Bureau of Land Management · Price Field Office · UT

Buckhorn Draw

1Heads up1 fire 46 mi away
Wildfire
Slough Canyon fire · 46 mi away · 4,774 acres · 80% contained · updated Sep 27, 2026
Reservable, and full this SaturdayEvery one of the 2 sites on offer is taken this Saturday, and the record lists no site held back for a walk-up. read 15:34 UTC

We don’t think it should be. Every campground should hold some sites for whoever drives up.Tell your representative →

Right now
Taking bookingsSites offered on 3 of the next 30 nights read 15:34 UTC
A night
$15From, per site
Sites
3332 on recreation.gov
5,560 ftElevation
4.5 miWater · San Rafael River
14.1 miSE of Castle Dale, UT
0%Tree cover
Bortle 2Night sky · 117th darkest of 458 in UT

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 1 notices

In the agency’s own words

Buckhorn Draw has multiple vault toilets and information stations along the main road. Individual campsites have picnic tables and fires rings. Keep reading

Recreation

Buckhorn Draw Road is the main artery for the northern half of the San Rafael Swell Recreation Area. There are thousands of miles of roads and off-highway vehicle trails; from Buckhorn Draw visitors can readily access Cane Wash Road, which leads to some of the Swell's most technical OHV trails, as well as dispersed camping along Mexican Mountain Road. Much of the area outside of the draw is designated wilderness. Motorized vehicles, bicycles, and power tools are prohibited in these areas. Hiking : Calf Canyon and Furniture Draw are popular day hikes from Buckhorn Draw. Those seeking longer, challenging backcountry adventures will find opportunities for backpacking, with trailheads located at the Johansen Corral (west from Swinging Bridge along the San Rafael River) and at the east end of Mexican Mountain Road. Off-roading : Non-county trails are infrequently maintained. Please choose trails appropriate to your vehicle and skill level and bring an emergency kit to self-rescue. Rock climbing : There are many climbing routes along Buckhorn Draw. Please utilize day use areas and general parking lots when climbing or observing. Do not stop or park in blind turns, and do not park in fee campsite if you are not camping there.

Facilities

Vault toilets are located at: Campsites 1-7 Campsites 18-21 The Buckhorn Pictograph Panel (halfway between sites 23-24 and 25-27) Swinging Bridge Campground Different sites are appropriate for different vehicles: RVs: all group sites; 1, 3, 8-11, 14, 17, 27, 30-32 Small trailers: all of the above plus 18, 19, 22-25, 28 Sites 20-21 are down a rough, narrow road with deep sand. High clearance and AWD/4WD required.

Natural Features

Buckhorn Draw is the San Rafael River's longest tributary canyon. Along the nine-mile drive from the top of the canyon to its confluence with the river at the Swinging Bridge, visitors will pass below towering sandstone cliffs. The canyon is mixed sagebrush and riparian, and there are many opportunities to see mule deer within the draw and bighorn sheep in the side canyons. Designated wilderness frames either side of Buckhorn Draw: Sids Mountain Wilderness to the west and Mexican Mountain Wilderness to the east. Wilderness protects outstanding habitat and ecosystems and provides many opportunities for non-motorized recreation.

What the agency tells you

Rule

The sizes and improvements of the campsites in Buckhorn Draw Campground vary. Visitors are advised to choose a site prior to paying to ensure it is appropriate to their needs. County roads in the San Rafael Swell Recreation Area are generally well-maintained, but roads may be hazardous during wet conditions. BLM roads are infrequently maintained, and four wheel drive and high clearence are generally recommended if not required. Many parts of the Swell are prone to flash floods. Do not park or camp in washes.

Tents and rigs

Sites
33 · 7 group
Hookups
None
Accessible sites
1
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Vault Toilets
“Overview Buckhorn Draw has multiple vault toilets and information stations along the main road.…”

Around the campground

On the water
River
Climbing
Hiking
Historic site
Horseback riding
Off Highway Vehicle Trails
Wilderness access
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026

Full this Saturdayread 15:34 UTC

How full the weekend is nationally.

