Dogwood
5Heads up5 fires, nearest 9 mi
We don’t think it should be. Every campground should hold some sites for whoever drives up.Tell your representative →
- Right now
- Taking bookingsSites offered on 9 of the next 30 nights read 15:47 UTC
- A night
- $40–$79Across the site types the agency prices
- Sites
- 9188 on recreation.gov
The place
the agency’s own description · what’s there · 8 notices
In the agency’s own words
Dogwood Campground is a family-friendly facility located in the heart of the San Bernardino National Forest. All sites must be reserved to enjoy the area's scenic surroundings and plentiful recreational opportunities. Keep reading
Recreation
Ample opportunities for short, day hikes exist in the surrounding area. Within the campground, the Dogwood Trail and Enchanted Loop Trail both provide scenic views and are less than a mile in length.
Facilities
The campground offers dozens of single-family campsites, available mostly for tent camping. Some sites are equipped with electric hookups and can accommodate RV camping. The parking aprons are paved, but quite narrow. Each site is equipped with a table and campfire ring with grill. Firewood is available for purchase. Accessible flush toilets, accessible showers and drinking water are provided. An amphitheater is available and the host offers evening campfire programs on some weekend nights.
Natural Features
The campground is located about 20 miles northeast of San Bernardino in a dense forest of cedar, oak, pine and fir trees. The lush forest is home to a variety of wildlife and birds.
Nearby Attractions
The nearest community is Lake Arrowhead, which provides a variety of restaurants and quaint shops. It is just five minutes from the campground. Lake Gregory, which offers boating, fishing and a water slide park, is about 15 minutes away. Contact Info For facility specific information, please call (909) 866-8550.
Charges & Cancellations
Rules & Reservation Policies As you make travel plans that include reservations on Recreation.gov, there are standard policies that apply to most locations of which you should be aware. Do keep in mind, however, that there are many exceptions, so it is best to review reservation information listed on individual facility pages for those policies and procedures that pertain to your specific locations. Any location or activity requiring a permit or lottery will have unique requirements and policies. Please check individual facility pages for pertinent information for those sites. Booking Window For most locations, you can reserve six months in advance of your stay for individual sites and 12 months in advance for group sites. There are some exceptions, so it is best to check with each facility. Change and Cancellation Policies and Fees Overnight and Day Use Facilities: To ensure fairness, reservation arrival or departure dates may not be changed beyond the booking window until 18 days after booking the reservation. Camping / Day Use: A $10.00 service fee will apply if you change or cancel your reservation (including campsites, cabins, lookouts, group facilities, etc.). The $10.00 service fee will be deducted from the refund amount. You can cancel or change reservations through Recreation.gov or by calling 1-877-444-6777. Tours & Tickets: You may request changes to tour dates at no cost before the arrival date. If you cancel before your tour date, you may be eligible for a refund. Cancellation fees apply. Please check the tour facility description details page for cancellation policies. Permits: Varies by location. Please check the permit details for the permit location. Late Cancellations Overnight and Day Use Facilities: Late cancellations are those cancelled between 12:01 a.m. (Eastern) on the day before arrival and check out time on the day after arrival. Individual Campsites: If a customer cancels a reservation the day before or on the day of arrival they will be charged a $10.00 service fee and will also forfeit the first night's use fee (not to exceed the total paid for the original reservation). Cancellations for a single night's reservation will forfeit the entire use fee but no cancellation fee will apply. Cabins / Lookouts: Customers will be charged a $10.00 cancellation fee and forfeit the first night's use fee if a cabin or lookout reservation is cancelled within 14 days of the scheduled arrival date. Cancellations for a single night's use will not be assessed a service fee. Group Facility: If a customer cancels a group overnight facility reservation within 14 days of the scheduled arrival date they will be charged the $10.00 service fee and forfeit the first night's use fee. Cancellations for a single night's use will not be assessed a service fee. Group Day Use Area: If a customer cancels a group day use facility reservation within 14 days of the scheduled arrival date, they will forfeit the total day use fee with no