U.S. Forest Service · Manti-La Sal National Forest · UT

Twelve Mile Flat

ReservableOut of season, no booking; December 12 opens June 12.
Book on recreation.govWe make nothing when you book
Right now
Nobody has saidNo season, no closure, no bookings to read
A night
$7–$15Across the site types the agency prices
Sites
1916 on recreation.gov
35 ftLongest rig
10,120 ftElevation
2,647 ftWater · North Fork Muddy Creek
11.5 miSE of Manti, UT
0%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 9 notices

In the agency’s own words

Twelve Mile Flat Campground is located beneath the shadow of Mt. Baldy near the top of the Wasatch Plateau in an open, wildflower-filled meadow surrounded by spruce and pines. Keep reading

Recreation

ATV trails are abundant in the area, providing exciting riding for all skill levels. Skyline Drive passes just above the campground. A short, but steep drive over the ridge leads to Ferron Reservoir for canoeing and rainbow and cutthroat trout fishing.

Facilities

The campground contains two group sites that can accommodate up to 50 people and eight vehicles each. Additional single-family sites are also available. Vault toilets are provided, but no garbage service. Roads and parking spurs are gravel.

Natural Features

The campground sits high on the Wasatch Plateau just below the ridgeline and west of Skyline Drive at an elevation of 10,120 feet. Mature spruce and pine trees dot the open landscape, providing partial shade in the campground. Wildlife and summer wildflowers are plentiful, and autumn leaves put on a spectacular show in the surrounding area.

Nearby Attractions

Skyline Drive runs along the top of the Wasatch Plateau for 60 plus miles, rewarding visitors with beautiful mountain scenery, glacial cirques, spruce-fir forests, aspen forests and numerous lakes and reservoirs.

What the agency tells you

Rule

There is no water provided at this site.

Rule

This is a high elevation facility; Visitors traveling from lower elevations should use caution

Rule

Sites may be available on a first come, first served basis

Everything else this campground posts · 6
Rule

No horses allowed in campground

Rule

This is a 'pack it in, pack it out' facility; bring garbage bags

Rule

OHV riding is not allowed within the campground, except for entering and exiting

Rule

For information on the Arapeen OHV Trail System, please click here

Rule

Click here for more information on Manti-La Sal National Forest

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Help prevent the spread of tree-killing pests in our national forests by obtaining firewood near your destination and burning it on-site. For more information visit dontmovefirewood.org.

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
19 · 2 group
Hookups
None
Longest rig
35 ft
Accessible sites
None listed
Pets
Allowed at 15 of 18 sites
Campfires
11 of 14 sites
Shade
8 of 11 sites
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Vault Toilets
VAULT TOILETS on 16 of 29 campsite records

Around the campground

On the water
Reservoir, Lake, Meadow
Biking
Hiking
Hunting
Wildlife viewing
Night sky · 188th darkest of 458 in UT
Bortle 2
Fall color · reported 14 days ago, 36 km away
Peak color
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026
Fall color: More Than Just Parks foliage tracker, joined to this campground by distance (36 km) · Oct 3, 2026

Nothing on the booking system for the next 30 nightsread 15:57 UTC

recreation.gov lists 16 of the 19 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.

Every one of the next thirty nights is in recreation.gov’s record and not one site is being offered on any of them. That’s a campground closed or not yet released for booking, not a sold-out one.

Booking windowOut of seasonOut of season, no booking. On December 12, 2026 at 10 AM ET, availability opens through June 12, 2027.recreation.govAdd to calendar (.ics)
Max stay14 nightsthe facility record
A night$7–$15plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$22–$38DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Forest ServiceBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Full? Watch it.

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Sat, Jun 12 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 15

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night, per site$7–$15
Standard Nonelectric$7
Standard Nonelectric$7
Standard Nonelectric-Double$15
Group area, a night$40
These are next season’s rates, Jun 12, 2027 to Sep 20, 2027. The campground is between seasons now.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$15–$23
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$22–$38

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $7–$15 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5

recreation.gov availability, read 15:57 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Oct 1, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

30 records · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 6 mapped sites
168 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least roomMain 014 87 ftMain 015 87 ftMain 016 113 ft

All 30 records

16 of 30 records located
Standard4Group2Unnamed record10
SleepsTakes aUp to

Toilet distances are OpenStreetMap’s, measured for 16 of the 30 sites listed. A site with no reading is unknown, never far.

