U.S. Forest Service · San Isabel National Forest · CO

Molly Brown

1Heads up1 fire 5.4 mi away
Wildfire
Willow fire · 5.4 mi away · 7,359 acres · 92% contained · updated Oct 13, 2026
ReservableOut of season, no booking; November 21 opens May 21.
Book on recreation.govWe make nothing when you book
Right now
Listed not openA database flag with no reason and no date
A night
$30–$33Across the site types the agency prices
Sites
4945 on recreation.gov
40 ftLongest rig
9,880 ftElevation
1,026 ftWater · an unnamed pond
0.7 miNW of Leadville North, CO
33%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 14 notices

In the agency’s own words

Named after the "unsinkable" Molly Brown on the Titanic, Molly Brown Campground, on the eastern shore of Turquoise Lake, sits in a shaded lodgepole pine forest. The campground offers access to boating, fishing, and hiking. The famous Molly Brown lived in the town of Leadville, just 5 miles east of the campground. She became wealthy from her husband's mining success and took on a life as a philanthropist, socialite and activist. Keep reading

Recreation

The 1.2-mile Turquoise Lake Nature Trail is a gentle loop trail through the forest and down to the shoreline of Turquoise Lake. This trail connects to the 6.4 mile Turquoise Lake Trail that parallels the shoreline from the dam to May Queen Campground. It is recommended that hikers pick up a trail guide prior to departure to learn about the flora and fauna along this trail. On the lake, sailing, boating and canoeing are always enjoyed. Anglers seek out mostly mackinaw and rainbow trout.

Facilities

The two-loop campground offers single family sites. Each site is equipped with a picnic table and campfire ring. Vault toilets and trash collection are provided. Firewood is for sale at the Host site.

Natural Features

Campsites are perched along the scenic waters of the lake. Nearby is the Mount Massive Wilderness area, a 30,540 acre stretch of forest land which encompasses Colorado's second highest peak, Mount Massive at 14,421 feet. Much of the wilderness is above timberline with many alpine plant communities and permanent snowfields. Contact Info For facility specific information, please call (661) 702-1420.

Nearby Attractions

The town of Leadville, a historic gold and silver mining town, is a fun place to explore with the family. Drive on the Top of the Rockies Scenic Byway to Independence Pass, one of the highest paved passes in Colorado. Continue over the pass to the town of Aspen, a well-known ski resort town.

Charges & Cancellations

Cancellations Individual Campsites: Cancellations up to 2 days before a reservation start date incur a $10.00 cancellation fee. A visitor who cancels a reservation the day before or on the day of arrival will pay a $10.00 service fee AND forfeit the first night's use fee including tax and applicable add-on for a campsite. Cancellations for a one-night reservation will forfeit the entire amount paid and will not be subject to an additional service fee. No-Shows A no-show visitor is one who does not arrive at a campground and does not cancel the reservation by check-out time on the day after the scheduled arrival date. Staff will hold a campsite until check-out time on the day following the arrival date. No-shows are assessed $20.00 service fee and forfeit the first night's rate, taxes and applicable add-on for a campsite. Refunds Visitors may submit a refund request through their Recreation.gov profile within 7 days of the end date of their reservation. Refunds will not be issued after the 7 days has ended. Refunds for debit or credit card payments will be issued as a credit to the original bank or credit card used to pay. For check or cash purchases, Recreation.gov will mail a Treasury check for refunds of cash, check, or money order payments to the address associated with the reservation. Treasury check refunds may take up to 6-8 weeks to arrive. In the event of an emergency closure, the Recreation.gov team or facility manager will refund all fees and will attempt to notify you using the contact information within the Recreation.gov visitor profile.

What the agency tells you

Rule

Water will NOT be available in this campground in 2026. Please bring enough water for your needs, including water to fully extinguish your campfire.   Also, the RV Dump Stations at both Printer Boy & White Star Campgrounds will remain closed this season.

Rule

Check in: 2 pm, Check out: 12 pm (noon)

Rule

Two (2) vehicles are included with each campsite reservation. RVs and their tow vehicle, as well as vehicles towing camper trailers, are considered one vehicle when they arrive as a single unit. Vehicles beyond that would be subject to the additional vehicle fee ($11.00/night) collected at the campground upon arrival. Boat/ATV trailers are considered an additional vehicle and will be charged the extra vehicle fee per night. Please note that all vehicles must fit in the parking spur. Please no parking on the grass.

Everything else this campground posts · 11
Rule

Maximum of 8 people are permitted to occupy 1 site.

Rule

3 tent maximum per site, or 1 RV and 2 tents

Rule

Dogs, including service and therapy dogs, must be leashed at all times.

Rule

Generators may not be operated after 10 PM. CPAP machines and other medical equipment are not exempt.

