U.S. Forest Service · Uinta National Forest · UT

Lodgepole at Heber

ReservableOut of season, no booking; January 8 opens May 8.
Book on recreation.govWe make nothing when you book
Right now
Nobody has saidNo season, no closure, no bookings to read
A night
$30.43–$59.08Across the site types the agency prices
Sites
3228 on recreation.gov
99 ftLongest rig
7,790 ftElevation
577 ftWater · an unnamed stream
11.1 miSE of Daniel, UT
44%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 15 notices

In the agency’s own words

Lodgepole Campground is located in scenic Daniels Canyon just a short drive from Heber, Utah, and Strawberry Reservoir at an elevation of 7,800 feet. Campers enjoy fishing and hiking in the canyon and day-tripping to Strawberry. Keep reading

Recreation

Daniels Creek is stocked with rainbow, brown and cutthroat trout. Foreman Hollow Trail begins in the campground, offering easy to moderate hiking on a 4-mile loop with excellent views of Strawberry Reservoir, Strawberry Peak and Twin Peaks.

Facilities

The campground offers flushable toilets, as well as group picnic shelters. Loop A contains individual sites, while Loop B contains two group camping sites, one for up to 50 people, and the other for up to 130 people.

Natural Features

The campground is situated in a beautiful mountain setting along Daniels Creek. A forest of pine, fir and aspen covers the area, and willows line the creek bank. Summer wildflowers dot the landscape.

Nearby Attractions

Strawberry Reservoir is 12 miles away, with plentiful fishing, boating and canoeing opportunities. The Strawberry OHV Trail System offers 75 miles of trails. Hikers and mountain bikers enjoy the extensive trail system as well. Strawberry Visitor Center has interpretive displays, a working fish trap and egg collection station and a nature trail. Contact Info For facility specific information, please call (385) 273-1100.

Charges & Cancellations

Change and Cancellation Policies and Fees Overnight and Day Use Facilities: To ensure fairness, reservation arrival or departure dates may not be changed beyond the booking window until 18 days after booking the reservation. Camping / Day Use: A $10.00 service fee will apply if you change or cancel your reservation (including campsites, cabins, lookouts, group facilities, etc.). The $10.00 service fee will be deducted from the refund amount. You can cancel or change reservations through Recreation.gov or by calling 1-877-444-6777. Late Cancellations Overnight and Day Use Facilities: Late cancellations are those cancelled between 12:01 a.m. (Eastern) on the day before arrival and check out time on the day after arrival. Individual Campsites: If a customer cancels a reservation the day before or on the day of arrival they will be charged a $10.00 service fee and will also forfeit the first night's use fee (not to exceed the total paid for the original reservation). Cancellations for a single night's reservation will forfeit the entire use fee but no cancellation fee will apply. Cabins / Lookouts: Customers will be charged a $10.00 cancellation fee and forfeit the first night's use fee if a cabin or lookout reservation is cancelled within 14 days of the scheduled arrival date. Cancellations for a single night's use will not be assessed a service fee. Group Facility: If a customer cancels a group overnight facility reservation within 14 days of the scheduled arrival date they will be charged the $10.00 service fee and forfeit the first night's use fee. Cancellations for a single night's use will not be assessed a service fee. Group Day Use Area: If a customer cancels a group day use facility reservation within 14 days of the scheduled arrival date, they will forfeit the total day use fee with no service fee charge. No-Shows Camping / Day Use: A camping no-show customer is one who does not arrive at a campground and does not cancel the reservation by check-out time on the day after the scheduled arrival date. Reserved campsites and group overnight facilities will be held until check-out time on the day following your scheduled arrival. Group day-use facilities will be held until check-in time on your scheduled arrival date. If a customer does not arrive at the campground or group facility by check-out time the day after arrival or does not cancel the reservation by the times listed under "Late Cancellations" above, the customer may be assessed a $20.00 service fee and forfeit use fees. Refunds Customers must request refunds no later than 14 days after the scheduled departure date. Recreation.gov will not grant refund requests after 14 days of departure. Reservation Fee: For some facilities, tours or permits an additional reservation fee is charged. For some overnight and day-use facilities, an additional non-refundable reservation fee may apply. The non-refundable reservation fee for tours and tickets is $1.00. The non-refundable reservation fee for permits varies by location. Refunds for Bankcard Purchases: Refunds for bank card payments will be issued as a credit to the original bank card. Refunds for Check or Cash Purchases: Refunds for Recreation.gov payments made by check or money order, and cash payments at selected campgrounds will be issued a check refund. A refund will be processed within 30 days of receipt and approval. Please Note: Refund requests made during or after departure can only be processed when approved by the facility management staff based upon local policy. Refunds for Emergency Closures: In the event of an emergency closure, the Recreation.gov team will attempt to notify users and offer alternate dates (as appropriate). If this is not possible, reservations will be cancelled and all fees paid will be refunded. Reservation fees for free tickets are non-refundable in the event of an emergency closure. Recreation.gov Billing Information Reservation transaction will appear on customer's credit card statements as "Recreation.gov 877-444-6777." Changes to Policies and Procedures Recreation.gov reserves the right, when necessary, to modify reservation policies. These policies were last updated July 2018.

What the agency tells you

Rule

Camping fees include use of the dump station

Rule

This Campground is in Bear Country Store food and trash securely to avoid attracting wildlife -Failure to comply may result in fines up to $5,000 and/or imprisonment Remember, a fed bear is a dead bear

Rule

Please bring your own drinking water. Water is available at the dump station, not in campground This is a 'pack it in, pack it out' facility; bring trash bags

Everything else this campground posts · 12
Rule

Dogs or Domestic Pets Owners must  -Control dogs by a leash not to exceed six feet (6’) at all times  -Clean up dog feces  -Limit two dogs per site Do not allow dogs to  -Threaten or attack people/animals  -Interfere with people, vehicles, or property  -Cause damage to vegetation or harass wildlife

Rule

Campground Etiquette and Rules Gates open at 7am, close at 10pm Quiet Hours are 10pm-6am No generators after 10pm Camping is allowed only within the designated space provided. Do not go beyond the boundaries of your site Max occupancy is 8 people per single site Reserved sites will be held until 12pm on the day after your scheduled arrival date Horses/Off-road vehicles are prohibited in the campground Leave No Trace  -Put all trash in dumpsters, if provided, or properly stored in your vehicle or bear box  -Remove all personal property and trash when leaving  -Unclean sites will be reported to the District Ranger LEO  -Leaving food/trash in an unoccupied site may result in a $5,000 fine Cleaning fish or bathing where drinking water is supplied is strictly prohibited Fireworks or other explosives are prohibited. Discharging of a firearm in the campground is not allowed No boisterous behavior. Be courteous. Keep noise at a reasonable level No amplified music is allowed in USDA Forest Service campgrounds and facilities Max Vehicle Length includes tow vehicle Highway 40 runs near the campground and campers may hear traffic noise

Rule

There is a 2-night minimum stay on weekends; 3-night minimum stay on holiday weekends

Rule

Trailers/Campers and RVs: Water tank can be filled at the dump station. Hooking up to spigots or the power in the restrooms, even for medical devices is strictly prohibited

Rule

First Come First Served (FF) sites For reservable sites, reservations must be made at least 5 days in advance You must claim a FF site in person on the day you wish to check-in A site listed as FF does not guarantee availability, Recreation.gov does not update FF occupancy The only way to know if an FF site is available is to arrive at the campground on the day you plan to check-in Availability cannot be predicted Many sites are in remote locations, we cannot contact camp hosts about availability Recommended arrival times vary by day. Weekends and holidays fill more quickly To claim an FF site, you must be physically present, occupy the site, and pay at that time

Rule

Extra Vehicle -$10 per vehicle, per day (paid on-site cash/check) Firewood -$9

Rule

If you booked at a discount without a Senior or Access pass, you'll need to pay the difference in cash/check upon arrival. Only Senior or Access passes qualify for discounts and proof of ownership upon arrival is required

Rule

Please understand that camping is an outdoor experience; we do not give refunds for weather or natural conditions Cancellations within 24 hours prior to arrival date will forfeit the entire use fee. Group Site Cancellations within 14 days will forfeit entire use fee No-shows, early departures, or cancellations after the arrival date are not entitled to a refund Failure to arrive at the campsite by 12pm the day after scheduled arrival and does not cancel the reservation, will forfeit site and first-night use fee

Rule

For more info on Bear Country wildawareutah.org wildlife.utah.gov For Rules and Regulations visit gocamputah.com/rules

Rule

Click herefor more info about the Uinta-Wasatch-Cache National Forest For more info, call Heber Ranger District at 435-755-3620 or Utah Recreation at 385-273-1100 Visit our website gocamputah.comor Facebook facebook.com/letsgocamputah To reserve a site call Recreation.gov reservation line 1-877-444-6777

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Help prevent the spread of tree-killing pests in our national forests by obtaining firewood within 10 miles of your destination and burning it on-site. For more info click here

