Reservable, and full this SaturdayEvery one of the 11 sites on offer is taken this Saturday, and the record lists no site held back for a walk-up. read 16:40 UTC

We don’t think it should be. Every campground should hold some sites for whoever drives up.Tell your representative →

Right now
Taking bookingsSites offered on 30 of the next 30 nights read 16:40 UTC
A night
$14From, per site
Sites
2211 on recreation.gov
20 ftLongest rig
570 ftElevation
612 ftWater · Grapevine Lake
In townFlower Mound, TX
0%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 14 notices

In the agency’s own words

Murrell Park offers day use facilities, boat ramp access and primitive camping on scenic Grapevine Lake, in the middle of the Dallas-Fort Worth Metroplex in Texas. The lake has become a premier recreation destination for the Southwest and offers some of the best camping, fishing and boating in Texas. This facility is open year-round, but particularly in hot summer months, the cool water provides a refreshing break from the Texas heat. Keep reading

Recreation

Murrell Park is popular for picnicking, hiking, mountain biking, boating and fishing. The park is home to the well known Northshore Trail, which welcomes hikers and mountain bikers. Horses and moterized bikes including E-Bikes are not permitted on the Northshore Trail. Horses not permited in Murrell Park; however, there are horse trails available on the south side and west end of the lake. Hunting is not allowed in the park, but is available in some of the surrounding public lands. Anglers can fish along the shoreline or from the water; popular species include black and white crappie, catfish and bass.

Facilities

This facility offers 11 tent-only campsites along the lakeshore with views of the water. These sites do not have electrical or water hook ups. All campsites have campfire rings and grills, picnic tables with shelters. Vault toilets are provided; shower and flush toilet facilities are not available. a community water spigot is available from spring through fall and are shut off some of the winter months. It is recommended that campers provide their own water. The park contains a boat ramp.

Natural Features

Grapevine is an 7,280 acre recreational lake with 60 miles of rolling shoreline. The area offers a wide variety of wildlife to observe, including white-tailed deer, turkey, squirrel, armadillo, rabbit and numerous birds species.

Nearby Attractions

The nearby city of Grapevine offers many historical attractions as one of the oldest settlements in the county, dating back to 1844, a year before Texas became a part of the United States.

Charges & Cancellations

No refunds on weather or health related cancelations.

What the agency tells you

Rule

The lake functions for flood control and conservation; lake levels fluctuate

Rule

RV's and Camping trailers not allowed. Vehicle must fit in standard sized parking spot.

Rule

Campers must bring their own drinking water during winter months

Everything else this campground posts · 11
Rule

Park entry is free

Rule

The park is open from 6 a.m. to 10 p.m.

Rule

Alcohol and glass containers are prohibited

Rule

Equipment to alter or cut down park vegetation, including but not limited to chainsaws, mowers and weed eaters, is prohibited

Rule

Off-road vehicles, ATVs, dirt bikes, golf carts and other non street-legal vehicles are not permitted in the park

Rule

Boats are subject to inspection for Zebra Mussels, an invasive aquatic species; To learn moreClick Here

Rule

There are no lifeguards around the lake; all swimmers swim at their own risk

Rule

Snakes do inhabit the area around the lake; please use cation

Rule

Murrell Park allows a maximum of 2 tents, 2 vehicles and 8 people per campsite. If you have questions about campsite limits please contact our project office at (817) 865-2600

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Protect your forests from tree-killing pests by buying your firewood locally and burning it on-site. Visit Dontmovefirewood.org for further information.

Rule

Advance reservations required

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
22
Hookups
None
Longest rig
20 ft
Paved pads
11 of 22
Accessible sites
None listed
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Shade
13 of 22 sites
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Vault Toilets
“…and grills, picnic tables with shelters. Vault toilets are provided; shower and flush toilet facilities…”
Showers
None at this campground
“Vault toilets are provided; shower and flush toilet facilities are not available. a community water spigot is available from spring through fall and are shut off some of the winter months.”
Drinking water
Yes
WATER (SEASONAL) on 10 of 22 campsite records
Boat ramp
Yes
Camp host
On site
recreation.gov lists “Host”
Stay limit
14 nights
recreation.gov facility rule maxStay
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026

Around the campground

On the water
Lake, Beach
Boating
Canoeing
Fishing
Hiking
Jet Skiing
Kayaking
Mountain biking
Water access
Night sky · 154th darkest of 154 in TX
Bortle 8
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026

Full this Saturdayread 16:40 UTC

How full the weekend is nationally.

OpenBooked

Every one of the 11 sites on offer is taken this Saturday. 10 are free on Mon, Oct 19. read 16:40 UTC Why the weekend fills and the week doesn’t

Booking window6 months outBookable now through April 16, 2027. Today at 10 AM ET, availability opens through April 17, 2027.recreation.gov
Max stay14 nightsthe facility record
A night$14plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$36DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservation; this campground publishes its own terms toorecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Army Corps of EngineersBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Watch this campground

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov ↗

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 13

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Army Corps of Engineers
A night$14
Tent Only Nonelectric$14
Rates for the season the campground is in now, Jan 1, 2026 to Dec 31, 2026.
Camping fee is $14 per campsite.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$22
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$36

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rate for this season, $14 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

“No refunds on weather or health related cancelations.” · this campground’s own terms

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 6

recreation.gov availability, read 16:40 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

22 sites · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 11 mapped sites
81 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least roomHippy Point 25 64 ftHippy Point 26 64 ftHippy Point 28 64 ft

All 22 sites

22 of 22 sites located
Standard11Type not stated11
Aerial · Esri World Imagery
Sleeps

Toilet distances are OpenStreetMap’s, measured for 22 of the 22 sites listed. A site with no reading is unknown, never far.

