U.S. Forest Service · Los Padres National Forest · CA

Wheeler Gorge

4Heads up4 fires, nearest 17 mi
Wildfire
Cornell fire · 17 mi away · updated Oct 15, 2026
Wildfire
Pinos fire · 23 mi away · 0 acres · updated Oct 16, 2026
Wildfire
Frey fire · 26 mi away · updated Oct 15, 2026
Wildfire
Shore fire · 32 mi away · updated Oct 16, 2026
Reservable, and full this SaturdayEvery one of the 55 sites on offer is taken this Saturday, and the record lists no site held back for a walk-up. read 15:52 UTC

We don’t think it should be. Every campground should hold some sites for whoever drives up.Tell your representative →

Right now
Taking bookingsSites offered on 30 of the next 30 nights read 15:52 UTC
A night
$35–$70Across the site types the agency prices
Sites
6766 on recreation.gov
45 ftLongest rig
1,810 ftElevation
215 ftWater · North Fork Matilija CreekOcean · 14.0 mi · to the Pacific Ocean
3 miN of Meiners Oaks, CA
30%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 10 notices

In the agency’s own words

Wheeler Gorge Campground is a great place for families to explore the Los Padres National Forest all year long. Informative tours of the area are led by forest rangers at the nearby visitor center. The campground provides scenic views of a nearby stream, as well as vast mountain vistas. Keep reading

Recreation

The Wheeler Gorge Nature Trail begins at the upper end of the campground. It is a relatively short loop that leads through thick vegetation along the creek banks and to a hillside view of the area. Wildflowers often bloom along the path. The creek flows near some of the campsites and a small swimming hole is frequented near the side of the highway. Fishing is rough in the area and may produce a catch of trout, but the stream is not stocked. Kayaking or canoeing in the creek is not recommended. Educational programs, including ranger-led hikes, are offered year-round.

Facilities

The campground is open year-round and offers dozens of single-family sites for tent or RV camping. Some sites are available on a first-come, first-served basis. Parking spurs are paved and vary in length, accommodating RVs up to 35 feet. Each site is equipped with a table and campfire ring with grill. Accessible vault toilets are provided, but drinking water is not available. Visitors must bring their own water, and remove their trash from the campground.

Natural Features

The campground is adjacent to Matilija Creek, and is bordered by a mixed forest of oak and sycamore trees and evergreen shrubbery. Most sites are shaded and summer temperatures reach up to 95 degrees. The campground was originally built by Boy Scouts nearly a century ago, as well as a historical stone home that is also on-site.

Nearby Attractions

Ventura and the Pacific Ocean are about 20 miles south of the campground.

What the agency tells you

Rule

In order to contact our offices, please use the email: customerservice@pmcparks.com or view our website: CampOne.Com for answers to frequently asked questions.

Rule

No water is not available at the campground. Please bring all the drinking and washing water you will need for the length of your stay. There is also no wifi or cell service.

Rule

Poison oak may be present in the area

Everything else this campground posts · 7
Rule

Use of bug spray is encouraged on warm summer days

Rule

Gate is locked at 10 p.m.; campsite check-in must be completed prior to closure

Rule

All single campsite reservations are good for 6 people and 1 vehicle.

Rule

Maximum number of people per single site is 8 ($10.00 additional charge per person per night after 6 people). Maximum number of vehicles per single site is 2 ($10.00 additional charge for 2nd vehicle per night).

Rule

All Double campsite reservations are good for 12 people and 2 vehicles. Maximum number of people per double site is 16 ($10.00 additional charge person per night after 12 people). Maximum Number of vehicles per double site is 4 ($10.00 additional charge per vehicle per night after 2 vehicles). Extra Vehicle and person fees will be charged at the facility.

Rule

Click here for more information on the Los Padres National Forest

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Protect California's forests from tree-killing pests by buying your firewood locally and burning it on-site. For more information visit firewood.ca.gov.

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
67
Hookups
None
Longest rig
45 ft
Paved pads
59 of 67
Accessible sites
4
Pets
Allowed
Shade
51 of 52 sites
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Vault Toilets
“…and campfire ring with grill. Accessible vault toilets are provided, but drinking water is not available.…”
Drinking water
None, bring your own
“…vault toilets are provided, but drinking water is not available. Visitors must bring their own water, and remove…”

Around the campground

On the water
Creek, Coast
Biking
Fishing
Hiking
Swimming
Night sky · 1036th darkest of 1,201 in CA
Bortle 4
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026

Full this Saturdayread 15:52 UTC

How full the weekend is nationally.

