U.S. Forest Service · San Isabel National Forest · CO

Silver Dollar

1Heads up1 fire 5.1 mi away
Wildfire
Willow fire · 5.1 mi away · 7,359 acres · 92% contained · updated Oct 13, 2026
ReservableOut of season, no booking; November 21 opens May 21.
Book on recreation.govWe make nothing when you book
Right now
Listed not openA database flag with no reason and no date
A night
$30From, per site
Sites
4338 on recreation.gov
30 ftLongest rig
9,880 ftElevation
103 ftWater · an unnamed pond
0.7 miW of Leadville North, CO
44%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 15 notices

In the agency’s own words

Silver Dollar Campground is situated near the eastern shore of Turquoise Lake in the shade of a lodgepole pine and subalpine fir forest. This family-friendly campground is a popular summer destination for boating, hiking and fishing. Keep reading

Recreation

Hikers enjoy the 1.2-mile Turquoise Lake Nature Trail. The gentle path meanders through the forest and down to the shoreline of Turquoise Lake, and connects with the 6.4-mile Turquoise Lake Trail that parallels the shoreline from the Sugar Loaf Dam to May Queen Campground. Hikers can pick up a trail guide at the trailhead located near the entrance to Molly Brown Campground to learn about the flora and fauna along the path. On the lake, boating, sailing, canoeing and fishing are favorite activities. Anglers fish for stocked cutthroat, rainbow, brown and lake trout. Matchless Boat Ramp is located nearby.

Facilities

The campground offers single-family sites, each equipped with a picnic table and campfire ring. Vault toilets and trash collection are provided. Firewood is available for purchase from the Host. Parking spurs are gravel or dirt.

Natural Features

Campsites are nestled in the forest within walking distance of the scenic lakeshore at 10,000 feet in elevation. The Mount Massive Wilderness Area is nearby. The 30,540-acre expanse encompasses Mount Massive, Colorado's second highest peak at 14,421 feet. Much of the wilderness is above timberline with many alpine plant communities and permanent snowfields.

Nearby Attractions

Venture to Independence Pass for a scenic drive with breathtaking views of the Rockies and surrounding alpine tundra habitat. At 12,095 feet, it is one of the highest paved mountain passes in the country and marks where the Top of the Rockies National Scenic and Historic Byway crosses the Continental Divide. Contact Info For facility specific information, please call (661) 702-1420.

Charges & Cancellations

Cancellations Individual Campsites: Cancellations up to 2 days before a reservation start date incur a $10.00 cancellation fee. A visitor who cancels a reservation the day before or on the day of arrival will pay a $10.00 service fee AND forfeit the first night's use fee including tax and applicable add-on for a campsite. Cancellations for a one-night reservation will forfeit the entire amount paid and will not be subject to an additional service fee. No-Shows A no-show visitor is one who does not arrive at a campground and does not cancel the reservation by check-out time on the day after the scheduled arrival date. Staff will hold a campsite until check-out time on the day following the arrival date. No-shows are assessed $20.00 service fee and forfeit the first night's rate, taxes and applicable add-on for a campsite. Refunds Visitors may submit a refund request through their Recreation.gov profile within 7 days of the end date of their reservation. Refunds will not be issued after the 7 days has ended. Refunds for debit or credit card payments will be issued as a credit to the original bank or credit card used to pay. For check or cash purchases, Recreation.gov will mail a Treasury check for refunds of cash, check, or money order payments to the address associated with the reservation. Treasury check refunds may take up to 6-8 weeks to arrive. In the event of an emergency closure, the Recreation.gov team or facility manager will refund all fees and will attempt to notify you using the contact information within the Recreation.gov visitor profile.

What the agency tells you

Rule

Water will NOT be available in this campground in 2026. Please bring enough water for your needs, including water to fully extinguish your campfire.   Also, the RV Dump Stations at both Printer Boy & White Star Campgrounds will remain closed this season.

Rule

Check in: 2 pm, Check out: 12 pm (noon)

Rule

Maximum of 8 people are permitted to occupy 1 site.

Everything else this campground posts · 12
Rule

3 tent maximum per site, or 1 RV and 2 tents.

