U.S. Forest Service · Willamette National Forest · OR

Trail Bridge

1Heads up1 fire 15 mi away
Wildfire
407 Det fire · 15 mi away · 0 acres · updated Oct 16, 2026
Reservable, and full this SaturdayEvery one of the 8 sites on offer is taken this Saturday, and the record lists no site held back for a walk-up. read 15:28 UTC

We don’t think it should be. Every campground should hold some sites for whoever drives up.Tell your representative →

Right now
Taking bookingsSites offered on 16 of the next 16 nights read 15:28 UTC
A night
$25–$30Across the site types the agency prices
Sites
4034 on recreation.gov
Drawn from the record · 2,110 ft · 74% tree cover · Trail Bridge Reservoir within reach · Bortle 2 sky
95 ftLongest rig
2,110 ftElevation
339 ftWater · Trail Bridge Reservoir
23 miW of Sisters, OR
74%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 3 notices

In the agency’s own words

Trail Bridge is a fully reservable campground after May 15th, 2026. First come, first serve is available only on sites that are not previously reserved and only one night at a time. This campground has 26 walk-in/tent only sites, 7 RV sites, and 1 group camp area that has 4 sites. There is a boat ramp with minimal parking. Campground has 4 vault bathrooms and 1 flush toilet bathroom. Potable water spigots throughout campground. No hook-ups. Day Use Fee are and Extra Vehicle Fee area. Campfires allowed until and unless otherwise posted. Fire bans are common during the summer months. Please plan accordingly. Keep reading

Scan and Pay might be offered at this campground; It is recommended that you pay by cash or check for FCFS campsites. There are no refunds, modifications, cancellations, or other fee changes allowed with FCFS payments. This system is the same as putting cash into a fee tube and cannot be refunded. Please download the Rec.Gov app prior to arriving at the campground as there may be no cellular service or very limited service at the campground. If no Scan & Pay option is available you must pay via cash or check. Camp ground has 26 Walk In-Tent Only sites, 7 Pull-Thru RV Nonelectric sites, and 1 Group Area that has 4 Pull-Thru sites. Water is available throughout camp ground via spigots. ADA parking is available. Vault & Flush toilets available.

Recreation

Boating, fishing, camping, hiking, sightseeing, mountain biking, etc.

Facilities

Walk in tent sites, pull through RV sites, boat ramp, group camping area, flush restrooms, vault restrooms, day use area, potable water available.

Natural Features

Reservoir, Blue Pool/Tamolich Falls nearby Nearby Attractions Blue Pool/Tamolich Falls, Clear Lake, Fish Lake, Sahalie Falls, Koosah Falls, McKenzie River Trail

What the agency tells you

Rule

1 vehicle is included with your campsite. Extra Vehicles are $10 per vehicle per night. Please pay before 1st night stay to avoid parking tickets.

Rule

Campfires are allowed until otherwise notified. Fire bans are common in the summer so please plan accordingly.

Rule

Walk In Sites, 1-26, Tents Only at site. No Trailers, Camper Vans, Campers etc allowed in the parking lots.

Tents and rigs

Sites
40 · 26 walk-in, 1 group
Hookups
None
Longest rig
95 ft
Accessible sites
1
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Flush Toilets · Vault Toilets
“…with minimal parking. Campground has 4 vault bathrooms and 1 flush toilet bathroom. Potable water spigots…”
Drinking water
Yes
“…bathrooms and 1 flush toilet bathroom. Potable water spigots throughout campground. No hook-ups. Day Use…”
Boat ramp
Yes
Camp host
On site
recreation.gov lists “Host”
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026
Water, toilets and showers: read from the agency description, shown above · Sep 12, 2026

Around the campground

On the water
Reservoir, Lake, River
Night sky · 381st darkest of 770 in OR
Bortle 2
Cell signal · Cell signal · Forest Service says
Spotty
Fall color · reported 3 days ago, 39 km away
Patchy color
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise. · Sep 8, 2026
Fall color: More Than Just Parks foliage tracker, joined to this campground by distance (39 km) · Oct 13, 2026

Full this Saturdayread 15:28 UTC

How full the weekend is nationally.

