Plymouth Park
3Heads up3 fires, nearest 23 mi
- Right now
- Closedrecreation.gov lists every site closed this weekend, read 15:12 UTC
- A night
- $22–$35When it reopens, per site
- Sites
- 33In the agency’s record
The place
the agency’s own description · what’s there · 11 notices
In the agency’s own words
Plymouth Campground is located by the small town of Plymouth, Washington. The day use area and boat launch are on a small island on Lake Umatilla on the Columbia River. Popular activities in the area include fishing, swimming, boating, water skiing and hunting. Keep reading
Recreation
Visitors enjoy boating, water sports and swimming in the river. Anglers fish for Chinook, steelhead, walleye, sturgeon, and shad. The boat ramp is located at the day use area for convenient river access.
Facilities
The campground offers 32 sites with electric hookups. Amenities include flush and pit toilets, showers, drinking water, a dump station and playground. The day use area has a swim beach, boat ramp, flush toliets, vault toliet and courtesy dock.
Natural Features
The park is situated in a high desert environment on an island on the Columbia River. The island is covered with tall sage and Russian Olive trees, but shade is limited. Wildlife is abundant in the area, and mule deer, waterfowl and raptors are commonly seen.
Nearby Attractions
McNary Dam and Visitor Center and Lake Wallula are two miles upstream from the campground. The lake offers additional opportunities for boating, swimming and fishing.
What the agency tells you
Apr 15-Oct 15 LePage Park Gate House: 541 739-2713 Apr 15-Oct 15 Plymouth Park Gate House: 509 783-1270 Year round John Day Dam: 541 739-1135
Camping limited to 14 days within a 30-consecutive day period.
RV sites are limited to one RV unit and one tent OR two tents. Maximum occupancy of eight people per site. Each campsite is allowed one sleeping unit and one vehicle. Additional vehicles including boats will be required to park in overflow parking.
Everything else this campground posts · 8
Tent sites are limited to two tents. Maximum occupancy of eight people per site.
Trailer or RV Camping will not be allowed unless tow vehicle is present. If renting from local outfitter, please contact John Day Dam Ranger office at 541 739-1135 to schedule drop off. Having the tow vehicle present with the Trailer or RV is for emergency purposes.
$5 fee for extra vehicles. Additional vehicles beyond one sleeping unit and one vehicle will be required to park in overflow, including boats.
Additional tent sites are available on a first come, first served basis on weekends and holidays.
Pets are allowed and must be kept on a maximum 6ft leash at all times.
********************************** -----Updated COVID-19 Terms and Conditions----- • Face masks are optional for all visitors in campgrounds. • Restrooms will be open and cleaned, however visitors need to take necessary precautions to ensure personal hygiene. Restrooms are only as sanitary as the last user. • Bring your own soap, hand sanitizer and other hygienic products. • Your health depends on the actions you take. Public facilities are only as clean as the last visitor. • Please help keep our communities safe! *************************************************
Don't Move Firewood: Protect your forests from tree-killing pests by buying your firewood locally and burning it on-site. Visit Dontmovefirewood.org for further information.
STOP THE SPREAD OF INVASIVE SPECIES. Remove plants, seeds, animals, and mud from boots, gear, pets, and vehicles. Clean your gear before entering and leaving the recreation site. Stay on designated roads and trails, and follow local guidelines for firewood. CLEAN, DRAIN, DRY boats and any other recreational equipment that contacts water. Dispose of unwanted bait, worms, fish parts, or other organisms into the trash and not into the environment. For more information visit https://www.invasivespeciesinfo.gov/rec.
Tents and rigs
- Sites
- 33 · 1 group
- Hookups
- 30 electric, 32 water, 11 sewer
- Longest rig
- 55 ft
- Paved pads
- 32 of 33
- Accessible sites
- None listed
- Pets
- Allowed
- Campfires
- Allowed, barring fire bans
- Shade
- Every site
Facilities
- Toilets
- Pit Toilets
- “…hookups. Amenities include flush and pit toilets, showers, drinking water, a dump station and…”
- Showers
- Yes, the record doesn’t say what kind
- “Amenities include flush and pit toilets, showers, drinking water, a dump station and playground.”