service fee charge. No-Shows Camping / Day Use: A camping no-show customer is one who does not arrive at a campground and does not cancel the reservation by check-out time on the day after the scheduled arrival date. Reserved campsites and group overnight facilities will be held until check-out time on the day following your scheduled arrival. Group day-use facilities will be held until check-in time on your scheduled arrival date. If a customer does not arrive at the campground or group facility by check-out time the day after arrival or does not cancel the reservation by the times listed under "Late Cancellations" above, the customer may be assessed a $20.00 service fee and forfeit use fees. Tours: A tour or ticket no-show is one who does not cancel a ticket before arrival and does not arrive for the tour. Tour no-shows are not entitled to a refund. Refunds Customers must request refunds no later than 14 days after the scheduled departure date. Recreation.gov will not grant refund requests after 14 days of departure. Reservation Fee: For some facilities, tours or permits an additional reservation fee is charged. For some overnight and day-use facilities, an additional non-refundable reservation fee may apply. The non-refundable reservation fee for tours and tickets is $1.00. The non-refundable reservation fee for permits varies by location. Refunds for Bankcard Purchases: Refunds for bank card payments will be issued as a credit to the original bank card. Refunds for Check or Cash Purchases: Refunds for Recreation.gov payments made by check or money order, and cash payments at selected campgrounds will be issued a check refund. A refund will be processed within 30 days of receipt and approval. Please Note: Refund requests made during or after departure can only be processed when approved by the facility management staff based upon local policy. Refunds for Emergency Closures: In the event of an emergency closure, the Recreation.gov team will attempt to notify users and offer alternate dates (as appropriate). If this is not possible, reservations will be cancelled and all fees paid will be refunded. Reservation fees for free tickets are non-refundable in the event of an emergency closure. Recreation.gov Billing Information Reservation transaction will appear on customer's credit card statements as "Recreation.gov 877-444-6777." Changes to Policies and Procedures Recreation.gov reserves the right, when necessary, to modify reservation policies. These policies were last updated July
What the agency tells you
In accordance with standard industry practices, Mountain Top Recreation will be assessing a $8 additional vehicle fee per night on the second vehicle in each single family campsite, and on the third and fourth vehicles in any double family campsite, provided these vehicles are not joined to the first vehicle by a hitch and towed onto the site. In the case of motorcycles, the first two are considered to be one vehicle and the third and fourth are also considered to be one vehicle. No additional vehicle fees are collected for bicycles. The fee will be collected at the campground if you did not pay for the Extra Vehicle Add On. Extra vehicles must fit on the parking spur at your site.
Fee for use of dump station will be collected at the time of use.
Click here for more information on the San Bernardino National Forest
Everything else this campground posts · 5
Don't Move Firewood: Protect California's forests from tree-killing pests by buying your firewood locally and burning it on-site. For more information visit firewood.ca.gov.
Check out time is at noon, no exceptions.
Fire restrictions may be imposed at any time due to hot, dry weather conditions, at which time campfires and charcoal fires may not be allowed
Dogwood Campground is located next to the Rim of the World High School.
We do not have 50 amp electrical for electric cars. Do not book an RV electric for this usage, It will not work.
Tents and rigs
- Sites
- 91 · 35 tent-only
- Hookups
- 18 electric
- Longest rig
- 55 ft
- Paved pads
- 89 of 91
- Accessible sites
- 4
- Pets
- Allowed
- Campfires
- Allowed, barring fire bans
- Shade
- 65 of 67 sites
Facilities
- Toilets
- Flush Toilets
- FLUSH TOILETS on 78 of 92 campsite records, ACCESSIBLE FLUSH TOILETS on 4 of 92 campsite records
- Showers
- Accessible Showers
- ACCESSIBLE SHOWERS on 4 of 92 campsite records
- Drinking water
- Yes
- DRINKING WATER on 78 of 92 campsite records, ACCESSIBLE DRINKING WATER on 4 of 92 campsite records
- Dump station
- Yes
- recreation.gov lists “Dump Station”
- Firewood
- Sold here
- Camp host
- On site
- recreation.gov lists “Host”
- Stay limit
- 14 nights
- recreation.gov facility rule maxStay
Around the campground
- On the water
- Lake
- Boating
- Fishing
- Night sky · 1194th darkest of 1,201 in CA
- Bortle 5
Full this Saturdayread 15:47 UTC
How full the weekend is nationally.
