U.S. Army Corps of Engineers · GA

Victoria Campground

Reservable, and full this SaturdayEvery one of the 72 sites on offer is taken this Saturday, and the record lists no site held back for a walk-up. read 16:15 UTC

We don’t think it should be. Every campground should hold some sites for whoever drives up.Tell your representative →

Right now
Taking bookingsSites offered on 2 of the next 2 nights read 16:15 UTC
A night
$24–$34Across the site types the agency prices
Sites
7472 on recreation.gov
80 ftLongest rig
860 ftElevation
345 ftWater · Allatoona Lake
4 miNW of Woodstock, GA
72%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 7 notices

In the agency’s own words

Victoria Campground sits on the banks of Allatoona Lake, providing visitors with a variety of water activities in the green rolling hills of Georgia. Keep reading

Recreation

Allatoona Lake is one of the most frequently visited Corps of Engineers lakes in the nation. Nearly 7 million visitors each year enjoy picnicking, swimming, camping, hunting, fishing, boating and observing wildlife along the 270 miles of shoreline. The lake is annually stocked with bass, crappie, bream, gar and catfish, making it a popular destination for anglers. Fishing jetties are available at numerous shoreline fishing locations, and a dock is provided at the campground.

Facilities

Victoria Campground provides more than 70 spacious reservable campsites, conveniently located near the dock and swimming beach. Fire rings, picnic areas, drinking water, flush toilets and showers are all provided, creating a comfortable camping experience for visitor Natural Features Located only 35 miles from Atlanta, Allatoona Lake is situated on the Etowah River, a tributary of the Coosa River. The serene lake and peaceful surroundings offer visitors respite from the rush of city living. Contact Info This location is staffed. Please call (770) 928-8906 to speak with local staff.

Nearby Attractions

The city of Woodstock is nearby, offering restaurants, shopping, and a historic downtown area. Historic sites like the Etowah Indian Mounds and Booth Western Art Museum are a close drive to the city of Cartersville. The Visitor Center at Allatoona Lake Project Management Office features video exhibits and displays about the area’s history, ranging from the time of early Native Americans, to the Civil War and to present times. The Visitor Center overlooks the dam and offers many hiking trails. Red Top Mountain State Park has more than 15 miles of trails and offers interpretive programs. Eight marinas are located on Allatoona Lake that offer boat rentals and restaurants. Kennesaw Mountain National Battlefield is located in Kennesaw and White Water Park is in Marietta. Zoo Atlanta and Georgia Aquarium are located in Atlanta.

Charges & Cancellations

Change and Cancellation Policies and Fees Overnight and Day Use Facilities: To ensure fairness, reservation arrival or departure dates may not be changed beyond the booking window until 18 days after booking the reservation. Camping / Day Use: A $10.00 service fee will apply if you change or cancel your reservation (including campsites, cabins, lookouts, group facilities, etc.). The $10.00 service fee will be deducted from the refund amount. You can cancel or change reservations through Recreation.gov or by calling 1-877-444-6777. Late Cancellations Overnight and Day Use Facilities: Late cancellations are those cancelled between 12:01 a.m. (Eastern) on the day before arrival and check out time on the day after arrival. Individual Campsites: If a customer cancels a reservation the day before or on the day of arrival they will be charged a $10.00 service fee and will also forfeit the first night's use fee (not to exceed the total paid for the original reservation). Cancellations for a single night's reservation will forfeit the entire use fee but no cancellation fee will apply. Cancellations for a single night's use will not be assessed a service fee. Group Facility: If a customer cancels a group overnight facility reservation within 14 days of the scheduled arrival date they will be charged the $10.00 service fee and forfeit the first night's use fee. Cancellations for a single night's use will not be assessed a service fee. Group Day Use Area: If a customer cancels a group day use facility reservation within 14 days of the scheduled arrival date, they will forfeit the total day use fee with no service fee charge. No-Shows Camping / Day Use: A camping no-show customer is one who does not arrive at a campground and does not cancel the reservation by check-out time on the day after the scheduled arrival date. Reserved campsites and group overnight facilities will be held until check-out time on the day following your scheduled arrival. Group day-use facilities will be held until check-in time on your scheduled arrival date. If a customer does not arrive at the campground or group facility by check-out time the day after arrival or does not cancel the reservation by the times listed under "Late Cancellations" above, the customer may be assessed a $20.00 service fee and forfeit use fees. Refunds Customers must request refunds no later than 14 days after the scheduled departure date. Recreation.gov will not grant refund requests after 14 days of departure. Reservation Fee: For some facilities, tours or permits an additional reservation fee is charged. For some overnight and day-use facilities, an additional non-refundable reservation fee may apply. The non-refundable reservation fee for tours and tickets is $1.00. The non-refundable reservation fee for permits varies by location. • Refunds for Bankcard Purchases: Refunds for bank card payments will be issued as a credit to the original bank card. • Refunds for Check or Cash Purchases: Refunds for Recreation.gov payments made by check or money order, and cash payments at selected campgrounds will be issued a check refund. A refund will be processed within 30 days of receipt and approval. Please Note: Refund requests made during or after departure can only be processed when approved by the facility management staff based upon local policy. • Refunds for Emergency Closures: In the event of an emergency closure, the Recreation.gov team will attempt to notify users and offer alternate dates (as appropriate). If this is not possible, reservations will be cancelled and all fees paid will be refunded. Reservation fees for free tickets are non-refundable in the event of an emergency closure.

