U.S. Forest Service · Willamette National Forest · OR

Scott Lake

1Heads up1 fire 17 mi away
Wildfire
Summit fire · 17 mi away · 20 acres · updated Oct 17, 2026
ReservableOut of season, no booking; January 2 opens July 2.
Book on recreation.govWe make nothing when you book
Right now
Listed not openA database flag with no reason and no date
A night
$5From, per site
Sites
41 on recreation.gov
Drawn from the record · 4,810 ft · 0% tree cover · water within reach · Bortle 2 sky
12 ftLongest rig
4,810 ftElevation
763 ftWater · an unnamed pond
16.1 miSW of Sisters, OR
0%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 7 notices

In the agency’s own words

This location is available on a first-come, first-served basis only. Visitors are required to physically arrive at the campground to purchase and claim a site. Once on-site, you may be able to pay for your campsite(s) by scanning a QR code using the Recreation.gov mobile app, and the Scan and Pay feature. If this option is available, you will need to first download the free Recreation.gov mobile app https://www.recreation.gov/mobile-app prior to your arrival as some remote areas have limited or no cellular service.

What the agency tells you

Rule

This hidden treasure is a photographer's paradise. The high elevation, primitive campground sits on picturesque and pristine Scott Lake. On clear days, catch stunning views of the snowcapped volcanic peaks of the Three Sisters as they cast their reflection on the serene lake. Be prepared for heavy mosquitoes in July and August. A forest of subalpine fir, mountain hemlock, and bear grass surround the lake.   The campground is next to Benson/Tenas Trailhead and access to the Mt. Washington Wilderness is close by. Closest Towns: McKenzie Bridge, OR (west), Sisters, OR (east)

Rule

Access is dependent on McKenzie Highway (OR Hwy 242), which is closed in the winter. Check tripcheck.com for conditions.

Rule

First come, first serve sites only. Fees: $5/vehicle/day or valid recreation pass

Everything else this campground posts · 4
Rule

No trailers or RVs.

Rule

Camping is not allowed more than 14 days in a 60 day period.

Rule

Use of chainsaws in the campground is prohibited.

Rule

Dogs MUST be on leash at all times within the campground.

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
4
Hookups
None
Longest rig
12 ft
Accessible sites
None listed
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Vault Toilets
VAULT TOILETS on 1 of 1 campsite records

No reading yet, book on recreation.gov

recreation.gov lists 1 of the 4 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.

No availability snapshot inside the last 36 hours, so this page draws nothing rather than ageing a reading into fiction.

Booking windowOut of seasonOut of season, no booking. On January 2, 2027 at 10 AM ET, availability opens through July 2, 2027.recreation.govAdd to calendar (.ics)
Max stay14 nightsthe facility record
A night$5plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$18DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Forest ServiceBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Full? Watch it.

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Fri, Jul 2 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 13

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night$5
ScanPay 1$5
Rates for the season the campground is in now, Jul 2, 2026 to Oct 10, 2026.
Vehicle/day or valid recreation pass$5
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$13
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$18

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rate for this season, $5 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5

rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

4 sites · the site map

All 4 sites

1 of 4 sites located
Standard1
Aerial · Esri World Imagery
Takes aUp to

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 1 of the 4 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Scan and PayScanPay 2type not stated
Scan and PayScanPay 3type not stated
Scan and PayScanPay 4type not stated
Scan and PayStandardstandard nonelectric12 ft763 ft$5

OpenStreetMap has no toilet mapped within 1 km of this campground, so no site here carries a toilet distance. That’s a gap in the map, not a finding about the campground.

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the phone number

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Overnight39°Mostly Cloudy
Saturday55°Mostly Cloudy5% rain
Saturday Night32°Areas Of Fog1% rain
Sunday60°Areas Of Frost then Mostly Sunny

NWS forecast for Black Butte Ranch, OR

Typical weather

Typical October night 31°F, day 62°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical December night 21°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

90°32°10°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: WICKIUP DAM, OR (USC00359316), 38 miles away and 452 ft lower

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it

Roadless country, and what’s coming for it

Roadless
Mt. Washington, South4,375 acres · 0 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Frog Camp491 acres · 0 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Huckleberry793 acres · 4 mi · inventoried roadless area

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Who answers for this land

Val Hoyle, official portrait

Scott Lake is in Oregon’s 4th congressional district. Its representative, Val Hoyle (D), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: A. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: U.S. Forest Service’s own recreation database flags it not open and publishes no reason and no date. That’s a flag, not a notice: the number below is the only way to be sure.
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.
Nearest place of any size: Black Butte Ranch, OR, 12.9 mi SW (a census designated place). Straight line.