Diamond
We don’t think it should be. Every campground should hold some sites for whoever drives up.Tell your representative →
- Right now
- Taking bookingsSites offered on 6 of the next 15 nights read 16:27 UTC
- A night
- $27.45–$54.91Across the site types the agency prices
- Sites
- 7267 on recreation.gov
The place
the agency’s own description · what’s there · 14 notices
In the agency’s own words
Diamond Campground is located among shady cottonwoods and willow at an elevation of 5,200 feet. The family sites are located just 15 miles from Spanish Fork and the group sites are 2-3 miles further. Visitors enjoy exploring local trails and relaxing along the stream. Keep reading
Recreation
The stream and creek offer fishing for brown and cutthroat trout. An interpretive nature trail winds through the campground along the stream. Hiking, biking and off-road vehicle trails are abundant in the area.
Facilities
This large campground offers group sites, single and double-family sites and walk-to tent sites. Vault toilets and drinking water are provided. Picnic tables, fire rings, utility tables and cement site pads are provided at each site; some sites on less-shady Loop B have picnic shelters. Group sites have picnic shelters, tables, campfire rings, grills, water spigots and large parking areas. Sites 1A and B are about 2 miles beyond the family campground and sites 3-6 are a mile beyond that.
Natural Features
Diamond Fork Stream and Wanrhodes Creek run through the site. Loop A has nice cover from cottonwoods and is more shady; Loop B is more open with few trees but plentiful grasses and sagebrush.
Nearby Attractions
Diamond Fork Canyon has an array of things to do and see. Red Ledges Picnic Area is located less than a mile from the campground, with beautiful red rock formations like Diamond Fork Arch. Fifth Water Hot Springs is a popular attraction. A 2.5-mile trail rewards hikers with scenic views and several hot springs pools of varying temperatures. Monks Hollow Trail for hiking, biking and off-road vehicle riding, begins 5 miles from the campground. Contact Info For facility specific information, please call (385) 273-1100.
Charges & Cancellations
Change and Cancellation Policies and Fees Overnight and Day Use Facilities: To ensure fairness, reservation arrival or departure dates may not be changed beyond the booking window until 18 days after booking the reservation. Camping / Day Use: A $10.00 service fee will apply if you change or cancel your reservation (including campsites, cabins, lookouts, group facilities, etc.). The $10.00 service fee will be deducted from the refund amount. You can cancel or change reservations through Recreation.gov or by calling 1-877-444-6777. Late Cancellations Overnight and Day Use Facilities: Late cancellations are those cancelled between 12:01 a.m. (Eastern) on the day before arrival and check out time on the day after arrival. Individual Campsites: If a customer cancels a reservation the day before or on the day of arrival they will be charged a $10.00 service fee and will also forfeit the first night's use fee (not to exceed the total paid for the original reservation). Cancellations for a single night's reservation will forfeit the entire use fee but no cancellation fee will apply. Cabins / Lookouts: Customers will be charged a $10.00 cancellation fee and forfeit the first night's use fee if a cabin or lookout reservation is cancelled within 14 days of the scheduled arrival date. Cancellations for a single night's use will not be assessed a service fee. Group Facility: If a customer cancels a group overnight facility reservation within 14 days of the scheduled arrival date they will be charged the $10.00 service fee and forfeit the first night's use fee. Cancellations for a single night's use will not be assessed a service fee. Group Day Use Area: If a customer cancels a group day use facility reservation within 14 days of the scheduled arrival date, they will forfeit the total day use fee with no service fee charge. No-Shows Camping / Day Use: A camping no-show customer is one who does not arrive at a campground and does not cancel the reservation by check-out time on the day after the scheduled arrival date. Reserved campsites and group overnight facilities will be held until check-out time on the day following your scheduled arrival. Group day-use facilities will be held until check-in time on your scheduled arrival date. If a customer does not arrive at the campground or group facility by check-out time the day after arrival or does not cancel the reservation by the times listed under "Late Cancellations" above, the customer may be assessed a $20.00 service fee and forfeit use fees. Refunds Customers must request refunds no later than 14 days after the scheduled departure date. Recreation.gov will not grant refund requests after 14 days of departure. Reservation Fee: For some facilities, tours or permits an additional reservation fee is charged. For some overnight and day-use facilities, an additional non-refundable reservation fee may apply. The non-refundable reservation fee for tours and tickets is $1.00. The non-refundable reservation fee for permits varies by location. Refunds for Bankcard Purchases: Refunds for bank card payments will be issued as a credit to the original bank card. Refunds for Check or Cash Purchases: Refunds for Recreation.gov payments made by check or money order, and cash payments at selected campgrounds will be issued a check refund. A refund will be processed within 30 days of receipt and approval. Please Note: Refund requests made during or after departure can only be processed when approved by the facility management staff based upon local policy. Refunds for Emergency Closures: In the event of an emergency closure, the Recreation.gov team will attempt to notify users and offer alternate dates (as appropriate). If this is not possible, reservations will be cancelled and all fees paid will be refunded. Reservation fees for free tickets are non-refundable in the event of an emergency closure. Recreation.gov Billing Information Reservation transaction will appear on customer's credit card statements as "Recreation.gov 877-444-6777." Changes to Policies and Procedures Recreation.gov reserves the right, when necessary, to modify reservation policies. These policies were last updated July 2018.
