1Heads up1 fire 48 mi away
Wildfire
Nevada 311 fire · 48 mi away · 1 acres · updated Oct 16, 2026
ReservableOut of season; bookable March 1 through April 16.
Book on recreation.govWe make nothing when you book
Right now
Nobody has saidNo season, no closure, no bookings to read
A night
$14–$30Across the site types the agency prices
Sites
8267 on recreation.gov
20 ftLongest rig
630 ftElevation
1,428 ftWater · Lake Ouachita
7.1 miE of Mount Ida, AR
81%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 4 notices

In the agency’s own words

Groups and families of all sizes come to camp at Denby Point for its scenic views, year-round fishing and convenient boating facilities. The campground promises to entertain jet skiers, boaters, hikers and birders alike. Click here for the Lake Ouachita Virtual Tour. Keep reading

Recreation

World-class striper fishing brings crowds of anglers year-round, and incredibly clear waters attract scuba divers, hoping to explore the flooded forests and mountain valleys below the lake's surface. Hikers take pleasure in the Lake Ouachita Vista Trail (LOViT), which lines the southern end of the lake.

Facilities

The campground consists of 67 sites including 58 with electric and water hookups. The two group campsites also have electric hookups. Other amenities include a dump station, fish cleaning station, hot showers, boat ramp and a swim beach.

Natural Features

Lake Ouachita sits in the heart of the Ouachita Mountains, just 28 miles west of Hot Springs National Park. The lake stems from the Ouachita River and boasts 692 miles of shoreline and over 40,000 surface acres. Contact Info This location is unstaffed. To speak with our main office for general information, please call: (501) 767-2101.

Nearby Attractions

Explore Ouachita National Forest's 1.8 million acres, surrounding Lake Ouachita and extending across central Arkansas and southeastern Oklahoma.

What the agency tells you

Rule

No off-road vehicles allowed in park

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Protect your forests from tree-killing pests by buying your firewood locally and burning it on-site. Visit Dontmovefirewood.org for further information.

Rule

Check-Out time is 4pm and Check-In time is 6pm

Everything else this campground posts · 1
Rule

Camper Self-Check In Cards are located at the entrance of the campground. Please grab a card apon entry, fill it out and attach it to your campsite post. A ranger will verify the information written on the card later and check you in.

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
82 · 9 tent-only, 2 group
Hookups
64 electric, 73 water, 1 sewer
Longest rig
20 ft
Paved pads
59 of 82
Accessible sites
None listed
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Showers
Yes, the record doesn’t say what kind
“Other amenities include a dump station, fish cleaning station, hot showers, boat ramp and a swim beach.”
Dump station
Yes
recreation.gov lists “Dump Station”
Boat ramp
Yes
Stay limit
14 nights
recreation.gov facility rule maxStay
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026
Water, toilets and showers: read from the agency description, shown above · Sep 12, 2026

Around the campground

On the water
Hot springs, Lake, River, Beach
Boating
Canoeing
Kayaking
Night sky · 66th darkest of 158 in AR
Bortle 4
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026

No reading yet, book on recreation.gov

recreation.gov lists 67 of the 82 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.

No availability snapshot inside the last 36 hours, so this page draws nothing rather than ageing a reading into fiction.

Booking windowFrom March 1Out of season now. Bookable for March 1, 2027 through April 16, 2027. Today at 10 AM ET, availability opens through April 17, 2027.recreation.gov
Max stay14 nights2-night minimum on weekendsthe facility record
A night$14–$30plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$36–$68DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Army Corps of EngineersBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Full? Watch it.

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Mon, Mar 1 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 17

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Army Corps of Engineers
A night, per site$14–$30
Tent Only Nonelectric$14
Group Camp - Individual Site Rental$18
Standard Electric$24
Electricity, Water, Sewer Hookup$30
Group areas, a night$60–$65
The agency has already scheduled a change from Jan 1, 2027: $16 to $35 a night.
These are next season’s rates, Mar 1, 2027 to Apr 30, 2027. The campground is between seasons now.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$22–$38
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$36–$68

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $14–$30 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5

rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Oct 1, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

82 sites · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 67 mapped sites
79 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least roomLoop B 27 29 ftLoop B 28 29 ftLoop B 32 33 ft

All 82 sites

82 of 82 sites located
Tent only9RV / electric56Group2Type not stated15
SleepsTakes aUp to

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 61 of the 82 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.

