U.S. Forest Service · Willamette National Forest · OR

RIVERSIDE AT DETROIT (Willamette National Forest, OR)

3Heads up3 fires, nearest 14 mi
Wildfire
407 Det fire · 14 mi away · 0 acres · updated Oct 16, 2026
Wildfire
Austin fire · 26 mi away · 12,888 acres · 98% contained · updated Oct 12, 2026
Wildfire
Bench fire · 29 mi away · 67,071 acres · 90% contained · updated Oct 13, 2026
ReservableOut of season, no booking; October 24 opens April 24.
Book on recreation.govWe make nothing when you book
Right now
Nobody has saidNo season, no closure, no bookings to read
A night
$25–$40Across the site types the agency prices
Sites
3937 on recreation.gov
95 ftLongest rig
2,340 ftElevation
410 ftWater · North Santiam River
26.4 miSE of Mill City, OR
78%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 12 notices

In the agency’s own words

Riverside Campground provides 32 single campsites that can accomodate trailers up to 24 feet in length, 1 double campsite. This campground has both reservable and FCFS campsites. The campground is situated with two main loops. All sites are equipped with picnic tables and fire rings. Water is provided via individual faucet risers located throughout the campground. There are three double-vault toilets located in accessible locations. Trash receptacles are located in the campground. Campfires allowed until and unless otherwise posted. Fire bans are common during summer months. Please plan accordingly. Keep reading

Scan and Pay might be offered at this campground; It is recommended that you pay by cash or check for FCFS campsites. There are no refunds, modifications, cancellations, or other fee changes allowed with FCFS payments. This system is the same as putting cash into a fee tube and cannot be refunded. Please download the Rec.Gov app prior to arriving at the campground as there may be no cellular service or very limited service at the campground. If no Scan & Pay option is available you must pay via cash or check. Reservations for this site can be made up to 6 months in advance of arrival date by reserving online at RECREATION.GOV or by calling 877-444-6777.

Recreation

Anglers enjoy fishing for rainbow trout on the river. Among the many options for hiking and biking trails, the Mt. Jefferson-Pamelia Lake Trail Area is bound to please all types. Hikers looking for a challenging trail will enjoy the Minto Mountain Trail.

Facilities

This campground has 37 sites, 26 are reservable. The campground is comprised of two sections. The southeast (upriver) section has more secluded sites on a bluff overlooking the river. Northwest (downriver) sites have partial shade and a more open setting. Drinking water spigots can be found throughout the campground. Waste gray water disposal sites are provided. Firewood is available for sale on-site.

Natural Features

Riverside is located along the North Fork Santiam River at an elevation of 2,400 feet. Surrounding vegetation includes hemlock, rhododendron and fern, among the towering conifers. The campground is in the North Santiam Travel Corridor of the Willamette National Forest. The forest covers 1.6 million acres on the western slopes of the Cascade Range. Contact Info For facility specific information, please call (541) 967-3917.

Nearby Attractions

The Marion Forks Fish Hatchery, along Marion and Horn Creeks, is an interesting place to visit. Here, visitors can see rainbow trout, summer steelhead and spring chinook being harvested.

What the agency tells you

Rule

No electric hookups at this facility

Rule

Limit one vehicle per campsite; a $10 per vehicle per night fee will be charged for additional vehicles

Rule

You must stay in the campsite that you reserved. Site swapping is not allowed

Everything else this campground posts · 9
Rule

No discharging firearms, possession of fireworks or use of chainsaws allowed

Rule

Scan and Pay might be offered at this campground; It is recommended that you pay by cash or check for FCFS campsites. There are no refunds, modifications, cancellations, or other fee changes allowed with FCFS payments. This system is the same as putting cash into a fee tube and cannot be refunded. Please download the Rec.Gov app prior to arriving at the campground as there may be no cellular service or very limited service at the campground. If no Scan & Pay option is available you must pay via cash or check.

Rule

Campfires allowed until and unless otherwise posted. Fire bans are common during summer months. Please plan accordingly.

Rule

Check-In 2:00PM

Rule

Check-Out 12:00PM

Rule

No Overflow Parking. No Day Use Parking.

Rule

Tight corners in campground may not allow passage of vehicles over 30 feet in length.

Rule

Be bear aware; keep all food out of sight in approved containers or locked inside your vehicle and remove all food from the area after eating

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Please protect Pacific Northwest forests by preventing the spread of invasive species. Firewood can carry insects and diseases that can threaten the health of our western forests. You can make a difference by obtaining and burning your firewood near your camping destination. Visit Dontmovefirewood.org for further information.

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
39
Hookups
None
Longest rig
95 ft
Paved pads
27 of 39
Accessible sites
None listed
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Shade
38 of 39 sites
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Vault Toilets
“…the campground. There are three double-vault toilets located in accessible locations. Trash receptacles…”
Drinking water
Yes
“…partial shade and a more open setting. Drinking water spigots can be found throughout the campground.…”
Firewood
Sold here
Camp host
On site
recreation.gov lists “Host”
Stay limit
14 nights
recreation.gov facility rule maxStay
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026
Water, toilets and showers: read from the agency description, shown above · Sep 12, 2026

Around the campground

On the water
Lake, River, Creek
Birding
Fishing
Hiking
Night sky · 462nd darkest of 770 in OR
Bortle 2
Cell signal · Cell signal · Forest Service says
Spotty
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise. · Sep 8, 2026

No reading yet, book on recreation.gov

recreation.gov lists 37 of the 39 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.

No availability snapshot inside the last 36 hours, so this page draws nothing rather than ageing a reading into fiction.

