Ferron Reservoir
- Right now
- Nobody has saidNo season, no closure, no bookings to read
- A night
- $10From, per site
- Sites
- 2018 on recreation.gov
The place
the agency’s own description · what’s there · 5 notices
In the agency’s own words
Ferron Campground is located next to Ferron Reservoir, a premier alpine lake that is popular with fishermen. The area offers both developed single campsites and a developed group camp site. It sits just below the ridgeline of the Wasatch Plateau, at an elevation of 9,400 feet. It is located adjacent to the historical Indian Creek Guard Station. Visitors enjoy fishing, canoeing and exploring many local trails. Keep reading
Recreation
Ferron Reservoir is adjacent to the campground, providing canoeing, boating (small craft only) and fishing for rainbow and cutthroat trout. Numerous off-road vehicle trails crisscross the area, offering exciting rides for all skill levels. These trails mainly consist of 66-inch and 50-inch OHV routes. Rush Pond and Willow Lake are a short drive east and Duck Fork Reservoir is just to the north, offering additional fishing, canoeing, and OHV opportunities.
Facilities
The campground contains one group campsite offering lake views, located on the northeast portion of the lake. It can accommodate up to 50 people and eight vehicles. Several single-family sites are also available within the campground, located to the south and west of the lake. Vault toilets and drinking water are provided, but there is no garbage service. Multiple self-pay fee stations are available. Roads and parking spurs are gravel.
Natural Features
The small reservoir sits in a scenic alpine basin. Spruce, fir and aspen trees dot the landscape, providing partial shade in the campground. Wildlife and summer wildflowers are abundant, and autumn leaves put on quite a show in the surrounding area.
Nearby Attractions
Skyline Drive runs above the campground, along the top of the Wasatch Plateau for more than 60 miles, rewarding visitors with beautiful mountain scenery, glacial cirques, spruce-fir and aspen forests and numerous lakes and reservoirs. The expansive Arapeen OHV Trail System can be accessed nearby and has more than 350 miles of designated, maintained trails suitable for all riding levels.
What the agency tells you
Horses are not allowed in the campground
Off-road vehicle use is prohibited within the campground
Click here for information on the Arapeen OHV Trail System
Everything else this campground posts · 2
Click here for more information on the Manti-La Sal National Forest
Don't Move Firewood: Help prevent the spread of tree-killing pests in our national forests by obtaining firewood near your destination and burning it on-site. For more information visit dontmovefirewood.org.
Tents and rigs
- Sites
- 20 · 1 group
- Hookups
- None
- Longest rig
- 99 ft
- Accessible sites
- None listed
- Pets
- Allowed at 17 of 19 sites
- Campfires
- 17 of 20 sites
Facilities
- Toilets
- Vault Toilets
- VAULT TOILETS on 18 of 28 campsite records
- Drinking water
- Yes
- DRINKING WATER (PEAK SEASON) on 18 of 28 campsite records
Around the campground
- On the water
- Reservoir, Lake, Creek
- Biking
- Boating
- Fishing
- Hiking
- Night sky · 172nd darkest of 458 in UT
- Bortle 2
- Fall color · reported 14 days ago, 33 km away
- Peak color
Nothing on the booking system for the next 30 nightsread 15:57 UTC
recreation.gov lists 18 of the 20 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.
Every one of the next thirty nights is in recreation.gov’s record and not one site is being offered on any of them. That’s a campground closed or not yet released for booking, not a sold-out one.
Watch for a cancellation
Full? Watch it.
One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.
We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.
Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.
Tell me when the season opens
Watch for the season to open
One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.
We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.
Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.
We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.
Every line of the receipt · 13
What you actually pay
Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rate for this season, $10 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.
Who keeps the booking fee
The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →
How we know this receipt · 5
recreation.gov availability, read 15:57 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Oct 1, 2026 · How we know all this
The sites
28 records · which ones have room · the site map
The sites, ranked
from 18 mapped sitesAll 28 records
Toilet distances are OpenStreetMap’s, measured for 18 of the 28 sites listed. A site with no reading is unknown, never far.
The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 20 of the 28 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.
Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.
| AFAM | 007 | standard nonelectric | 30 ft | 89 ft | 485 ft | 150 ft | $10 |
| AFAM | 008 | standard nonelectric | 30 ft | 89 ft | 440 ft | 80 ft | $10 |
| AFAM | 009 | standard nonelectric | 30 ft | 108 ft | 333 ft | 157 ft | $10 |
| AFAM | 010 | standard nonelectric | 25 ft | 109 ft | 30 ft | 105 ft | $10 |
| AFAM | 011 | standard nonelectric | 30 ft | 97 ft | 95 ft | 73 ft | $10 |
| AFAM | 012 | standard nonelectric | 25 ft | 94 ft | 55 ft | 187 ft | $10 |
| AFAM | 013 | standard nonelectric | 45 ft | 94 ft | 136 ft | 142 ft | $10 |
| AFAM | 014 | standard nonelectric | 99 ft | 113 ft | 412 ft | 163 ft | $10 |
| AFAM | 015 | standard nonelectric | 30 ft | 75 ft | 300 ft | 97 ft | $10 |
| AFAM | 016 | standard nonelectric | 30 ft | 103 ft | 366 ft | 86 ft | $10 |
| AFAM | 017 | standard nonelectric | 45 ft | 103 ft | 265 ft | 64 ft | $10 |
| AFAM | 018 | standard nonelectric | 25 ft | 102 ft | 187 ft | 149 ft | $10 |
| AFAM | 019 | standard nonelectric | 75 ft | 226 ft | 134 ft | $10 | |
| AFAM | 020 | standard nonelectric | 30 ft | 103 ft | 198 ft | 181 ft | $10 |
| AFAM | 022 | standard nonelectric | 30 ft | 126 ft | 178 ft | 312 ft | $10 |
| AFAM | 023 | standard nonelectric | 30 ft | 113 ft | 60 ft | 306 ft | $10 |
| AFAM | 024 | standard nonelectric | 45 ft | 120 ft | 114 ft | 404 ft | $10 |
| FERR | 021 | group standard nonelectric | 30 ft | 103 ft | 105 ft | 198 ft | $20 |
| MANAGEMENT SITES | XXX | unnamed record | 99 ft | $10–$20 | |||
| MANAGEMENT SITES | XXX1 | unnamed record | $10–$20 | ||||
| MANAGEMENT SITES | XXX2 | unnamed record | $10–$20 | ||||
| MANAGEMENT SITES | XXX3 | unnamed record | $10–$20 | ||||
| MANAGEMENT SITES | XXX4 | unnamed record | $10–$20 | ||||
| MANAGEMENT SITES | XXX5 | unnamed record | $10–$20 | ||||
| MANAGEMENT SITES | XXX6 | unnamed record | $10–$20 | ||||
| MANAGEMENT SITES | XXX7 | unnamed record | $10–$20 | ||||
| Scan and Pay | ScanPay 1 | type not stated | $10–$20 | ||||
| Scan and Pay | ScanPay 2 | type not stated | $10–$20 |
The agency files 8 more records here that aren’t sites for the night. It types every one of them MANAGEMENT rather than a campsite. They’re in the table above, marked for what they are, and none of them is counted as a site.
25 of 28 listed
Getting there
the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Where it is
Indian Creek Guard StationManti-La Sal National Forest · 0.4 mi
Twelve Mile FlatManti-La Sal National Forest · 2.3 mi
Willow LakeManti-La Sal National Forest · 4.1 miUpper Six Mile Ponds CampgroundManti-La Sal National Forest · 5.4 mi
Twin Lake CampgroundManti-La Sal National Forest · 8.0 miThe campground is located approximately 30 miles up Ferron Canyon, on Forest Development Road 022.
The weather
the next four days · the thirty-year normal
Next four days, and the thirty-year normal
Forecast
NWS forecast for Manti, UT
Typical weather
Typical October night 29°F, day 50°F.
Coldest month of the year: typical December night 12°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.
Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more
A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.
The land, and who answers for it
what threatens it · who answers for it
Roadless country, and what’s coming for it
You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.
Who answers for this land

Ferron Reservoir is in Utah’s 4th congressional district. Its representative, Burgess Owens (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →