U.S. Army Corps of Engineers · AR

Crystal Springs (AR)

1Heads up1 fire 47 mi away
Wildfire
Nevada 311 fire · 47 mi away · 1 acres · updated Oct 16, 2026
Reservable, and full this SaturdayEvery one of the 64 sites on offer is taken this Saturday, and the record lists no site held back for a walk-up. read 15:03 UTC

We don’t think it should be. Every campground should hold some sites for whoever drives up.Tell your representative →

Right now
Taking bookingsSites offered on 30 of the next 30 nights read 15:03 UTC
A night
$14–$30Across the site types the agency prices
Sites
7364 on recreation.gov
20 ftLongest rig
600 ftElevation
215 ftWater · Lake Ouachita
10.3 miNW of Piney, AR
47%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 4 notices

In the agency’s own words

Crystal Springs Campground, perched on the shores of Lake Ouachita in Arkansas, is an ideal spot for families, friends and couples. Approximately 1.2 million people visit the lake each year to explore its crystal clear waters and scenic mountain landscape. Click here for the Lake Ouachita Virtual Tour. Keep reading

Recreation

Visitors enjoy fishing, water skiing, hiking and boating. Scuba diving is particularly popular because of the lake's high underwater visibility. Small and rare freshwater jellyfish (non-stinging) can be found, in addition to many types of fish, including the striped bass, lazily drifting between rocks. Bald eagles are a big attraction for bird watchers and photographers in winter months.

Facilities

The campground consists of 63 sites with electric and water hookups. There is also a reservable group campsite that includes electrical and water hookups. The two group picnic shelters have electricity. Other amenities include a dump station, fish cleaning station, hot showers, boat ramp, playground and a swim beach.

Natural Features

Lake Ouachita is nestled in the Ouachita Mountains just 10 miles west of Hot Springs National Park. The pool is fed by the cool waters of the Ouachita River and extends about 30 miles over 40,000 surface acres.

Nearby Attractions

Part of the scenic 223-mile Ouachita National Recreation Trail runs just north of the lake. Here, hikers and mountain bikers can explore an array of breathtaking views in the Ouachita Mountains. Contact Info This location is unstaffed. To speak with our main office for general information, please call: (501) 767-2101.

What the agency tells you

Rule

No off-road vehicles allowed in park

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Protect your forests from tree-killing pests by buying your firewood locally and burning it on-site. Visit Dontmovefirewood.org for further information.

Rule

Check-Out time is 4pm and Check-In time is 6pm

Everything else this campground posts · 1
Rule

Camper Self-Check In Cards are located at the entrance of the campground. Please grab a card apon entry, fill it out and attach it to your campsite post. A ranger will verify the information written on the card later and check you in.

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
73 · 4 tent-only, 1 group
Hookups
64 electric, 67 water, 1 sewer
Longest rig
20 ft
Paved pads
2 of 73
Accessible sites
2
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Flush Toilets
FLUSH TOILETS on 4 of 75 campsite records
Showers
Yes, the record doesn’t say what kind
SHOWERS on 4 of 75 campsite records
Drinking water
Yes
DRINKING WATER on 2 of 75 campsite records, WATER SPIGOT on 2 of 75 campsite records
Dump station
Yes
recreation.gov lists “Dump Station”
Boat ramp
Yes
Playground
Yes
Stay limit
14 nights
recreation.gov facility rule maxStay
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026
Water, toilets and showers: counted from this campground’s own campsite records, shown above · Sep 12, 2026

Around the campground

On the water
Hot springs, Lake, River, Beach
Boating
Swimming
Night sky · 93rd darkest of 158 in AR
Bortle 4
Cell signal · Cell signal · Army Corps says
Yes
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026
Cell signal: the Army Corps’s own per-site records, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise. · Sep 8, 2026

Full this Saturdayread 15:03 UTC

How full the weekend is nationally.

8 campgrounds have sites open within 30 miles, read 15:08 UTC. See them

OpenBooked

Every one of the 64 sites on offer is taken this Saturday. 17 are free on Wed, Oct 21. read 15:03 UTC Why the weekend fills and the week doesn’t

Booking window6 months outBookable now through April 17, 2027. Tomorrow at 10 AM ET, availability opens through April 18, 2027.recreation.gov
Max stay14 nights2-night minimum on weekendsthe facility record
A night$14–$30plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$36–$68DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Army Corps of EngineersBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Watch this campground

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Sat, May 1 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Where there’s room this weekendBook on recreation.gov ↗