Rule

Please note: Utah Recreation is not responsible for accident or injury to any person or property resulting from the use of this facility and is not responsible for the loss of money or valuables of any kind. The user of this permit assumes full and complete responsibility for the conduct and actions of all members in their party

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
32 · 2 group, 2 cabin
Hookups
None
Longest rig
70 ft
Paved pads
All
Accessible sites
4
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Dump station
Yes
recreation.gov lists “Dump Station”
Source: National Park Service and agency records

Around the campground

On the water
Reservoir, Creek
Fishing
Hiking
Picnicking
Wildlife viewing
Night sky · 412th darkest of 458 in UT
Bortle 4
Fall color · reported 10 days ago, 21 km away
Past peak
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026
Fall color: More Than Just Parks foliage tracker, joined to this campground by distance (21 km) · Oct 6, 2026

No reading yet, book on recreation.gov

recreation.gov lists 28 of the 32 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.

No availability snapshot inside the last 36 hours, so this page draws nothing rather than ageing a reading into fiction.

Booking windowOut of seasonOut of season, no booking. On January 8, 2027 at 10 AM ET, availability opens through May 8, 2027.recreation.govAdd to calendar (.ics)
Max stay16 nightsthe facility record
A night$30.43–$59.08plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$68.86–$126.16DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservation; this campground publishes its own terms toorecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Forest ServiceBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Full? Watch it.

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Sat, May 8 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 15

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night, per site$30.43–$59.08
Standard Nonelectric$30.43
Standard Nonelectric - Double Site$59.08
Group areas, a night$215.72–$450.23
These are next season’s rates, May 8, 2027 to Sep 6, 2027. The campground is between seasons now.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What this campground addsits own record
Extra vehicleSee the note

“Cash, Check, or Scan & Pay 21 single sites - $34.00 , capacity - 8 people + 1 vehicle 4 double sites - $66.00 , capacity - 16 people + 2 vehicles 1 group site - $241.00 , capacity - 50 people + 10 vehicles 1 group sit…” · the U.S. Forest Service’s own fee record

What a stay costs
One nightDerived$38.43–$67.08
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$68.86–$126.16

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $30.43–$59.08 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

“Change and Cancellation Policies and Fees - Overnight and Day Use Facilities: To ensure fairness, reservation arrival or departure dates may not be changed beyond the booking window until 18 days after booking the reservation. - Camping / Day Use: A $10.00 service fee will apply if you change or cancel your reservat…” · this campground’s own no-show terms

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 7

rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Oct 1, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

53 records · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 28 mapped sites
121 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least roomLoop A 021 77 ftLoop A 022 77 ftLoop B 033 81 ft

All 53 records

30 of 53 records located
Standard26Group2Host pad2
SleepsTakes aUp to

Toilet distances are OpenStreetMap’s, measured for 30 of the 53 sites listed. A site with no reading is unknown, never far.

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 32 of the 53 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.

