Reservable, and full this SaturdayEvery one of the 19 sites on offer is taken this Saturday, and the record lists no site held back for a walk-up. read 14:52 UTC

We don’t think it should be. Every campground should hold some sites for whoever drives up.Tell your representative →

Right now
Taking bookingsSites offered on 30 of the next 30 nights read 14:52 UTC
A night
$30From, per site
Sites
2423 on recreation.gov
98 ftLongest rig
490 ftElevation
214 ftWater · Lavon Lake
0.6 miNE of Wylie, TX
0%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 3 notices

In the agency’s own words

Clear Lake Campground has a prime location on the shores of Lavon Lake. It is the only shaded campground at the lake, and provides a quiet space for anglers, bird watchers and photographers. The park is just northeast of Dallas, Texas, and just east of the Southfork Ranch, where the hit TV series, "Dallas," was filmed. Keep reading

Recreation

Visitors of all ages enjoy outdoor opportunities like fishing, boating, hiking, and picnicking. Anglers often find channel catfish, crappie, striped bass and hybrid bass.

Facilities

The Clear Lake Campground offers 23 sites with water, sewer and electric hookups. Hot showers, a boat ramp and fishing dock are also available. The group campground fits 200 people and has toilets reserved solely for group campers. The picnic shelter at the group site comes with electric and water hookups, four cookers, and a campfire ring. There's also a large playing field for sports.

Natural Features

Grassy flat fields and leafy shade trees cover the campground. The Lavon Lake spans 21,400 acres and stems from the East Fork of the Trinity River.

Nearby Attractions

The town of Wylie is home to a wildlife rescue and education center. Visitors can see lions, leopards, cougars, bobcats and more.

What the agency tells you

Rule

Help reduce energy costs when you leave by turning off the air conditioning, lights, fans, and electric water heater. When not in use, please turn down the temperature on the electric water heater, unplug chargers and appliances, turn off radios and the television.

Rule

The park entrance gate closes at 10 p.m., and the gate re-opens at 10 a.m. No vehicle entry allowed into the park between 10 p.m. and 10 a.m. Day Use Area closes at sunset.

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Protect your forests from tree-killing pests by buying your firewood locally and burning it on-site. Visit Dontmovefirewood.org for further information.

Tents and rigs

Sites
24 · 1 group
Hookups
23 electric, 23 water, 23 sewer
Longest rig
98 ft
Paved pads
All
Accessible sites
1
Pets
Allowed
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Showers
Yes, the record doesn’t say what kind
“Hot showers, a boat ramp and fishing dock are also available.”
Boat ramp
Yes
Stay limit
14 nights
recreation.gov facility rule maxStay
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026
Water, toilets and showers: read from the agency description, shown above · Sep 12, 2026

Around the campground

On the water
Lake, River
Boating
Night sky · 149th darkest of 154 in TX
Bortle 6
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026

Full this Saturdayread 14:52 UTC

How full the weekend is nationally.

2 campgrounds have sites open within 30 miles, read 14:54 UTC. See them

OpenBooked

Every one of the 19 sites on offer is taken this Saturday. 17 are free on Tue, Oct 20. read 14:52 UTC Why the weekend fills and the week doesn’t

Booking window6 months outBookable now through April 17, 2027. Tomorrow at 10 AM ET, availability opens through April 18, 2027.recreation.gov
Max stay14 nightsthe facility record
A night$30plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$68DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Army Corps of EngineersBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Watch this campground

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Where there’s room this weekendBook on recreation.gov ↗

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 13

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Army Corps of Engineers
A night$30
Standard Electric$30
Group area, a night$150
Rates for the season the campground is in now, Jan 1, 2026 to Dec 31, 2026.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$38
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$68

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rate for this season, $30 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5
Open within 30 miles this weekend · 2

Sites the agency is offering this Friday and Saturday that nobody has taken, nearest first. read 14:54 UTC

  • East Fork (TX)Lavon Lake · 2.0 mi · 6 of 55 site-nights open
  • LavoniaLavon Lake · 2.4 mi · 2 of 18 site-nights open

recreation.gov availability, read 14:52 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

24 sites · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 23 mapped sites
101 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least room10 69 ft11 69 ft04 78 ft

All 24 sites

24 of 24 sites located
RV / electric22Group1Type not stated1
SleepsTakes aUp to

Toilet distances are OpenStreetMap’s, measured for 24 of the 24 sites listed. A site with no reading is unknown, never far.