What the agency tells you
This Campground is in Bear Country Always store food and trash securely to avoid attracting wildlife -Failure to comply may result in fines up to $5,000, removal from your campsite and/or imprisonment Remember, a fed bear is a dead bear; your actions can save lives
This is a 'pack it in, pack it out' facility; bring trash bags
Dogs or Domestic Pets Owners must -Control the dog by a leash not to exceed six feet (6’) at all times -Clean up dog feces immediately -Limit two dogs per campsite Do not allow dogs to -Tthreaten or attack people/animals -Interfere with people, vehicles, or property -Cause damage to vegetation or harass wildlife
Everything else this campground posts · 11
Campground Etiquette and Rules Gates open at 7am, close at 10pm Quiet Hours are 10pm-6am No generators after 10pm Camping is allowed only within the designated space provided. Do not go beyond the boundaries of your site Max occupancy is 8 people per single site Reserved campsites will be held until 12pm on the day following your scheduled arrival date Horses/Off-road vehicles are prohibited in the campground Leave No Trace -Put all trash in dumpsters, if provided, or properly stored in your vehicle or bear box -Remove all personal property and trash when leaving -Unclean campsites will be reported to the District Ranger LEO -Leaving food/trash in an unoccupied campsite may result in a $5,000 fine Cleaning fish, animals, or bathing where drinking water is supplied is strictly prohibited Fireworks or other explosives are prohibited. Discharging of a firearm in the campground is not allowed No fighting or boisterous behavior. Be courteous to your fellow visitor. Keep noise at a reasonable level No amplified music is allowed in USDA Forest Service campgrounds and facilities. People come to the campgrounds for peace and quiet Max Vehicle Length includes tow vehicle
There is a 2-night minimum stay on weekends; 3-night minimum stay on holiday weekends
Trailers/Campers and RVs: Come with water tank filled. Hooking up to spigots or the power in the restrooms, even for medical devices is strictly prohibited
First Come First Served (FF) sites For reservable sites, reservations must be made at least 5 days in advance You must claim a FF site in person on the day you wish to check-in A site listed as FF does not guarantee availability, Recreation.gov does not update FF occupancy The only way to know if an FF site is available is to arrive at the campground on the day you plan to check-in Availability cannot be predicted Many sites are in remote locations, we cannot contact hosts about availability Recommended arrival times vary by day. Weekends and holidays typically fill more quickly To claim an FF site, you must be physically present, occupy the site, and pay at that time There is no waiting list for FF sites
Extra Vehicle -$10 per vehicle, per day (paid on-site cash/check) Firewood -$9
If you booked at a discount without a Senior or Access pass, you'll need to pay the difference in cash/check upon arrival. Only Senior or Access passes qualify for discounts and proof of ownership upon arrival is required
Please understand that camping is an outdoor experience; we do not give refunds for weather or natural conditions Cancellations within 24 hours prior to arrival date will forfeit the entire use fee. Group Site Cancellations within 14 days will forfeit entire use fee No-shows, early departures, or cancellations after the arrival date are not entitled to a refund Failure to arrive at the campsite by 12pm the day after scheduled arrival and does not cancel the reservation, will forfeit site and first-night use fee
For more information on visiting Bear Country visit wildawareutah.org wildlife.utah.gov For campground Rules and Regulations visit gocamputah.com/rules
