East Fork (TX)
- Right now
- Taking bookingsSites offered on 30 of the next 30 nights read 14:47 UTC
- A night
- $14–$30Across the site types the agency prices
- Sites
- 7470 on recreation.gov
The place
the agency’s own description · what’s there · 4 notices
In the agency’s own words
East Fork Campground, on the southern shores of Lavon Lake, is a popular escape for city dwellers in the Dallas, Texas area or for any visitors passing through the Northern Texas region. The campground boasts everything including RV campsites, tent campsites, equestrian campsites, a group shelter and a swimming beach to keep visitors entertained during their stay. Keep reading
Recreation
Boating and fishing are consistently popular activities for lake-goers. Horseback riding and hiking is great along the Trinity Trail, with a trailhead beginning adjacent to the East Fork campground.
Facilities
The campground offers 50 sites with water and electric hookups, plus 12 tent-only sites. There are not sewer hook-ups at the campsite, but there is a dump station located near the park entrance. It's the only campground at Lavon Lake with 50-amp electricity. Extra conveniences include hot showers and two boat ramps. The group campground is available year-round and fits 175 guests. Horses are allowed at the Equestrian Loop, and each equestrian site has a portable horse stall.
Natural Features
Lavon Lake, in northern Texas, flows from the East Fork tributary of the Trinity River. Its surface area spans 21,400 acres and the maximum lake depth of around 59 ft..
Nearby Attractions
The Heard Natural Science Museum and Wildlife Sanctuary features natural history exhibits and nature trails.
What the agency tells you
Day-use facilities close at sunset
Walk-in sites are available
The park entrance gate closes at 10 p.m., and the gate re-opens at 10 a.m. No vehicle entry allowed into the park between 10 p.m. and 10 a.m.
Everything else this campground posts · 1
Help reduce energy costs when you leave by turning off the air conditioning, lights, fans, and electric water heater. When not in use, please turn down the temperature on the electric water heater, unplug chargers and appliances, turn off radios and the television.
Tents and rigs
- Sites
- 74 · 12 tent-only, 1 group, 10 equestrian
- Hookups
- 58 electric, 50 water
- Longest rig
- 60 ft
- Paved pads
- 63 of 74
- Accessible sites
- None listed
- Pets
- Allowed at 63 of 74 sites
- Shade
- Every site
Facilities
- Showers
- Yes, the record doesn’t say what kind
- “Extra conveniences include hot showers and two boat ramps.”
- Dump station
- Yes
- Boat ramp
- Yes
- Stay limit
- 14 nights
- recreation.gov facility rule maxStay
Around the campground
- On the water
- Lake, River, Beach
- Boating
- Fishing
- Night sky · 151st darkest of 154 in TX
- Bortle 7
6 of 55 sites open on Sat, Oct 17read 14:47 UTC
recreation.gov lists 70 of the 74 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.
OpenBooked
Watch for a cancellation
Full? Watch it.
One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.
We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.
Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.
We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.
Every line of the receipt · 15
What you actually pay
Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $14–$30 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.
Who keeps the booking fee
The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →
How we know this receipt · 5
recreation.gov availability, read 14:47 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this
The sites
74 sites · which ones have room · the site map
The sites, ranked
from 70 mapped sitesAll 74 sites
Toilet distances are OpenStreetMap’s, measured for 74 of the 74 sites listed. A site with no reading is unknown, never far.
The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 70 of the 74 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.