What the agency tells you

Rule

Maximum of three vehicles per campsite

Rule

Camping limit is 14 consecutive days or 14 non-consecutive days in any 30-day period at all Corps of Engineers operated campgrounds on the Allatoona Lake Project.

Rule

Off-road vehicles, golf carts and ATVs are not permitted

Everything else this campground posts · 4
Rule

Entrance gate is closed from 10:30 p.m. to 7 a.m.

Rule

Primary Occupant must be 18 years of age or older.

Rule

Digital Copies of campground maps are available online. Please print ahead of time if you would like physical copy.

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Protect your forests from tree-killing pests by buying your firewood locally and burning it on-site. Visit Dontmovefirewood.org for further information.

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
74 · 1 tent-only
Hookups
71 electric, 74 water, 2 sewer
Longest rig
80 ft
Paved pads
All
Accessible sites
2
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Flush Toilets
“…rings, picnic areas, drinking water, flush toilets and showers are all provided, creating a…”
Drinking water
Yes
“…beach. Fire rings, picnic areas, drinking water, flush toilets and showers are all provided,…”
Dump station
Yes
recreation.gov lists “Dump Station”
Camp host
On site
recreation.gov lists “Host”
Stay limit
14 nights
recreation.gov facility rule maxStay
Source: National Park Service and agency records
Water, toilets and showers: read from the agency description, shown above · Sep 12, 2026

Around the campground

On the water
Lake, River, Beach
Fishing
Swimming
Night sky · 92nd darkest of 96 in GA
Bortle 5
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026

Full this Saturdayread 16:15 UTC

How full the weekend is nationally.

OpenBooked

Booking windowThrough October 17Bookable now through October 17, 2026, the end of this reservable season, and again for March 11, 2027 through April 16, 2027. Tomorrow at 10 AM ET, availability opens through April 17, 2027.recreation.gov
Max stay14 nights2-night minimum on weekendsthe facility record
A night$24–$34plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$56–$76DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservation; this campground publishes its own terms toorecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Army Corps of EngineersBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Watch this campground

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Thu, Mar 11 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov ↗

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 16

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Army Corps of Engineers
A night, per site$24–$34
NonElectric$24
Standard Electric$30
RV Electric$34
Standard Electric Lakefront$34
Rates for the season the campground is in now, Mar 12, 2026 to Oct 17, 2026.
campsite fees range from $28-$32 per night
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$32–$42
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$56–$76

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $24–$34 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

“Camping / Day Use: A $10.00 service fee will apply if you change or cancel your reservation (including campsites, cabins, lookouts, group facilities, etc.). The $10.00 service fee will be deducted from the refund amount.” · this campground’s own no-show terms

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 6

recreation.gov availability, read 16:15 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

74 sites · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 72 mapped sites
82 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
0%of tent sites sit clear of electric or RV sites
Least roomLoop VICT 45 42 ftLoop VICT 46 42 ftLoop VICT 25 51 ft

All 74 sites

74 of 74 sites located
Tent only1RV / electric71Type not stated2
SleepsTakes aUp to

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 71 of the 74 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.

