1Heads up1 fire 29 mi away
Wildfire
Castle fire · 29 mi away · 3,615 acres · 100% contained · updated Oct 10, 2026
Reservable, and full this SaturdayThe one site on offer is taken this Saturday, and the record lists no site held back for a walk-up. read 15:28 UTC

We don’t think it should be. Every campground should hold some sites for whoever drives up.Tell your representative →

Right now
Closed for the seasonOut of the season the agency publishes
A night
$6–$14Across the site types the agency prices
Sites
2017 on recreation.gov
Season
May 1 – September 30Open May 1 through September 30
2,470 ftElevation
223 ftWater · Middle Fork Willamette River
17.1 miSE of Oakridge, OR
79%Tree cover
Bortle 2Night sky · 222nd darkest of 770 in OR
Open May 1 through September 30Today

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 4 notices

In the agency’s own words

This location has seven reservable sites and the rest are available on a first-come, first-served basis only. Sites must be reserved online five days before the start of the reservation. Any sites that have not been reserved can be used as first-come, first-serve, but users must be prepared to move sites within the campground if a reservation holder arrives and to claim the site. Visitors are required to physically arrive at the campground to purchase and claim a first-come, first-serve site. Once on-site, you may be able to pay for your campsite(s) using cash or by scanning a QR code using the Recreation.gov mobile app, and the Scan and Pay feature. If this option is available, you will need to first download the free Recreation.gov mobile app https://www.recreation.gov/mobile-app prior to your arrival as some remote areas have limited or no cellular service. Keep reading

Recreation

Two short hiking trails are available within the campground and fishing is available in the nearby Middle Fork River. Other opportunities for hiking, mountain biking, and horseback riding are available nearby at places such as Young's Rock, Chuckle Springs, and Indigo Springs, or along the nearby Middle Fork National Recreation Trail.

Facilities

The campground has two communal bathrooms, regular trash service, and potable water available via handpump.

Natural Features

This campground is on the bank of the Middle Fork River, surrounded by towering Douglas fir and pine trees. Many peaks and springs are nearby and offer scenic vistas.

Nearby Attractions

Middle Fork River, Young's Rock, Chuckle Springs, Indigo Springs, Timpanogas Lake, Diamond Peak Wilderness

What the agency tells you

Rule

This campground has potable water available via a handpump. Guests are still recommended to bring water or a filtration system in case the water system must be closed for repairs.

Rule

There are two bathrooms available in this campground. Bathrooms will only be as clean as the last guest left them, so guests are asked to please be courteous to others who need the facilities.

Rule

Fire restrictions may be in place depending on the season and recend weather conditions. Guests are expected to know any restrictions that may impact their stay before getting to the campground.

Everything else this campground posts · 1
Rule

Road construction and closures can impact travel to and from the site. Guests should look for any closures that may impact their travel before starting their visit.

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
20
Hookups
None
Accessible sites
None listed
Pets
Allowed
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Drinking water
Yes
“…bathrooms, regular trash service, and potable water available via handpump. Natural Features This…”

Around the campground

On the water
Lake, River
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026

Full this Saturdayread 15:28 UTC

How full the weekend is nationally.

OpenBookedNot reservable

The one site on offer is taken this Friday and Saturday. 7 are free on Wed, Oct 21. read 15:28 UTC Why the weekend fills and the week doesn’t

Booking windowThrough October 31Bookable now through October 31, 2026, the end of the reservable season. On November 16, 2026 at 10 AM ET, availability opens through May 16, 2027.recreation.govAdd to calendar (.ics)
A night$6–$14plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$20–$36DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Forest ServiceBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Watch this campground

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Sun, May 16 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov ↗

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 13

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night, per site$6–$14
ScanPay 2$6
ScanPay 1$14
Rates for the season the campground is in now, May 16, 2026 to Oct 31, 2026.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$14–$22
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$20–$36

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $6–$14 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5

recreation.gov availability, read 15:28 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

20 sites · the site map

All 20 sites

1 of 20 sites located
Standard1
Aerial · Esri World Imagery
SleepsTakes aUp to

Toilet distances are OpenStreetMap’s, measured for 1 of the 20 sites listed. A site with no reading is unknown, never far.

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 17 of the 20 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.

