1Heads up1 fire 50 mi away
Wildfire
Nevada 311 fire · 50 mi away · 1 acres · updated Oct 16, 2026
ReservableOut of season; bookable March 1 through April 16.
Book on recreation.govWe make nothing when you book
Right now
Nobody has saidNo season, no closure, no bookings to read
A night
$16–$24Across the site types the agency prices
Sites
6458 on recreation.gov
20 ftLongest rig
600 ftElevation
108 ftWater · Lake Ouachita
10 miE of Mount Ida, AR
35%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 5 notices

In the agency’s own words

Joplin Campground on Lake Ouachita is an excellent destination for pristine lakefront camping. Joplin is perched on a slender peninsula with plenty of attractive scenic views of the water and surrounding mountain terrain. World-class striper fishing goes on in the lake, and wildlife watchers can find everything from bobcats to rare freshwater jellyfish. Click here for the Lake Ouachita Virtual Tour. Keep reading

Recreation

Prized as one of the clearest lakes in the nation, Ouachita Lake is ideal for scuba diving. Visitors also enjoy hiking, biking, scenic driving, water skiing, fishing and hunting, as well.

Facilities

All 59 campsites have electric hookups, but keep in mind the spaces are small and unpaved. Campsite pad lengths vary greatly from site to site due to the terrain. No campsite lengths are posted on the website due to the varianciances of camper slidout configurations and the visitor trailer towing skills. For questions contact the fee booth at 870-867-4472. Water hookups are not available, but a water faucet is located in each loop. Other amenities include a dump station, fish cleaning station, hot showers, boat ramp and a swim beach.

Natural Features

Nestled in the Ouachita Mountains of Central Arkansas, Lake Ouachita spans a surface area of over 40,000 acres, making it the biggest lake completely within the state of Arkansas. The region has a climate with four seasons. Spring and fall are mild, summer is hot and humid, and winter is variable with temperatures ranging from below freezing on up to the 60 degrees Fahrenheit. Contact Info This location is unstaffed. To speak with our main office for general information, please call: (501) 767-2101.

Nearby Attractions

Head to Hot Springs National Park and discover how it earned the nickname, "The American Spa." Or take a scenic drive through the 1.8 million-acres of Ouachita National Forest. Boat rentals, horseback riding rentals and the Hickorynut Mountain Vista are not far from the campground.

What the agency tells you

Rule

No off-road vehicles allowed in park

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Protect your forests from tree-killing pests by buying your firewood locally and burning it on-site. Visit Dontmovefirewood.org for further information.

Rule

Campsites 35 through 63 do not have a level developed pad and is still natural uneven terrain. Use caution when reserving these sites because large camping untis may not fit on site.

Everything else this campground posts · 2
Rule

Check-Out time is 4pm and Check-In time is 6pm

Rule

Camper Self-Check In Cards are located at the entrance of the campground. Please grab a card apon entry, fill it out and attach it to your campsite post. A ranger will verify the information written on the card later and check you in.

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
64 · 13 tent-only
Hookups
58 electric, 22 water, 2 sewer
Longest rig
20 ft
Accessible sites
None listed
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Showers
Yes, the record doesn’t say what kind
“Other amenities include a dump station, fish cleaning station, hot showers, boat ramp and a swim beach.”
Drinking water
Yes
“…Water hookups are not available, but a water faucet is located in each loop. Other amenities include a…”
Dump station
Yes
recreation.gov lists “Dump Station”
Boat ramp
Yes
Stay limit
14 nights
recreation.gov facility rule maxStay
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026
Water, toilets and showers: read from the agency description, shown above · Sep 12, 2026

Around the campground

On the water
Hot springs, Lake, Beach
Biking
Boating
Canoeing
Fishing
Kayaking
Night sky · 72nd darkest of 158 in AR
Bortle 4
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026

No reading yet, book on recreation.gov

recreation.gov lists 58 of the 64 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.

No availability snapshot inside the last 36 hours, so this page draws nothing rather than ageing a reading into fiction.

Booking windowFrom March 1Out of season now. Bookable for March 1, 2027 through April 16, 2027. Today at 10 AM ET, availability opens through April 17, 2027.recreation.gov
Max stay14 nights2-night minimum on weekendsthe facility record
A night$16–$24plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$40–$56DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Army Corps of EngineersBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Full? Watch it.

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Mon, Mar 1 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 18

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Army Corps of Engineers
A night, per site$16–$24
Walk In 1 Tent Pad$16
1 Pad Tent Site$18
2 Pad Tent Site$20
Standard Electric$20
3 Pad Tent Site$22
Renovated RV Site$24
The agency has already scheduled a change from Jan 1, 2027: $18 to $26 a night.
These are next season’s rates, Mar 1, 2027 to Apr 30, 2027. The campground is between seasons now.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$24–$32
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$40–$56

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $16–$24 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5

rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Oct 1, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

64 sites · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 58 mapped sites
87 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least roomLoop A 06 26 ftLoop A 07 26 ftLoop D 54 41 ft

All 64 sites

64 of 64 sites located
Tent only13RV / electric45Type not stated6
SleepsTakes aUp to

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 58 of the 64 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.

