1Heads up1 fire 5.4 mi away
Wildfire
Willow fire · 5.4 mi away · 7,359 acres · 92% contained · updated Oct 13, 2026
ReservableOut of season, no booking; December 5 opens June 5.
Book on recreation.govWe make nothing when you book
Right now
Listed not openA database flag with no reason and no date
A night
$29–$33Across the site types the agency prices
Sites
5048 on recreation.gov
45 ftLongest rig
9,920 ftElevation
868 ftWater · Turquoise Lake
0.8 miNW of Leadville North, CO
35%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 15 notices

In the agency’s own words

Baby Doe Campground is situated on the eastern shore of Turquoise Lake in the shade of a lodgepole pine and subalpine fir forest. This family-friendly campground is a popular summer destination for boating, hiking and fishing. The campground was named for Elizabeth McCourt, whose nickname was Baby Doe. She made a name for herself in the Colorado mining community in the 19th century when she took on the rugged work of a miner. Keep reading

Recreation

The 1.2-mile Turquoise Lake Nature Trail meanders along the shoreline is a gentle loop trail through the forest and down to the shoreline of Turquoise Lake. This trail connects to the 6.4-mile Turquoise Lake Trail that parallels the shoreline from Sugar Loaf Dam to May Queen Campground. Trail guides are available at the trailhead located about a mile south, at the entrance to Molly Brown Campground. On the lake, boating, sailing, canoeing and fishing are favorite activities. Anglers fish for stocked cutthroat, rainbow, brown and lake trout. A boat ramp is located about a mile south of the campground.

Facilities

The campground offers single-family sites, some of which are accessible. Each site is equipped with a picnic table and campfire ring. Vault toilets and trash collection are provided. Firewood is available for purchase from the Host. Parking spurs are gravel or dirt.

Natural Features

Campsites are perched along the scenic lakeshore. The Mount Massive Wilderness Area, a 30,540 acre stretch of primitive land boasting Colorado's second highest peak at 14,421 feet, is nearby. Much of the wilderness is above timberline with many alpine plant communities and permanent snowfields.

Nearby Attractions

Venture to Independence Pass for a scenic drive with breathtaking views of the Rockies and surrounding alpine tundra habitat. At 12,095 feet, it is one of the highest paved mountain passes in the country and marks where the Top of the Rockies National Scenic and Historic Byway crosses the Continental Divide. Contact Info For facility specific information, please call (661) 702-1420.

Charges & Cancellations

Cancellations Individual Campsites: Cancellations up to 2 days before a reservation start date incur a $10.00 cancellation fee. A visitor who cancels a reservation the day before or on the day of arrival will pay a $10.00 service fee AND forfeit the first night's use fee including tax and applicable add-on for a campsite. Cancellations for a one-night reservation will forfeit the entire amount paid and will not be subject to an additional service fee. No-Shows A no-show visitor is one who does not arrive at a campground and does not cancel the reservation by check-out time on the day after the scheduled arrival date. Staff will hold a campsite until check-out time on the day following the arrival date. No-shows are assessed $20.00 service fee and forfeit the first night's rate, taxes and applicable add-on for a campsite. Refunds Visitors may submit a refund request through their Recreation.gov profile within 7 days of the end date of their reservation. Refunds will not be issued after the 7 days has ended. Refunds for debit or credit card payments will be issued as a credit to the original bank or credit card used to pay. For check or cash purchases, Recreation.gov will mail a Treasury check for refunds of cash, check, or money order payments to the address associated with the reservation. Treasury check refunds may take up to 6-8 weeks to arrive. In the event of an emergency closure, the Recreation.gov team or facility manager will refund all fees and will attempt to notify you using the contact information within the Recreation.gov visitor profile.

What the agency tells you

Rule

Water will NOT be available in this campground in 2026. Please bring enough water for your needs, including water to fully extinguish your campfire.   Also, the RV Dump Stations at both Printer Boy & White Star Campgrounds will remain closed this season.

Rule

Check in: 2 pm, Check out: 12 pm (noon)

Rule

Two (2) vehicles are included with each campsite reservation. RVs and their tow vehicle, as well as vehicles towing camper trailers, are considered one vehicle when they arrive as a single unit. Vehicles beyond that would be subject to the additional vehicle fee ($11.00/night) collected at the campground upon arrival. Boat/ATV trailers are considered an additional vehicle and will be charged the extra vehicle fee per night. Please note that all vehicles must fit in the parking spur. Please no parking on the grass.

Everything else this campground posts · 12
Rule

Maximum of 8 people are permitted to occupy 1 site.

Rule

2 tent maximum per site. Or 1 RV and 2 tents.

Rule

Dogs, including service and therapy dogs, must be leashed at all times.

Rule

Generators may not be operated after 10PM. CPAP machines and other medical equipment are not exempt.

Rule

Be bear aware. Do not leave any food unattended at your site. Lock inside your vehicle or RV.

Rule

OHVs, ATVs, and dirt bikes are not permitted to operate in any campground.

Rule

Firearms and fireworks are not permitted.

Rule

No hookups available

Rule

This is a high elevation facility; please use caution when traveling from lower elevations

Rule

Click here for more information on Pike and San Isabel National Forests

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Prevent the spread of tree-killing organisms by obtaining firewood at or near your destination and burning it on-site. For more information visit dontmovefirewood.org.

Rule

Firewood is available for sale at host site, $10.00/bundle.

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
50
Hookups
None
Longest rig
45 ft
Accessible sites
6
Pets
Allowed
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Vault Toilets
“…with a picnic table and campfire ring. Vault toilets and trash collection are provided. Firewood is…”
Boat ramp
Yes
Firewood
Sold here
Camp host
On site
recreation.gov lists “Host”
Stay limit
14 nights
recreation.gov facility rule maxStay
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026
Water, toilets and showers: read from the agency description, shown above · Sep 12, 2026

Around the campground

On the water
Lake, Beach
Boating
Fishing
Hiking
Water sports
Night sky · 393rd darkest of 522 in CO
Bortle 3
Fall color · reported 12 days ago, 19 km away
Peak color
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026
Fall color: More Than Just Parks foliage tracker, joined to this campground by distance (19 km) · Oct 5, 2026

No reading yet, book on recreation.gov

recreation.gov lists 48 of the 50 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.

No availability snapshot inside the last 36 hours, so this page draws nothing rather than ageing a reading into fiction.

Booking windowOut of seasonOut of season, no booking. On December 5, 2026 at 10 AM ET, availability opens through June 5, 2027.recreation.govAdd to calendar (.ics)
Max stay14 nightsthe facility record
A night$29–$33plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$66–$74DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservation; this campground publishes its own terms toorecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itRocky Mountain Recreation CompanyA private concessionaire under permit from U.S. Forest Service (parent: ExplorUS)the operator link
Watch for a cancellation

Full? Watch it.

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Sat, Jun 5 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 14

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night, per site$29–$33
Standard Nonelectric$29
Premium Site$33
These are next season’s rates, Jun 5, 2027 to Sep 5, 2027. The campground is between seasons now.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What this campground addsits own record
Extra vehicle$10

“Extra Vehicle Fee $10.00” · the U.S. Forest Service’s own fee record

What a stay costs
One nightDerived$37–$41
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$66–$74

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $29–$33 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

“Cancellations Individual Campsites: Cancellations up to 2 days before a reservation start date incur a $10.00 cancellation fee. A visitor who cancels a reservation the day before or on the day of arrival will pay a $10.00 service fee AND forfeit the first night's use fee including tax and applicable add-on for a cam…” · this campground’s own no-show terms

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 7

rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Oct 1, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

51 records · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 48 mapped sites
37 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least roomLoop BABY 025 10 ftLoop BABY 026 10 ftLoop BABY 037 15 ft

All 51 records

50 of 51 records located
Standard48Type not stated2
SleepsTakes aUp to

Toilet distances are OpenStreetMap’s, measured for 50 of the 51 sites listed. A site with no reading is unknown, never far.

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 50 of the 51 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.