Rule

Nightly fee includes parking for 2 vehicles. $11.00 nightly fee for a 3rd vehicle. An RV or Boat/ATV trailer is counted as 1 vehicle.

Rule

Dogs, including service and therapy dogs, must be leashed at all times.

Rule

Generators may not be operated after 10 PM. CPAP machines and other medical equipment are not exempt.

Rule

Be bear aware. Do not leave any food unattended at your site. Lock inside your vehicle or RV.

Rule

OHVs, ATVs, and dirt bikes are not permitted to operate in any campground

Rule

Firearms and fireworks are not permitted

Rule

No hookups available

Rule

This is a high elevation facility; please use caution when traveling from lower elevations

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Prevent the spread of tree-killing organisms by obtaining firewood at or near your destination and burning it on-site. For more information visit dontmovefirewood.org.

Rule

Click here for more information on Pike and San Isabel National Forests

Rule

Firewood is available for sale at host site for $10.00/bundle.

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
43
Hookups
None
Longest rig
30 ft
Accessible sites
None listed
Pets
Allowed
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Vault Toilets
“…with a picnic table and campfire ring. Vault toilets and trash collection are provided. Firewood is…”
Boat ramp
Yes
Firewood
Sold here
Camp host
On site
recreation.gov lists “Host”
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026
Water, toilets and showers: read from the agency description, shown above · Sep 12, 2026

Around the campground

On the water
Lake, Beach
Boating
Fishing
Hiking
Historic site
Swimming
Water sports
Night sky · 390th darkest of 522 in CO
Bortle 3
Fall color · reported 11 days ago, 20 km away
Peak color
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026
Fall color: More Than Just Parks foliage tracker, joined to this campground by distance (20 km) · Oct 5, 2026

No reading yet, book on recreation.gov

recreation.gov lists 38 of the 43 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.

No availability snapshot inside the last 36 hours, so this page draws nothing rather than ageing a reading into fiction.

Booking windowOut of seasonOut of season, no booking. On November 21, 2026 at 10 AM ET, availability opens through May 21, 2027.recreation.govAdd to calendar (.ics)
Max stay14 nightsthe facility record
A night$30plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$68DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservation; this campground publishes its own terms toorecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itRocky Mountain Recreation CompanyA private concessionaire under permit from U.S. Forest Service (parent: ExplorUS)the operator link
Watch for a cancellation

Full? Watch it.

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Fri, May 21 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 13

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night$30
Standard Nonelectric$30
These are next season’s rates, May 21, 2027 to Sep 5, 2027. The campground is between seasons now.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What this campground addsits own record
Extra vehicle$10

“Extra Vehicle Fee $10.00” · the U.S. Forest Service’s own fee record

What a stay costs
One nightDerived$38
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$68

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rate for this season, $30 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

“Cancellations Individual Campsites: Cancellations up to 2 days before a reservation start date incur a $10.00 cancellation fee. A visitor who cancels a reservation the day before or on the day of arrival will pay a $10.00 service fee AND forfeit the first night's use fee including tax and applicable add-on for a cam…” · this campground’s own no-show terms

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 7

rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Oct 1, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

46 records · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 38 mapped sites
42 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least roomLoop SILV 006 11 ftLoop SILV 007 11 ftLoop SILV 035 13 ft

All 46 records

43 of 46 records located
Standard38Type not stated5
SleepsTakes aUp to

Toilet distances are OpenStreetMap’s, measured for 22 of the 46 sites listed. A site with no reading is unknown, never far.

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 43 of the 46 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.

