National Park Service · Lassen Volcanic National Park · CA

Southwest Campground

3Heads uppark alerts
Information
EV charging station unavailable The Electric Vehicle charging station is non-functional. There is no timeline for when it may become available. Please plan accordingly.
Information
Juniper Lake Campground Closed The Juniper Lake Campground and day use area is currently closed for maintenance and campground improvement projects. Potable water is not available in the campground. The Juniper Lake Road (access to lake and trailheads) is open. Please…
Information
Visitor Phone Line Intermittent You may experience problems reaching park staff via the main visitor phone line which functions intermittently. You may email the park at lavo_information@nps.gov with general park questions.
Alerts: National Park Service alerts API · Oct 17, 2026
ReservableBooking 6 months out; today unlocks April 16. Season not published.
Book on recreation.govWe make nothing when you book
Right now
Nobody has saidNo season, no closure, no bookings to read
A night
$10From, per site
Sites
3625 of them walk-up
6,720 ftElevation
701 ftWater · West Sulphur Creek
13.6 miSE of Shingletown, CA
25Walk-up sites
32%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 9 notices

In the agency’s own words

The Southwest Campground (elevation 6700FT.) is a first come first serve campground. It has 20 walk-in tent sites and 5 RV sites located in the parking lot adjacent to the campground. It is located within walking distance to the Kohm Yah-mah-nee Visitor Center. Keep reading

Recreation

The park boasts more than 150 miles of hiking trails, a variety of which can be accessed from the campground, including family-friendly hikes as well as those for more experienced hikers Facilities Restrooms with running water and flush toilets are available 24/7 in the Visitor Center vestibule. Public WiFi is available around the Visitor Center. The park's dump station is located 30 miles north of Southwest Campground, at Manzanita Lake (additional fees apply).

Natural Features

The national park is known for its volcanic history, as well as its diversity of plants and animals. It contains 300 active volcanic domes, as well as many hydrothermal features, such as mud pots and steam vents. Lassen Peak is the southernmost active volcano in the Cascades, and the second most recent to erupt in the lower 48 of the United States before Mount Saint Helens. Lassen National Park boasts over 700 species of flowering plants and 250 species of birds, mammals, reptiles and fish. The park is at the junction of the Cascade Mountains, the Sierra Nevada Mountains and the Great Basin, thus providing many unique habitats.

Nearby Attractions

Kohm Yah-mah-nee Visitor Center Mill Creek Falls Trail Brokeoff Mountain Trail (1/2 mile south on Hwy 89) Sulphur Works (1 mile north on Hwy 89)

What the agency tells you

Rule

The Southwest Campground is a first-come first-serve campground. It has 19 walk-in tent sites, and 10 RV sites located in the adjacent parking lot. All payments must be made through the Scan & Pay system. You must download the recreation.gov app in order to use the Scan & Pay system. It is highly recommended that you download the app prior to coming to the park as connectivity can be limited. The Scan & Pay QR code located at the campground can be used with or without connectivity.

Rule

Be bear aware; food and scented products must be stored in the bear lockers provided at each campsite.

Rule

Pets must be leashed (no longer than 6ft) at all times, are not allowed on hiking trails, and should never be left unattended. Pets are not allowed on snow and must stay on paved surfaces only.

Everything else this campground posts · 6
Rule

There are no electricity, water, or sewer hookups.

Rule

Campsites are limited to 2 tents, 6 people, and 2 vehicles per site.

Rule

Parking Lot sites are limited to self-contained RV's, trailers, vehicles, or other camping units. Tents or other camping structures are not allowed to be set up in the parking lot.

Rule

An entrance fee of $30 per vehicle is required. We highly recommend purchasing a digital pass through Rec.gov

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Help protect our forests! Prevent the spread of tree-killing pests by obtaining firewood at or near your destination and burning it on-site. Moving firewood is illegal in some states. Visit dontmovefirewood.org to learn more.

Rule

Sites 2 and 3 at the Southwest Campground are ADA sites only. A Handicap Permit is required to use these two sites.