BABY002standard nonelectric35 ft18 ft395 ft993 ft$29–$33
BABY003standard nonelectric35 ft18 ft379 ft1,008 ft$29–$33
BABY004standard nonelectric40 ft73 ft308 ft1,027 ft$29–$33
BABY005standard nonelectric40 ft38 ft303 ft1,128 ft$29–$33
BABY006standard nonelectric40 ft38 ft290 ft1,165 ft$29–$33
BABY007standard nonelectric35 ftyes21 ft310 ft1,228 ft$29–$33
BABY008standard nonelectric45 ftyes21 ft292 ft1,238 ft$29–$33
BABY009standard nonelectric25 ftyes28 ft299 ft1,359 ft$29–$33
BABY010standard nonelectric40 ftyes28 ft285 ft1,381 ft$29–$33
BABY011standard nonelectric40 ftyes70 ft245 ft1,439 ft$29–$33
BABY012standard nonelectric20 ft57 ft295 ft1,569 ft$29–$33
BABY013standard nonelectric34 ft70 ft236 ft1,505 ft$29–$33
BABY014standard nonelectric40 ft57 ft256 ft1,597 ft$29–$33
BABY015standard nonelectric35 ft69 ft404 ft1,632 ft$29–$33
BABY016standard nonelectric35 ft50 ft422 ft1,578 ft$29–$33
BABY017standard nonelectric40 ft50 ft457 ft1,560 ft$29–$33
BABY018standard nonelectric30 ft35 ft475 ft1,516 ft$29–$33
BABY019standard nonelectric40 ft35 ft506 ft1,512 ft$29–$33
BABY020standard nonelectric40 ft45 ft545 ft1,433 ft$29–$33
BABY021standard nonelectric40 ft34 ft545 ft1,390 ft$29–$33
BABY022standard nonelectric30 ft34 ft524 ft1,360 ft$29–$33
BABY023standard nonelectric35 ft61 ft527 ft1,301 ft$29–$33
BABY024standard nonelectric35 ft54 ft554 ft1,220 ft$29–$33
BABY025standard nonelectric20 ft10 ft539 ft1,166 ft$29–$33
BABY026standard nonelectric30 ft10 ft545 ft1,160 ft$29–$33
BABY028standard nonelectric35 ft61 ft509 ft859 ft$29–$33
BABY029standard nonelectric40 ft52 ft479 ft801 ft$29–$33
BABY030standard nonelectric35 ft42 ft495 ft774 ft$29–$33
BABY031standard nonelectric25 ft42 ft491 ft739 ft$29–$33
BABY032standard nonelectric45 ft16 ft508 ft702 ft$29–$33
BABY033standard nonelectric40 ft16 ft524 ft709 ft$29–$33
BABY034standard nonelectric30 ft97 ft536 ft634 ft$29–$33
BABY035standard nonelectric40 ft38 ft540 ft547 ft$29–$33
BABY036standard nonelectric45 ft38 ft572 ft542 ft$29–$33
BABY037standard nonelectric35 ft15 ft611 ft504 ft$29–$33
BABY038standard nonelectric35 ft15 ft625 ft513 ft$29–$33
BABY039standard nonelectric40 ftyes51 ft712 ft532 ft$29–$33
BABY040standard nonelectric30 ft51 ft742 ft583 ft$29–$33
BABY041standard nonelectric35 ft74 ft742 ft659 ft$29–$33
BABY042standard nonelectric34 ft37 ft718 ft698 ft$29–$33
BABY043standard nonelectric35 ft37 ft724 ft729 ft$29–$33
BABY044standard nonelectric40 ft37 ft705 ft771 ft$29–$33
BABY045standard nonelectric40 ft37 ft713 ft804 ft$29–$33
BABY046standard nonelectric40 ft44 ft695 ft881 ft$29–$33
BABY047standard nonelectric30 ft37 ft683 ft900 ft$29–$33
BABY048standard nonelectric30 ft20 ft696 ft932 ft$29–$33
BABY049standard nonelectric30 ft20 ft683 ft933 ft$29–$33
BABY050standard nonelectric40 ft30 ft688 ft955 ft$29–$33
MANAGEMENT001type not stated445 ft988 ft$29
MANAGEMENT027type not stated540 ft1,046 ft$29
MANAGEMENTXXXunnamed record35 ftyes$29

The agency files 1 more record here that isn’t a site for the night. It types it MANAGEMENT rather than a campsite. It’s in the table above, marked for what it is, and it isn’t counted as a site.

25 of 51 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate39.26972, -106.35056
The phone719-486-0749 (INFORMATION ONLY, NO RESERVATIONS)
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Overnight23°Clear
Saturday61°Sunny
Saturday Night29°Mostly Clear
Sunday59°Partly Sunny11% rain

NWS forecast for Leadville North, CO

Typical weather

Typical October night 24°F, day 51°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical January night 3°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

80°32°-10°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: SUGARLOAF RSVR, CO (USC00058064), 2 miles away and 182 ft lower

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it

Roadless country, and what’s coming for it

Roadless
Galena Mountain6,409 acres · 5 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Buckeye Peak1,151 acres · 7 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
No Name3,823 acres · 8 mi · inventoried roadless area

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Who answers for this land

Brittany Pettersen, official portrait

Baby Doe is in Colorado’s 7th congressional district. Its representative, Brittany Pettersen (D), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: A. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: U.S. Forest Service’s own recreation database flags it not open and publishes no reason and no date. That’s a flag, not a notice: the number below is the only way to be sure.
Fall color: More Than Just Parks foliage tracker, joined to this campground by distance (19 km) · Oct 5, 2026
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.