Hippy Point24standard nonelectric20 ft122 ft185 ft1,274 ft
Hippy Point25standard nonelectric20 ft64 ft101 ft1,573 ft
Hippy Point26standard nonelectric20 ft64 ft143 ft1,511 ft
Hippy Point27standard nonelectric20 ft65 ft118 ft1,328 ft
Hippy Point28standard nonelectric20 ft64 ft92 ft1,267 ft
Hippy Point29standard nonelectric20 ft64 ft72 ft1,203 ft
Hippy Point30standard nonelectric20 ft90 ft87 ft1,169 ft
Hippy Point31standard nonelectric20 ft90 ft94 ft1,086 ft
Hippy Point32standard nonelectric20 ft107 ft135 ft1,029 ft
Hippy Point33standard nonelectric20 ft81 ft130 ft937 ft
Hippy Point34standard nonelectric20 ft81 ft106 ft857 ft
South Point1type not stated120 ft2,929 ft
South Point2type not stated124 ft3,075 ft
South Point3type not stated88 ft3,124 ft
South Point4type not stated75 ft3,217 ft
South Point5type not stated99 ft3,237 ft
South Point6type not stated101 ft3,125 ft
South Point7Atype not stated157 ft2,648 ft
South Point7Btype not stated181 ft2,585 ft
South Point8Atype not stated105 ft2,649 ft
South Point8Btype not stated146 ft2,631 ft
South Point8Ctype not stated193 ft2,518 ft

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate32.99750, -97.08917
The phone817-865-2600
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

Getting there

Grapevine Lake is located in the Dallas-Fort Worth Metroplex, south of Denton, Texas. The north side of the lake is almost entirely within the town boundaries of Flower Mound, Texas in Denton county. The south side of the lake is located in Grapevine, Trophy Club and Southlake, Texas in Tarrant County. The parks physical address is 880 Simmions Road, Flower Mound, Texas

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Tonight47°Mostly Clear
Saturday65°Sunny
Saturday Night46°Clear
Sunday69°Sunny

NWS forecast for Flower Mound, TX

Typical weather

Typical October night 55°F, day 78°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical January night 34°F. Bring the bag rated for it.

100°30°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Augusts are colder than the August line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: GRAPEVINE DAM, TX (USC00413691), 4 miles away and at about the same elevation

The land, and who answers for it

who answers for it · a letter you can send

Who answers for this land

Brandon Gill, official portrait

Murrell Park is in Texas’s 26th congressional district. Its representative, Brandon Gill (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

Who can change it · 3
Write to somebody who can change it

Two offices, two different asks. The draft to the agency asks it to set aside a published share of the sites here for whoever drives up. The draft to Congress asks why that share is zero and presses for a published minimum at the campgrounds it funds.

Read the draft, or change the wording

For the camper who turned up, or tried to book, and couldn’t get in. Every draft is written from this campground’s own record (its agency, its unit, its site count and its own weekend) and the buttons above copy whichever wording is selected here.

To Brandon Gill

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Murrell Park, Texas

Dear Brandon Gill,

I’m a constituent in Texas’s 26th district. I tried to camp at Murrell Park, Texas, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 11 of the 22 campsites the agency files at Murrell Park, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 11 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Murrell Park keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Murrell Park. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Murrell Park (Texas) via campanac.com
To John Cornyn

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Murrell Park, Texas

Dear John Cornyn,

I’m a constituent in Texas. I tried to camp at Murrell Park, Texas, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 11 of the 22 campsites the agency files at Murrell Park, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 11 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Murrell Park keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Murrell Park. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Murrell Park (Texas) via campanac.com
To Ted Cruz

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Murrell Park, Texas

Dear Ted Cruz,

I’m a constituent in Texas. I tried to camp at Murrell Park, Texas, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 11 of the 22 campsites the agency files at Murrell Park, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 11 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Murrell Park keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Murrell Park. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Murrell Park (Texas) via campanac.com
How we know this · 4
The figures in these drafts: Navy Ford (CVN-78) Class Aircraft Carrier Program: Background and Issues for Congress (CRS Report RS20643) · Updated December 4, 2025 · “The ship’s final procurement cost was $13,316.5 million (i.e., about $13.3 billion) in then-year dollars.”
The figures in these drafts: Salary Table 2026-GS, Incorporating the 1% General Schedule Increase, Effective January 2026 (U.S. Office of Personnel Management) · Effective January 2026 · “Grade 5, Step 1: $34,799 (annual rate, before locality pay).”
The figures in these drafts: Update to Civilian Position Full Fringe Benefit Cost Factor, Federal Pay Raise Assumptions, and Inflation Factors used in OMB Circular No. A-76 (OMB Memorandum M-08-13) · March 11, 2008 · “the civilian position full fringe benefit cost factor needs to be adjusted downward, from 36.45 percent to 36.25 percent”

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: recreation.gov is offering sites on 30 of the next 30 nights, which isn’t something a closed campground does.
Cell signal: the Army Corps’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.