Booking windowOut of seasonOut of season, no booking. On October 24, 2026 at 10 AM ET, availability opens through April 24, 2027.recreation.govAdd to calendar (.ics)
Max stay14 nights2-night minimum on weekendsthe facility record
A night$25–$40plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$58–$88DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Forest ServiceBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Full? Watch it.

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Sat, Apr 24 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 15

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night, per site$25–$40
Standard Nonelectric$25
Tent Only Nonelectric$25
Double Site$40
These are next season’s rates, Apr 24, 2027 to Sep 27, 2027. The campground is between seasons now.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What this campground addsits own record
Extra vehicle$10

“a $10 per vehicle per night fee will be charged for additional vehicles” · the U.S. Forest Service’s own agency notice

What a stay costs
One nightDerived$33–$48
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$58–$88

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $25–$40 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 6

rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Oct 1, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

39 sites · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 36 mapped sites
77 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least roomWest Loop 035 51 ftWest Loop 036 51 ftWest Loop 026 59 ft

All 39 sites

37 of 39 sites located
Standard36Type not stated1
SleepsTakes aUp to

Toilet distances are OpenStreetMap’s, measured for 37 of the 39 sites listed. A site with no reading is unknown, never far.

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 39 of the 39 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

East Loop001standard nonelectric41 ft72 ft218 ft761 ft$25–$40
East Loop002standard nonelectric42 ft72 ft216 ft764 ft$25–$40
East Loop003standard nonelectric16 ft104 ft219 ft591 ft$25–$40
East Loop004standard nonelectric27 ft122 ft190 ft397 ft$25–$40
East Loop005standard nonelectric31 ft84 ft178 ft276 ft$25–$40
East Loop006standard nonelectric29 ft74 ft166 ft158 ft$25–$40
East Loop007standard nonelectric19 ft88 ft154 ft44 ft$25–$40
East Loop008standard nonelectric18 ft83 ft162 ft111 ft$25–$40
East Loop009standard nonelectric37 ft191 ft250 ft620 ft$25–$40
East Loop010standard nonelectric22 ft97 ft176 ft620 ft$25–$40
East Loop011standard nonelectric15 ft97 ft98 ft543 ft$25–$40
East Loop012standard nonelectric22 ft109 ftunder 10 ft438 ft$25–$40
East Loop013standard nonelectric22 ft83 ft79 ft141 ft$25–$40
East Loop014standard nonelectric18 ft86 ft73 ft105 ft$25–$40
East Loop015standard nonelectric38 ft74 ft93 ft168 ft$25–$40
East Loop016standard nonelectric28 ft84 ft95 ft273 ft$25–$40
East Loop017standard nonelectric30 ft104 ft135 ft531 ft$25–$40
East Loop018standard nonelectric39 ft70 ft110 ft733 ft$25–$40
East Loop019standard nonelectric46 ft70 ft119 ft797 ft$25–$40
East Loop020standard nonelectric14 ft86 ft111 ft723 ft$25–$40
East Loop021standard nonelectric17 ft86 ft125 ft638 ft$25–$40
S&PSingle S&Ptype not stated30 ft$25
West Loop022type not stated95 ft92 ft563 ft$25
West Loop023standard nonelectric23 ft79 ft93 ft437 ft$25–$40
West Loop024standard nonelectric21 ft75 ft88 ft361 ft$25–$40
West Loop025standard nonelectric27 ft60 ft97 ft285 ft$25–$40
West Loop026standard nonelectric15 ft59 ft108 ft209 ft$25–$40
West Loop027standard nonelectric15 ft69 ft104 ft141 ft$25–$40
West Loop028standard nonelectric45 ft71 ft63 ft90 ft$25–$40
West Loop029standard nonelectric23 ft62 ft36 ft85 ft$25–$40
West Loop030standard nonelectric31 ft62 ft36 ft98 ft$25–$40
West Loop031standard nonelectric23 ft90 ft96 ft140 ft$25–$40
West Loop032standard nonelectric17 ft65 ft185 ft144 ft$25–$40
West Loop033standard nonelectric19 ft65 ft222 ft126 ft$25–$40
West Loop034standard nonelectric23 ft105 ft200 ft87 ft$25–$40
West Loop035standard nonelectric22 ft50 ft166 ft213 ft$25–$40
West Loop036standard nonelectric30 ft50 ft156 ft263 ft$25–$40
West Loop037standard nonelectric30 ft75 ft158 ft376 ft$25–$40
West Loop038standard nonelectric31 ft$25–$40

25 of 39 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate44.64242, -121.94533
The phone801-226-3564
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

This Afternoon75°Sunny
Tonight42°Mostly Cloudy3% rain
Saturday57°Slight Chance Light Rain24% rain
Saturday Night35°Patchy Fog

NWS forecast for Idanha, OR

Typical weather

Typical October night 35°F, day 60°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical January night 27°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

90°32°20°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: MARION FORKS FISH HATCHERY, OR (USC00355221), 2 miles away and 135 ft higher

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it

Roadless country, and what’s coming for it

Roadless
Mt. Jefferson, North6,219 acres · 6 mi · inventoried roadless area

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Who answers for this land

Janelle Bynum, official portrait

RIVERSIDE AT DETROIT (Willamette National Forest, OR) is in Oregon’s 5th congressional district. Its representative, Janelle Bynum (D), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: A+. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: U.S. Forest Service publishes no season and no closure for this campground, and it takes no bookings we can read. That’s a gap in the record and not a locked gate: the number below is the only way to be sure.
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise. · Sep 8, 2026

“…app prior to arriving at the campground as there may be no cellular service or very limited service at the campground. If no Scan & Pay…”

Nearest place of any size: Idanha, OR, 6.8 mi ESE. Straight line.