OpenBookedClosed
Every one of the 84 sites on offer is taken this Friday and Saturday. 57 are free on Wed, Oct 21. read 15:47 UTC Why the weekend fills and the week doesn’t
Watch for a cancellation
Watch this campground
One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.
We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.
Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.
Tell me when the season opens
Watch for the season to open
One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.
We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.
Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.
We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.
Every line of the receipt · 16
What you actually pay
“In accordance with standard industry practices, Mountain Top Recreation will be assessing a $8 additional vehicle fee per night on the second vehicle in each single family campsite, and on the third and fourth vehicle…” · the U.S. Forest Service’s own agency notice
Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $40–$79 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.
“Camping / Day Use: A $10.00 service fee will apply if you change or cancel your reservation (including campsites, cabins, lookouts, group facilities, etc.). The $10.00 service fee will be deducted from the refund amount.” · this campground’s own no-show terms
Who keeps the booking fee
The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →
How we know this receipt · 7
recreation.gov availability, read 15:47 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this
The sites
92 records · which ones have room · the site map
The sites, ranked
from 86 mapped sitesAll 92 records
The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 91 of the 92 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.
Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.
| AREA DOGWOOD | 028 | type not stated | $40 | |||||
| AREA DOGWOOD | XXX | unnamed record | 45 ft | yes | $40 | |||
| DOGW | 013 | standard nonelectric | 42 ft | yes | 56 ft | 3,756 ft | $40–$79 | |
| DOGW | 050 | standard nonelectric | 33 ft | 101 ft | 3,675 ft | $40–$79 | ||
| DOGW | 059 | standard nonelectric | 41 ft | 55 ft | 3,025 ft | $40–$79 | ||
| DOGW | 065 | standard nonelectric | 32 ft | yes | 43 ft | 3,084 ft | $40–$79 | |
| DOGW | 066 | standard nonelectric | 15 ft | 71 ft | 3,013 ft | $40–$79 | ||
| SING | 001 | standard nonelectric | 38 ft | $40–$79 | ||||
| SING | 002 | standard nonelectric | 54 ft | 75 ft | 3,941 ftWest Fork City Creek | $40–$79 | ||
| SING | 003 | standard nonelectric | 35 ft | 66 ft | 3,931 ftWest Fork City Creek | $40–$79 | ||
| SING | 004 | standard nonelectric | 38 ft | 66 ft | 3,904 ftWest Fork City Creek | $40–$79 | ||
| SING | 005 | standard nonelectric | 39 ft | 41 ft | 3,971 ftWest Fork City Creek | $40–$79 | ||
| SING | 006 | standard nonelectric | 49 ft | 41 ft | 3,950 ftWest Fork City Creek | $40–$79 | ||
| SING | 007 | standard nonelectric | 46 ft | 50 ft | 3,871 ftWest Fork City Creek | $40–$79 | ||
| SING | 008 | standard nonelectric | 44 ft | 50 ft | 3,823 ftWest Fork City Creek | $40–$79 | ||
| SING | 009 | standard nonelectric | 30 ft | 61 ft | 3,771 ftWest Fork City Creek | $40–$79 | ||
| SING | 010 | standard nonelectric | 46 ft | 81 ft | 3,723 ftWest Fork City Creek | $40–$79 | ||
| SING | 011 | standard nonelectric | 45 ft | 81 ft | 3,770 ftWest Fork City Creek | $40–$79 | ||