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
36 · 19 walk-in
Hookups
None
Accessible sites
None listed
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
20 of 34 sites
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Flush Toilets - year round
Drinking water
Yes
Dump station
Yes
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026

Around the campground

On the water
Lake, Creek
Backpacking
Hiking
Scenic drives
Skiing
Sledding
Snowshoeing
Visitor center
Night sky · 163rd darkest of 1,201 in CA
Bortle 2
Fall color · reported 13 days ago, 38 km away
Peak color
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026
Fall color: More Than Just Parks foliage tracker, joined to this campground by distance (38 km) · Oct 4, 2026

Fully booked this Friday and Saturday, all 1 site-nights takenread 15:40 UTC

recreation.gov lists 20 of the 36 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.

Every one of the next thirty nights is in recreation.gov’s record and not one site is being offered on any of them. That’s a campground closed or not yet released for booking, not a sold-out one.

Booking window6 months outBooking opens 6 months ahead; today unlocks arrivals through April 16, 2027. The agency publishes no reservable season in the record we hold, so the window may close earlier than that.recreation.gov
A night$10plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$28DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itNational Park ServiceBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Full? Watch it.

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 15

What you actually pay

The sign priceNational Park Service
A night$10
Southwest Campground - RV$10
Rates for the season the campground is in now, Jan 1, 2026 to Dec 30, 2026.
Tent sites are $16.00 and RV parking lot sites are $10.00.
There is a $30.00 entrance fee for the park.
Tent site are closed for the winter while snow is on the ground.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$18
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$28

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rate for this season, $10 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5

recreation.gov availability, read 15:40 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

36 sites

All 36 sites

SleepsTakes aUp to

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 20 of the 36 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

A1walk to$16
A10walk to$16
A11walk to$16
A12walk to$16
A13walk to$16
A14walk to$16
A15walk to$16
A16walk to$16
A17walk to$16
A18walk to$16
A19walk to$16
A2walk to$16
A3walk to$16
A4walk to$16
A5walk to$16
A6walk to$16
A7walk to$16
A8walk to$16
A9walk to$16
AScan and Pay - Walk Totype not stated
Parking LotScan and Pay - RV Non-electrictype not stated
Parking Lot RV Non-ElectricParking Lot 10type not stated
Parking Lot RV Non-ElectricParking Lot 11type not stated
Parking Lot RV Non-ElectricParking Lot 12type not stated
Parking Lot RV Non-ElectricParking Lot 13type not stated
Parking Lot RV Non-ElectricParking Lot 14type not stated
Parking Lot RV Non-ElectricParking Lot 15type not stated
Parking Lot RV Non-ElectricParking Lot 2type not stated
Parking Lot RV Non-ElectricParking Lot 3type not stated
Parking Lot RV Non-ElectricParking Lot 4type not stated
Parking Lot RV Non-ElectricParking Lot 5type not stated
Parking Lot RV Non-ElectricParking Lot 6type not stated
Parking Lot RV Non-ElectricParking Lot 7type not stated
Parking Lot RV Non-ElectricParking Lot 8type not stated
Parking Lot RV Non-ElectricParking Lot 9type not stated
Parking Lot RV Non-ElectricParking Lot RVrv nonelectric$10

25 of 36 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate40.43660, -121.53264
The phone530-595-6120
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

The weather

the next four days

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Tonight46°Mostly Clear
Saturday67°Sunny
Saturday Night44°Mostly Clear
Sunday63°Sunny

NWS forecast for Mineral, CA

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it

Roadless country, and what’s coming for it

Roadless
Wild Cattle Mtn4,965 acres · 3 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Heart Lake9,349 acres · 3 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Onion Springs2,421 acres · 5 mi · inventoried roadless area

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Who answers for this land

Southwest Campground is in California’s 1st congressional district. Whoever holds it votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. See how its representative votes on public lands →

Our roster still carries Doug LaMalfa for this district and the current federal record doesn’t list them as sitting, so we’re not naming a representative here until the two agree.

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: National Park Service publishes no season and no closure for this campground, and it takes no bookings we can read. That’s a gap in the record and not a locked gate: the number below is the only way to be sure.
Fall color: More Than Just Parks foliage tracker, joined to this campground by distance (38 km) · Oct 4, 2026
Cell signal: the Park Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.
Nearest place of any size: Mineral, CA, 0.9 mi NNE (a census designated place). Straight line.