| CLOO | 01 | standard electric | 52 ft | 50 amp | 99 ft | 1,148 ft | 345 ft | $30 |
| CLOO | 02 | standard electric | 50 ft | 50 amp | 83 ft | 1,029 ft | 325 ft | $30 |
| CLOO | 03 | standard electric | 50 ft | 50 amp | 99 ft | 1,215 ft | 444 ft | $30 |
| CLOO | 04 | standard electric | 50 ft | 50 amp | 83 ft | 1,086 ft | 392 ft | $30 |
| CLOO | 05 | standard electric | 50 ft | 50 amp | 113 ft | 1,228 ft | 428 ft | $30 |
| CLOO | 06 | standard electric | 50 ft | 50 amp | 84 ft | 1,127 ft | 425 ft | $30 |
| CLOO | 07 | standard electric | 50 ft | 50 amp | 104 ft | 1,202 ft | 330 ft | $30 |
| CLOO | 08 | standard electric | 52 ft | 50 amp | 80 ft | 1,116 ft | 348 ft | $30 |
| CLOO | 09 | standard electric | 50 ft | 50 amp | 104 ft | 1,144 ft | 238 ft | $30 |
| CLOO | 10 | standard electric | 50 ft | 50 amp | 80 ft | 1,077 ft | 268 ft | $30 |
| CLOO | 11 | standard electric | 50 ft | 50 amp | 100 ft | 1,046 ft | 189 ft | $30 |
| CLOO | 12 | standard electric | 53 ft | 50 amp | 98 ft | 1,015 ft | 170 ft | $30 |
| CLOO | 13 | standard electric | 54 ft | 50 amp | 100 ft | 1,019 ft | 255 ft | $30 |
| CLOO | 14 | standard electric | 53 ft | 50 amp | 94 ft | 904 ft | 135 ft | $30 |
| CLOO | 15 | standard electric | 53 ft | 50 amp | 119 ft | 972 ft | 345 ft | $30 |
| CLOO | 16 | standard electric | 50 ft | 50 amp | 77 ft | 891 ft | 229 ft | $30 |
| CLOO | 17 | standard electric | 50 ft | 50 amp | 120 ft | 899 ft | 254 ft | $30 |
| CLOO | 18 | standard electric | 56 ft | 50 amp | 77 ft | 852 ft | 301 ft | $30 |
| CLOO | 19 | standard electric | 55 ft | 50 amp | 120 ft | 792 ft | 178 ft | $30 |
| CLOO | 20 | standard electric | 53 ft | 50 amp | 80 ft | 799 ft | 302 ft | $30 |
| CLOO | 21 | standard electric | 56 ft | 50 amp | 136 ft | 642 ft | 235 ft | $30 |
| CLOO | 22 | standard electric | 55 ft | 50 amp | 80 ft | 719 ft | 302 ft | $30 |
| CLOO | 23 | standard electric | 48 ft | 50 amp | 109 ft | 551 ft | 383 ft | $30 |
| CLOO | 24 | standard electric | 52 ft | 50 amp | 81 ft | 654 ft | 375 ft | $30 |
| CLOO | 25 | standard electric | 53 ft | 50 amp | 108 ft | 539 ft | 426 ft | $30 |
| CLOO | 26 | standard electric | 50 ft | 50 amp | 81 ft | 679 ft | 304 ft | $30 |
| CLOO | 27 | standard electric | 52 ft | 50 amp | 108 ft | 583 ft | 349 ft | $30 |
| CLOO | 28 | type not stated | 50 ft | 50 amp | 726 ft | 208 ft | ||
| CLOO | 29 | type not stated | 53 ft | 50 amp | 598 ft | 330 ft | ||
| CLOO | 30 | standard electric | 46 ft | 50 amp | 145 ft | 743 ft | 196 ft | $30 |
| CLOO | 31 | type not stated | 50 ft | 50 amp | 608 ft | 341 ft | ||
| CLOO | 32 | standard electric | 50 ft | 50 amp | 83 ft | 723 ft | 295 ft | $30 |
| CLOO | 33 | standard electric | 50 ft | 50 amp | 96 ft | 585 ft | 408 ft | $30 |
| CLOO | 34 | standard electric | 50 ft | 50 amp | 80 ft | 700 ft | 371 ft | $30 |
| CLOO | 35 | standard electric | 55 ft | 50 amp | 92 ft | 558 ft | 486 ft | $30 |
| CLOO | 36 | standard electric | 50 ft | 50 amp | 80 ft | 669 ft | 449 ft | $30 |
| CLOO | 37 | standard electric | 60 ft | 50 amp | 92 ft | 544 ft | 407 ft | $30 |
| CLOO | 38 | standard electric | 50 ft | 50 amp | 79 ft | 642 ft | 394 ft | $30 |
| CLOO | 39 | standard electric | 55 ft | 50 amp | 104 ft | 492 ft | 303 ft | $30 |
| CLOO | 40 | standard electric | 52 ft | 50 amp | 76 ft | 633 ft | 335 ft | $30 |
| CLOO | 41 | standard electric | 53 ft | 50 amp | 108 ft | 524 ft | 209 ft | $30 |
| CLOO | 42 | standard electric | 50 ft | 50 amp | 74 ft | 631 ft | 295 ft | $30 |
| CLOO | 43 | standard electric | 50 ft | 50 amp | 109 ft | 560 ft | 196 ft | $30 |
