Saturdayread 16:02 UTC

recreation.gov lists 63 of the 65 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.

OpenBooked

Booking window6 months outBookable now through April 16, 2027. Today at 10 AM ET, availability opens through April 17, 2027.recreation.gov
Max stay14 nights2-night minimum on weekendsthe facility record
A night$14–$20plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$36–$48DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Army Corps of EngineersBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Full? Watch it.

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 17

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Army Corps of Engineers
A night, per site$14–$20
Standard Nonelectric$14
Standard Electric$20
Standard Electric$20
Group areas, a night$20–$60
The agency has already scheduled a change from Apr 1, 2027: $24 to $30 a night.
Rates for the season the campground is in now, Jan 1, 2026 to Dec 31, 2026.
Credit Card Transactions Only
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$22–$28
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$36–$48

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $14–$20 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5

recreation.gov availability, read 16:02 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

65 sites · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 63 mapped sites
75 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least roomLoop BLAC 34 39 ftLoop BLAC 35 39 ftLoop BLAC 36 40 ft

All 65 sites

65 of 65 sites located
Standard12RV / electric49Group2Type not stated2
SleepsTakes aUp to

Toilet distances are OpenStreetMap’s, measured for 65 of the 65 sites listed. A site with no reading is unknown, never far.

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 63 of the 65 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