Loop A001standard nonelectric67 ft154 ft352 ft210 ft$30.43–$59.08
Loop A002standard nonelectric70 ft163 ft246 ft359 ft$30.43–$59.08
Loop A003 HOSThost pad47 ft491 ft116 ft$30.43–$215.72
Loop A004standard nonelectric64 ft101 ft427 ftDaniels Creek87 ft$30.43–$59.08
Loop A005standard nonelectric45 ft124 ft553 ftDaniels Creek166 ft$30.43–$59.08
Loop A006standard nonelectric60 ft101 ft414 ftDaniels Creek137 ft$30.43–$59.08
Loop A007standard nonelectric58 ft130 ft489 ftDaniels Creek293 ft$30.43–$59.08
Loop A008standard nonelectric67 ft106 ft429 ftDaniels Creek204 ft$30.43–$59.08
Loop A009standard nonelectric43 ft110 ft461 ftDaniels Creek238 ft$30.43–$59.08
Loop A010standard nonelectric70 ft145 ft335 ftDaniels Creek383 ft$30.43–$59.08
Loop A011standard nonelectric41 ft110 ft464 ftDaniels Creek215 ft$30.43–$59.08
Loop A012standard nonelectric63 ft117 ft347 ftDaniels Creek223 ft$30.43–$59.08
Loop A013standard nonelectric58 ft158 ft344 ftDaniels Creek89 ft$30.43–$59.08
Loop A014standard nonelectric57 ft152 ft280 ftDaniels Creek208 ft$30.43–$59.08
Loop A015standard nonelectric57 ft128 ft427 ftDaniels Creek131 ft$30.43–$59.08
Loop A016standard nonelectric53 ft128 ft403 ftDaniels Creek255 ft$30.43–$59.08
Loop A017standard nonelectric60 ft144 ft544 ftDaniels Creek312 ft$30.43–$59.08
Loop A018standard nonelectric50 ft146 ft652 ftDaniels Creek305 ft$30.43–$59.08
Loop A019standard nonelectric52 ft194 ft685 ftDaniels Creek81 ft$30.43–$59.08
Loop A020standard nonelectric46 ft101 ft742 ftDaniels Creek121 ft$30.43–$59.08
Loop A021standard nonelectric44 ft77 ft656 ftDaniels Creek187 ft$30.43–$59.08
Loop A022standard nonelectric36 ft77 ft732 ftDaniels Creek207 ft$30.43–$59.08
Loop A023standard nonelectric18 ft118 ft685 ftDaniels Creek274 ft$30.43–$59.08
Loop B031 HOSThost pad278 ft132 ft$30.43–$215.72
Loop B032standard nonelectric25 ft92 ft278 ft182 ft$30.43–$59.08
Loop B033standard nonelectric25 ft81 ft225 ft232 ft$30.43–$59.08
Loop B034standard nonelectric25 ft81 ft156 ft197 ft$30.43–$59.08
Loop B035standard nonelectric20 ft105 ft150 ft92 ft$30.43–$59.08
Loop BB1group shelter nonelectric30 ftyes290 ft131 ft132 ft$215.72
Loop BB2group shelter nonelectric40 ftyes290 ft198 ft182 ft$215.72
Loop Bxxxunnamed record$30.43–$215.72
MANAGEMENT SITESXXXunnamed record45 ft$30.43–$215.72
MANAGEMENT SITESXXX12unnamed record99 ft$30.43–$215.72
MANAGEMENT SITESXXX121unnamed record$30.43–$215.72
MANAGEMENT SITESXXX1210unnamed record$30.43–$215.72
MANAGEMENT SITESXXX1211unnamed record$30.43–$215.72
MANAGEMENT SITESXXX1212unnamed record$30.43–$215.72
MANAGEMENT SITESXXX122unnamed record$30.43–$215.72
MANAGEMENT SITESXXX123unnamed record$30.43–$215.72
MANAGEMENT SITESXXX124unnamed record$30.43–$215.72
MANAGEMENT SITESXXX125unnamed record$30.43–$215.72
MANAGEMENT SITESXXX126unnamed record$30.43–$215.72
MANAGEMENT SITESXXX127unnamed record$30.43–$215.72
MANAGEMENT SITESXXX128unnamed record$30.43–$215.72
MANAGEMENT SITESXXX129unnamed record$30.43–$215.72
S&PDouble, S&Ptype not stated67 ft$30.43–$215.72
S&PGroup Large, S&Ptype not stated40 ftyes$30.43–$215.72
S&PGroup Small, S&Ptype not stated30 ftyes$30.43–$215.72
S&PSingle, S&Ptype not stated70 ft$30.43–$215.72
xxxxxx43unnamed record$30.43–$215.72
xxxxxx44unnamed record$30.43–$215.72
xxxxxx46unnamed record$30.43–$215.72
xxxxxx50unnamed record$30.43–$215.72

The agency files 21 more records here that aren’t sites for the night: 2 it names a host pad and 19 it types MANAGEMENT rather than a campsite. They’re in the table above, marked for what they are, and none of them is counted as a site.

25 of 53 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate40.30972, -111.25972
The phoneHEBER RANGER DISTRICT 435-654-0470 OR UTAH RECREATION COMPAN
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Today56°Sunny1% rain
Tonight30°Mostly Clear
Saturday59°Sunny
Saturday Night31°Mostly Clear

NWS forecast for Independence, UT

Typical weather

Typical October night 31°F, day 50°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical December night 15°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

80°32°10°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: ALTA, UT (USC00420072), 28 miles away and 920 ft higher

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it

Roadless country, and what’s coming for it

Roadless
North Strawberry River6,816 acres · 4 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Strawberry River9,493 acres · 4 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Strawberry Peak9,694 acres · 5 mi · inventoried roadless area

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Who answers for this land

Mike Kennedy, official portrait

Lodgepole at Heber is in Utah’s 3rd congressional district. Its representative, Mike Kennedy (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: U.S. Forest Service publishes no season and no closure for this campground, and it takes no bookings we can read. That’s a gap in the record and not a locked gate: the number below is the only way to be sure.
Fall color: More Than Just Parks foliage tracker, joined to this campground by distance (21 km) · Oct 6, 2026
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.
Nearest place of any size: Independence, UT, 0.1 mi SSE. Straight line.