MANAGEMENT004type not stated995 ft$30
MANAGEMENT015type not stated844 ft3,104 ft$30
MANAGEMENT020type not stated1,030 ft3,239 ft$30
MANAGEMENT022type not stated1,094 ft$30
MANAGEMENTXXXunnamed record30 ft$30
MANAGEMENTXXX5unnamed record$30
MANAGEMENTXXX6unnamed record$30
SILV001standard nonelectric30 ft128 ft1,176 ft$30
SILV002standard nonelectric30 ft106 ft1,128 ft$30
SILV003standard nonelectric30 ft97 ft1,052 ft$30
SILV005standard nonelectric30 ft97 ft964 ft$30
SILV006standard nonelectric30 ft11 ft885 ft3,207 ft$30
SILV007standard nonelectric30 ft11 ft880 ft3,202 ft$30
SILV008standard nonelectric30 ft111 ft840 ft3,156 ft$30
SILV009standard nonelectric30 ft38 ft685 ft3,006 ft$30
SILV010standard nonelectric30 ft39 ft708 ft3,029 ft$30
SILV011standard nonelectric30 ft38 ft703 ft3,025 ft$30
SILV012standard nonelectric30 ft55 ft740 ft3,057 ft$30
SILV013standard nonelectric30 ft38 ft780 ft3,085 ft$30
SILV014standard nonelectric20 ft38 ft807 ft3,108 ft$30
SILV016standard nonelectric30 ft101 ft854 ft3,116 ft$30
SILV017standard nonelectric30 ft44 ft865 ft3,092 ft$30
SILV018standard nonelectric30 ft44 ft868 ft3,077 ft$30
SILV019standard nonelectric30 ft107 ft1,014 ft3,215 ft$30
SILV021standard nonelectric30 ft76 ft1,081 ft$30
SILV023standard nonelectric30 ft76 ft1,107 ft$30
SILV024standard nonelectric30 ft123 ft862 ft$30
SILV025standard nonelectric30 ft25 ft777 ft$30
SILV026standard nonelectric30 ft57 ft694 ft$30
SILV027standard nonelectric30 ft25 ft760 ft$30
SILV028standard nonelectric30 ft57 ft749 ft$30
SILV029standard nonelectric30 ft58 ft770 ft$30
SILV030standard nonelectric30 ft24 ft791 ft$30
SILV031standard nonelectric30 ft24 ft808 ft$30
SILV032type not stated30 ft796 ft$30
SILV033standard nonelectric30 ft16 ft855 ft$30
SILV034standard nonelectric30 ft16 ft849 ft$30
SILV035standard nonelectric30 ft13 ft1,052 ft$30
SILV036standard nonelectric30 ft13 ft1,042 ft$30
SILV037standard nonelectric30 ft31 ft1,107 ft3,264 ft$30
SILV038standard nonelectric30 ft31 ft1,137 ft3,239 ft$30
SILV039standard nonelectric30 ft167 ft950 ft3,073 ft$30
SILV040standard nonelectric30 ft25 ft841 ft3,037 ft$30
SILV041standard nonelectric30 ft25 ft833 ft3,040 ft$30
SILV042standard nonelectric30 ft103 ft712 ft2,975 ft$30
SILV043standard nonelectric30 ft103 ft767 ft3,053 ft$30

The agency files 3 more records here that aren’t sites for the night. It types every one of them MANAGEMENT rather than a campsite. They’re in the table above, marked for what they are, and none of them is counted as a site.

25 of 46 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate39.26222, -106.35278
The phone719-486-0749 (FOR INFORMATION ONLY, NO RESERVATIONS)
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

Getting there

From Leadville, Colorado, drive west on County Road 4 and follow signs to the Turquoise Lake Recreation Area. Turn right on County Road 9C and follow to the campground entrance on the right.

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

This Afternoon55°Sunny
Tonight25°Clear
Saturday61°Sunny
Saturday Night27°Mostly Clear

NWS forecast for Leadville North, CO

Typical weather

Typical October night 24°F, day 51°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical January night 3°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

80°32°-10°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: SUGARLOAF RSVR, CO (USC00058064), 1 mile away and 142 ft lower

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it

Roadless country, and what’s coming for it

Roadless
Galena Mountain6,409 acres · 5 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Buckeye Peak1,151 acres · 8 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
No Name3,823 acres · 8 mi · inventoried roadless area

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Who answers for this land

Brittany Pettersen, official portrait

Silver Dollar is in Colorado’s 7th congressional district. Its representative, Brittany Pettersen (D), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: A+. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: U.S. Forest Service’s own recreation database flags it not open and publishes no reason and no date. That’s a flag, not a notice: the number below is the only way to be sure.
Fall color: More Than Just Parks foliage tracker, joined to this campground by distance (20 km) · Oct 5, 2026
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.