A01standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp99 ft157 ft$18–$30
A02standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp131 ft163 ft$18–$30
A03standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp96 ft129 ft$18–$30
A04standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp68 ft116 ft$18–$30
A05standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp36 ft119 ft$18–$30
A06standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp36 ft85 ft$18–$30
A07tent only electric20 ft30/20 amp52 ft78 ft
A08tent only electric20 ft30/20 amp52 ft84 ft
A09standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp80 ft86 ft$18–$30
A10standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp54 ft151 ft$18–$30
A11standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp54 ft200 ft$18–$30
A12tent only electric20 ft30/20 amp63 ft181 ft
A13tent only electric20 ft30/20 amp63 ft143 ft
A14tent only electric20 ft30/20 amp47 ft83 ft
A15tent only electric20 ft30/20 amp47 ft120 ft
AAgroup standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp411 ft477 ft$60–$65
AA-1type not stated20 ft50 amp410 ft
AA-2type not stated20 ft50 amp444 ft
AA-3type not stated20 ft50 amp536 ft
AA-4type not stated20 ft50 amp543 ft
AA-5type not stated20 ft50 amp508 ft
AA-6type not stated20 ft50 amp447 ft
B16standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp79 ft417 ft$18–$30
B17standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp79 ft420 ft$18–$30
B18standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp66 ft343 ft$18–$30
B19standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp66 ft296 ft$18–$30
B20standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp68 ft325 ft$18–$30
B21standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp114 ft220 ft$18–$30
B22standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp112 ft185 ft$18–$30
B23standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp90 ft196 ft$18–$30
B24standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp90 ft270 ft$18–$30
B25standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp142 ft242 ft$18–$30
B26standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp66 ft261 ft$18–$30
B27standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp29 ft187 ft$18–$30
B28standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp29 ft207 ft$18–$30
B29standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp76 ft119 ft$18–$30
B30standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp101 ft101 ft$18–$30
B31standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp105 ft120 ft$18–$30
B32standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp33 ft128 ft$18–$30
B33standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp33 ft161 ft$18–$30
B34standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp86 ft206 ft$18–$30
BBgroup standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp411 ft538 ft$60–$65
BB-1type not stated20 ft50 amp448 ft
BB-2type not stated20 ft50 amp557 ft
BB-3type not stated20 ft50 amp620 ft
BB-4type not stated20 ft50 amp605 ft
BB-5type not stated20 ft50 amp544 ft
BB-6type not stated20 ft50 amp460 ft
BB-7type not stated20 ft50 amp418 ft
C40tent only nonelectric20 ft126 ft152 ft$14
C41standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp88 ft162 ft$18–$30
C42standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp88 ft188 ft$18–$30
C43standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp89 ft202 ft$18–$30
C44standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp102 ft208 ft$18–$30
C45tent only nonelectric20 ft132 ft36 ft$14
C46tent only nonelectric20 ft112 ft168 ft$14
C47standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp76 ft202 ft$18–$30
C48standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp59 ft277 ft$18–$30
C49standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp59 ft336 ft$18–$30
D35type not stated20 ft50/30/20 amp622 ft
D36standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp79 ft575 ft$18–$30
D37standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp79 ft598 ft$18–$30
D38standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp79 ft521 ft$18–$30
D39standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp79 ft540 ft$18–$30
D50standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp51 ft337 ft$18–$30
D51standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp51 ft383 ft$18–$30
D52standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp81 ft357 ft$18–$30
D53standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp81 ft373 ft$18–$30
D54standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp48 ft305 ft$18–$30
D55standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp48 ft263 ft$18–$30
D56standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp95 ft236 ft$18–$30
D57standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp88 ft305 ft$18–$30
D58standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp83 ft344 ft$18–$30
D59standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp83 ft394 ft$18–$30
D60standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp94 ft438 ft$18–$30
D61standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp90 ft554 ft$18–$30
D62standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp90 ft531 ft$18–$30
D63type not stated20 ft50/30/20 amp604 ft
D64standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp55 ft686 ft$18–$30
D65standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp89 ft625 ft$18–$30
D66standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp55 ft730 ft$18–$30
D67standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp188 ft629 ft$18–$30

OpenStreetMap has no toilet mapped within 1 km of this campground, so no site here carries a toilet distance. That’s a gap in the map, not a finding about the campground.

25 of 82 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate34.54560, -93.48996
The phone870-867-4475
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

Getting there

From Hot Springs, Arkansas, take US 270 west about 26.5 miles to Ouachita Shores Parkway. Turn right and follow access road one mile north to park.

From Mount Ida, Arkansas, take US 270 east approximately 9.5 miles to Ouachita Shores Parkway. Turn left on access road one mile to park.

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Today67°Sunny
Tonight40°Clear
Sunday73°Sunny
Sunday Night41°Mostly Clear

NWS forecast for Mount Ida, AR

Typical weather

Typical October night 49°F, day 75°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical January night 31°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

100°32°20°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: MOUNT IDA ASOS, AR (USW00053921), 5 miles away and 72 ft higher

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it

Roadless country, and what’s coming for it

Roadless
Bear Mountain1,910 acres · 9 mi · inventoried roadless area

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Who answers for this land

Bruce Westerman, official portrait

Denby Point is in Arkansas’s 4th congressional district. Its representative, Bruce Westerman (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: U.S. Army Corps of Engineers publishes no season and no closure for this campground, and it takes no bookings we can read. That’s a gap in the record and not a locked gate: the number below is the only way to be sure.
Cell signal: the Army Corps’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.