| SING | 012 | standard nonelectric | 45 ft | 67 ft | 3,794 ft | $40–$79 | ||
| SING | 014 | standard nonelectric | 45 ft | 56 ft | 3,717 ft | $40–$79 | ||
| SING | 015 | tent only nonelectric | 25 ft | 74 ft | 3,647 ft | $40 | ||
| SING | 016 | standard electric | 51 ft | 30 amp | 75 ft | 3,593 ft | $51 | |
| SING | 017 | standard electric | 40 ft | 30 amp | 74 ft | 3,541 ft | $51 | |
| SING | 018 | standard electric | 51 ft | 30 amp | 71 ft | 3,489 ft | $51 | |
| SING | 019 | standard electric | 45 ft | 30 amp | 71 ft | 3,508 ft | $51 | |
| SING | 020 | tent only nonelectric | 20 ft | 151 ft | 3,264 ft | $40 | ||
| SING | 021 | standard electric | 43 ft | 30 amp | 161 ft | 3,127 ft | $51 | |
| SING | 022 | standard electric | 47 ft | 30 amp | 177 ft | 3,192 ftWest Fork City Creek | $51 | |
| SING | 023 | type not stated | 43 ft | 50 amp | 3,192 ftWest Fork City Creek | $40 | ||
| SING | 024 | standard electric | 43 ft | 50 amp | 97 ft | 3,119 ftWest Fork City Creek | $51 | |
| SING | 025 | tent only nonelectric | 36 ft | 64 ft | 3,406 ft | $40 | ||
| SING | 026 | standard electric | 50 ft | 50/30/50 amp | 70 ft | 3,477 ft | $51 | |
| SING | 027 | standard electric | 43 ft | 50/50/30 amp | 64 ft | 3,417 ft | $51 | |
| SING | 029 | standard electric | 36 ft | 50/30/50 amp | yes | 97 ft | 3,199 ftWest Fork City Creek | $51 |
| SING | 030 | type not stated | 20 ft | $40 | ||||
| SING | 031 | standard electric | 37 ft | 50/30/50 amp | yes | 41 ft | 3,276 ftWest Fork City Creek | $51 |
| SING | 032 | tent only nonelectric | 21 ft | 94 ft | 3,181 ftWest Fork City Creek | $40 | ||
| SING | 033 | tent only nonelectric | 17 ft | 95 ft | 3,196 ftWest Fork City Creek | $40 | ||
| SING | 034 | tent only nonelectric | 55 ft | 109 ft | 3,094 ftWest Fork City Creek | $40 | ||
| SING | 035 | tent only nonelectric | 18 ft | 82 ft | 3,166 ftWest Fork City Creek | $40 | ||
| SING | 036 | tent only nonelectric | 23 ft | 82 ft | 3,234 ftWest Fork City Creek | $40 | ||
| SING | 037 | tent only nonelectric | 24 ft | 90 ft | 3,258 ftWest Fork City Creek | $40 | ||
| SING | 038 | tent only nonelectric | 35 ft | 105 ft | 3,356 ftWest Fork City Creek | $40 | ||
| SING | 039 | tent only nonelectric | 24 ft | 96 ft | 3,300 ftWest Fork City Creek | $40 | ||
| SING | 040 | standard nonelectric | 39 ft | 82 ft | 3,436 ftWest Fork City Creek | $40–$79 | ||
| SING | 041 | tent only nonelectric | 29 ft | 101 ft | 3,406 ftWest Fork City Creek | $40 | ||
| SING | 042 | tent only nonelectric | 18 ft | 71 ft | 3,505 ftWest Fork City Creek | $40 | ||
| SING | 043 | tent only nonelectric | 17 ft | 75 ft | 3,488 ftWest Fork City Creek | $40 | ||
| SING | 044 | tent only nonelectric | 19 ft | 75 ft | 3,537 ftWest Fork City Creek | $40 | ||
| SING | 045 | standard nonelectric | 41 ft | 71 ft | 3,562 ftWest Fork City Creek | $40–$79 | ||
| SING | 046 | tent only nonelectric | 32 ft | 64 ft | 3,633 ftWest Fork City Creek | $40 | ||
| SING | 047 | tent only nonelectric | 26 ft | 62 ft | 3,658 ftWest Fork City Creek | $40 | ||
| SING | 048 | tent only nonelectric | 32 ft | 62 ft | 3,681 ftWest Fork City Creek | $40 | ||
| SING | 049 | standard nonelectric | 42 ft | 101 ft | 3,670 ft | $40–$79 | ||
| SING | 051 | tent only nonelectric | 30 ft | 69 ft | 3,615 ft | $40 | ||
| SING | 052 | tent only nonelectric | 29 ft | 69 ft | 3,611 ft | $40 | ||
