U.S. Forest Service · Manti-La Sal National Forest · UT

Gooseberry Reservoir

Reservable, and full this SaturdayEvery one of the 8 sites on offer is taken this Saturday, and the record lists no site held back for a walk-up. read 15:57 UTC

We don’t think it should be. Every campground should hold some sites for whoever drives up.Tell your representative →

Right now
Taking bookingsSites offered on 15 of the next 30 nights read 15:57 UTC
A night
$10From, per site
Sites
178 on recreation.gov
40 ftLongest rig
8,450 ftElevation
288 ftWater · Japanese Creek
8.6 miNE of Fairview, UT
0%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 3 notices

In the agency’s own words

Gooseberry Reservoir Campground is located in a scenic mountain valley in an open meadow next to Gooseberry Reservoir. It is situated at an elevation of 8,400 feet. Visitors enjoy canoeing and fishing on the small reservoir and exploring area trails. Keep reading

Recreation

The reservoir offers good cutthroat and rainbow trout fishing, as well as canoeing. It is open to hand-powered watercraft only, and no boat ramp is available on the lake. The Great Western Trail runs next to the campground, offering excellent opportunities for hiking, biking and off-road vehicle riding. Mammoth Guard Station is located just one mile south.

Facilities

The campground contains several standard RV sites with long parking spurs that easily accommodate large RVs. Vault toilets are provided, but no water or garbage service is available. A well-maintained dirt road leads to the campground, providing relatively easy access for cars and RVs alike.

Natural Features

The surrounding mountains are dotted with aspens, fir trees and sagebrush, but the campground has no trees and no shade. Each site has a nice lake view. Grasses and summer wildflowers cover the valley.

What the agency tells you

Rule

Drinking water and trash collection are not available at the campground; please pack out all garbage

Rule

Click here for more information on the Manti-La Sal National Forest

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Help prevent the spread of tree-killing pests in our national forests by obtaining firewood near your destination and burning it on-site. For more information visit dontmovefirewood.org.

Tents and rigs

Sites
17
Hookups
None
Longest rig
40 ft
Accessible sites
None listed
Pets
Allowed at 8 of 9 sites
Campfires
8 of 9 sites
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Vault Toilets
VAULT TOILETS on 8 of 18 campsite records
Drinking water
None, bring your own
“…RVs. Vault toilets are provided, but no water or garbage service is available. A well-maintained…”
Boat ramp
Yes
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026

Around the campground

On the water
Reservoir, Lake, Meadow
Biking
Boating
Fishing
Hiking
Night sky · 296th darkest of 458 in UT
Bortle 3
Fall color · reported 14 days ago, 32 km away
Peak color
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026
Fall color: More Than Just Parks foliage tracker, joined to this campground by distance (32 km) · Oct 3, 2026

Full this Saturdayread 15:57 UTC

How full the weekend is nationally.

OpenBookedNot reservable

Every one of the 8 sites on offer is taken this Saturday. 7 are free on Tue, Oct 20. read 15:57 UTC Why the weekend fills and the week doesn’t

Booking windowThrough October 31Bookable now through October 31, 2026, the end of the reservable season. On December 12, 2026 at 10 AM ET, availability opens through June 12, 2027.recreation.govAdd to calendar (.ics)
Max stay14 nightsthe facility record
A night$10plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$28DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Forest ServiceBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Watch this campground

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Sat, Jun 12 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov ↗

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 12

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night$10
Standard Nonelectric$10
Rates for the season the campground is in now, Oct 1, 2026 to Oct 31, 2026.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$18
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$28

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rate for this season, $10 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5

recreation.gov availability, read 15:57 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Oct 1, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

18 records · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 8 mapped sites
168 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least roomLoop GOOS 001 102 ftLoop GOOS 002 102 ftLoop GOOS 003 149 ft

All 18 records

16 of 18 records located
Standard8Type not stated8
SleepsTakes aUp to

Toilet distances are OpenStreetMap’s, measured for 16 of the 18 sites listed. A site with no reading is unknown, never far.

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 17 of the 18 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

GOOS001standard nonelectric40 ft102 ft314 ft2,349 ft$10
GOOS002standard nonelectric40 ft102 ft236 ftLower Gooseberry Reservoir2,314 ft$10
GOOS003standard nonelectric40 ft149 ft160 ftLower Gooseberry Reservoir2,208 ft$10
GOOS004standard nonelectric40 ft182 ft85 ftLower Gooseberry Reservoir2,031 ft$10
GOOS005standard nonelectric40 ft171 ft38 ftLower Gooseberry Reservoir1,834 ft$10
GOOS006standard nonelectric40 ft168 ft70 ftLower Gooseberry Reservoir1,663 ft$10
GOOS007standard nonelectric40 ft168 ft101 ftLower Gooseberry Reservoir1,499 ft$10
GOOS008standard nonelectric40 ft178 ft114 ftLower Gooseberry Reservoir1,470 ft$10
MANAGEMENT SITES009type not stated41 ft1,695 ft$33.97
MANAGEMENT SITES010type not stated149 ft1,692 ft$33.97
MANAGEMENT SITES011type not stated93 ft1,910 ft$33.97
MANAGEMENT SITES012type not stated156 ft1,929 ft$33.97
MANAGEMENT SITES013type not stated144 ft2,137 ft$33.97
MANAGEMENT SITES014type not stated211 ft2,222 ft$33.97
MANAGEMENT SITES015type not stated154 ft2,268 ft$33.97
MANAGEMENT SITES016type not stated224 ft2,358 ft$33.97
MANAGEMENT SITESXXXunnamed record40 ft$33.97
Scan and PayScanPay 1type not stated$33.97

The agency files 1 more record here that isn’t a site for the night. It types it MANAGEMENT rather than a campsite. It’s in the table above, marked for what it is, and it isn’t counted as a site.

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate39.71028, -111.29417
The phone(435)283-4151
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

Getting there

From Fairview, Utah, travel north about a mile on Highway 89, to the junction with Highway 31. Travel east on Highway 31 for about nine miles, to the junction with Forest Development Road 124. Go north on Forest Development Raod 124 for three miles, to the campground.

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Overnight32°Mostly Clear
Saturday55°Sunny
Saturday Night34°Partly Cloudy
Sunday52°Partly Sunny6% rain

NWS forecast for Scofield, UT

Typical weather

Typical October night 29°F, day 50°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical December night 12°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

80°32°0°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: SCOFIELD-SKYLINE MINE, UT (USC00427729), 5 miles away and 247 ft higher

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it · a letter you can send

Roadless country, and what’s coming for it

Roadless
Price River24,349 acres · 4 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Oak Creek16,769 acres · 4 mi · inventoried roadless area

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Who answers for this land

Burgess Owens, official portrait

Gooseberry Reservoir is in Utah’s 4th congressional district. Its representative, Burgess Owens (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

Who can change it · 3
Write to somebody who can change it

Two offices, two different asks. The draft to the agency asks it to set aside a published share of the sites here for whoever drives up. The draft to Congress asks why that share is zero and presses for a published minimum at the campgrounds it funds.

Read the draft, or change the wording

For the camper who turned up, or tried to book, and couldn’t get in. Every draft is written from this campground’s own record (its agency, its unit, its site count and its own weekend) and the buttons above copy whichever wording is selected here.

To Burgess Owens

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Gooseberry Reservoir, Manti-La Sal National Forest, Utah

Dear Burgess Owens,

I’m a constituent in Utah’s 4th district. I tried to camp at Gooseberry Reservoir, Manti-La Sal National Forest, Utah, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 8 of the 17 campsites the agency files at Gooseberry Reservoir, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 8 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Gooseberry Reservoir keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Gooseberry Reservoir. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Gooseberry Reservoir (Manti-La Sal National Forest, Utah) via campanac.com
To John R. Curtis

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Gooseberry Reservoir, Manti-La Sal National Forest, Utah

Dear John R. Curtis,

I’m a constituent in Utah. I tried to camp at Gooseberry Reservoir, Manti-La Sal National Forest, Utah, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 8 of the 17 campsites the agency files at Gooseberry Reservoir, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 8 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Gooseberry Reservoir keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Gooseberry Reservoir. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Gooseberry Reservoir (Manti-La Sal National Forest, Utah) via campanac.com
To Mike Lee

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Gooseberry Reservoir, Manti-La Sal National Forest, Utah

Dear Mike Lee,

I’m a constituent in Utah. I tried to camp at Gooseberry Reservoir, Manti-La Sal National Forest, Utah, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 8 of the 17 campsites the agency files at Gooseberry Reservoir, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 8 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Gooseberry Reservoir keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Gooseberry Reservoir. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Gooseberry Reservoir (Manti-La Sal National Forest, Utah) via campanac.com
How we know this · 4
The figures in these drafts: Navy Ford (CVN-78) Class Aircraft Carrier Program: Background and Issues for Congress (CRS Report RS20643) · Updated December 4, 2025 · “The ship’s final procurement cost was $13,316.5 million (i.e., about $13.3 billion) in then-year dollars.”
The figures in these drafts: Salary Table 2026-GS, Incorporating the 1% General Schedule Increase, Effective January 2026 (U.S. Office of Personnel Management) · Effective January 2026 · “Grade 5, Step 1: $34,799 (annual rate, before locality pay).”
The figures in these drafts: Update to Civilian Position Full Fringe Benefit Cost Factor, Federal Pay Raise Assumptions, and Inflation Factors used in OMB Circular No. A-76 (OMB Memorandum M-08-13) · March 11, 2008 · “the civilian position full fringe benefit cost factor needs to be adjusted downward, from 36.45 percent to 36.25 percent”

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: recreation.gov is offering sites on 15 of the next 30 nights, which isn’t something a closed campground does.
Fall color: More Than Just Parks foliage tracker, joined to this campground by distance (32 km) · Oct 3, 2026
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.
Nearest place of any size: Scofield, UT, 6.5 mi W. Straight line.