OpenBooked

Every one of the 55 sites on offer is taken this Saturday. 57 are free on Tue, Oct 20. read 15:52 UTC Why the weekend fills and the week doesn’t

Booking window6 months outBookable now through April 16, 2027. Today at 10 AM ET, availability opens through April 17, 2027.recreation.gov
Max stay15 nights2-night minimum on weekendsthe facility record
A night$35–$70plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$82–$152DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Forest ServiceBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Watch this campground

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov ↗

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 20

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night, per site$35–$70
Standard Nonelectric$35
Standard Nonelectric- Double Site$70
Friday and Saturday, added$2
Rates for the season the campground is in now, Jan 1, 2026 to Dec 31, 2026.
Single Sites: All single campsite reservations are good for 6 people and 1 vehicle.
Maximum number of people per single site is 8 ($10.00 additional charge per person per night after 6 people).
Double Sites: All double campsite reservations are good for 12 people and 2 vehicles.
Maximum number of people per double site is 16 ($10.00 additional charge person per night after 12 people).
Maximum Number of vehicles per double site is 4 ($10.00 additional charge per vehicle per night after 2 vehicles).
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What this campground addsits own record
Extra vehicle$10

“Maximum number of vehicles per single site is 2 ($10.00 additional charge for 2nd vehicle per night).” · the U.S. Forest Service’s own fee record

What a stay costs
One nightDerived$43–$78
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$82–$152

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $35–$70 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking, plus the agency’s published $2 weekend rate on Friday and Saturday. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 6

recreation.gov availability, read 15:52 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

89 records · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 66 mapped sites
47 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least roomLoop WHEE 062 19 ftLoop WHEE 063 19 ftLoop WHEE 067 28 ft

All 89 records

67 of 89 records located
Standard66Type not stated1
SleepsTakes aUp to

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 67 of the 89 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.

