U.S. Forest Service · Pisgah National Forest · NC

North Mills River

1Heads up1 fire 50 mi away
Wildfire
Sugarland Mountain fire · 50 mi away · 0 acres · updated Oct 13, 2026
Reservable, and full this SaturdayEvery one of the 25 sites on offer is taken this Saturday, and the record lists no site held back for a walk-up. read 15:57 UTC

We don’t think it should be. Every campground should hold some sites for whoever drives up.Tell your representative →

Right now
OpenThe agency lists it open
A night
$31–$62Across the site types the agency prices
Sites
2925 on recreation.gov
Season
Year-roundOpen year-round
35 ftLongest rig
2,220 ftElevation
70 ftWater · North Fork Mills River
1.4 miNW of Mills River, NC
89%Tree cover
Open year-roundToday

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 1 notices

In the agency’s own words

North Mills River Campground is a rustic mountain getaway in Pisgah National Forest in western North Carolina. Located just outside the popular city of Asheville, the campground provides access to a variety of cultural and natural attractions, including an arboretum, the scenic Blue Ridge Parkway, and numerous hiking, fishing, and mountain biking opportunities. Winter Operations (November 16, 2025 - March 20, 2026): During winter months, this facility operates with limited services: No running water No electricity Pit toilets only Sites 1-13 are available on a first-come, first-served basis for $15 per night (14-day stay limit) . Sites 14-26 are closed during winter. Payment by cash or check must be placed in the fee tube within 30 minutes of arrival. Winter sites cannot be reserved online. Keep reading

Recreation

The forest is known for its hiking and mountain biking trails, several of which are near the campground. Mills River offers excellent trout fishing, as well as tubing and swimming, which are kid-friendly favorite activities. Visitors wishing to learn more about the area can attend educational programs during the summer.

Facilities

This is a relatively small facility with campsites organized into two loops on opposite sides of the river. Sites are mostly shaded and lie within a short distance of the water. The facility provides picnic tables, tent pads, lantern posts and campfire rings with grills, in addition to restrooms with hot showers and flush toilets. Campers can purchase firewood and fire starter on-site.

Natural Features

The campground is situated in the Appalachian Mountains at an elevation of 2,200 feet. The surrounding land boasts mile-high peaks, cascading waterfalls and slopes densely forested with hardwoods. The group camping area is adjacent to the beautiful, shallow waters of the Mills River. Contact Info For facility specific information, please call (828) 577-4167.

Nearby Attractions

Several natural and cultural attractions are within close proximity to the campground. Sliding Rock, Looking Glass Falls and the scenic Blue Ridge Parkway are among the most popular sites. The small town of Brevard offers various amenities and services, and visitors can take a trip to Asheville to visit art galleries, music venues, shops and restaurants.

What the agency tells you

Rule

- Check-in required: All guests must check in with the campground host before setting up their campsite. Hosts are on-site March 20 - November 15. - Campsite rules: Tents must be placed on gravel tent pads. Limit of 2 tents and 2 vehicles per site. Additional vehicles are $5 per vehicle (collected on-site). - Pets allowed: Dogs must be kept on leash at all times during your stay. - Bear country: North Mills River is located in black bear territory. All food, toiletries, and scented items must be stored in a vehicle, camper, or provided bear box when you are away from your campsite. Failure to comply may result in removal from the facility for public safety reasons. - Availability: Reservations are strongly recommended for weekends and holidays, as availability is extremely limited during peak times. - Year-round access: Open year-round with full services March 20 - November 15. Winter operations (November 16 - March 20) feature walk-up sites only with limited services (no running water, no electricity, pit toilets only). - Firewood: Don't move firewood! Protect our forests by obtaining firewood at or near your destination and burning it on-site. Visit dontmovefirewood.org to learn more. - Contact information: Campground staff are located at the manager's site from March 20 - November 15. From November 16 - March 20, the site is managed remotely. Call 828-577-4167 for assistance or 911 for emergencies. - This campground is managed by Naventure.

Tents and rigs

Sites
29 · 4 tent-only, 1 group
Hookups
1 electric, 2 water
Longest rig
35 ft
Accessible sites
1
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Flush Toilets
“…to restrooms with hot showers and flush toilets. Campers can purchase firewood and fire starter…”
Showers
Yes, the record doesn’t say what kind
Shower/Bath Type states a shower on 8 campsite record(s) that are not a cabin, of this campground's 29
Drinking water
Yes
WATER (SEASONAL) on 2 of 29 campsite records
Firewood
Sold here
Stay limit
14 nights
recreation.gov facility rule maxStay
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026

Around the campground

On the water
Waterfall, River
Fishing
Hiking
Swimming
Water sports
Night sky · 80th darkest of 84 in NC
Bortle 4
Fall color · reported 3 days ago, 22 km away
Patchy color
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026
Fall color: More Than Just Parks foliage tracker, joined to this campground by distance (22 km) · Oct 13, 2026

Full this Saturdayread 15:57 UTC

How full the weekend is nationally.

2 campgrounds have sites open within 30 miles, read 15:50 UTC. See them

OpenBooked

Every one of the 25 sites on offer is taken this Friday and Saturday. 13 are free on Tue, Oct 20. read 15:57 UTC Why the weekend fills and the week doesn’t

Booking windowThrough November 15Bookable now through November 15, 2026, the end of this reservable season, and again for March 19, 2027 through April 16, 2027. Tomorrow at 10 AM ET, availability opens through April 17, 2027.recreation.gov
Max stay14 nightsthe facility record
A night$31–$62plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$70–$132DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Forest ServiceBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Watch this campground

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Fri, Mar 19 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Where there’s room this weekendBook on recreation.gov ↗

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 16

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night, per site$31–$62
Standard Nonelectric$31
"Full Hookup"$46
Double Site - Standard Nonelectric$62
Group area, a night$50
Rates for the season the campground is in now, Mar 20, 2026 to Nov 15, 2026.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What this campground addsits own record
Extra vehicle$5

“Additional vehicles are $5 per vehicle (collected on-site).” · the U.S. Forest Service’s own agency notice

What a stay costs
One nightDerived$39–$70
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$70–$132

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $31–$62 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 6
Open within 30 miles this weekend · 2

Sites the agency is offering this Friday and Saturday that nobody has taken, nearest first. read 15:50 UTC

recreation.gov availability, read 15:57 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

29 sites · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 17 mapped sites
104 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least roomLoop NORT 010 86 ftLoop NORT 012 86 ftLoop NORT 004 91 ft

All 29 sites

17 of 29 sites located
Standard14Tent only2Group1
SleepsTakes aUp to

Toilet distances are OpenStreetMap’s, measured for 17 of the 29 sites listed. A site with no reading is unknown, never far.

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 26 of the 29 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.

NORT001type not stated30 ft$31–$40
NORT002standard nonelectric18 ft96 ft119 ft402 ft$31–$62
NORT003standard nonelectric35 ft92 ft210 ft445 ft$31–$62
NORT004standard nonelectric35 ft91 ft131 ft379 ft$31–$62
NORT005standard nonelectric18 ft91 ft136 ft302 ft$31–$62
NORT006standard nonelectric30 ftyes104 ft12 ft266 ft$31–$62
NORT007standard nonelectric104 ft19 ft210 ft$31–$62
NORT008standard nonelectric20 ft126 ft112 ft157 ft$31–$62
NORT009standard nonelectric20 ft98 ft35 ft130 ft$31–$62
NORT010standard nonelectric32 ft86 ft65 ft132 ft$31–$62
NORT011standard nonelectric20 ft118 ft58 ft254 ft$31–$62
NORT012standard nonelectric35 ft86 ft90 ft190 ft$31–$62
NORT013standard nonelectric35 ft106 ft18 ft283 ft$31–$62
NORT014rv electric28 ft$46
NORT015standard nonelectric20 ft117 ft29 ft553 ft$31–$62
NORT016standard nonelectric18 ft$31–$62
NORT017tent only nonelectric18 ft
NORT018tent only nonelectric20 ft117 ft36 ft644 ft
NORT019tent only nonelectric20 ft119 ft25 ft746 ft
NORT020standard nonelectric35 ft256 ft48 ft364 ft$31–$62
NORT021standard nonelectric18 ft$31–$62
NORT022standard nonelectric18 ft$31–$62
NORT023type not stated30 ft$31–$40
NORT024standard nonelectric18 ft$31–$62
NORT025standard nonelectric18 ft$31–$62
NORT026standard nonelectric18 ft$31–$62
NORTH MILLS RIVERGroup Sitegroup tent only area nonelectric175 ft146 ft598 ft$50
S&PElectric, S&Ptype not stated18 ft$31–$40
S&PStandard Nonelectric, S&Ptype not stated18 ft$31–$40

