U.S. Forest Service · Willamette National Forest · OR

Cold Water Cove - Willamette NF (OR)

ReservableOut of season, no booking; December 5 opens June 5.
Book on recreation.govWe make nothing when you book
Right now
Nobody has saidNo season, no closure, no bookings to read
A night
$25–$50Across the site types the agency prices
Sites
3933 on recreation.gov
99 ftLongest rig
3,060 ftElevation
327 ftWater · Clear Lake
20.6 miNW of Sisters, OR
72%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 10 notices

In the agency’s own words

This campground provides 34 campsites, 31 singles and 3 double, that accommodate vehicles 18 to 50 feet in length depending on site. No sites are directly on the shoreline of the lake, but several offer views of the lake. Drinking water is available at two handpumps, one in the campground and one in the boat launch area. There are four double vault toilets shared by both sites. The boat launch area includes a boat launch for canoes or small non-motorized crafts (no motors are allowed on the lake), a small fish cleaning station, and a picnic site. There is also an extra vehicle, or overflow, parking area. Keep reading

*Extra Vehicle Fees for campers & Day Use/Boat Launch Fee for non-campers/day users. Campfires allowed until and unless otherwise posted. Fire bans are common during summer months. Please plan accordingly. Cold Water Cove Campground offers stunning views of turquoise-colored Clear Lake and 3,000-year-old lava fields, making it an ideal location. On clear days, visitors can catch a glimpse of the Three Sisters and Mount Washington. Fishing, hiking, canoeing and boating are popular activities. The campground sits at the south end of the lake at an elevation of 3,100 feet. A mix of maple, alder and Douglas fir trees cover the area. Some sites have limited views of the lake, and all sites have privacy from neighboring campers. Cold Water Cove sits in the midsection of the Cascades mountain range. This campground offers both reservable and FCFS campsites. Scan and Pay might be offered at this campground; It is recommended that you pay by cash or check for FCFS campsites. There are no refunds, modifications, cancellations, or other fee changes allowed with FCFS payments. This system is the same as putting cash into a fee tube and cannot be refunded. Please download the Rec.Gov app prior to arriving at the campground as there may be no cellular service or very limited service at the campground. If no Scan & Pay option is available you must pay via cash or check. Reservation may be made up to 6 months in advance of arrival date by reserving online at RECREATION. GOV or by calling 877-444-6777.

Recreation

Clear Lake is popular for fishing, canoeing, kayaking and row boats. Anglers cast for brook, rainbow and cutthroat trout. Power boating is not permitted, which makes for calm waters. A boat ramp and fish cleaning station are located in the campground. Boat rentals are available at nearby Clear Lake Resort. The McKenzie River National Recreation Trail passes through the campground and runs along Clear Lake. The trail stretches 26 miles and is open to hikers and mountain bikers.

Facilities

The campground offers single and double-family campsites. Each site is equipped with a picnic table and campfire ring. Vault toilets, trash collection and drinking water are provided. No hookups are available. There is a restaurant/lodge located nearby at Clear Lake Resort.

Natural Features

Contact Info For facility specific information, please call (541) 967-3917.

Nearby Attractions

Nearby attractions include: Clear Lake for fishing, non-motorized rowboat use and hiking. Rowboats and Kayaks are available to rent at nearby Clear Lake Resort. Clear Lake is the head waters for the McKenzie River, and is renowned for its cold, clear water and preserved grove of underwater trees. The McKenzie River National Scenic Trail is on one side of Clear Lake, and a connecting trail offers a loop hiking trail opportunity around the lake. Trails also connect the campground to short hikes to Sahalie and Koosah Falls, spectacular waterfalls located within a mile of the campground. Also, close in proximity, is the McKenzie Pass-Santiam Pass National Scenic Byway and Mt. Washington Wilderness.

What the agency tells you

Rule

An additional fee of $10 per vehicle per night will be charged for extra vehicles parked at your campsite.