VICT01standard electric60 ft50 amp81 ft416 ft$30–$34
VICT02standard electric60 ft50 amp81 ft404 ft$30–$34
VICT03standard electric50 ft50 amp95 ft462 ft$30–$34
VICT04standard electric34 ft50 amp95 ft463 ft$30–$34
VICT05standard electric48 ft50 amp78 ft354 ft$30–$34
VICT06type not stated50 ft50 amp426 ft
VICT07type not stated50 ft50 amp365 ft
VICT08standard electric37 ft50 amp78 ft288 ft$30–$34
VICT09standard electric45 ft50 amp82 ft281 ft$30–$34
VICT10standard electric60 ft50 amp82 ft199 ft$30–$34
VICT11tent only nonelectric65 ft68 ft140 ft
VICT12standard electric70 ft50 amp80 ft211 ft$30–$34
VICT13standard electric50 ft50 amp68 ft101 ft$30–$34
VICT14standard electric35 ft50 amp95 ft77 ft$30–$34
VICT15standard electric37 ft50 amp61 ft195 ft$30–$34
VICT16standard electric38 ft50 amp80 ft115 ft$30–$34
VICT17standard electric34 ft50 amp84 ft41 ft$30–$34
VICT18standard electric45 ft50 amp69 ft108 ft$30–$34
VICT19standard electric37 ft50 amp89 ft22 ft$30–$34
VICT20standard electric50 ft50 amp86 ft113 ft$30–$34
VICT21standard electric38 ft50 amp93 ft11 ft$30–$34
VICT22standard electric52 ft50 amp72 ft61 ft$30–$34
VICT23standard electric49 ft50 amp72 ft55 ft$30–$34
VICT24standard electric50 ft50 amp75 ft83 ft$30–$34
VICT25standard electric60 ft50 amp51 ft76 ft$30–$34
VICT26standard electric40 ft50 amp51 ft57 ft$30–$34
VICT27standard electric41 ft50 amp69 ft176 ft$30–$34
VICT28standard electric50 ft50 amp81 ft209 ft$30–$34
VICT29standard electric50 ft50 ampyes81 ft158 ft$30–$34
VICT30standard electric41 ft50 amp61 ft220 ft$30–$34
VICT31standard electric52 ft50 amp66 ft244 ft$30–$34
VICT32standard electric33 ft50 amp67 ft286 ft$30–$34
VICT33standard electric60 ft50 amp67 ft270 ft$30–$34
VICT34standard electric35 ft50 amp110 ft93 ft$30–$34
VICT35standard electric43 ft50 amp79 ft283 ft$30–$34
VICT36standard electric42 ft50 amp93 ft193 ft$30–$34
VICT37standard electric50 ft50 amp129 ft286 ft$30–$34
VICT38standard electric45 ft50 amp107 ft345 ft$30–$34
VICT39standard electric45 ft50 amp107 ft386 ft$30–$34
VICT41standard electric48 ft50 amp86 ft421 ft$30–$34
VICT42standard electric32 ft50 amp86 ft403 ft$30–$34
VICT43standard electric45 ft50 amp154 ft411 ft$30–$34
VICT44standard electric31 ft50 amp55 ft95 ft$30–$34
VICT45standard electric35 ft50 amp42 ft51 ft$30–$34
VICT46standard electric36 ft50 amp42 ft39 ft$30–$34
VICT47standard electric44 ft50 amp60 ft23 ft$30–$34
VICT48standard electric40 ft50 amp120 ft39 ft$30–$34
VICT49standard electric32 ft50 amp84 ftunder 10 ft$30–$34
VICT50standard electric39 ft50 amp84 ftunder 10 ft$30–$34
VICT51standard electric32 ft50 amp76 ft48 ft$30–$34
VICT52standard electric33 ft50 amp76 ft81 ft$30–$34
VICT53standard electric31 ft50 amp89 ft126 ft$30–$34
VICT54standard electric35 ft50 amp89 ft131 ft$30–$34
VICT55standard electric33 ft50 amp92 ft116 ft$30–$34
VICT56standard electric31 ft50 amp118 ft141 ft$30–$34
VICT57standard electric31 ft50 amp124 ft153 ft$30–$34
VICT58standard electric30 ft50 amp82 ft178 ft$30–$34
VICT59standard electric43 ft50 ampyes82 ft219 ft$30–$34
VICT60standard electric37 ft50 amp127 ft418 ft$30–$34
VICT61standard electric39 ft50 amp127 ft481 ft$30–$34
VICT62standard electric53 ft50 amp137 ft629 ft$30–$34
VICT63standard electric39 ft50 amp110 ft532 ft$30–$34
VICT64standard electric34 ft50 amp107 ft298 ft$30–$34
VICT65standard electric80 ft50 amp100 ft356 ft$30–$34
VICT66standard electric32 ft50 amp69 ft282 ft$30–$34
VICT67standard electric33 ft50 amp69 ft235 ft$30–$34
VICT68standard electric63 ft50 amp71 ft200 ft$30–$34
VICT69standard electric55 ft50 amp64 ft149 ft$30–$34
VICT70standard electric49 ft50 amp64 ft195 ft$30–$34
VICT71standard electric31 ft50 amp74 ft226 ft$30–$34
VICT72standard electric38 ft50 amp95 ft206 ft$30–$34
VICT73standard electric31 ft50 amp122 ft252 ft$30–$34
VICT74standard electric35 ft50 amp171 ft421 ft$30–$34
VICT75standard electric64 ft50 amp110 ft494 ft$30–$34

OpenStreetMap has no toilet mapped within 1 km of this campground, so no site here carries a toilet distance. That’s a gap in the map, not a finding about the campground.

25 of 74 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate34.15139, -84.61944
The phone678-721-6700
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

Getting there

- Physical address: 937 Victoria Landing Drive, Woodstock, GA 30189

- From I-575, take exit 11 and turn west onto Sixes Road. After 2.5 miles turn left on Bells Ferry Road and follow the signs to the campground.

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

This Afternoon84°Slight Chance Rain Showers15% rain
Tonight48°Slight Chance Rain Showers then Partly Cloudy16% rain
Saturday64°Sunny
Saturday Night43°Clear1% rain

NWS forecast for Woodstock, GA

Typical weather

Typical October night 49°F, day 73°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical January night 29°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

100°32°20°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: ALLATOONA DAM 2, GA (USC00090181), 6 miles away and 115 ft higher

The land, and who answers for it

who answers for it · a letter you can send

Who answers for this land

Barry Loudermilk, official portrait

Victoria Campground is in Georgia’s 11th congressional district. Its representative, Barry Loudermilk (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

Who can change it · 3
Write to somebody who can change it

Two offices, two different asks. The draft to the agency asks it to set aside a published share of the sites here for whoever drives up. The draft to Congress asks why that share is zero and presses for a published minimum at the campgrounds it funds.

Read the draft, or change the wording

For the camper who turned up, or tried to book, and couldn’t get in. Every draft is written from this campground’s own record (its agency, its unit, its site count and its own weekend) and the buttons above copy whichever wording is selected here.

To Barry Loudermilk

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Victoria Campground, Georgia

Dear Barry Loudermilk,

I’m a constituent in Georgia’s 11th district. I tried to camp at Victoria Campground, Georgia, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 72 of the 74 campsites the agency files at Victoria Campground, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 72 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Victoria Campground keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Victoria Campground. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Victoria Campground (Georgia) via campanac.com
To Jon Ossoff

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Victoria Campground, Georgia

Dear Jon Ossoff,

I’m a constituent in Georgia. I tried to camp at Victoria Campground, Georgia, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 72 of the 74 campsites the agency files at Victoria Campground, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 72 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Victoria Campground keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Victoria Campground. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Victoria Campground (Georgia) via campanac.com
To Raphael G. Warnock

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Victoria Campground, Georgia

Dear Raphael G. Warnock,

I’m a constituent in Georgia. I tried to camp at Victoria Campground, Georgia, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 72 of the 74 campsites the agency files at Victoria Campground, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 72 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Victoria Campground keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Victoria Campground. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Victoria Campground (Georgia) via campanac.com
How we know this · 4
The figures in these drafts: Navy Ford (CVN-78) Class Aircraft Carrier Program: Background and Issues for Congress (CRS Report RS20643) · Updated December 4, 2025 · “The ship’s final procurement cost was $13,316.5 million (i.e., about $13.3 billion) in then-year dollars.”
The figures in these drafts: Salary Table 2026-GS, Incorporating the 1% General Schedule Increase, Effective January 2026 (U.S. Office of Personnel Management) · Effective January 2026 · “Grade 5, Step 1: $34,799 (annual rate, before locality pay).”
The figures in these drafts: Update to Civilian Position Full Fringe Benefit Cost Factor, Federal Pay Raise Assumptions, and Inflation Factors used in OMB Circular No. A-76 (OMB Memorandum M-08-13) · March 11, 2008 · “the civilian position full fringe benefit cost factor needs to be adjusted downward, from 36.45 percent to 36.25 percent”

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: recreation.gov is offering sites on 2 of the next 2 nights, which isn’t something a closed campground does.
Cell signal: the Army Corps’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.