| CLOO | 44 | standard electric | 47 ft | 50 amp | 74 ft | 664 ft | 305 ft | $30 |
| CLOO | 45 | standard electric | 52 ft | 50 amp | 109 ft | 613 ft | 268 ft | $30 |
| CLOO | 46 | standard electric | 50 ft | 50 amp | 75 ft | 715 ft | 350 ft | $30 |
| CLOO | 47 | standard electric | 52 ft | 50 amp | 114 ft | 652 ft | 299 ft | $30 |
| CLOO | 48 | standard electric | 54 ft | 50 amp | 63 ft | 787 ft | 254 ft | $30 |
| CLOO | 49 | standard electric | 48 ft | 50 amp | 130 ft | 717 ft | 169 ft | $30 |
| CLOO | 50 | standard electric | 53 ft | 50 amp | 63 ft | 832 ft | 207 ft | $30 |
| Equestrian | E01 | equestrian electric | 50 amp | 50 ft | 782 ft | 879 ft | $30 | |
| Equestrian | E02 | equestrian electric | 50 amp | 50 ft | 756 ft | 923 ft | $30 | |
| Equestrian | E03 | equestrian electric | 50 amp | 127 ft | 749 ft | 950 ft | $30 | |
| Equestrian | E04 | equestrian electric | 50 amp | 57 ft | 840 ft | 823 ft | $30 | |
| Equestrian | E05 | equestrian electric | 50 amp | 57 ft | 813 ft | 817 ft | $30 | |
| Equestrian | E06 | equestrian electric | 50 amp | 57 ft | 921 ft | 681 ft | $30 | |
| Equestrian | E07 | equestrian electric | 50 amp | 57 ft | 920 ft | 689 ft | $30 | |
| Equestrian | E08 | type not stated | 50 amp | 937 ft | 530 ft | |||
| Equestrian | E09 | equestrian electric | 50 amp | 89 ft | 838 ft | 648 ft | $30 | |
| Equestrian | E10 | equestrian electric | 50 amp | 89 ft | 753 ft | 700 ft | $30 | |
| Equestrian | E11 | equestrian electric | 50 amp | 92 ft | 749 ft | 789 ft | $30 | |
| GRPS | GCS | group standard electric | 15 amp | 846 ft | 361 ft | 805 ft | $150 | |
| TLOO | T-01 | tent only nonelectric | 71 ft | 635 ft | 602 ft | $14 | ||
| TLOO | T-02 | tent only nonelectric | 71 ft | 567 ft | 634 ft | $14 | ||
| TLOO | T-03 | tent only nonelectric | 54 ft | 551 ft | 715 ft | $14 | ||
| TLOO | T-04 | tent only nonelectric | 54 ft | 548 ft | 758 ft | $14 | ||
| TLOO | T-05 | tent only nonelectric | 59 ft | 607 ft | 723 ft | $14 | ||
| TLOO | T-06 | tent only nonelectric | 83 ft | 530 ft | 578 ft | $14 | ||
| TLOO | T-07 | tent only nonelectric | 83 ft | 449 ft | 651 ft | $14 | ||
| TLOO | T-08 | tent only nonelectric | 66 ft | 380 ft | 742 ft | $14 | ||
| TLOO | T-09 | tent only nonelectric | 66 ft | 359 ft | 793 ft | $14 | ||
| TLOO | T-10 | tent only nonelectric | 72 ft | 365 ft | 831 ft | $14 | ||
| TLOO | T-11 | tent only nonelectric | 116 ft | 392 ft | 895 ft | $14 | ||
| TLOO | T-12 | tent only nonelectric | 116 ft | 462 ft | 925 ft | $14 |
25 of 74 listed
Getting there
the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Where it is
Clear Lake (TX)2.0 mi
Lavonia3.8 mi
Lakeland Pavilion6.0 mi
Hickory Creek (TX)31 mi
Murrell Park34 mi
Waxahachie Ck53 miFrom Lavon, TX, travel South on Highway 78, take a right onto County Road 384. Travel until you come to a stop sign, then turn left onto Skyview Dr. and travel West for approximately 1.6 miles. East Fork will be on your right.
The weather
the next four days · the thirty-year normal
Next four days, and the thirty-year normal
Forecast
NWS forecast for Wylie, TX
Typical weather
Typical October night 55°F, day 77°F.
Coldest month of the year: typical January night 34°F. Bring the bag rated for it.
Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more
A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Augusts are colder than the August line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.
The land, and who answers for it
who answers for it
Who answers for this land

East Fork (TX) is in Texas’s 3rd congressional district. Its representative, Keith Self (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →