U.S. Forest Service · Willamette National Forest · OR

Big Meadows Horse Camp

1Heads up1 fire 6.1 mi away
Wildfire
Summit fire · 6.1 mi away · 20 acres · updated Oct 17, 2026
ReservableBookable through October 24; November 22 opens May 22.
Book on recreation.govWe make nothing when you book
Right now
Taking bookingsSites offered on 6 of the next 8 nights read 15:29 UTC
A night
$25From, per site
Sites
1310 on recreation.gov
99 ftLongest rig
3,600 ftElevation
751 ftWater · North Santiam River
23.9 miNW of Sisters, OR
77%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 7 notices

In the agency’s own words

Big Meadows Horse Camp is located 23 miles south from Idanha, Oregon, at an elevation of 3,600 feet of of Big Meadows Road (Forest Service Road 2267). Big Meadows Road is paved, but most access roads and travel surfaces throughout campground and in the adjacent forest are compacted rock. There are 9 camping units that can accommodate vehicles and trailers up to 36 feet in length. Each site has a picnic table. There are two single-vault toilets and stock amenities including 4-stall corrals or highlines in each campsite, hitching rack, loading ramp, and stock water trough. Drinking water is available via hand pump. Keep reading

This location has 6 reservable sites and 3 sites which are on a first-come, first-served basis only. Campfires allowed until and unless otherwise posted. Fire bans are common during summer months. Please plan accordingly. Scan and Pay might be offered at this campground; It is recommended that you pay by cash or check for FCFS campsites. There are no refunds, modifications, cancellations, or other fee changes allowed with FCFS payments. This system is the same as putting cash into a fee tube and cannot be refunded. Please download the Rec.Gov app prior to arriving at the campground as there may be no cellular service or very limited service at the campground. If no Scan & Pay option is available you must pay via cash or check. Reservations for this site can be made up to 6 months in advance of arrival date by reserving online at RECREATION.GOV or by calling 877-444-6777.

Facilities

There are 9 camping units that can accommodate vehicles and trailers up to 36 feet in length. Each site has a picnic table. There are two single-vault toilets and stock amenities including 4-stall corrals or highlines in each campsite, hitching rack, loading ramp, and stock water trough. Drinking water is available via hand pump.

Nearby Attractions

Several miles of loop trails radiating from the campground into the forest area including Duffy Lake Trail, Big Meadows Loop Trail, Big Meadows Tie Trail. This site is also in close proximity to Santiam Pass. Contact Info For facility specific information, please call (541) 967-3917.

What the agency tells you

Rule

There are no electric hookups available.

Rule

Limit 1 vehicle per site; a $10 per vehicle per night fee will be charged for each additional vehicle at the campsite.

Rule

No discharging firearms, possession of fireworks or use of chainsaws allowed.

Everything else this campground posts · 4
Rule

You must stay in the campsite that you reserved. Site swapping is not allowed.

Rule

Scan and Pay might be offered at this campground; It is recommended that you pay by cash or check for FCFS campsites. There are no refunds, modifications, cancellations, or other fee changes allowed with FCFS payments. This system is the same as putting cash into a fee tube and cannot be refunded. Please download the Rec.Gov app prior to arriving at the campground as there may be no cellular service or very limited service at the campground. If no Scan & Pay option is available you must pay via cash or check.

Rule

Campfires allowed until and unless otherwise posted. Fire bans are common during summer months. Please plan accordingly.

Rule

Check-Out 12:00PM Check-In 2:00PM

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
13 · 9 equestrian
Hookups
None
Longest rig
99 ft
Accessible sites
None listed
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Shade
8 of 9 sites
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Vault Toilets
VAULT TOILETS on 9 of 13 campsite records
Drinking water
Yes
DRINKING WATER on 1 of 13 campsite records, DRINKING WATER (HAND PUMP) on 9 of 13 campsite records

Around the campground

On the water
Lake, Meadow
Night sky · 411th darkest of 770 in OR
Bortle 2
Cell signal · Cell signal · Forest Service says
Spotty
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise. · Sep 8, 2026

Something open on 6 of the next 6 bookable nightsread 15:29 UTC

recreation.gov lists 10 of the 13 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.

OpenBookedNot reservable

Booking windowThrough October 24Bookable now through October 24, 2026, the end of the reservable season. On November 22, 2026 at 10 AM ET, availability opens through May 22, 2027.recreation.govAdd to calendar (.ics)
A night$25plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$58DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Forest ServiceBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Full? Watch it.

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Sat, May 22 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 17

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night$25
ScanPay 1$25
ScanPay 2$25
ScanPay 3$25
ScanPay 4$25
Standard$25
Rates for the season the campground is in now, May 22, 2026 to Oct 24, 2026.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What this campground addsits own record
Extra vehicle$10

“a $10 per vehicle per night fee will be charged for each additional vehicle at the campsite.” · the U.S. Forest Service’s own agency notice

What a stay costs
One nightDerived$33
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$58

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rate for this season, $25 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 6

recreation.gov availability, read 15:29 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

13 sites · the site map

All 13 sites

1 of 13 sites located
Standard1
Aerial · Esri World Imagery
SleepsTakes aUp to

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 1 of the 13 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.

Big Meadows Horse Camp1equestrian nonelectric39 ft
Big Meadows Horse Camp2equestrian nonelectric50 ft
Big Meadows Horse Camp3equestrian nonelectric49 ft
Big Meadows Horse Camp4equestrian nonelectric37 ft
Big Meadows Horse Camp5equestrian nonelectric50 ft
Big Meadows Horse Camp6equestrian nonelectric73 ft
Big Meadows Horse Camp7equestrian nonelectric69 ft
Big Meadows Horse Camp8equestrian nonelectric99 ft
Big Meadows Horse Camp9equestrian nonelectric85 ft
Scan and PayScanPay 2type not stated
Scan and PayScanPay 3type not stated
Scan and PayScanPay 4type not stated
Scan and PayStandardstandard nonelectric751 ft$25

OpenStreetMap has no toilet mapped within 1 km of this campground, so no site here carries a toilet distance. That’s a gap in the map, not a finding about the campground.

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate44.49294, -121.98285
The phoneN/A
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

Getting there

- From Detroit, Oregon, travel 25.6 miles east on State Highway 22 to Big Meadows Road (Forest Service Road 2267). Continue on Big Meadows Road (Forest Service Road 2267) for 0.9 miles to Forest Service Road 2257. Proceed on FS Road 2257 for 0.5 miles to Big Meadows Horse Camp.

- From Sisters, Oregon, head west on State Highway 126/ US Highway 20 for 31.5 miles to Big Meadows Road (Forest Service Road 2267)*. *(Highway will merge and continue as State Highway 22 after 25.7 miles from Sisters). Continue on Big Meadows Road (Forest Service Road 2267) for 0.9 miles to Forest Service Road 2257. Proceed on FS Road 2257 for 0.5 miles to Big Meadows Horse Camp.

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Overnight42°Mostly Cloudy3% rain
Saturday56°Slight Chance Light Rain then Mostly Cloudy23% rain
Saturday Night34°Areas Of Fog
Sunday62°Areas Of Frost then Mostly Sunny

NWS forecast for Idanha, OR

Typical weather

Typical October night 33°F, day 65°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical December night 23°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

100°32°10°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: REDMOND ROBERTS FLD, OR (USW00024230), 45 miles away and 557 ft lower

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it

Roadless country, and what’s coming for it

Roadless
Mt. Jefferson, South5,366 acres · 3 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Echo Mountain8,098 acres · 6 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Mt. Washington, North997 acres · 10 mi · inventoried roadless area

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Who answers for this land

Janelle Bynum, official portrait

Big Meadows Horse Camp is in Oregon’s 5th congressional district. Its representative, Janelle Bynum (D), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: A. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: recreation.gov is offering sites on 6 of the next 8 nights, which isn’t something a closed campground does.
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise. · Sep 8, 2026

“…app prior to arriving at the campground as there may be no cellular service or very limited service at the campground. If no Scan & Pay…”

Nearest place of any size: Idanha, OR, 14.5 mi SSE. Straight line.