Click here for more info about the Uinta-Wasatch-Cache National Forest -For more information, please call Spanish Fork Ranger District at 801-798-3571 or Utah Recreation at 385-273-1100 -Visit our website gocamputah.com or Facebook facebook.com/letsgocamputah To reserve a campsite call Recreation.gov reservation line 1-877-444-6777
Don't Move Firewood: Help prevent the spread of tree-killing pests in our national forests by obtaining firewood within 10 miles of your destination and burning it on-site. For more information click here
Please note: Utah Recreation is not responsible for accident or injury to any person or property resulting from the use of this facility and is not responsible for the loss of money or valuables of any kind. The user of this permit assumes full and complete responsibility for the conduct and actions of all members in their party
Tents and rigs
- Sites
- 72 · 1 tent-only, 5 walk-in, 7 group
- Hookups
- None
- Longest rig
- 70 ft
- Paved pads
- All
- Accessible sites
- 5
- Pets
- Allowed
- Campfires
- Allowed, barring fire bans
- Shade
- 26 of 30 sites
Facilities
- Toilets
- Vault Toilets
- “…sites and walk-to tent sites. Vault toilets and drinking water are provided. Picnic tables,…”
- Drinking water
- Yes
- “…walk-to tent sites. Vault toilets and drinking water are provided. Picnic tables, fire rings, utility…”
- Camp host
- On site
- recreation.gov lists “Host”
Around the campground
- On the water
- Hot springs, Creek
- Biking
- Fishing
- Hiking
- Picnicking
- Night sky · 427th darkest of 458 in UT
- Bortle 4
- Fall color · reported 11 days ago, 17 km away
- Past peak
Full this Saturdayread 16:27 UTC
How full the weekend is nationally.
OpenBookedClosedNot reservable
Every one of the 11 sites on offer is taken this Saturday, and on two midweek nights after it as well. read 16:27 UTC Why the weekend fills and the week doesn’t
Watch for a cancellation
Watch this campground
One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.
We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.
Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.
Tell me when the season opens
Watch for the season to open
One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.
We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.
Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.
We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.
Every line of the receipt · 16
What you actually pay
“Cash, Check, or Scan & Pay (with recreation.gov app) 41 single sites - $31.00 , capacity - 8 people + 1 vehicle 19 double sites - $62.00 , capacity - 16 people + 2 vehicle 2 group sites (1A & 1B) - $90.00 , capacity -…” · the U.S. Forest Service’s own fee record
Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $27.45–$54.91 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.
“Change and Cancellation Policies and Fees - Overnight and Day Use Facilities: To ensure fairness, reservation arrival or departure dates may not be changed beyond the booking window until 18 days after booking the reservation. - Camping / Day Use: A $10.00 service fee will apply if you change or cancel your reservat…” · this campground’s own no-show terms
Who keeps the booking fee
The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →
How we know this receipt · 7
recreation.gov availability, read 16:27 UTC · rules read Oct 1, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this
The sites
73 records · which ones have room · the site map
The sites, ranked
from 67 mapped sitesAll 73 records
Toilet distances are OpenStreetMap’s, measured for 68 of the 73 sites listed. A site with no reading is unknown, never far.
The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 70 of the 73 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.
Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.