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 23 of the 24 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

CLEAR LAKE01type not stated79 ft30 amp491 ft471 ft
CLEAR LAKE02standard electric63 ft30 amp115 ft431 ft451 ft$30
CLEAR LAKE03standard electric61 ft30 amp105 ft472 ft288 ft$30
CLEAR LAKE04standard electric63 ft30 amp78 ft570 ft231 ft$30
CLEAR LAKE05standard electric64 ft30 amp84 ft448 ft194 ft$30
CLEAR LAKE06standard electric52 ft30 amp84 ft518 ft122 ft$30
CLEAR LAKE07standard electric51 ft30 amp89 ft404 ft161 ft$30
CLEAR LAKE08standard electric61 ft30 amp89 ft451 ft101 ft$30
CLEAR LAKE09standard electric56 ft30 amp83 ft360 ft194 ft$30
CLEAR LAKE10standard electric53 ft30 amp69 ft371 ft221 ft$30
CLEAR LAKE11standard electric54 ft30 amp69 ft427 ft215 ft$30
CLEAR LAKE12standard electric52 ft30 amp116 ft447 ft140 ft$30
CLEAR LAKE13standard electric54 ft30 amp111 ft474 ft130 ft$30
CLEAR LAKE14standard electric51 ft30 amp111 ft464 ft219 ft$30
CLEAR LAKE15standard electric87 ft30 amp101 ft549 ft282 ft$30
CLEAR LAKE16standard electric98 ft30 amp101 ft626 ft358 ft$30
CLEAR LAKE17standard electric65 ft30 amp101 ft538 ft400 ft$30
CLEAR LAKE18standard electric65 ft30 amp101 ft628 ft365 ft$30
CLEAR LAKE19standard electric61 ft30 amp115 ft707 ft306 ft$30
CLEAR LAKE20standard electric53 ft50 amp82 ft687 ft201 ft$30
CLEAR LAKE21standard electric50 ft30 amp78 ft606 ft171 ft$30
CLEAR LAKE22standard electric55 ft50 ampyes103 ft594 ft76 ft$30
CLEAR LAKE23standard electric78 ft50 amp103 ft599 ft178 ft$30
CLEAR LAKEGroup Camp Shelter Paviliongroup standard electric436 ft455 ft175 ft$150

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate33.05528, -96.48194
The phone972-442-3014
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

Getting there

While traveling on US Highway 380 in Princeton, TX, take South 2nd Street (County Road 982) South. County Road 982 changes into County Road 735. At the 4 way stop sign (just past the Lavon Lake Camp and Conference Center), take a right on County Road 436. Watch for Clear Lake signs. Take County Road 436 and follow into Clear Lake Park.

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

This Afternoon66°Sunny
Tonight48°Clear
Sunday69°Sunny
Sunday Night49°Mostly Clear

NWS forecast for Wylie, TX

Typical weather

Typical October night 55°F, day 77°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical January night 34°F. Bring the bag rated for it.

100°30°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Augusts are colder than the August line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: LAVON DAM, TX (USC00415094), 1 mile away and at about the same elevation

The land, and who answers for it

who answers for it · a letter you can send

Who answers for this land

Keith Self, official portrait

Clear Lake (TX) is in Texas’s 3rd congressional district. Its representative, Keith Self (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

Who can change it · 3
Write to somebody who can change it

Two offices, two different asks. The draft to the agency asks it to set aside a published share of the sites here for whoever drives up. The draft to Congress asks why that share is zero and presses for a published minimum at the campgrounds it funds.

Read the draft, or change the wording

For the camper who turned up, or tried to book, and couldn’t get in. Every draft is written from this campground’s own record (its agency, its unit, its site count and its own weekend) and the buttons above copy whichever wording is selected here.

To Keith Self

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Clear Lake (TX), Texas

Dear Keith Self,

I’m a constituent in Texas’s 3rd district. I tried to camp at Clear Lake (TX), Texas, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 23 of the 24 campsites the agency files at Clear Lake (TX), and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 19 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Clear Lake (TX) keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Clear Lake (TX). I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Clear Lake (TX) (Texas) via campanac.com
To John Cornyn

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Clear Lake (TX), Texas

Dear John Cornyn,

I’m a constituent in Texas. I tried to camp at Clear Lake (TX), Texas, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 23 of the 24 campsites the agency files at Clear Lake (TX), and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 19 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Clear Lake (TX) keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Clear Lake (TX). I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Clear Lake (TX) (Texas) via campanac.com
To Ted Cruz

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Clear Lake (TX), Texas

Dear Ted Cruz,

I’m a constituent in Texas. I tried to camp at Clear Lake (TX), Texas, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 23 of the 24 campsites the agency files at Clear Lake (TX), and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 19 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Clear Lake (TX) keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Clear Lake (TX). I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Clear Lake (TX) (Texas) via campanac.com
How we know this · 4
The figures in these drafts: Navy Ford (CVN-78) Class Aircraft Carrier Program: Background and Issues for Congress (CRS Report RS20643) · Updated December 4, 2025 · “The ship’s final procurement cost was $13,316.5 million (i.e., about $13.3 billion) in then-year dollars.”
The figures in these drafts: Salary Table 2026-GS, Incorporating the 1% General Schedule Increase, Effective January 2026 (U.S. Office of Personnel Management) · Effective January 2026 · “Grade 5, Step 1: $34,799 (annual rate, before locality pay).”
The figures in these drafts: Update to Civilian Position Full Fringe Benefit Cost Factor, Federal Pay Raise Assumptions, and Inflation Factors used in OMB Circular No. A-76 (OMB Memorandum M-08-13) · March 11, 2008 · “the civilian position full fringe benefit cost factor needs to be adjusted downward, from 36.45 percent to 36.25 percent”

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: recreation.gov is offering sites on 30 of the next 30 nights, which isn’t something a closed campground does.
Cell signal: the Army Corps’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.