OpenBookedNot reservable

Every one of the 2 sites on offer is taken this Saturday, and on the one midweek night after it that the agency has released as well. read 15:34 UTC Why the weekend fills and the week doesn’t

Booking window6 months outBooking opens 6 months ahead; today unlocks arrivals through April 16, 2027. The agency publishes no reservable season in the record we hold, so the window may close earlier than that.recreation.gov
A night$15plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$38DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itBureau of Land ManagementBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Watch this campground

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov ↗

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 20

What you actually pay

The sign priceBureau of Land Management
A night$15
Standard site$15
Group area, a night$50
Rates for the season the campground is in now, Jan 1, 2026 to Dec 31, 2026.
The 26 individual sites fit two to three vehicles and are $15/night.
There are 7 large group sites that are $50/night and fit eight to ten standard sized vehicles or multiple RVs and trailers.
High clearance is advised for sites 20 and 21.
Not all individual sites are accessible to oversized vehicles
please contact the BLM for more information.
Self-pay stations are located near campsites 18, 30, and 1.
This campground is open, and generally accessible, year-round.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$23
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$38

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rate for this season, $15 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5

recreation.gov availability, read 15:34 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

33 sites · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 32 mapped sites
308 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least roomSite 08 109 ftSite 09 109 ftSite 24 157 ft

All 33 sites

33 of 33 sites located
Standard25Group7Type not stated1
SleepsUp to

Toilet distances are OpenStreetMap’s, measured for 25 of the 33 sites listed. A site with no reading is unknown, never far.

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 32 of the 33 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Buckhorn DrawSite 01standard nonelectric247 ft4.6 mi455 ft$15
Buckhorn DrawSite 02standard nonelectric308 ft4.6 mi705 ft$15
Buckhorn DrawSite 03standard nonelectric308 ft4.6 mi898 ft$15
Buckhorn DrawSite 04 (group)group standard nonelectricyes242 ft4.5 mi255 ft$50
Buckhorn DrawSite 05 (group)group standard nonelectric161 ft4.5 mi390 ft$50
Buckhorn DrawSite 06 (group)group standard nonelectric161 ft4.5 mi532 ft$50
Buckhorn DrawSite 07 (group)group standard nonelectric470 ft4.4 mi892 ft$50
Buckhorn DrawSite 08standard nonelectric109 ft4.0 mi3,259 ft$15
Buckhorn DrawSite 09standard nonelectric109 ft4.0 mi3,165 ft$15
Buckhorn DrawSite 10standard nonelectric229 ft4.0 mi3,126 ft$15
Buckhorn DrawSite 11standard nonelectric229 ft4.0 mi3,004 ft$15
Buckhorn DrawSite 12 (group)group standard nonelectric1569 ft3.5 mi$50
Buckhorn DrawSite 13standard nonelectric1543 ft3.2 mi$15
Buckhorn DrawSite 14standard nonelectric1543 ft3.1 mi$15
Buckhorn DrawSite 15standard nonelectric1580 ft2.9 mi$15
Buckhorn DrawSite 16 (group)group standard nonelectric2026 ft2.7 mi1,972 ft$50
Buckhorn DrawSite 17standard nonelectric628 ft2.7 mi190 ft$15
Buckhorn DrawSite 17 closedtype not stated2.9 mi1,438 ft
Buckhorn DrawSite 18standard nonelectric431 ft2.7 mi759 ft$15
Buckhorn DrawSite 19standard nonelectric431 ft2.7 mi642 ft$15
Buckhorn DrawSite 20standard nonelectric444 ft2.7 mi1,150 ft$15
Buckhorn DrawSite 21standard nonelectric1018 ft2.5 mi1,818 ft$15
Buckhorn DrawSite 22standard nonelectric189 ft2.4 mi886 ft$15
Buckhorn DrawSite 23standard nonelectric189 ft2.4 mi703 ft$15
Buckhorn DrawSite 24standard nonelectric157 ft2.5 mi924 ft$15
Buckhorn DrawSite 25standard nonelectric157 ft2.5 mi1,075 ft$15
Buckhorn DrawSite 26standard nonelectric236 ft2.5 mi1,252 ft$15
Buckhorn DrawSite 27standard nonelectric398 ft2.5 mi1,999 ft$15
Buckhorn DrawSite 28standard nonelectric398 ft2.5 mi2,385 ft$15
Buckhorn DrawSite 29standard nonelectric419 ft1.2 mi$15
Buckhorn DrawSite 30standard nonelectric238 ft1.1 mi$15
Buckhorn DrawSite 31standard nonelectric238 ft1.1 mi$15
Buckhorn DrawSite 32 (group)group standard nonelectric378 ft1.1 mi$50

25 of 33 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions
Coordinate39.16610, -110.74475
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

Getting there

This campground is located 15 miles from the nearest paved road. County roads in the San Rafael Swell are generally well-maintained but may be impassible for two-wheel drive vehicles in wet or icy conditions. Please travel safely and responsibly. Contact the BLM for route conditions.

From Huntingdon: Take Center Street east out of Huntingdon. Turn left onto Emery County Rd. 332 after approximately three miles, following signs for San Rafael Swell access. Continue straight on this road for 12 miles as it turns into gravel, traveling east and then south until it intersects with the Green River Cutoff Road (Emery Co. Rd 401) at the Buckhorn Information Center, which has multiple kiosks, vault toilets, and a large staging area. Turn left and continue straight for another 2.4 miles, and then turn right at the sign for Buckhorn Draw. The north information station at Campsite 1 is in approximately 1 mile.

From Castledale: Go north out of Castle Dale on Highway 10 and turn right on the Green River Cutoff Road, about 1 mile out and signed for San Rafael Swell access. Continue straight for 13 miles to the Buckhorn Information Center and then 2.4 more miles to the signed intersection with Buckhorn Draw.

From Highway 191: Turn west onto the Green River Cutoff Road midway between mile markers 283 and 284. Stay straight for 28 miles until the signed intersection with Buckhorn Draw is reached.

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Tonight36°Mostly Clear
Saturday62°Sunny
Saturday Night39°Partly Cloudy
Sunday60°Partly Sunny3% rain

NWS forecast for Cleveland, UT

Typical weather

Typical October night 32°F, day 68°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical January night 10°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

100°32°0°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: CASTLE DALE, UT (USC00421214), 15 miles away and 69 ft higher

The land, and who answers for it

who answers for it · a letter you can send

Who answers for this land

Mike Kennedy, official portrait

Buckhorn Draw is in Utah’s 3rd congressional district. Its representative, Mike Kennedy (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

Who can change it · 3
Write to somebody who can change it

Two offices, two different asks. The draft to the agency asks it to set aside a published share of the sites here for whoever drives up. The draft to Congress asks why that share is zero and presses for a published minimum at the campgrounds it funds.

Read the draft, or change the wording

For the camper who turned up, or tried to book, and couldn’t get in. Every draft is written from this campground’s own record (its agency, its unit, its site count and its own weekend) and the buttons above copy whichever wording is selected here.

To Mike Kennedy

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Buckhorn Draw, Price Field Office, Utah

Dear Mike Kennedy,

I’m a constituent in Utah’s 3rd district. I tried to camp at Buckhorn Draw, Price Field Office, Utah, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 32 of the 33 campsites the agency files at Buckhorn Draw, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 2 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Buckhorn Draw keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Buckhorn Draw. I’m asking you to put it to the Bureau of Land Management in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Buckhorn Draw (Price Field Office, Utah) via campanac.com
To John R. Curtis

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Buckhorn Draw, Price Field Office, Utah

Dear John R. Curtis,

I’m a constituent in Utah. I tried to camp at Buckhorn Draw, Price Field Office, Utah, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 32 of the 33 campsites the agency files at Buckhorn Draw, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 2 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Buckhorn Draw keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Buckhorn Draw. I’m asking you to put it to the Bureau of Land Management in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Buckhorn Draw (Price Field Office, Utah) via campanac.com
To Mike Lee

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Buckhorn Draw, Price Field Office, Utah

Dear Mike Lee,

I’m a constituent in Utah. I tried to camp at Buckhorn Draw, Price Field Office, Utah, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 32 of the 33 campsites the agency files at Buckhorn Draw, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 2 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Buckhorn Draw keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Buckhorn Draw. I’m asking you to put it to the Bureau of Land Management in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Buckhorn Draw (Price Field Office, Utah) via campanac.com
How we know this · 4
The figures in these drafts: Navy Ford (CVN-78) Class Aircraft Carrier Program: Background and Issues for Congress (CRS Report RS20643) · Updated December 4, 2025 · “The ship’s final procurement cost was $13,316.5 million (i.e., about $13.3 billion) in then-year dollars.”
The figures in these drafts: Salary Table 2026-GS, Incorporating the 1% General Schedule Increase, Effective January 2026 (U.S. Office of Personnel Management) · Effective January 2026 · “Grade 5, Step 1: $34,799 (annual rate, before locality pay).”
The figures in these drafts: Update to Civilian Position Full Fringe Benefit Cost Factor, Federal Pay Raise Assumptions, and Inflation Factors used in OMB Circular No. A-76 (OMB Memorandum M-08-13) · March 11, 2008 · “the civilian position full fringe benefit cost factor needs to be adjusted downward, from 36.45 percent to 36.25 percent”

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: recreation.gov is offering sites on 3 of the next 30 nights, which isn’t something a closed campground does.
Cell signal: the BLM’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.
Nearest place of any size: Cleveland, UT, 13.4 mi SSE. Straight line.