Rule

OHVs, ATVs, and dirt bikes are not permitted to operate in any campground.

Rule

Be bear aware. Do not leave any food unattended at your site. Lock inside your vehicle or RV.

Rule

Firearms and fireworks are not permitted.

Rule

No hookups available

Rule

This is a high elevation facility, please use caution when traveling from lower elevations

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Prevent the spread of tree-killing organisms by obtaining firewood at or near your destination and burning it on-site. For more information visit dontmovefirewood.org.

Rule

Firewood is available for sale at host site for $10.00/bundle.

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
49 · 2 tent-only
Hookups
None
Longest rig
40 ft
Accessible sites
None listed
Pets
Allowed
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Vault Toilets
“…with a picnic table and campfire ring. Vault toilets and trash collection are provided. Firewood is for…”
Firewood
Sold here
Camp host
On site
recreation.gov lists “Host”
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026
Water, toilets and showers: read from the agency description, shown above · Sep 12, 2026

Around the campground

On the water
Lake, Beach
Fishing
Hiking
Historic site
Swimming
Night sky · 399th darkest of 522 in CO
Bortle 3
Fall color · reported 12 days ago, 19 km away
Peak color
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026
Fall color: More Than Just Parks foliage tracker, joined to this campground by distance (19 km) · Oct 5, 2026

No reading yet, book on recreation.gov

recreation.gov lists 45 of the 49 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.

No availability snapshot inside the last 36 hours, so this page draws nothing rather than ageing a reading into fiction.

Booking windowOut of seasonOut of season, no booking. On November 21, 2026 at 10 AM ET, availability opens through May 21, 2027.recreation.govAdd to calendar (.ics)
Max stay14 nightsthe facility record
A night$30–$33plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$68–$74DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservation; this campground publishes its own terms toorecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itRocky Mountain Recreation CompanyA private concessionaire under permit from U.S. Forest Service (parent: ExplorUS)the operator link
Watch for a cancellation

Full? Watch it.

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Fri, May 21 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 15

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night, per site$30–$33
Standard Nonelectric$30
Tent Only Nonelectric$30
Standard Nonelectric- Premium$33
These are next season’s rates, May 21, 2027 to Sep 5, 2027. The campground is between seasons now.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What this campground addsits own record
Extra vehicle$10

“Extra Vehicle Fee $10.00” · the U.S. Forest Service’s own fee record

What a stay costs
One nightDerived$38–$41
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$68–$74

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $30–$33 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

“Cancellations Individual Campsites: Cancellations up to 2 days before a reservation start date incur a $10.00 cancellation fee. A visitor who cancels a reservation the day before or on the day of arrival will pay a $10.00 service fee AND forfeit the first night's use fee including tax and applicable add-on for a cam…” · this campground’s own no-show terms

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 7

rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Oct 1, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

50 records · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 45 mapped sites
45 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least roomLoop MOLL 041 11 ftLoop MOLL 042 11 ftLoop MOLL 048 13 ft

All 50 records

49 of 50 records located
Standard43Tent only2Type not stated4
SleepsTakes aUp to

Toilet distances are OpenStreetMap’s, measured for 49 of the 50 sites listed. A site with no reading is unknown, never far.

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 49 of the 50 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.