Rule

A fee of $10 will be charged for day-use visitors

Rule

No discharging firearms, possession of fireworks or use of chainsaws allowed

Everything else this campground posts · 7
Rule

Scan and Pay might be offered at this campground; It is recommended that you pay by cash or check for FCFS campsites. There are no refunds, modifications, cancellations, or other fee changes allowed with FCFS payments. This system is the same as putting cash into a fee tube and cannot be refunded. Please download the Rec.Gov app prior to arriving at the campground as there may be no cellular service or very limited service at the campground. If no Scan & Pay option is available you must pay via cash or check.

Rule

Campfires allowed until and unless otherwise posted. Fire bans are common during summer months. Please plan accordingly.

Rule

Check-In 2:00PM

Rule

Check-Out 12:00PM

Rule

Click here for more information on Willamette National Forest

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Please protect Pacific Northwest forests by preventing the spread of invasive species. Firewood can carry insects and diseases that can threaten the health of our western forests. You can make a difference by obtaining and burning your firewood near your camping destination. Visit Dontmovefirewood.org for further information.

Rule

Be bear aware; keep all food out of sight in approved containers or locked inside your vehicle and remove all food from the area after eating

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
39 · 7 tent-only, 1 cabin
Hookups
None
Longest rig
99 ft
Paved pads
34 of 39
Accessible sites
None listed
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Vault Toilets
VAULT TOILETS on 2 of 41 campsite records
Drinking water
Yes
“…but several offer views of the lake. Drinking water is available at two handpumps, one in the…”
Boat ramp
Yes
Stay limit
14 nights
recreation.gov facility rule maxStay
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026

Around the campground

On the water
Waterfall, Lake, River, Beach
Biking
Boating
Fishing
Hiking
Night sky · 383rd darkest of 770 in OR
Bortle 2
Cell signal · Cell signal · Forest Service says
Spotty
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise. · Sep 8, 2026

No reading yet, book on recreation.gov

recreation.gov lists 33 of the 39 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.

No availability snapshot inside the last 36 hours, so this page draws nothing rather than ageing a reading into fiction.

Booking windowOut of seasonOut of season, no booking. On December 5, 2026 at 10 AM ET, availability opens through June 5, 2027.recreation.govAdd to calendar (.ics)
Max stay14 nights2-night minimum on weekendsthe facility record
A night$25–$50plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$58–$108DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Forest ServiceBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Full? Watch it.

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Sat, Jun 5 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 15

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night, per site$25–$50
Standard Nonelectric$25
Tent Only Nonelectric$25
Standard Nonelectric- Double Site$50
Rates for the season the campground is in now, May 22, 2026 to Oct 10, 2026.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What this campground addsits own record
Extra vehicle$10

“An additional fee of $10 per vehicle per night will be charged for extra vehicles parked at your campsite.” · the U.S. Forest Service’s own agency notice

What a stay costs
One nightDerived$33–$58
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$58–$108

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $25–$50 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 6

rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

41 records · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 31 mapped sites
85 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least roomLoop A 008 51 ftLoop A 009 51 ftLoop A 012 51 ft

All 41 records

31 of 41 records located
Standard23Tent only7Cabin or shelter1
SleepsTakes aUp to

Toilet distances are OpenStreetMap’s, measured for 31 of the 41 sites listed. A site with no reading is unknown, never far.

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 38 of the 41 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.

