1Heads up1 fire 50 mi away
Wildfire
Nevada 311 fire · 50 mi away · 1 acres · updated Oct 16, 2026
ReservableBookable through April 17; tomorrow opens April 18.
Book on recreation.govWe make nothing when you book
Right now
Taking bookingsSites offered on 30 of the next 30 nights read 15:06 UTC
A night
$14–$30Across the site types the agency prices
Sites
7775 on recreation.gov
20 ftLongest rig
620 ftElevation
746 ftWater · Lake Ouachita
8.4 miE of Mount Ida, AR
73%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 4 notices

In the agency’s own words

Tompkins Bend on Lake Ouachita, is a great family camping destination. The combination of lush mountain scenery and roomy sites big enough for two camping units, make this quiet location an ideal place for an outdoor getaway. Click here for the Lake Ouachita Virtual Tour. Keep reading

Recreation

Water skiers, jet skiers and anglers can all enjoy the crystal clear waters of the lake, while hikers enjoy the campground's location on the Lake Ouachita Vista Trail (LOViT), which meanders across the south end of the lake. Wildlife enthusiasts can find everything from bobcats to black bears and deer in the forested mountains surrounding the lake, and Bald eagles are often spotted in winter.

Facilities

The campground consists of 77 sites including 63 sites with electric hookups and 69 sites with water hookups. Most sites will accommodate two camping units. Other amenities include a dump station, fish cleaning station, hot showers, playground and a boat ramp.

Natural Features

Lake Ouachita is fed from the cool waters of the Ouachita River in central Arkansas. Surrounded by the Ouachita Mountains and National Forest, it's crystal waters span over 40,000 acres and extend for 30 miles, making it the largest lake completely in the state of Arkansas.

Nearby Attractions

Head to Hot Springs National Park and discover how it earned the nickname, "The American Spa." Or take a scenic drive through the 1.8 million-acres of Ouachita National Forest. Here, off-roading enthusiasts can take on the Wolf Pen Gap Off-Highway Vehicle Trail System. Contact Info This location is unstaffed. To speak with our main office for general information, please call: (501) 767-2101.

What the agency tells you

Rule

No off-road vehicles allowed in park

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Protect your forests from tree-killing pests by buying your firewood locally and burning it on-site. Visit Dontmovefirewood.org for further information.

Rule

Check-Out time is 4pm and Check-In time is 6pm

Everything else this campground posts · 1
Rule

Camper Self-Check In Cards are located at the entrance of the campground. Please grab a card apon entry, fill it out and attach it to your campsite post. A ranger will verify the information written on the card later and check you in.

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
77 · 14 tent-only
Hookups
61 electric, 63 water
Longest rig
20 ft
Paved pads
63 of 77
Accessible sites
None listed
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Showers
Yes, the record doesn’t say what kind
“Other amenities include a dump station, fish cleaning station, hot showers, playground and a boat ramp.”
Dump station
Yes
recreation.gov lists “Dump Station”
Boat ramp
Yes
Playground
Yes
Stay limit
14 nights
recreation.gov facility rule maxStay
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026
Water, toilets and showers: read from the agency description, shown above · Sep 12, 2026

Around the campground

On the water
Hot springs, Lake, River
Biking
Boating
Canoeing
Fishing
Hiking
Kayaking
Mountain biking
Night sky · 65th darkest of 158 in AR
Bortle 4
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026

Something open on 30 of the next 30 bookable nightsread 15:06 UTC

recreation.gov lists 75 of the 77 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.

OpenBooked

Booking window6 months outBookable now through April 17, 2027. Tomorrow at 10 AM ET, availability opens through April 18, 2027.recreation.gov
Max stay14 nights2-night minimum on weekendsthe facility record
A night$14–$30plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$36–$68DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Army Corps of EngineersBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Full? Watch it.

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Sat, May 1 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 17

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Army Corps of Engineers
A night, per site$14–$30
Tent Only Nonelectric$14
Tent Only Nonelectric w/ Water$16
Standard Electric$24
Electricity, Water, Sewer Hookup$30
Group area, a night$50
The agency has already scheduled a change from Jan 1, 2027: $16 to $35 a night.
Rates for the season the campground is in now, Oct 1, 2026 to Dec 31, 2026.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$22–$38
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$36–$68

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $14–$30 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5

recreation.gov availability, read 15:06 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Oct 1, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

78 records · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 75 mapped sites
58 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
29%of tent sites sit clear of electric or RV sites
Least roomLoop D 73 20 ftLoop D 74 20 ftLoop D 64 23 ft

All 78 records

77 of 78 records located
Tent only14RV / electric61Type not stated2
SleepsTakes aUp to

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 75 of the 78 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.

A01standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp145 ft138 ft$24–$30
A02standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp85 ft108 ft$24–$30
A03standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp85 ft115 ft$24–$30
A04standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp97 ft125 ft$24–$30
A05standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp109 ft71 ft$24–$30
A06standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp75 ft104 ft$24–$30
A07standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp59 ft122 ft$24–$30
A08standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp59 ft64 ft$24–$30
A09standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp58 ft98 ft$24–$30
A10standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp58 ft96 ft$24–$30
A11tent only nonelectric20 ft90 ft100 ft$14–$16
A12standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp75 ft177 ft$24–$30
A13standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp75 ft112 ft$24–$30
A14tent only nonelectric20 ft44 ft119 ft$14–$16
A15standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp44 ft164 ft$24–$30
A16tent only nonelectric20 ft91 ft76 ft$14–$16
APAV1day use20 ft20 amp
B17standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp93 ft117 ft$24–$30
B18standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp48 ft109 ft$24–$30
B19standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp48 ft85 ft$24–$30
B20standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp69 ft119 ft$24–$30
B21standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp69 ft159 ft$24–$30
B22tent only nonelectric20 ft80 ft161 ft$14–$16
B23tent only nonelectric20 ft80 ft128 ft$14–$16
B24standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp56 ft126 ft$24–$30
B25standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp51 ft110 ft$24–$30
B26standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp51 ft66 ft$24–$30
B27standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp52 ft89 ft$24–$30
B28tent only nonelectric20 ft52 ft56 ft$14–$16
B29standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp31 ft109 ft$24–$30
B30tent only nonelectric20 ft31 ft85 ft$14–$16
C31tent only nonelectric20 ft32 ft230 ft$14–$16
C32tent only nonelectric20 ft32 ft200 ft$14–$16
C33standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp44 ft159 ft$24–$30
C34standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp39 ft184 ft$24–$30
C35standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp39 ft148 ft$24–$30
C36standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp49 ft158 ft$24–$30
C37standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp69 ft129 ft$24–$30
C38standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp91 ft142 ft$24–$30
C39standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp87 ft83 ft$24–$30
C40standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp65 ft143 ft$24–$30
C41standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp58 ft101 ft$24–$30
C42standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp47 ft151 ft$24–$30
C43standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp47 ft155 ft$24–$30
C44tent only nonelectric20 ft64 ft98 ft$14–$16
C45tent only nonelectric20 ft64 ft121 ft$14–$16
C46tent only nonelectric20 ft67 ft126 ft$14–$16
D47standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp60 ft102 ft$24–$30
D48standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp60 ft137 ft$24–$30
D49standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp74 ft81 ft$24–$30
D50standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp58 ft135 ft$24–$30
D51standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp58 ft172 ft$24–$30
D52standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp71 ft206 ft$24–$30
D53standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp83 ft142 ft$24–$30
D54standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp71 ft216 ft$24–$30
D55standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp72 ft165 ft$24–$30
D56type not stated20 ft50/30/20 amp260 ft
D57standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp125 ft269 ft$24–$30
D58standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp85 ft177 ft$24–$30
D59standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp79 ft157 ft$24–$30
D60standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp38 ft198 ft$24–$30
D61standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp39 ft145 ft$24–$30
D62standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp38 ft183 ft$24–$30
D63standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp40 ft126 ft$24–$30
D64tent only nonelectric20 ft23 ft158 ft$14–$16
D65standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp23 ft147 ft$24–$30
D66standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp51 ft164 ft$24–$30
D67type not stated20 ft50/30/20 amp256 ft
D68standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp151 ft328 ft$24–$30
D69standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp50 ft325 ft$24–$30
D70standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp50 ft276 ft$24–$30
D71standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp42 ft220 ft$24–$30
D72standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp42 ft230 ft$24–$30
D73tent only nonelectric20 ft20 ft192 ft$14–$16
D74standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp20 ft173 ft$24–$30
D75standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp45 ft152 ft$24–$30
D76standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp36 ft187 ft$24–$30
D77standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp36 ft215 ft$24–$30

The agency files 1 more record here that isn’t a site for the night. It files it as day use. It’s in the table above, marked for what it is, and it isn’t counted as a site.

OpenStreetMap has no toilet mapped within 1 km of this campground, so no site here carries a toilet distance. That’s a gap in the map, not a finding about the campground.

25 of 78 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate34.56878, -93.46989
The phone870-867-4476
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

Getting there

From Hot Springs, Arkansas, take US 270 west approximately 24.5 miles to Tompkin Bend Road. Turn right and follow access road 2.4 miles north to park.

From Mount Ida, Arkansas, take US 270 east about 10.7 miles to Tompkins Bend Road. Turn left and follow access road 2.4 miles north to the park.

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Today67°Sunny
Tonight40°Clear
Sunday72°Sunny
Sunday Night42°Mostly Clear

NWS forecast for Crystal Springs, AR

Typical weather

Typical October night 49°F, day 75°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical January night 31°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

100°32°20°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: MOUNT IDA ASOS, AR (USW00053921), 6 miles away and 82 ft higher

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it

Roadless country, and what’s coming for it

Roadless
Bear Mountain1,910 acres · 8 mi · inventoried roadless area

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Who answers for this land

Bruce Westerman, official portrait

Tompkins Bend is in Arkansas’s 4th congressional district. Its representative, Bruce Westerman (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: recreation.gov is offering sites on 30 of the next 30 nights, which isn’t something a closed campground does.
Cell signal: the Army Corps’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.
Nearest place of any size: Crystal Springs, AR, 7.4 mi WNW (a census designated place). Straight line.