AREA WHEELER GORGEXXXunnamed record45 ft$33.97
AREA WHEELER GORGEXXX1unnamed record$33.97
AREA WHEELER GORGEXXX10unnamed record$33.97
AREA WHEELER GORGEXXX11unnamed record$33.97
AREA WHEELER GORGEXXX12unnamed record$33.97
AREA WHEELER GORGEXXX13unnamed record$33.97
AREA WHEELER GORGEXXX14unnamed record$33.97
AREA WHEELER GORGEXXX15unnamed record$33.97
AREA WHEELER GORGEXXX16unnamed record$33.97
AREA WHEELER GORGEXXX17unnamed record$33.97
AREA WHEELER GORGEXXX18unnamed record$33.97
AREA WHEELER GORGEXXX19unnamed record$33.97
AREA WHEELER GORGEXXX2unnamed record$33.97
AREA WHEELER GORGEXXX20unnamed record$33.97
AREA WHEELER GORGEXXX21unnamed record$33.97
AREA WHEELER GORGEXXX3unnamed record$33.97
AREA WHEELER GORGEXXX4unnamed record$33.97
AREA WHEELER GORGEXXX5unnamed record$33.97
AREA WHEELER GORGEXXX6unnamed record$33.97
AREA WHEELER GORGEXXX7unnamed record$33.97
AREA WHEELER GORGEXXX8unnamed record$33.97
AREA WHEELER GORGEXXX9unnamed record$33.97
WHEE001type not stated28 ft147 ft$33.97
WHEE002standard nonelectric26 ftyes103 ft126 ft$35–$70
WHEE003standard nonelectric20 ft35 ft196 ft$35–$70
WHEE004/005standard nonelectric25 ft35 ft162 ft$35–$70
WHEE006standard nonelectric30 ft56 ft231 ft$35–$70
WHEE007standard nonelectric20 ft56 ft195 ft$35–$70
WHEE008standard nonelectric22 ft82 ft211 ft$35–$70
WHEE009/010standard nonelectric30 ft82 ft221 ft$35–$70
WHEE011standard nonelectric32 ft31 ft136 ft$35–$70
WHEE012standard nonelectric20 ft29 ft138 ft$35–$70
WHEE013standard nonelectric20 ft45 ft95 ft$35–$70
WHEE014standard nonelectric20 ft29 ft139 ft$35–$70
WHEE015standard nonelectric20 ftyes40 ft125 ft$35–$70
WHEE016standard nonelectric20 ftyes33 ft114 ft$35–$70
WHEE017standard nonelectric15 ft33 ft105 ft$35–$70
WHEE018standard nonelectric40 ft62 ft51 ft$35–$70
WHEE019standard nonelectric20 ft37 ft64 ft$35–$70
WHEE020standard nonelectric15 ft37 ft99 ft$35–$70
WHEE021standard nonelectric20 ft37 ft102 ft$35–$70
WHEE022standard nonelectric25 ft38 ft117 ft$35–$70
WHEE023standard nonelectric30 ft41 ft130 ft$35–$70
WHEE024standard nonelectric25 ft31 ft101 ft$35–$70
WHEE025standard nonelectric25 ft49 ft92 ft$35–$70
WHEE026standard nonelectric25 ft29 ft74 ft$35–$70
WHEE027standard nonelectric25 ft29 ft49 ft$35–$70
WHEE028standard nonelectric25 ft38 ft95 ft$35–$70
WHEE029standard nonelectric15 ft46 ft133 ft$35–$70
WHEE031standard nonelectric25 ft46 ft125 ft$35–$70
WHEE032standard nonelectric25 ft39 ft77 ft$35–$70
WHEE033standard nonelectric25 ft39 ft102 ft$35–$70
WHEE034standard nonelectric20 ft143 ft61 ft$35–$70
WHEE035standard nonelectric20 ft143 ft68 ft$35–$70
WHEE036standard nonelectric20 ft113 ft94 ft$35–$70
WHEE038standard nonelectric20 ft94 ft208 ft$35–$70
WHEE039standard nonelectric30 ft94 ft253 ft$35–$70
WHEE040standard nonelectric20 ft51 ft257 ft$35–$70
WHEE041standard nonelectric24 ft51 ft300 ft$35–$70
WHEE042standard nonelectric22 ft48 ft241 ft$35–$70
WHEE043standard nonelectric20 ft77 ft274 ft$35–$70
WHEE044standard nonelectric25 ft48 ft208 ft$35–$70
WHEE045standard nonelectric30 ft70 ft198 ft$35–$70
WHEE046standard nonelectric20 ft70 ft210 ft$35–$70
WHEE047standard nonelectric45 ft58 ft56 ft$35–$70
WHEE048standard nonelectric20 ft38 ft16 ft$35–$70
WHEE049standard nonelectric30 ft56 ft46 ft$35–$70
WHEE050standard nonelectric30 ft38 ft17 ft$35–$70
WHEE051standard nonelectric25 ft55 ftunder 10 ft$35–$70
WHEE052standard nonelectric25 ft56 ft23 ft$35–$70
WHEE053standard nonelectric20 ft72 ft142 ft$35–$70
WHEE054standard nonelectric20 ft65 ft133 ft$35–$70
WHEE055standard nonelectric20 ftyes65 ft94 ft$35–$70
WHEE056standard nonelectric15 ft63 ft173 ft$35–$70
WHEE057standard nonelectric20 ft31 ft122 ft$35–$70
WHEE058standard nonelectric25 ft57 ft82 ft$35–$70
WHEE059standard nonelectric20 ft31 ft96 ft$35–$70
WHEE060standard nonelectric15 ft33 ft137 ft$35–$70
WHEE061standard nonelectric45 ft29 ft109 ft$35–$70
WHEE062standard nonelectric30 ft19 ft89 ft$35–$70
WHEE063standard nonelectric20 ft19 ft71 ft$35–$70
WHEE064standard nonelectric30 ft44 ft52 ft$35–$70
WHEE065standard nonelectric20 ft65 ft127 ft$35–$70
WHEE066standard nonelectric20 ft56 ft112 ft$35–$70
WHEE067standard nonelectric20 ft28 ft75 ft$35–$70
WHEE068standard nonelectric20 ft28 ft48 ft$35–$70
WHEE069standard nonelectric20 ft71 ft30 ft$35–$70
WHEE070standard nonelectric25 ft92 ft74 ft$35–$70
WHEE071standard nonelectric20 ft92 ft82 ft$35–$70

The agency files 22 more records here that aren’t sites for the night. It types every one of them MANAGEMENT rather than a campsite. They’re in the table above, marked for what they are, and none of them is counted as a site.

OpenStreetMap has no toilet mapped within 1 km of this campground, so no site here carries a toilet distance. That’s a gap in the map, not a finding about the campground.

25 of 89 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate34.51194, -119.27361
The phone805-434-1996
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

Getting there

From Ventura, take Highway 33 north about 14 miles. Turn left, continuing on Highway 33 for another 8 miles to the campground.

From Los Angeles, take I-5 north, then turn west onto Highway 126 for about 28 miles, to Santa Paula. Continue north on Highway 150 for 16 miles. Turn left onto Highway 33 and continue north approximately 8 miles to the campground.

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Tonight63°Mostly Clear
Saturday86°Sunny
Saturday Night58°Mostly Clear
Sunday82°Sunny

NWS forecast for Meiners Oaks, CA

Typical weather

Typical October night 43°F, day 78°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical December night 32°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

100°32°20°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: NEW CUYAMA FIRE STN, CA (USC00046154), 38 miles away and 350 ft higher

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it · a letter you can send

What threatens this place

developing
Los Padres National Forestlogging, drilling, rollback
Roadless
Nordhoff12,031 acres · 5 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Dry Lakes17,043 acres · 5 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Matilija5,218 acres · 7 mi · inventoried roadless area

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Source: MTJP Threatened Lands map · Sep 30, 2026

Who answers for this land

Julia Brownley, official portrait

Wheeler Gorge is in California’s 26th congressional district. Its representative, Julia Brownley (D), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: A+. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

Who can change it · 3
Write to somebody who can change it

Two offices, two different asks. The draft to the agency asks it to set aside a published share of the sites here for whoever drives up. The draft to Congress asks why that share is zero and presses for a published minimum at the campgrounds it funds.

Read the draft, or change the wording

For the camper who turned up, or tried to book, and couldn’t get in. Every draft is written from this campground’s own record (its agency, its unit, its site count and its own weekend) and the buttons above copy whichever wording is selected here.

To Julia Brownley

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Wheeler Gorge, Los Padres National Forest, California

Dear Julia Brownley,

I’m a constituent in California’s 26th district. I tried to camp at Wheeler Gorge, Los Padres National Forest, California, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 66 of the 67 campsites the agency files at Wheeler Gorge, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 55 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Wheeler Gorge keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Wheeler Gorge. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Wheeler Gorge (Los Padres National Forest, California) via campanac.com
To Adam B. Schiff

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Wheeler Gorge, Los Padres National Forest, California

Dear Adam B. Schiff,

I’m a constituent in California. I tried to camp at Wheeler Gorge, Los Padres National Forest, California, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 66 of the 67 campsites the agency files at Wheeler Gorge, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 55 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Wheeler Gorge keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Wheeler Gorge. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Wheeler Gorge (Los Padres National Forest, California) via campanac.com
To Alex Padilla

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Wheeler Gorge, Los Padres National Forest, California

Dear Alex Padilla,

I’m a constituent in California. I tried to camp at Wheeler Gorge, Los Padres National Forest, California, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 66 of the 67 campsites the agency files at Wheeler Gorge, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 55 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Wheeler Gorge keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Wheeler Gorge. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Wheeler Gorge (Los Padres National Forest, California) via campanac.com
How we know this · 4
The figures in these drafts: Navy Ford (CVN-78) Class Aircraft Carrier Program: Background and Issues for Congress (CRS Report RS20643) · Updated December 4, 2025 · “The ship’s final procurement cost was $13,316.5 million (i.e., about $13.3 billion) in then-year dollars.”
The figures in these drafts: Salary Table 2026-GS, Incorporating the 1% General Schedule Increase, Effective January 2026 (U.S. Office of Personnel Management) · Effective January 2026 · “Grade 5, Step 1: $34,799 (annual rate, before locality pay).”
The figures in these drafts: Update to Civilian Position Full Fringe Benefit Cost Factor, Federal Pay Raise Assumptions, and Inflation Factors used in OMB Circular No. A-76 (OMB Memorandum M-08-13) · March 11, 2008 · “the civilian position full fringe benefit cost factor needs to be adjusted downward, from 36.45 percent to 36.25 percent”

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: recreation.gov is offering sites on 30 of the next 30 nights, which isn’t something a closed campground does.
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.