A001standard nonelectric29 ft193 ft315 ft830 ft$25–$50
A002tent only nonelectric51 ft92 ft366 ft396 ft$25
A003standard nonelectric42 ft76 ft443 ft395 ft$25–$50
A004shelter nonelectric45 ft76 ft412 ft320 ft
A006standard nonelectric72 ft118 ft585 ft273 ft$25–$50
A007standard nonelectric30 ft89 ft594 ft253 ft$25–$50
A008standard nonelectric34 ft51 ft510 ft167 ft$25–$50
A009tent only nonelectric25 ft51 ft503 ft196 ft$25
A010tent only nonelectric15 ft86 ft439 ft120 ft$25
A011standard nonelectric40 ft97 ft183 ft233 ft$25–$50
A012standard nonelectric34 ft51 ft157 ft329 ft$25–$50
A013tent only nonelectric32 ft51 ft199 ft358 ft$25
A014standard nonelectric25 ft118 ft143 ft504 ft$25–$50
A015standard nonelectric35 ft87 ft187 ft622 ft$25–$50
A016standard nonelectric22 ft87 ft222 ft707 ft$25–$50
A017standard nonelectric59 ft108 ft237 ft803 ft$25–$50
A019standard nonelectric20 ft117 ft166 ft920 ft$25–$50
A020standard nonelectric40 ft55 ft699 ft1,053 ft$25–$50
A021standard nonelectric42 ft55 ft645 ft1,043 ft$25–$50
AREA COLD WATER COVE005 - MANAGEMENT SITEtype not stated$25–$50
AREA COLD WATER COVE020type not stated$25–$50
AREA COLD WATER COVE034type not stated$25–$50
AREA COLD WATER COVE035type not stated$25–$50
AREA COLD WATER COVEXXXunnamed record40 ftyes$25–$50
AREA COLD WATER COVEXXXXunnamed record45 ft$25–$50
COLD022standard nonelectric35 ft84 ft555 ft1,143 ft$25–$50
COLD023standard nonelectric37 ft84 ft558 ft1,227 ft$25–$50
COLD024standard nonelectric99 ft51 ft462 ft1,329 ft$25–$50
COLD025standard nonelectric42 ft51 ft445 ft1,279 ft$25–$50
COLD026standard nonelectric60 ft92 ft360 ft1,306 ft$25–$50
COLD027standard nonelectric49 ft100 ft263 ft1,321 ft$25–$50
COLD028standard nonelectric46 ft120 ft155 ft1,219 ft$25–$50
COLD029tent only nonelectric21 ft87 ft275 ft1,204 ft$25
COLD030standard nonelectric42 ft59 ft330 ft1,132 ft$25–$50
COLD031tent only nonelectric18 ft59 ft309 ft1,083 ft$25
COLD032standard nonelectric29 ft85 ft379 ft1,016 ft$25–$50
COLD033tent only nonelectric17 ft85 ft375 ft932 ft$25
COLD034standard nonelectric29 ft$25–$50
COLD035standard nonelectric29 ft$25–$50
S&PDouble S&Ptype not stated42 ft$25–$50
S&PSingle S&Ptype not stated30 ft$25–$50

The agency files 2 more records here that aren’t sites for the night. It types every one of them MANAGEMENT rather than a campsite. They’re in the table above, marked for what they are, and none of them is counted as a site.

25 of 41 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate44.36389, -121.98889
The phone801-226-3564
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

Getting there

From Eugene, Oregon, take I-105 east to McKenzie Highway 126. Travel east on 126 for 55 miles to McKenzie Bridge.

From McKenzie Bridge,OR, travel east on Highway 126 for 18 miles to the Clear Lake Area. Before reaching Clear Lake, turn right on Forest Road 770, heading northeast 1 mile to Coldwater Cove Campground at the end of the road.

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Today79°Mostly Sunny
Tonight43°Mostly Cloudy2% rain
Saturday58°Mostly Cloudy6% rain
Saturday Night35°Patchy Fog then Patchy Frost

NWS forecast for Black Butte Ranch, OR

Typical weather

Typical October night 38°F, day 60°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical January night 29°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

90°32°20°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: BELKNAP SPRINGS 8 N, OR (USC00350652), 6 miles away and 908 ft lower

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it

Roadless country, and what’s coming for it

Roadless
Mt. Washington, West6,641 acres · 3 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Mt. Washington, North997 acres · 5 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Echo Mountain8,098 acres · 7 mi · inventoried roadless area

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Who answers for this land

Janelle Bynum, official portrait

Cold Water Cove - Willamette NF (OR) is in Oregon’s 5th congressional district. Its representative, Janelle Bynum (D), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: A+. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: U.S. Forest Service publishes no season and no closure for this campground, and it takes no bookings we can read. That’s a gap in the record and not a locked gate: the number below is the only way to be sure.
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise. · Sep 8, 2026

“…app prior to arriving at the campground as there may be no cellular service or very limited service at the campground. If no Scan & Pay…”

Nearest place of any size: Black Butte Ranch, OR, 14.6 mi W (a census designated place). Straight line.