- Drinking water
- Yes
- “…include flush and pit toilets, showers, drinking water, a dump station and playground. The day use area…”
- Dump station
- Yes
- recreation.gov lists “Dump Station”
- Boat ramp
- Yes
- Playground
- Yes
- Camp host
- On site
- recreation.gov lists “Host”
- Stay limit
- 14 nights
- recreation.gov facility rule maxStay
Around the campground
- On the water
- Lake, River, Beach
- Birding
- Boating
- Fishing
- Kayaking
- Stargazing
- Swimming
- Tubing
- Water access
- Wildlife viewing
- Night sky · 398th darkest of 400 in WA
- Bortle 4
Nothing to book until it reopensread 15:12 UTC
recreation.gov lists every site closed this weekend
Every one of the next thirty nights is in recreation.gov’s record and not one site is being offered on any of them. That’s a campground closed or not yet released for booking, not a sold-out one.
Tell me when it reopens
Watch for it to come back
One email when the agency reopens it, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.
We check the agency’s own record once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time it stops saying closed.
Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.
Every line of the receipt · 15
What you actually pay
“$5 fee for extra vehicles.” · the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers’s own agency notice
Who keeps the booking fee
The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →
How we know this receipt · 5
Why this page can’t say why
recreation.gov lists every site at Plymouth Park closed this Friday and Saturday night. The U.S. Army Corps of Engineers has published no closure notice we hold, so this page can’t say why, and it won’t fill the gap with a guess. A closed night isn’t a sold-out one: the reservations its record still carries were taken before the sites were closed.
There’s no notice to quote and no reason to argue with, so this page offers you the watch and the list below, and no letter.
Open within 150 miles · 4
The agency’s own word that these are open, not our reading of a season.
- Target Meadows CampgroundUmatilla National Forest · 62 mi · 17 sites
- Woodland CampgroundUmatilla National Forest · 65 mi
- Jubilee Lake Campground (OR)Umatilla National Forest · 67 mi · 55 sites
- Mottet CampgroundUmatilla National Forest · 67 mi
recreation.gov availability, read 15:12 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this
The sites
33 sites · which ones have room · the site map
The sites, ranked
from 31 mapped sitesAll 33 sites
Toilet distances are OpenStreetMap’s, measured for 32 of the 33 sites listed. A site with no reading is unknown, never far.
The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 31 of the 33 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.
| PPAR | 01 | standard electric | 44 ft | 30 amp | 87 ft | 137 ft | 597 ft | $30–$35 |
| PPAR | 02 | standard electric | 48 ft | 30 amp | 84 ft | 163 ft | 508 ft | $30–$35 |
| PPAR | 03 | standard electric | 49 ft | 50 amp | 98 ft | 152 ft | 425 ft | $30–$35 |
| PPAR | 04 | standard electric | 48 ft | 30 amp | 73 ft | 166 ft | 333 ft | $30–$35 |
| PPAR | 05 | standard electric | 43 ft | 30 amp | 73 ft | 195 ft | 262 ft | $30–$35 |
| PPAR | 06 | standard electric | 46 ft | 30 amp | 78 ft | 220 ft | 189 ft | $30–$35 |
| PPAR | 07 | standard electric | 41 ft | 30 amp | 83 ft | 232 ft | 130 ft | $30–$35 |