A01type not stated20 ft50 amp151 ft
A02type not stated20 ft50 amp127 ft
A03tent only electric20 ft30/20 amp50 ft60 ft$16–$22
A04tent only electric20 ft30/20 amp50 ft105 ft$16–$22
A05rv electric20 ft50/30/20 amp137 ft79 ft$24
A06rv electric20 ft50/30/20 amp26 ft82 ft$24
A07rv electric20 ft50/30/20 amp26 ft60 ft$24
A08rv electric20 ft50/30/20 amp114 ft64 ft$24
A09rv electric20 ft50/30/20 amp124 ft95 ft$24
A10rv electric20 ft50/30/20 amp124 ft120 ft$24
A11tent only electric20 ft30/20 amp205 ft88 ft$16–$22
A12rv electric20 ft50/30/20 amp160 ft122 ft$24
A13tent only electric20 ft30/20 amp160 ft48 ft$16–$22
A14tent only electric20 ft30/20 amp98 ft67 ft$16–$22
A15tent only electric20 ft30/20 amp80 ft44 ft$16–$22
A16tent only electric20 ft30/20 amp80 ft68 ft$16–$22
A17tent only electric20 ft30/20 amp98 ft86 ft$16–$22
A18tent only electric20 ft30/20 amp98 ft115 ft$16–$22
A19tent only electric20 ft30/20 amp106 ft113 ft$16–$22
B20rv electric20 ft50/30/20 amp98 ft105 ft$24
B21rv electric20 ft50/30/20 amp98 ft139 ft$24
B22tent only electric20 ft30/20 amp86 ft94 ft$16–$22
B23tent only electric20 ft30/20 amp86 ft83 ft$16–$22
B24rv electric20 ft50/30/20 amp129 ft54 ft$24
B25rv electric20 ft50/30/20 amp132 ft139 ft$24
B26rv electric20 ft50/30/20 amp154 ft129 ft$24
B27tent only electric20 ft30/20 amp170 ft29 ft$16–$22
B28rv electric20 ft50/30/20 amp98 ft113 ft$24
B29rv electric20 ft50/30/20 amp98 ft71 ft$24
B30rv electric20 ft50/30/20 amp105 ft89 ft$24
B31rv electric20 ft50/30/20 amp129 ft59 ft$24
B32rv electric20 ft50/30/20 amp219 ft67 ft$24
B33type not stated20 ft30 amp72 ft
B34type not stated20 ft30 amp74 ft
B64type not stated20 ft30/20 amp136 ft
C35standard electric20 ft30/20 amp128 ft133 ft$20
C36type not stated20 ft30/20 amp112 ft
C37standard electric20 ft30/20 amp128 ft76 ft$20
C38standard electric20 ft30/20 amp91 ft51 ft$20
C39standard electric20 ft30/20 amp79 ft60 ft$20
C40standard electric20 ft30/20 amp79 ft113 ft$20
C41standard electric20 ft30/20 amp195 ft96 ft$20
C42standard electric20 ft30/20 amp112 ft97 ft$20
C43standard electric20 ft30/20 amp110 ft65 ft$20
C44standard electric20 ft30/20 amp72 ft79 ft$20
C45standard electric20 ft30/20 amp72 ft146 ft$20
D46standard electric20 ft30/20 amp89 ft113 ft$20
D47standard electric20 ft30/20 amp44 ft113 ft$20
D48standard electric20 ft30/20 amp44 ft157 ft$20
D49standard electric20 ft30/20 amp73 ft191 ft$20
D50standard electric20 ft30/20 amp73 ft170 ft$20
D51standard electric20 ft30/20 amp81 ft138 ft$20
D52standard electric20 ft30/20 amp48 ft90 ft$20
D53standard electric20 ft30/20 amp48 ft81 ft$20
D54standard electric20 ft30/20 amp41 ft91 ft$20
D55standard electric20 ft30/20 amp41 ft100 ft$20
D56standard electric20 ft30/20 amp64 ft78 ft$20
D57standard electric20 ft30/20 amp64 ft89 ft$20
D58standard electric20 ft30/20 amp71 ft128 ft$20
D59standard electric20 ft30/20 amp83 ft45 ft$20
D60standard electric20 ft30/20 amp70 ft126 ft$20
D61standard electric20 ft30/20 amp53 ft125 ft$20
D62standard electric20 ft30/20 amp53 ft79 ft$20
D63standard electric20 ft30/20 amp61 ft77 ft$20

OpenStreetMap has no toilet mapped within 1 km of this campground, so no site here carries a toilet distance. That’s a gap in the map, not a finding about the campground.

25 of 64 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate34.57519, -93.44264
The phone870-867-4472
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

Getting there

From Hot Springs, Arkansas: Take US 270 west for 23.5 miles to Mountain Harbor Road. Turn right and follow access road three miles north to the park.

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Overnight43°Mostly Clear
Saturday67°Sunny
Saturday Night41°Clear
Sunday72°Sunny

NWS forecast for Crystal Springs, AR

Typical weather

Typical October night 49°F, day 75°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical January night 31°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

100°32°20°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: MOUNT IDA ASOS, AR (USW00053921), 8 miles away and 102 ft higher

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it

Roadless country, and what’s coming for it

Roadless
Bear Mountain1,910 acres · 7 mi · inventoried roadless area

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Who answers for this land

Bruce Westerman, official portrait

Joplin is in Arkansas’s 4th congressional district. Its representative, Bruce Westerman (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: U.S. Army Corps of Engineers publishes no season and no closure for this campground, and it takes no bookings we can read. That’s a gap in the record and not a locked gate: the number below is the only way to be sure.
Cell signal: the Army Corps’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.
Nearest place of any size: Crystal Springs, AR, 6.1 mi WNW (a census designated place). Straight line.