| A | A001 | standard nonelectric | 40 ft | 125 ft | 116 ftDiamond Fork | 427 ft | $27.45–$54.91 | |
| A | A002 HOST | host pad | 60 ft | 278 ftDiamond Fork | 393 ft | $27.45–$312.61 | ||
| A | A003 | standard nonelectric | 30 ft | 119 ft | 233 ftDiamond Fork | 322 ft | $27.45–$54.91 | |
| A | A004 | standard nonelectric | 50 ft | 119 ft | 341 ftDiamond Fork | 220 ft | $27.45–$54.91 | |
| A | A005 | standard nonelectric | 50 ft | 82 ft | 347 ftDiamond Fork | 355 ft | $27.45–$54.91 | |
| A | A006 | standard nonelectric | 50 ft | 82 ft | 376 ft | 315 ft | $27.45–$54.91 | |
| A | A007 | standard nonelectric | 58 ft | 63 ft | 373 ftDiamond Fork | 103 ft | $27.45–$54.91 | |
| A | A008 | standard nonelectric | 58 ft | 63 ft | 344 ftDiamond Fork | 100 ft | $27.45–$54.91 | |
| A | A009 | standard nonelectric | 60 ft | 71 ft | 394 ftDiamond Fork | 183 ft | $27.45–$54.91 | |
| A | A010 | standard nonelectric | 60 ft | 74 ft | 305 ftDiamond Fork | 144 ft | $27.45–$54.91 | |
| A | A011 | standard nonelectric | 54 ft | 71 ft | 325 ftDiamond Fork | 226 ft | $27.45–$54.91 | |
| A | A012 | standard nonelectric | 65 ft | 105 ft | 212 ftDiamond Fork | 248 ft | $27.45–$54.91 | |
| A | A013 | standard nonelectric | 49 ft | 60 ft | 320 ftDiamond Fork | 121 ft | $27.45–$54.91 | |
| A | A014 | standard nonelectric | 52 ft | 74 ft | 342 ftDiamond Fork | 186 ft | $27.45–$54.91 | |
| A | A015 | standard nonelectric | 50 ft | 74 ft | 344 ftDiamond Fork | 240 ft | $27.45–$54.91 | |
| A | A016 | standard nonelectric | 50 ft | 103 ft | 316 ftDiamond Fork | 190 ft | $27.45–$54.91 | |
| A | A017 | rv nonelectric | 12 ft | 115 ft | 422 ftDiamond Fork | 153 ft | $27.45 | |
| A | A018 | standard nonelectric | 45 ft | 88 ft | 265 ftDiamond Fork | 143 ft | $27.45–$54.91 | |
| A | A019 | standard nonelectric | 40 ft | 118 ft | 209 ftDiamond Fork | 190 ft | $27.45–$54.91 | |
| A | A020 | standard nonelectric | 40 ft | 88 ft | 178 ftDiamond Fork | 227 ft | $27.45–$54.91 | |
| A | A021 | standard nonelectric | 40 ft | 119 ft | 224 ftDiamond Fork | 337 ft | $27.45–$54.91 | |
| A | A022 | standard nonelectric | 40 ft | 69 ft | 229 ftDiamond Fork | 286 ft | $27.45–$54.91 | |
| A | A023 | standard nonelectric | 60 ft | 67 ft | 204 ftDiamond Fork | 261 ft | $27.45–$54.91 | |
| A | A024 | standard nonelectric | 45 ft | 67 ft | 210 ftDiamond Fork | 224 ft | $27.45–$54.91 | |
| A | A025 | standard nonelectric | 51 ft | 60 ft | 286 ftDiamond Fork | 135 ft | $27.45–$54.91 | |
| A | A026 | standard nonelectric | 45 ft | 99 ft | 247 ftDiamond Fork | 191 ft | $27.45–$54.91 | |
| B | B027 | standard nonelectric | 18 ft | 84 ft | 74 ftDiamond Fork | 187 ft | $27.45–$54.91 | |
| B | B028 | standard nonelectric | 18 ft | 84 ft | 145 ftDiamond Fork | 259 ft | $27.45–$54.91 | |
| B | B029 | walk to | 18 ft | 58 ft | 178 ftDiamond Fork | 186 ft | $54.91 | |
| B | B030 | standard nonelectric | 46 ft | 58 ft | 228 ftDiamond Fork | 200 ft | $27.45–$54.91 | |
| B | B031 | standard nonelectric | 50 ft | 49 ft | 414 ftDiamond Fork | 290 ft | $27.45–$54.91 | |
| B | B032 | standard nonelectric | 51 ft | 49 ft | 391 ftDiamond Fork | 325 ft | $27.45–$54.91 | |
| B | B033 | standard nonelectric | 50 ft | 101 ft | 304 ftDiamond Fork | 376 ft | $27.45–$54.91 | |
| B | B034 | standard nonelectric | 60 ft | 104 ft | 259 ftDiamond Fork | 482 ft | $27.45–$54.91 | |
| B | B035 | standard nonelectric | 54 ft | 104 ft | 155 ftDiamond Fork | 537 ft | $27.45–$54.91 | |
| B | B036 | standard nonelectric | 51 ft | 106 ft | 203 ftDiamond Fork | 373 ft | $27.45–$54.91 | |
| B | B037 | standard nonelectric | 52 ft | 127 ft | 203 ftDiamond Fork | 233 ft | $27.45–$54.91 | |
| B | B038 | standard nonelectric | 40 ft | 127 ft | 251 ftDiamond Fork | 133 ft | $27.45–$54.91 | |
| B | B039 | standard nonelectric | 59 ft | 89 ft | 436 ftDiamond Fork | 476 ft | $27.45–$54.91 | |
| B | B040 | standard nonelectric | 60 ft | 131 ft | 301 ftDiamond Fork | 418 ft | $27.45–$54.91 | |
| B | B041 | standard nonelectric | 60 ft | 89 ft | 447 ftDiamond Fork | 390 ft | $27.45–$54.91 | |
| B | B042 | standard nonelectric | 45 ft | 130 ft | 379 ftDiamond Fork | 273 ft | $27.45–$54.91 | |
| B | B043 | standard nonelectric | 60 ft | 99 ft | 497 ftDiamond Fork | 300 ft | $27.45–$54.91 | |
| B | B044 | standard nonelectric | 58 ft | 99 ft | 489 ftDiamond Fork | 220 ft | $27.45–$54.91 | |
| B | B045 | standard nonelectric | 58 ft | 137 ft | 352 ftDiamond Fork | 135 ft | $27.45–$54.91 | |
| B | B046 | standard nonelectric | 50 ft | 120 ft | 455 ftDiamond Fork | 130 ft | $27.45–$54.91 | |
| B | B047 | standard nonelectric | 60 ft | 105 ft | 288 ftDiamond Fork | 89 ft | $27.45–$54.91 | |
| B | B048 | standard nonelectric | 70 ft | 115 ft | 387 ftDiamond Fork | 196 ft | $27.45–$54.91 | |
| B | B049 | standard nonelectric | 59 ft | 105 ft | 272 ftDiamond Fork | 192 ft | $27.45–$54.91 | |
| B | B050 | standard nonelectric | 65 ft | 93 ft | 264 ftDiamond Fork | 303 ft | $27.45–$54.91 | |
| B | B051 | standard nonelectric | 56 ft | 115 ft | 377 ftDiamond Fork | 348 ft | $27.45–$54.91 | |
| B | B052 | standard nonelectric | 54 ft | 76 ft | 266 ftDiamond Fork | 283 ft | $27.45–$54.91 | |
| B | B053 | standard nonelectric | 60 ft | 144 ft | 399 ftDiamond Fork | 281 ft | $27.45–$54.91 | |
| B | B054 | standard nonelectric | 41 ft | 144 ft | 387 ftDiamond Fork | 225 ft | $27.45–$54.91 | |
| B | B055 | standard nonelectric | 50 ft | 228 ft | 172 ftDiamond Fork | 213 ft | $27.45–$54.91 | |
| B | B056 | standard nonelectric | 50 ft | 152 ft | 269 ftDiamond Fork | 88 ft | $27.45–$54.91 | |
| B | B057 | standard nonelectric | 50 ft | 76 ft | 221 ftDiamond Fork | 213 ft | $27.45–$54.91 | |
| B | B058 | walk to | 20 ft | 57 ft | 124 ftDiamond Fork | 259 ft | $54.91 | |
| B | B059 | walk to | 20 ft | 57 ft | 110 ftDiamond Fork | 281 ft | $54.91 | |
| B | B060 | walk to | 20 ft | 75 ft | 115 ftDiamond Fork | 356 ft | $54.91 | |
| B | B061 | walk to | 20 ft | 389 ft | 186 ftDiamond Fork | 140 ft | $54.91 | |
| DIAMOND FORK | GRP 1A | group standard area nonelectric | 30 ft | yes | 112 ft | 89 ftDiamond Fork | 193 ft | $79.70 |
| DIAMOND FORK | GRP 1B | group standard area nonelectric | 30 ft | yes | 112 ft | 200 ftDiamond Fork | 111 ft | $79.70 |
| DIAMOND FORK | GRP 2 | group tent only area nonelectric | yes | 835 ft | 241 ftDiamond Fork | 102 ft | ||
| DIAMOND FORK | GRP 3 | group rv area nonelectric | 30 ft | 835 ft | 196 ftDiamond Fork | 117 ft | $178–$312.61 | |
| DIAMOND FORK | GRP 4 | group standard nonelectric | 30 ft | 311 ft | 78 ftDiamond Fork | 249 ft | ||
| DIAMOND FORK | GRP 5 | group rv area nonelectric | 30 ft | 311 ft | 107 ftDiamond Fork | 177 ft | $178–$312.61 | |
| DIAMOND FORK | GRP 6 | group rv area nonelectric | 30 ft | 631 ft | 95 ftDiamond Fork | 197 ft | $178–$312.61 | |
| S&P | Double | type not stated | 40 ft | $27.45–$312.61 | ||||
| S&P | Group Standard | type not stated | 30 ft | yes | $27.45–$312.61 | |||
| S&P | Group Tent 75 | type not stated | yes | $27.45–$312.61 | ||||
| S&P | Large RV Group | type not stated | 30 ft | $27.45–$312.61 | ||||
| S&P | Single | type not stated | 30 ft | $27.45–$312.61 |
The agency files 1 more record here that isn’t a site for the night. It names it a host pad. It’s in the table above, marked for what it is, and it isn’t counted as a site.