OpenBooked

Every one of the 8 sites on offer is taken this Friday and Saturday. 33 are free on Tue, Oct 20. read 15:28 UTC Why the weekend fills and the week doesn’t

Booking windowThrough October 31Bookable now through October 31, 2026, the end of the reservable season. The season after it isn't published yet.recreation.gov
A night$25–$30plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$58–$68DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Forest ServiceBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Watch this campground

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov ↗

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 16

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night, per site$25–$30
Scan and Pay 1$25
Tent Only$25
RV Sites$30
Group area, a night$225
Rates for the season the campground is in now, May 14, 2026 to Oct 31, 2026.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What this campground addsits own record
Extra vehicle$10

“Extra Vehicles are $10 per vehicle per night.” · the U.S. Forest Service’s own agency notice

What a stay costs
One nightDerived$33–$38
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$58–$68

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $25–$30 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 6

recreation.gov availability, read 15:28 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

41 records · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 34 mapped sites
106 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least roomTent Loop Site 24 51 ftTent Loop Site 25 51 ftTent Loop Site 16 75 ft

All 41 records

38 of 41 records located
RV / electric7Walk, hike or boat in26Group1Type not stated4
SleepsTakes aUp to

Toilet distances are OpenStreetMap’s, measured for 1 of the 41 sites listed. A site with no reading is unknown, never far.

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 14 of the 41 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.

Group Site B-LoopGroup Site Slip 27type not stated88 ft164 ftSmith River$25–$225
Group Site B-LoopGroup Site Slip 28type not stated88 ft192 ft$25–$225
Group Site B-LoopGroup Site Slip 30type not stated95 ft242 ft$25–$225
Group Site B-LoopGroup Site- includes 4 double sites (27-30)group rv area nonelectric75 ft214 ft121 ft$225
RV A LoopCamp Host Site 38host pad75 ft$25–$225
RV A LoopSite 31rv nonelectric85 ft92 ft212 ft$30
RV A LoopSite 32rv nonelectric85 ft83 ft298 ft$30
RV A LoopSite 33rv nonelectric65 ft109 ft88 ft$30
RV A LoopSite 34rv nonelectric75 ft91 ft135 ft$30
RV A LoopSite 35rv nonelectric80 ft91 ft58 ft$30
RV A LoopSite 36rv nonelectric88 ft144 ft147 ft$30
RV A LoopSite 37rv nonelectric88 ft144 ft118 ft$30
Scan and PayGroup Walk Uptype not stated$25–$225
Scan and PayRV Walk Uptype not stated$25–$225
Scan and PayTent Walk Uptype not stated339 ft$25–$225
Tent LoopSite 01walk to18 ft121 ft51 ft3,202 ft
Tent LoopSite 02walk to18 ft121 ft50 ft
Tent LoopSite 03walk to18 ft179 ft92 ft
Tent LoopSite 04walk to18 ft115 ft90 ft
Tent LoopSite 05walk to18 ft115 ft108 ft
Tent LoopSite 06walk to18 ft91 ft114 ft
Tent LoopSite 07walk to18 ft91 ft100 ft
Tent LoopSite 08walk to18 ft123 ft106 ft
Tent LoopSite 09walk to18 ft97 ft344 ft
Tent LoopSite 10walk to18 ft84 ft418 ft
Tent LoopSite 11walk to18 ft84 ft436 ft
Tent LoopSite 12walk to18 ft126 ft594 ft
Tent LoopSite 13walk to18 ft144 ft358 ft
Tent LoopSite 14walk to18 ft155 ft194 ft
Tent LoopSite 15walk to18 ft106 ft492 ft
Tent LoopSite 16walk to18 ft75 ft406 ft
Tent LoopSite 17walk to18 ft75 ft407 ft
Tent LoopSite 18walk to18 ft106 ft533 ft
Tent LoopSite 19walk to18 ft94 ft458 ft
Tent LoopSite 20walk to18 ftyes109 ft412 ft
Tent LoopSite 21walk to18 ft83 ft359 ft
Tent LoopSite 22walk to18 ft123 ft478 ft
Tent LoopSite 23walk to18 ft114 ft573 ft
Tent LoopSite 24walk to18 ft51 ft459 ft
Tent LoopSite 25walk to18 ft51 ft420 ft
Tent LoopSite 26walk to18 ft86 ft335 ft

The agency files 1 more record here that isn’t a site for the night. It names it a host pad. It’s in the table above, marked for what it is, and it isn’t counted as a site.

25 of 41 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate44.28055, -122.04703
The phoneN/A
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

Getting there

Off Highway 126 near the Blue Pool Trail Head in the Willamette National Forest.

From McKenzie Bridge, OR, travel east on Highway 126 to Forest Road 732.

Follow Forest Road 732 around Trailbridge Reservoir to Forest Road 730.

Continue up Forest Road 730 to Trailbridge Campground on the left.

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

This Afternoon82°Mostly Sunny
Tonight47°Mostly Cloudy
Saturday63°Partly Sunny11% rain
Saturday Night42°Partly Cloudy1% rain

NWS forecast for Black Butte Ranch, OR

Typical weather

Typical October night 38°F, day 60°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical January night 29°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

90°32°20°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: BELKNAP SPRINGS 8 N, OR (USC00350652), 0.6 miles away and 42 ft higher

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it · a letter you can send

Roadless country, and what’s coming for it

Roadless
Mt. Washington, West6,641 acres · 5 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Mt. Washington, South4,375 acres · 9 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Frog Camp491 acres · 10 mi · inventoried roadless area

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Who answers for this land

Janelle Bynum, official portrait

Trail Bridge is in Oregon’s 5th congressional district. Its representative, Janelle Bynum (D), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: A+. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

Who can change it · 3
Write to somebody who can change it

Two offices, two different asks. The draft to the agency asks it to set aside a published share of the sites here for whoever drives up. The draft to Congress asks why that share is zero and presses for a published minimum at the campgrounds it funds.

Read the draft, or change the wording

For the camper who turned up, or tried to book, and couldn’t get in. Every draft is written from this campground’s own record (its agency, its unit, its site count and its own weekend) and the buttons above copy whichever wording is selected here.

To Janelle S. Bynum

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Trail Bridge, Willamette National Forest, Oregon

Dear Janelle S. Bynum,

I’m a constituent in Oregon’s 5th district. I tried to camp at Trail Bridge, Willamette National Forest, Oregon, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 34 of the 40 campsites the agency files at Trail Bridge, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 8 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Trail Bridge keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Trail Bridge. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Trail Bridge (Willamette National Forest, Oregon) via campanac.com
To Jeff Merkley

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Trail Bridge, Willamette National Forest, Oregon

Dear Jeff Merkley,

I’m a constituent in Oregon. I tried to camp at Trail Bridge, Willamette National Forest, Oregon, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 34 of the 40 campsites the agency files at Trail Bridge, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 8 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Trail Bridge keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Trail Bridge. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Trail Bridge (Willamette National Forest, Oregon) via campanac.com
To Ron Wyden

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Trail Bridge, Willamette National Forest, Oregon

Dear Ron Wyden,

I’m a constituent in Oregon. I tried to camp at Trail Bridge, Willamette National Forest, Oregon, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 34 of the 40 campsites the agency files at Trail Bridge, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 8 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Trail Bridge keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Trail Bridge. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Trail Bridge (Willamette National Forest, Oregon) via campanac.com
How we know this · 4
The figures in these drafts: Navy Ford (CVN-78) Class Aircraft Carrier Program: Background and Issues for Congress (CRS Report RS20643) · Updated December 4, 2025 · “The ship’s final procurement cost was $13,316.5 million (i.e., about $13.3 billion) in then-year dollars.”
The figures in these drafts: Salary Table 2026-GS, Incorporating the 1% General Schedule Increase, Effective January 2026 (U.S. Office of Personnel Management) · Effective January 2026 · “Grade 5, Step 1: $34,799 (annual rate, before locality pay).”
The figures in these drafts: Update to Civilian Position Full Fringe Benefit Cost Factor, Federal Pay Raise Assumptions, and Inflation Factors used in OMB Circular No. A-76 (OMB Memorandum M-08-13) · March 11, 2008 · “the civilian position full fringe benefit cost factor needs to be adjusted downward, from 36.45 percent to 36.25 percent”

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: recreation.gov is offering sites on 16 of the next 16 nights, which isn’t something a closed campground does.
Fall color: More Than Just Parks foliage tracker, joined to this campground by distance (39 km) · Oct 13, 2026
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise. · Sep 8, 2026

“…app prior to arriving at the campground as there may be no cellular service or very limited service at the campground. If no Scan & Pay…”

Nearest place of any size: Black Butte Ranch, OR, 17.8 mi WSW (a census designated place). Straight line.