Loop A01standard nonelectric$6–$14
Loop A02standard nonelectric$6–$14
Loop A03standard nonelectric$6–$14
Loop A04standard nonelectric$6–$14
Loop A05standard nonelectric$6–$14
Loop A06standard nonelectric$6–$14
Loop A07standard nonelectric$6–$14
Loop A08standard nonelectric$6–$14
Loop A09standard nonelectric$6–$14
Loop A10standard nonelectric$6–$14
Loop A11standard nonelectric$6–$14
Loop A12standard nonelectric$6–$14
Loop A13standard nonelectric$6–$14
Loop A14standard nonelectric$6–$14
Loop A15standard nonelectric$6–$14
Loop A16standard nonelectric$6–$14
Scan and PayScanPay 2type not stated
Scan and PayScanPay 3type not stated
Scan and PayScanPay 4type not stated
Scan and PayStandardstandard nonelectric223 ft321 ft$6–$14

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate43.49639, -122.32833
The phoneN/A
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

Getting there

Exit I-5 heading east on Highway 58 towards Oakridge, OR. On the east side of Oakridge, just past mile marker 37, take a right onto Kitson Springs Road. In approximately half a mile take a right onto Forest Service Road 21. Just before reaching mile marker 25 the entrance to the campground will be on the right.

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Today82°Sunny
Tonight49°Partly Cloudy
Saturday67°Partly Sunny
Saturday Night42°Partly Cloudy

NWS forecast for Oakridge, OR

Typical weather

Typical May night 43°F, day 70°F.

Coldest night of the open season: typical May night 43°F. Bring the bag rated for it.

90°32°20°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or moreOutside the published season

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: TOKETEE FALLS, OR (USC00358536), 17 miles away and 410 ft lower

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it · a letter you can send

Roadless country, and what’s coming for it

Roadless
Diamond Peak, South93 acres · 8 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Bulldog Rock559 acres · 8 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Diamond Peak, North1,317 acres · 9 mi · inventoried roadless area

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Who answers for this land

Val Hoyle, official portrait

Sacandaga is in Oregon’s 4th congressional district. Its representative, Val Hoyle (D), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: A+. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

Who can change it · 3
Write to somebody who can change it

Two offices, two different asks. The draft to the agency asks it to set aside a published share of the sites here for whoever drives up. The draft to Congress asks why that share is zero and presses for a published minimum at the campgrounds it funds.

Read the draft, or change the wording

For the camper who turned up, or tried to book, and couldn’t get in. Every draft is written from this campground’s own record (its agency, its unit, its site count and its own weekend) and the buttons above copy whichever wording is selected here.

To Val T. Hoyle

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Sacandaga, Willamette National Forest, Oregon

Dear Val T. Hoyle,

I’m a constituent in Oregon’s 4th district. I tried to camp at Sacandaga, Willamette National Forest, Oregon, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 17 of the 20 campsites the agency files at Sacandaga, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, the one site recreation.gov was offering there was already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Sacandaga keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Sacandaga. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Sacandaga (Willamette National Forest, Oregon) via campanac.com
To Jeff Merkley

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Sacandaga, Willamette National Forest, Oregon

Dear Jeff Merkley,

I’m a constituent in Oregon. I tried to camp at Sacandaga, Willamette National Forest, Oregon, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 17 of the 20 campsites the agency files at Sacandaga, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, the one site recreation.gov was offering there was already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Sacandaga keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Sacandaga. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Sacandaga (Willamette National Forest, Oregon) via campanac.com
To Ron Wyden

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Sacandaga, Willamette National Forest, Oregon

Dear Ron Wyden,

I’m a constituent in Oregon. I tried to camp at Sacandaga, Willamette National Forest, Oregon, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 17 of the 20 campsites the agency files at Sacandaga, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, the one site recreation.gov was offering there was already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Sacandaga keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Sacandaga. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Sacandaga (Willamette National Forest, Oregon) via campanac.com
How we know this · 4
The figures in these drafts: Navy Ford (CVN-78) Class Aircraft Carrier Program: Background and Issues for Congress (CRS Report RS20643) · Updated December 4, 2025 · “The ship’s final procurement cost was $13,316.5 million (i.e., about $13.3 billion) in then-year dollars.”
The figures in these drafts: Salary Table 2026-GS, Incorporating the 1% General Schedule Increase, Effective January 2026 (U.S. Office of Personnel Management) · Effective January 2026 · “Grade 5, Step 1: $34,799 (annual rate, before locality pay).”
The figures in these drafts: Update to Civilian Position Full Fringe Benefit Cost Factor, Federal Pay Raise Assumptions, and Inflation Factors used in OMB Circular No. A-76 (OMB Memorandum M-08-13) · March 11, 2008 · “the civilian position full fringe benefit cost factor needs to be adjusted downward, from 36.45 percent to 36.25 percent”

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: The agency lists it out of season. The season it publishes is the bar below.
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.