| SING | 053 | standard nonelectric | 25 ft | $40–$79 | ||||
| SING | 054 | tent only nonelectric | 24 ft | 63 ft | 3,260 ft | $40 | ||
| SING | 055 | tent only nonelectric | 28 ft | 59 ft | 3,213 ft | $40 | ||
| SING | 056 | tent only nonelectric | 17 ft | 59 ft | 3,181 ft | $40 | ||
| SING | 057 | tent only nonelectric | 25 ft | 123 ft | 3,050 ft | $40 | ||
| SING | 058 | tent only nonelectric | 23 ft | 55 ft | 3,077 ft | $40 | ||
| SING | 061 | standard nonelectric | 38 ft | 98 ft | 3,158 ft | $40–$79 | ||
| SING | 063 | standard nonelectric | 30 ft | 43 ft | 3,119 ft | $40–$79 | ||
| SING | 064 | tent only nonelectric | 28 ft | 233 ft | 3,552 ft | $40 | ||
| SING | 068 | standard nonelectric | 29 ft | 101 ft | 3,026 ft | $40–$79 | ||
| SING | 069 | tent only nonelectric | 27 ft | 98 ft | 3,066 ft | $40 | ||
| SING | 070 | standard nonelectric | 44 ft | 203 ft | 3,728 ft | $40–$79 | ||
| SING | 071 | standard nonelectric | 33 ft | 62 ft | 3,837 ftWest Fork City Creek | $40–$79 | ||
| SING | 072 | standard nonelectric | 55 ft | 62 ft | 3,778 ftWest Fork City Creek | $40–$79 | ||
| SING | 073 | tent only nonelectric | 30 ft | 26 ft | 3,738 ftWest Fork City Creek | $40 | ||
| SING | 074 | tent only nonelectric | 24 ft | 26 ft | 3,726 ftWest Fork City Creek | $40 | ||
| SING | 075 | standard nonelectric | 45 ft | 82 ft | 3,681 ftWest Fork City Creek | $40–$79 | ||
| SING | 076 | standard nonelectric | 36 ft | 97 ft | 3,634 ftWest Fork City Creek | $40–$79 | ||
| SING | 077 | standard nonelectric | 35 ft | 74 ft | 3,603 ftWest Fork City Creek | $40–$79 | ||
| SING | 078 | standard nonelectric | 35 ft | 91 ft | 3,520 ftWest Fork City Creek | $40–$79 | ||
| SING | 079 | standard nonelectric | 52 ft | 74 ft | 3,538 ftWest Fork City Creek | $40–$79 | ||
| SING | 080 | tent only nonelectric | 35 ft | 78 ft | 3,464 ftWest Fork City Creek | $40 | ||
| SING | 081 | tent only nonelectric | 30 ft | 90 ft | 3,341 ftWest Fork City Creek | $40 | ||
| SING | 082 | standard nonelectric | 29 ft | 90 ft | 3,318 ftWest Fork City Creek | $40–$79 | ||
| SING | 083 | tent only nonelectric | 27 ft | 72 ft | 3,262 ftWest Fork City Creek | $40 | ||
| SING | 084 | tent only nonelectric | 30 ft | 94 ft | 3,233 ftWest Fork City Creek | $40 | ||
| SING | 085 | standard electric | 42 ft | 30 amp | 41 ft | 3,298 ftWest Fork City Creek | $51 | |
| SING | 086 | standard electric | 35 ft | 30 amp | 52 ft | 3,327 ftWest Fork City Creek | $51 | |
| SING | 087 | standard electric | 36 ft | 30 amp | 59 ft | 3,373 ftWest Fork City Creek | $51 | |
| SING | 088 | tent only nonelectric | 19 ft | 52 ft | 3,378 ftWest Fork City Creek | $40 | ||
| SING | 089 | standard electric | 39 ft | 30 amp | 57 ft | 3,434 ftWest Fork City Creek | $51 | |
| SING | 090 | standard nonelectric | 26 ft | 54 ft | 3,504 ftWest Fork City Creek | $40–$79 | ||
| SING | 091 | standard electric | 36 ft | 50/30/50 amp | 57 ft | 3,423 ftWest Fork City Creek | $51 | |
| SING | 092 | standard electric | 55 ft | 30 amp | 54 ft | 3,518 ftWest Fork City Creek | $51 | |
| SING | 093 | standard electric | 55 ft | 30 amp | 105 ft | 3,659 ftWest Fork City Creek | $51 | |
| SING | 094 | tent only nonelectric | 37 ft | 105 ft | 3,634 ftWest Fork City Creek | $40 |
The agency files 1 more record here that isn’t a site for the night. It types it MANAGEMENT rather than a campsite. It’s in the table above, marked for what it is, and it isn’t counted as a site.
25 of 92 listed
Getting there
the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Where it is
North Shore (CA)San Bernardino National Forest · 3.4 mi
Fishermans GroupSan Bernardino National Forest · 6.0 mi
Tent Peg GroupSan Bernardino National Forest · 6.8 mi
Crab FlatsSan Bernardino National Forest · 7.6 mi
Green ValleySan Bernardino National Forest · 8.6 miFrom San Bernardino, travel north on Hwy 18 toward Lake Arrowhead. Just before Rim of the World High School, turn left (north) onto Daley Canyon Access Road (3 miles west of Arrowhead Ranger Station). Turn right into the campground entrance. This road will bring you straight into the campground.
The weather
the next four days · the thirty-year normal
Next four days, and the thirty-year normal
Forecast
NWS forecast for Lake Arrowhead, CA
Typical weather
Typical October night 43°F, day 63°F.
Coldest month of the year: typical January night 29°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.
Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more
A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Augusts are colder than the August line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.
The land, and who answers for it
what threatens it · who answers for it · a letter you can send
Roadless country, and what’s coming for it
You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.
Who answers for this land

Dogwood is in California’s 23rd congressional district. Its representative, Jay Obernolte (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →
Who can change it · 3
Two offices, two different asks. The draft to the agency asks it to set aside a published share of the sites here for whoever drives up. The draft to Congress asks why that share is zero and presses for a published minimum at the campgrounds it funds.
- The member who votes the moneyJay ObernolteU.S. Representative · California’s 23rd district
- Your senator, on the same appropriationAdam B. SchiffU.S. Senator · California
- Your senator, on the same appropriationAlex PadillaU.S. Senator · California
Read the draft, or change the wording
For the camper who turned up, or tried to book, and couldn’t get in. Every draft is written from this campground’s own record (its agency, its unit, its site count and its own weekend) and the buttons above copy whichever wording is selected here.
Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.
Subject Walk-up camping at Dogwood, San Bernardino National Forest, California
Dear Jay Obernolte, I’m a constituent in California’s 23rd district. I tried to camp at Dogwood, San Bernardino National Forest, California, and couldn’t. recreation.gov lists 88 of the 91 campsites the agency files at Dogwood, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 84 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked. 1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Dogwood keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule. I’m not asking you to run Dogwood. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund. The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them. Sent about Dogwood (San Bernardino National Forest, California) via campanac.com
Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.
Subject Walk-up camping at Dogwood, San Bernardino National Forest, California
Dear Adam B. Schiff, I’m a constituent in California. I tried to camp at Dogwood, San Bernardino National Forest, California, and couldn’t. recreation.gov lists 88 of the 91 campsites the agency files at Dogwood, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 84 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked. 1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Dogwood keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule. I’m not asking you to run Dogwood. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund. The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them. Sent about Dogwood (San Bernardino National Forest, California) via campanac.com
Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.
Subject Walk-up camping at Dogwood, San Bernardino National Forest, California
Dear Alex Padilla, I’m a constituent in California. I tried to camp at Dogwood, San Bernardino National Forest, California, and couldn’t. recreation.gov lists 88 of the 91 campsites the agency files at Dogwood, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 84 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked. 1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Dogwood keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule. I’m not asking you to run Dogwood. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund. The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them. Sent about Dogwood (San Bernardino National Forest, California) via campanac.com