25 of 29 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

This Afternoon79°Sunny2% rain
Tonight44°Mostly Cloudy then Chance Rain Showers40% rain
Saturday52°Chance Rain Showers then Mostly Sunny27% rain
Saturday Night35°Clear then Areas Of Frost

NWS forecast for Mills River, NC

Typical weather

Typical October night 44°F, day 68°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical January night 27°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

90°32°20°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: ASHEVILLE 13 S, NC (USW00053878), 5 miles away and 117 ft lower

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it · a letter you can send

What threatens this place

Roadless
Laurel Mountain5,683 acres · 4 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
South Mills River8,588 acres · 4 mi · inventoried roadless area

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Source: MTJP Threatened Lands map · Oct 3, 2026

Who answers for this land

Chuck Edwards, official portrait

North Mills River is in North Carolina’s 11th congressional district. Its representative, Chuck Edwards (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

Who can change it · 3
Write to somebody who can change it

Two offices, two different asks. The draft to the agency asks it to set aside a published share of the sites here for whoever drives up. The draft to Congress asks why that share is zero and presses for a published minimum at the campgrounds it funds.

Read the draft, or change the wording

For the camper who turned up, or tried to book, and couldn’t get in. Every draft is written from this campground’s own record (its agency, its unit, its site count and its own weekend) and the buttons above copy whichever wording is selected here.

To Chuck Edwards

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at North Mills River, Pisgah National Forest, North Carolina

Dear Chuck Edwards,

I’m a constituent in North Carolina’s 11th district. I tried to camp at North Mills River, Pisgah National Forest, North Carolina, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 25 of the 29 campsites the agency files at North Mills River, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 25 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. North Mills River keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run North Mills River. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about North Mills River (Pisgah National Forest, North Carolina) via campanac.com
To Ted Budd

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at North Mills River, Pisgah National Forest, North Carolina

Dear Ted Budd,

I’m a constituent in North Carolina. I tried to camp at North Mills River, Pisgah National Forest, North Carolina, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 25 of the 29 campsites the agency files at North Mills River, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 25 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. North Mills River keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run North Mills River. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about North Mills River (Pisgah National Forest, North Carolina) via campanac.com
To Thom Tillis

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at North Mills River, Pisgah National Forest, North Carolina

Dear Thom Tillis,

I’m a constituent in North Carolina. I tried to camp at North Mills River, Pisgah National Forest, North Carolina, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 25 of the 29 campsites the agency files at North Mills River, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 25 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. North Mills River keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run North Mills River. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about North Mills River (Pisgah National Forest, North Carolina) via campanac.com
How we know this · 4
The figures in these drafts: Navy Ford (CVN-78) Class Aircraft Carrier Program: Background and Issues for Congress (CRS Report RS20643) · Updated December 4, 2025 · “The ship’s final procurement cost was $13,316.5 million (i.e., about $13.3 billion) in then-year dollars.”
The figures in these drafts: Salary Table 2026-GS, Incorporating the 1% General Schedule Increase, Effective January 2026 (U.S. Office of Personnel Management) · Effective January 2026 · “Grade 5, Step 1: $34,799 (annual rate, before locality pay).”
The figures in these drafts: Update to Civilian Position Full Fringe Benefit Cost Factor, Federal Pay Raise Assumptions, and Inflation Factors used in OMB Circular No. A-76 (OMB Memorandum M-08-13) · March 11, 2008 · “the civilian position full fringe benefit cost factor needs to be adjusted downward, from 36.45 percent to 36.25 percent”

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: The agency lists it open right now.
Fall color: More Than Just Parks foliage tracker, joined to this campground by distance (22 km) · Oct 13, 2026
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.