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 18

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Army Corps of Engineers
A night, per site$14–$30
Tent Only Nonelectric$14
Tent Only Electric/Water$18
Group D - Single Site Rental$24
Standard Electric$24
Electricity, Water, Sewer Hookup$30
Group areas, a night$50–$80
The agency has already scheduled a change from Jan 1, 2027: $16 to $35 a night.
Rates for the season the campground is in now, Oct 1, 2026 to Dec 31, 2026.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$22–$38
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$36–$68

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $14–$30 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5
Open within 30 miles this weekend · 8

Sites the agency is offering this Friday and Saturday that nobody has taken, nearest first; the nearest 5 of 8. read 15:08 UTC

recreation.gov availability, read 15:03 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Oct 1, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

75 records · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 64 mapped sites
44 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least roomLoop A 08 15 ftLoop A 09 15 ftLoop A 16 24 ft

All 75 records

75 of 75 records located
Tent only4RV / electric59Group1Type not stated9Day use2
SleepsTakes aUp to

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 64 of the 75 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.

A01tent only electric30/20 amp34 ft96 ft$18
A02tent only electric30/20 amp34 ft89 ft$18
A03standard electric2 ft50/30/20 amp59 ft125 ft$24–$30
A04standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp27 ft142 ft$24–$30
A05standard electric50/30/20 amp27 ft128 ft$24–$30
A06standard electric50/30/20 amp64 ft102 ft$24–$30
A07standard electric50/30/20 amp43 ft74 ft$24–$30
A08standard electric50/30/20 amp15 ft104 ft$24–$30
A09standard electric50/30/20 amp15 ft90 ft$24–$30
A10standard electric50/30/20 amp46 ft118 ft$24–$30
A11standard electric50/30/20 amp46 ft101 ft$24–$30
A12standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp50 ft109 ft$24–$30
A13tent only electric30/20 amp72 ft42 ft$18
A14standard electric50/30/20 amp72 ft52 ft$24–$30
A15standard electric50/30/20 amp71 ft49 ft$24–$30
A16standard electric50/30/20 amp24 ft76 ft$24–$30
A17standard electric50/30/20 amp24 ft83 ft$24–$30
A18tent only electric16 ft30/20 amp62 ft125 ft$18
A19standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp62 ft141 ft$24–$30
A20standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp26 ft162 ft$24–$30
A21standard electric50/30/20 amp26 ft173 ft$24–$30
A22standard electric20 ft50/30/20 ampyes135 ft219 ft$24–$30
B23standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp99 ft82 ft$24–$30
B24standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp50 ft94 ft$24–$30
B25standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp57 ft66 ft$24–$30
B26standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp57 ft38 ft$24–$30
B27standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp42 ft44 ft$24–$30
B28standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp42 ft63 ft$24–$30
B29standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp50 ft93 ft$24–$30
B30standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp64 ft58 ft$24–$30
B31standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp27 ft44 ft$24–$30
B32standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp27 ft48 ft$24–$30
B33standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp36 ft54 ft$24–$30
B34standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp36 ft90 ft$24–$30
B35standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp35 ft113 ft$24–$30
B36standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp35 ft122 ft$24–$30
B37standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp70 ft128 ft$24–$30
C38standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp60 ft33 ft$24–$30
C39standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp49 ft82 ft$24–$30
C40standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp44 ft33 ft$24–$30
C41standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp44 ft39 ft$24–$30
C42standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp30 ft35 ft$24–$30
C43standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp29 ft25 ft$24–$30
C44standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp30 ft57 ft$24–$30
C45standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp29 ft18 ft$24–$30
C46standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp44 ft43 ft$24–$30
C47standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp68 ft35 ft$24–$30
C48standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp68 ft19 ft$24–$30
C49standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp31 ft67 ft$24–$30
C50standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp31 ft78 ft$24–$30
C51standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp45 ft34 ft$24–$30
C52standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp37 ft20 ft$24–$30
C53standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp37 ft52 ft$24–$30
C54standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp39 ft70 ft$24–$30
C55standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp39 ft49 ft$24–$30
C56standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp55 ft74 ft$24–$30
C57standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp60 ft54 ft$24–$30
C58standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp60 ft102 ft$24–$30
C59standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp72 ft91 ft$24–$30
C66type not stated20 ft44 ft
C67type not stated20 ftunder 10 ft
C68type not stated20 ft55 ft
C69standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp72 ft114 ft$24–$30
C70standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp72 ft171 ft$24–$30
C71standard electric20 ft50/30/20 amp57 ft213 ft$24–$30
C72standard electric20 ft50 amp57 ft170 ft$24–$30
C73type not stated20 ft50/30/20 ampyes93 ft
C74type not stated20 ft50/30/20 amp68 ft
DD-1type not stated20 ft50 amp20 ft
DD-2type not stated20 ft50 amp56 ft
DD-3type not stated20 ft50 amp89 ft
DD-4type not stated20 ft50 amp82 ft
DD-GROUPgroup standard electric20 ft50/50/30/20 amp247 ft56 ft$80
DUSEPAV 1day use20 ft20 ampyes166 ft
DUSEPAV 2day use20 ft15 ampyes236 ft

The agency files 2 more records here that aren’t sites for the night. It files them as day use. They’re in the table above, marked for what they are, and none of them is counted as a site.

25 of 75 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate34.54251, -93.35437
The phone501-991-3390
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

Getting there

From Hot Springs, Arkansas, take US 270 west about 15.4 miles to North Crystal Springs Road. Turn right and follow access road three miles north to the park.

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

This Afternoon65°Sunny
Tonight44°Clear
Sunday70°Sunny
Sunday Night46°Mostly Clear

NWS forecast for Crystal Springs, AR

Typical weather

Typical October night 48°F, day 73°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical January night 29°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

100°32°20°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Augusts are colder than the August line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: BLAKELY MTN DAM, AR (USC00030764), 9 miles away and 174 ft lower

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it · a letter you can send

Roadless country, and what’s coming for it

Roadless
Bear Mountain1,910 acres · 2 mi · inventoried roadless area

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Who answers for this land

Bruce Westerman, official portrait

Crystal Springs (AR) is in Arkansas’s 4th congressional district. Its representative, Bruce Westerman (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

Who can change it · 3
Write to somebody who can change it

Two offices, two different asks. The draft to the agency asks it to set aside a published share of the sites here for whoever drives up. The draft to Congress asks why that share is zero and presses for a published minimum at the campgrounds it funds.

Read the draft, or change the wording

For the camper who turned up, or tried to book, and couldn’t get in. Every draft is written from this campground’s own record (its agency, its unit, its site count and its own weekend) and the buttons above copy whichever wording is selected here.

To Bruce Westerman

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Crystal Springs (AR), Arkansas

Dear Bruce Westerman,

I’m a constituent in Arkansas’s 4th district. I tried to camp at Crystal Springs (AR), Arkansas, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 64 of the 73 campsites the agency files at Crystal Springs (AR), and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 64 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Crystal Springs (AR) keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Crystal Springs (AR). I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Crystal Springs (AR) (Arkansas) via campanac.com
To John Boozman

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Crystal Springs (AR), Arkansas

Dear John Boozman,

I’m a constituent in Arkansas. I tried to camp at Crystal Springs (AR), Arkansas, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 64 of the 73 campsites the agency files at Crystal Springs (AR), and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 64 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Crystal Springs (AR) keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Crystal Springs (AR). I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Crystal Springs (AR) (Arkansas) via campanac.com
To Tom Cotton

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Crystal Springs (AR), Arkansas

Dear Tom Cotton,

I’m a constituent in Arkansas. I tried to camp at Crystal Springs (AR), Arkansas, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 64 of the 73 campsites the agency files at Crystal Springs (AR), and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 64 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Crystal Springs (AR) keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Crystal Springs (AR). I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Crystal Springs (AR) (Arkansas) via campanac.com
How we know this · 4
The figures in these drafts: Navy Ford (CVN-78) Class Aircraft Carrier Program: Background and Issues for Congress (CRS Report RS20643) · Updated December 4, 2025 · “The ship’s final procurement cost was $13,316.5 million (i.e., about $13.3 billion) in then-year dollars.”
The figures in these drafts: Salary Table 2026-GS, Incorporating the 1% General Schedule Increase, Effective January 2026 (U.S. Office of Personnel Management) · Effective January 2026 · “Grade 5, Step 1: $34,799 (annual rate, before locality pay).”
The figures in these drafts: Update to Civilian Position Full Fringe Benefit Cost Factor, Federal Pay Raise Assumptions, and Inflation Factors used in OMB Circular No. A-76 (OMB Memorandum M-08-13) · March 11, 2008 · “the civilian position full fringe benefit cost factor needs to be adjusted downward, from 36.45 percent to 36.25 percent”

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: recreation.gov is offering sites on 30 of the next 30 nights, which isn’t something a closed campground does.
Cell signal: the Army Corps’s own per-site records, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise. · Sep 8, 2026

“the agency's own site records list "CELL PHONE SERVICE" on 2 of 75 campsites here”

Nearest place of any size: Crystal Springs, AR, 0.6 mi NW (a census designated place). Straight line.