BLAC28standard electric40 ft50 ampyes61 ft53 ft2,401 ft$20
BLAC29standard electric40 ft50 ampyes61 ftunder 10 ft2,372 ft$20
BLAC30standard electric40 ft50 ampyes66 ftunder 10 ft2,413 ft$20
BLAC31standard electric40 ft50 ampyes76 ft32 ft2,489 ft$20
BLAC32standard electric40 ft50 ampyes76 ft25 ft2,494 ft$20
BLAC33standard electric40 ft50 ampyes61 ft45 ft2,435 ft$20
BLAC34standard electric40 ft50 ampyes39 ft65 ft2,438 ft$20
BLAC35standard electric40 ft50 ampyes39 ft82 ft2,446 ft$20
BLAC36standard electric40 ft50 ampyes40 ft106 ft2,456 ft$20
BLAC37standard electric40 ft50 ampyes41 ft70 ft2,511 ft$20
BLAC38standard electric40 ft50 ampyes41 ft44 ft2,546 ft$20
BLAC39standard electric60 ft50 ampyes91 ft79 ft2,677 ft$20
BLAC40standard electric60 ft50 ampyes80 ft73 ft2,726 ft$20
BLAC41standard electric80 ft50 ampyes66 ft75 ft2,784 ft$20
BLAC42standard electric80 ft50 ampyes66 ft94 ft2,799 ft$20
BLAC43standard electric80 ft50 ampyes82 ft119 ft2,783 ft$20
BLAC44standard electric130 ft50 ampyes82 ft57 ft2,710 ft$20
BLAC45standard electric60 ft50 ampyes55 ft125 ft2,511 ft$20
BLAC46standard electric120 ft50 ampyes55 ft124 ft2,469 ft$20
BLAC47standard electric90 ft50 ampyes162 ft89 ft2,305 ft$20
BLAC48standard electric100 ft50 ampyes162 ft185 ft2,604 ft$20
BLAC49standard electric100 ft50 ampyes122 ft214 ft2,395 ft$20
BLAC50type not stated100 ft50 ampyes238 ft2,175 ft
CYPR51standard nonelectric40 ftyes61 ft334 ft1,663 ft$14
CYPR52standard nonelectric40 ftyes102 ft460 ft1,802 ft$14
CYPR53standard nonelectric40 ftyes61 ft357 ft1,713 ft$14
CYPR54standard nonelectric40 ftyes91 ft240 ft2,007 ft$14
CYPR55standard nonelectric40 ftyes75 ft373 ft1,763 ft$14
CYPR56standard nonelectric40 ftyes102 ft360 ft1,871 ft$14
CYPR57standard nonelectric40 ftyes74 ft313 ft1,827 ft$14
CYPR58standard nonelectric40 ftyes91 ft169 ft1,985 ft$14
CYPR59standard nonelectric40 ftyes74 ft245 ft1,864 ft$14
CYPR60standard nonelectric40 ftyes153 ft226 ft1,979 ft$14
CYPR61standard nonelectric40 ftyes86 ft91 ft2,142 ft$14
CYPR62standard nonelectric40 ftyes86 ft166 ft2,067 ft$14
CYPR63group standard nonelectric30 ftyes108 ft87 ft1,998 ft$30
LOBL01standard electric50 ft50 ampyes58 ft241 ft694 ft$20
LOBL02standard electric40 ft50 ampyes90 ft156 ft749 ft$20
LOBL03standard electric50 ft50 ampyes58 ft265 ft751 ft$20
LOBL04standard electric40 ft50 ampyes42 ft139 ft827 ft$20
LOBL05standard electric50 ft50 ampyes66 ft267 ft808 ft$20
LOBL06standard electric40 ft50 ampyes42 ft123 ft870 ft$20
LOBL07standard electric50 ft50 ampyes62 ft246 ft869 ft$20
LOBL08standard electric40 ft50 ampyes70 ft98 ft939 ft$20
LOBL09standard electric50 ft50 ampyes62 ft222 ft928 ft$20
LOBL10standard electric40 ft50 ampyes120 ft78 ft1,047 ft$20
LOBL11standard electric50 ft50 ampyes64 ft189 ft987 ft$20
LOBL12standard electric40 ft50 ampyes90 ft85 ft1,108 ft$20
LOBL13standard electric50 ft50 ampyes65 ft213 ft1,028 ft$20
LOBL14standard electric40 ft50 ampyes77 ft154 ft1,108 ft$20
LOBL15standard electric50 ft50 ampyes65 ft205 ft1,074 ft$20
LOBL16standard electric40 ft50 ampyes96 ft116 ft1,176 ft$20
LOBL17standard electric40 ft50 ampyes94 ft167 ft1,116 ft$20
LOBL18standard electric40 ft50 ampyes76 ft73 ft1,203 ft$20
LOBL19standard electric40 ft50 ampyes85 ft153 ft1,128 ft$20
LOBL20standard electric40 ft50 ampyes76 ft102 ft1,205 ft$20
LOBL21standard electric40 ft50 ampyes79 ft125 ft1,120 ft$20
LOBL22standard electric40 ft50 ampyes83 ft69 ft1,209 ft$20
LOBL23standard electric40 ft50 ampyes82 ft132 ft1,064 ft$20
LOBL24standard electric35 ft50 ampyes76 ft50 ft1,199 ft$20
LOBL25standard electric35 ft50 ampyes76 ft38 ft1,180 ft$20
LOBL26standard electric35 ft50 ampyes65 ft49 ft1,140 ft$20
LOBL27standard electric35 ft50 ampyes65 ft92 ft1,093 ft$20
PERS64type not stated40 ft50 ampyes40 ft2,585 ft
WILL65group standard electric40 ft50 ampyes272 ft115 ft2,034 ft$20–$60

25 of 65 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate32.49583, -88.80972
The phone601-626-8068
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Overnight49°Mostly Clear
Saturday68°Sunny
Saturday Night45°Clear
Sunday71°Sunny

NWS forecast for Collinsville, MS

Typical weather

Typical October night 54°F, day 80°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical January night 36°F. Bring the bag rated for it.

100°30°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: MERIDIAN KEY FLD, MS (USW00013865), 12 miles away and 56 ft lower

The land, and who answers for it

who answers for it

Who answers for this land

Michael Guest, official portrait

Twiltley Branch is in Mississippi’s 3rd congressional district. Its representative, Michael Guest (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: recreation.gov is offering sites on 30 of the next 30 nights, which isn’t something a closed campground does.
Cell signal: the Army Corps’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.