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 19 of the 30 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.

Main002standard nonelectric30 ftVault Toilets listed$7–$15
Main003standard nonelectric25 ftVault Toilets listed$7–$15
Main004standard nonelectric25 ft311 ft2,365 ft154 ft$7–$15
Main005standard nonelectric35 ftVault Toilets listed$7–$15
Main006standard nonelectric20 ftVault Toilets listed$7–$15
Main007standard nonelectric30 ftVault Toilets listed$7–$15
Main008standard nonelectric25 ftVault Toilets listed$7–$15
Main009standard nonelectricVault Toilets listed$7–$15
Main010standard nonelectric30 ftVault Toilets listed$7–$15
Main011standard nonelectric30 ftVault Toilets listed$7–$15
Main012standard nonelectric30 ftVault Toilets listed$7–$15
Main014standard nonelectric30 ft87 ft2,094 ftTwelvemile Creek356 ft$7–$15
Main015standard nonelectric30 ft87 ft2,010 ftTwelvemile Creek384 ft$7–$15
Main016standard nonelectric30 ft113 ft1,955 ftTwelvemile Creek365 ft$7–$15
MainG13group standard nonelectric35 ft224 ft2,174 ftTwelvemile Creek139 ft$40
MainGP1group standard nonelectric35 ft311 ft2,635 ftTwelvemile Creek363 ft$40
MANAGEMENT SITESXXX1unnamed record$7–$20
MANAGEMENT SITESXXX10unnamed record2,578 ft270 ft$7–$20
MANAGEMENT SITESXXX11unnamed record2,428 ftTwelvemile Creek243 ft$7–$20
MANAGEMENT SITESXXX12unnamed record2,300 ftTwelvemile Creek145 ft$7–$20
MANAGEMENT SITESXXX2unnamed record2,438 ft135 ft$7–$20
MANAGEMENT SITESXXX3unnamed record2,451 ft201 ft$7–$20
MANAGEMENT SITESXXX5unnamed record2,235 ft88 ft$7–$20
MANAGEMENT SITESXXX6unnamed record2,341 ft124 ft$7–$20
MANAGEMENT SITESXXX7unnamed record2,331 ft184 ft$7–$20
MANAGEMENT SITESXXX8unnamed record2,466 ft231 ft$7–$20
MANAGEMENT SITESXXX9unnamed record2,483 ft177 ft$7–$20
Scan and PayScanPay 1type not stated$7–$20
Scan and PayScanPay 2type not stated$7–$20
Scan and PayScanPay 3type not stated$7–$20

The agency files 11 more records here that aren’t sites for the night. It types every one of them MANAGEMENT rather than a campsite. They’re in the table above, marked for what they are, and none of them is counted as a site.

25 of 30 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number

The weather

the next four days

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Tonight30°Mostly Clear
Saturday48°Sunny
Saturday Night31°Partly Cloudy1% rain
Sunday44°Mostly Sunny6% rain

NWS forecast for Mayfield, UT

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it

Roadless country, and what’s coming for it

Roadless
Heliotrope4,526 acres · 2 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Twelve Mile Creek10,234 acres · 4 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Black Mountain6,390 acres · 5 mi · inventoried roadless area

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Who answers for this land

Burgess Owens, official portrait

Twelve Mile Flat is in Utah’s 4th congressional district. Its representative, Burgess Owens (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: U.S. Forest Service publishes no season and no closure for this campground, and it takes no bookings we can read. That’s a gap in the record and not a locked gate: the number below is the only way to be sure.
Fall color: More Than Just Parks foliage tracker, joined to this campground by distance (36 km) · Oct 3, 2026
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.
Nearest place of any size: Mayfield, UT, 10.7 mi E. Straight line.