MANAGEMENT034type not stated357 ft2,173 ft$30
MANAGEMENT045type not stated237 ft1,889 ft$30
MANAGEMENTXXXunnamed record40 ft$30
MOLL001standard nonelectric20 ft111 ft430 ftTurquoise Lake1,273 ft$30–$33
MOLL002standard nonelectric25 ft34 ft320 ftTurquoise Lake1,256 ft$30–$33
MOLL003standard nonelectric25 ft34 ft310 ftTurquoise Lake1,223 ft$30–$33
MOLL004standard nonelectric20 ft108 ft212 ftTurquoise Lake1,270 ft$30–$33
MOLL005type not stated25 ft200 ftTurquoise Lake1,341 ft$30
MOLL006standard nonelectric30 ft56 ft353 ftTurquoise Lake1,642 ft$30–$33
MOLL007standard nonelectric30 ft172 ft227 ftTurquoise Lake1,471 ft$30–$33
MOLL008standard nonelectric20 ft33 ft364 ftTurquoise Lake1,693 ft$30–$33
MOLL009standard nonelectric35 ft33 ft379 ftTurquoise Lake1,724 ft$30–$33
MOLL010standard nonelectric30 ft44 ft369 ftTurquoise Lake1,764 ft$30–$33
MOLL011standard nonelectric35 ft29 ft351 ftTurquoise Lake1,913 ft$30–$33
MOLL012standard nonelectric35 ft29 ft352 ftTurquoise Lake1,941 ft$30–$33
MOLL013standard nonelectric20 ft49 ft353 ftTurquoise Lake1,987 ft$30–$33
MOLL014standard nonelectric35 ft45 ft401 ftTurquoise Lake2,034 ft$30–$33
MOLL015standard nonelectric20 ft45 ft446 ftTurquoise Lake2,022 ft$30–$33
MOLL016standard nonelectric35 ft61 ft506 ftTurquoise Lake2,016 ft$30–$33
MOLL017standard nonelectric20 ft51 ft559 ftTurquoise Lake1,968 ft$30–$33
MOLL018standard nonelectric40 ft51 ft599 ftTurquoise Lake1,930 ft$30–$33
MOLL019standard nonelectric30 ft58 ft576 ftTurquoise Lake1,771 ft$30–$33
MOLL020standard nonelectric35 ft34 ft568 ftTurquoise Lake1,727 ft$30–$33
MOLL021standard nonelectric35 ft34 ft564 ftTurquoise Lake1,700 ft$30–$33
MOLL022standard nonelectric40 ft68 ft570 ftTurquoise Lake1,653 ft$30–$33
MOLL023standard nonelectric25 ft86 ft552 ftTurquoise Lake1,573 ft$30–$33
MOLL024standard nonelectric40 ft112 ft446 ftTurquoise Lake1,489 ft$30–$33
MOLL025standard nonelectric25 ft87 ft551 ftTurquoise Lake1,406 ft$30–$33
MOLL026standard nonelectric35 ft87 ft614 ft1,477 ft$30–$33
MOLL027standard nonelectric35 ft102 ft481 ft1,671 ft$30–$33
MOLL028standard nonelectric35 ft17 ft450 ft1,791 ft$30–$33
MOLL029standard nonelectric30 ft17 ft453 ft1,793 ft$30–$33
MOLL030standard nonelectric20 ft43 ft433 ft1,827 ft$30–$33
MOLL031standard nonelectric30 ft53 ft403 ft1,982 ft$30–$33
MOLL032tent only nonelectric25 ft40 ft377 ft2,035 ft$30
MOLL033standard nonelectric25 ft40 ft348 ft2,073 ft$30–$33
MOLL035standard nonelectric40 ft81 ft415 ft2,250 ft$30–$33
MOLL036standard nonelectric30 ft60 ft417 ft2,331 ft$30–$33
MOLL037standard nonelectric40 ft37 ft375 ft2,363 ft$30–$33
MOLL038standard nonelectric35 ft37 ft345 ft2,374 ft$30–$33
MOLL039standard nonelectric20 ft95 ft262 ft2,310 ft$30–$33
MOLL040standard nonelectric25 ft147 ft173 ft2,104 ft$30–$33
MOLL041standard nonelectric30 ft11 ft192 ft2,028 ft$30–$33
MOLL042standard nonelectric25 ft11 ft203 ft2,018 ft$30–$33
MOLL043standard nonelectric40 ft112 ft255 ft1,972 ft$30–$33
MOLL044type not stated35 ft281 ft1,957 ft$30
MOLL046tent only nonelectric30 ft43 ft280 ft1,816 ft$30
MOLL047standard nonelectric30 ft43 ft304 ft1,777 ft$30–$33
MOLL048standard nonelectric40 ft13 ft399 ft1,764 ft$30–$33
MOLL049standard nonelectric40 ft13 ft403 ft1,751 ft$30–$33

The agency files 1 more record here that isn’t a site for the night. It types it MANAGEMENT rather than a campsite. It’s in the table above, marked for what it is, and it isn’t counted as a site.

25 of 50 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate39.26639, -106.34972
The phone719-486-0749 (FOR INFORMATION ONLY, NO RESERVATIONS)
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Tonight26°Mostly Clear
Saturday61°Sunny
Saturday Night27°Mostly Clear
Sunday58°Mostly Sunny1% rain

NWS forecast for Leadville North, CO

Typical weather

Typical October night 24°F, day 51°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical January night 3°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

80°32°-10°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: SUGARLOAF RSVR, CO (USC00058064), 2 miles away and 142 ft lower

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it

Roadless country, and what’s coming for it

Roadless
Galena Mountain6,409 acres · 5 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Buckeye Peak1,151 acres · 8 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
No Name3,823 acres · 8 mi · inventoried roadless area

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Who answers for this land

Brittany Pettersen, official portrait

Molly Brown is in Colorado’s 7th congressional district. Its representative, Brittany Pettersen (D), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: A+. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: U.S. Forest Service’s own recreation database flags it not open and publishes no reason and no date. That’s a flag, not a notice: the number below is the only way to be sure.
Fall color: More Than Just Parks foliage tracker, joined to this campground by distance (19 km) · Oct 5, 2026
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.