25 of 73 listed
Getting there
the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Where it is
WhitingUinta National Forest · 6.6 mi
CherryUinta National Forest · 7.1 mi
Balsam (Uinta-Wasatch-Cache National Forest, UT)Uinta National Forest · 8.8 miBalsam CampgroundUinta National Forest · 8.9 mi
Payson Lakes Guard StationUinta National Forest · 15 mi
Payson LakesUinta National Forest · 15 miFrom I-15, take exit 258 and turn east toward Spanish Fork Canyon. Continue up Spanish Fork Canyon for about 9 miles to Forest Road 029/Diamond Fork Canyon. Turn left into Diamond Fork Canyon and travel 6 miles northeast to campground.
The weather
the next four days · the thirty-year normal
Next four days, and the thirty-year normal
Forecast
NWS forecast for Mapleton, UT
Typical weather
Typical October night 41°F, day 67°F.
Coldest month of the year: typical January night 22°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.
Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more
A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.
The land, and who answers for it
what threatens it · who answers for it · a letter you can send
Roadless country, and what’s coming for it
You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.
Who answers for this land

Diamond is in Utah’s 4th congressional district. Its representative, Burgess Owens (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →
Who can change it · 3
Two offices, two different asks. The draft to the agency asks it to set aside a published share of the sites here for whoever drives up. The draft to Congress asks why that share is zero and presses for a published minimum at the campgrounds it funds.
- The member who votes the moneyBurgess OwensU.S. Representative · Utah’s 4th district
No contact form we could verify, so that link is their own site. Contact is inside it. Washington office: 202-225-3011.
- Your senator, on the same appropriationJohn R. CurtisU.S. Senator · Utah
- Your senator, on the same appropriationMike LeeU.S. Senator · Utah
Read the draft, or change the wording
For the camper who turned up, or tried to book, and couldn’t get in. Every draft is written from this campground’s own record (its agency, its unit, its site count and its own weekend) and the buttons above copy whichever wording is selected here.
Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.
Subject Walk-up camping at Diamond, Uinta National Forest, Utah
Dear Burgess Owens, I’m a constituent in Utah’s 4th district. I tried to camp at Diamond, Uinta National Forest, Utah, and couldn’t. recreation.gov lists 67 of the 72 campsites the agency files at Diamond, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 11 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked. 1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Diamond keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule. I’m not asking you to run Diamond. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund. The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them. Sent about Diamond (Uinta National Forest, Utah) via campanac.com
Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.
Subject Walk-up camping at Diamond, Uinta National Forest, Utah
Dear John R. Curtis, I’m a constituent in Utah. I tried to camp at Diamond, Uinta National Forest, Utah, and couldn’t. recreation.gov lists 67 of the 72 campsites the agency files at Diamond, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 11 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked. 1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Diamond keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule. I’m not asking you to run Diamond. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund. The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them. Sent about Diamond (Uinta National Forest, Utah) via campanac.com
Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.
Subject Walk-up camping at Diamond, Uinta National Forest, Utah
Dear Mike Lee, I’m a constituent in Utah. I tried to camp at Diamond, Uinta National Forest, Utah, and couldn’t. recreation.gov lists 67 of the 72 campsites the agency files at Diamond, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 11 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked. 1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Diamond keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule. I’m not asking you to run Diamond. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund. The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them. Sent about Diamond (Uinta National Forest, Utah) via campanac.com