| PPAR | 08 | standard electric | 42 ft | 30 amp | 80 ft | 236 ft | 139 ft | $30–$35 |
| PPAR | 09 | type not stated | 42 ft | 30 amp | ||||
| PPAR | 10 | standard electric | 44 ft | 30 amp | 75 ft | 213 ft | 213 ft | $30–$35 |
| PPAR | 11 | standard electric | 42 ft | 30 amp | 72 ft | 210 ft | 277 ft | $30–$35 |
| PPAR | 12 | standard electric | 47 ft | 30 amp | 77 ft | 207 ft | 397 ft | $30–$35 |
| PPAR | 13 | standard electric | 44 ft | 50 amp | 77 ft | 256 ft | 439 ft | $30–$35 |
| PPAR | 14 | standard electric | 42 ft | 30 amp | 81 ft | 290 ft | 507 ft | $30–$35 |
| PPAR | 15 | standard electric | 45 ft | 30 amp | 75 ft | 334 ft | 573 ft | $30–$35 |
| PPAR | 16 | standard electric | 46 ft | 30 amp | 76 ft | 366 ft | 649 ft | $30–$35 |
| PPAR | 17 | standard electric | 43 ft | 30 amp | 76 ft | 442 ft | 648 ft | $30–$35 |
| PPAR | 18 | standard electric | 46 ft | 30 amp | 75 ft | 409 ft | 572 ft | $30–$35 |
| PPAR | 19 | standard electric | 55 ft | 30 amp | 85 ft | 374 ft | 489 ft | $30–$35 |
| PPAR | 20 | type not stated | 43 ft | 50 amp | 332 ft | 420 ft | ||
| PPAR | 21 | standard electric | 44 ft | 30 amp | 82 ft | 301 ft | 352 ft | $30–$35 |
| PPAR | 22 | standard electric | 43 ft | 30 amp | 59 ft | 274 ft | 282 ft | $30–$35 |
| PPAR | 23 | standard electric | 54 ft | 30 amp | 59 ft | 289 ft | 222 ft | $30–$35 |
| PPAR | 24 | standard electric | 40 ft | 30/30 amp | 73 ft | 296 ft | 151 ft | $30–$35 |
| PPAR | 25 | standard electric | 35 ft | 30 amp | 74 ft | 316 ft | 77 ft | $30–$35 |
| PPAR | 26 | standard electric | 40 ft | 50 amp | 95 ft | 338 ft | 64 ft | $30–$35 |
| PPAR | 27 | standard electric | 45 ft | 50 amp | 91 ft | 318 ft | 159 ft | $30–$35 |
| PPAR | 28 | standard electric | 44 ft | 50 amp | 72 ft | 302 ft | 249 ft | $30–$35 |
| PPAR | 29 | standard electric | 45 ft | 50 amp | 71 ft | 272 ft | 321 ft | $30–$35 |
| PPAR | 30 | standard electric | 42 ft | 50 amp | 71 ft | 261 ft | 391 ft | $30–$35 |
| PPAR | 31 | standard electric | 45 ft | 50 amp | 83 ft | 247 ft | 474 ft | $30–$35 |
| PPAR | 32 | standard electric | 45 ft | 50 amp | 84 ft | 224 ft | 558 ft | $30–$35 |
| PPAR | Paradise | group standard nonelectric | 625 ft | 149 ft | 1,156 ft | $50 |
25 of 33 listed
Getting there
the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Where it is
West Park (OR)2.3 mi
Hood Park25 mi
Charbonneau Park and Campground33 mi
Fishhook Park39 miWillow Creek Campground42 miCoalmine Hill CampgroundUmatilla National Forest · 53 miFrom Kennewick, Washington take US-395 South or 23 Miles to Exit 131. Merge onto State Route 14 West and continue for 1 mile. Turn south onto Plymouth Road and continue for 1 mile. Follow the curve to Christie Road. The campground is the first left and the day use area is the second left.
The weather
the next four days · the thirty-year normal
Next four days, and the thirty-year normal
Forecast
NWS forecast for Umatilla, OR
Typical weather
Typical October night 44°F, day 64°F.
Coldest month of the year: typical January night 30°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.
Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more
A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.
The land, and who answers for it
who answers for it
Who answers for this land

Plymouth Park is in Washington’s 4th congressional district. Its representative, Dan Newhouse (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →