National Park Service · Lassen Volcanic National Park · CA

Summit Lake North

3Heads uppark alerts
Information
EV charging station unavailable The Electric Vehicle charging station is non-functional. There is no timeline for when it may become available. Please plan accordingly.
Information
Juniper Lake Campground Closed The Juniper Lake Campground and day use area is currently closed for maintenance and campground improvement projects. Potable water is not available in the campground. The Juniper Lake Road (access to lake and trailheads) is open. Please…
Information
Visitor Phone Line Intermittent You may experience problems reaching park staff via the main visitor phone line which functions intermittently. You may email the park at lavo_information@nps.gov with general park questions.
Alerts: National Park Service alerts API · Oct 17, 2026
ReservableOut of season, no booking; December 26 opens June 26.
Book on recreation.govWe make nothing when you book
Right now
Nobody has saidNo season, no closure, no bookings to read
A night
$24From, per site
Sites
4642 on recreation.gov
60 ftLongest rig
6,680 ftElevation
269 ftWater · Summit Lake
15 miNW of Chester, CA
27%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 8 notices

In the agency’s own words

Summit Lake North Campground (elevation 6,700 ft.) is conveniently located on the main road of Lassen Volcanic National Park. The campground is within walking distance of the small but scenic Summit Lake and eight miles from the 10,457-ft. Lassen Peak, the largest volcano in the park.. Hikers will find one of the park's major trails only 1/4-mile away from the campground and many more within a close proximity. Summit Lake North is on the opposite side of the lake from Summit Lake South Campground. Keep reading

Recreation

The campground is a hub for hiking and backpacking enthusiasts. Campers can access many of the park's 150 miles of hiking trails from the Summit Lake area. The Cluster Lakes loop trail--a major trailhead into the park's interior that bypasses several alpine lakes and is popular among birders--is located a short walk from the Summit Lake Ranger Station. This is the closest campground to the Lassen Peak Trail and within 10 miles of the hydrothermal area Bumpass Hell. Educational programs are presented at an amphitheater within the facility.

Facilities

This facility has flush toilets, drinking water, campfire rings and picnic tables. For more information visit Campgrounds of Lassen Volcanic .

Natural Features

The national park is known for its volcanic history, as well as its diversity of plants and animals. It contains 300 active volcanic domes and many hydrothermal features, such as mud pots and steam vents. Lassen Peak is the southernmost active volcano in the Cascades, and the second most recent volcano to erupt in the lower 48 of the United States before Mount Saint Helens. Lassen National Park boasts over 700 species of flowering plants and 250 native species including birds, mammals, reptiles and fish. The park is at the junction of the Cascade Mountains, the Sierra Nevada Mountains and the Great Basin, providing many unique habitats.

What the agency tells you

Rule

Be bear aware; food and scented products must be stored in the bear lockers provided at each campsite

Rule

Pets are not allowed on park trails and must be on a 6-ft. leash

Rule

There are no electricity, water or sewer hook-ups

Everything else this campground posts · 5
Rule

An entrance fee of $30 per vehicle is required. We highly recommend visitors purchase the park's digital 1-7 day entrance fee or the parks annual pass throught recreation.gov prior to visiting park.

Rule

Campers must have a valid entrance permit or pass before camping

Rule

50 percent discount on camping fees applies only to lifetime pass holders and senior annual pass holders

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Help protect our forests! Prevent the spread of tree-killing pests by obtaining firewood at or near your destination and burning it on-site. Moving firewood is illegal in some states. Visit dontmovefirewood.org to learn more.

Rule

Please have a printed copy of your reservation with you.

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
46 · 9 tent-only
Hookups
None
Longest rig
60 ft
Paved pads
39 of 46
Accessible sites
None listed
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Flush Toilets - seasonal · Vault Toilets - seasonal
Drinking water
Yes
Source: National Park Service and agency records

Around the campground

On the water
Lake
Fishing
Hiking
Picnicking
Swimming
Visitor center
Night sky · 116th darkest of 1,201 in CA
Bortle 2
Fall color · reported 13 days ago, 27 km away
Peak color
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026
Fall color: More Than Just Parks foliage tracker, joined to this campground by distance (27 km) · Oct 4, 2026

No reading yet, book on recreation.gov

recreation.gov lists 42 of the 46 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.

No availability snapshot inside the last 36 hours, so this page draws nothing rather than ageing a reading into fiction.

Booking windowOut of seasonOut of season, no booking. On December 26, 2026 at 10 AM ET, availability opens through June 26, 2027.recreation.govAdd to calendar (.ics)
Max stay7 nightsthe facility record
A night$24plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$56DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itNational Park ServiceBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Full? Watch it.

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Sat, Jun 26 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 13

What you actually pay

The sign priceNational Park Service
A night$24
Standard Nonelectric$24
Tent Only Nonelectric$24
These are next season’s rates, Jun 26, 2027 to Sep 7, 2027. The campground is between seasons now.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$32
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$56

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rate for this season, $24 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5

rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

46 sites · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 42 mapped sites
47 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least roomLoop B B01 28 ftLoop B B25 28 ftLoop B B10 31 ft

All 46 sites

46 of 46 sites located
Standard33Tent only9Type not stated4
SleepsTakes aUp to

Toilet distances are OpenStreetMap’s, measured for 46 of the 46 sites listed. A site with no reading is unknown, never far.

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 42 of the 46 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Loop AA01standard nonelectric30 ft79 ft222 ft100 ft$24
Loop AA02standard nonelectric20 ft65 ft233 ft131 ft$24
Loop AA03type not stated25 ft257 ft52 ft
Loop AA04standard nonelectric54 ft49 ft297 ft102 ft$24
Loop AA05standard nonelectric25 ft45 ft346 ft113 ft$24
Loop AA06standard nonelectric25 ft45 ft335 ft136 ft$24
Loop AA07standard nonelectric35 ft47 ft297 ft168 ft$24
Loop AA08standard nonelectric25 ft38 ft270 ft217 ft$24
Loop AA09tent only nonelectric20 ft48 ft252 ft213 ft$24
Loop AA10standard nonelectric28 ft38 ft234 ft249 ft$24
Loop AA11standard nonelectric28 ft41 ft193 ft286 ft$24
Loop AA12standard nonelectric30 ft85 ft175 ft295 ft$24
Loop AA13tent only nonelectric21 ft47 ft260 ft212 ft$24
Loop AA14standard nonelectric32 ft47 ft278 ft217 ft$24
Loop AA15standard nonelectric60 ft55 ft331 ft190 ft$24
Loop AA16standard nonelectric27 ft47 ft270 ft309 ft$24
Loop AA17standard nonelectric23 ft47 ft317 ft302 ft$24
Loop AA18standard nonelectric20 ft58 ft343 ft291 ft$24
Loop AA19type not stated22 ft306 ft281 ft
Loop AA20type not stated22 ft292 ft179 ft
Loop AA21type not stated23 ft272 ft278 ft
Loop BB01standard nonelectric30 ft28 ft137 ft234 ft$24
Loop BB02standard nonelectric20 ft54 ft158 ft260 ft$24
Loop BB03standard nonelectric28 ft36 ft138 ft297 ft$24
Loop BB04standard nonelectric30 ft36 ft144 ft302 ft$24
Loop BB05standard nonelectric25 ft34 ft157 ft291 ft$24
Loop BB06tent only nonelectric16 ft34 ft180 ft285 ft$24
Loop BB07tent only nonelectric20 ft51 ft231 ft247 ft$24
Loop BB08tent only nonelectric19 ft48 ft228 ft220 ft$24
Loop BB09standard nonelectric35 ft60 ft210 ft234 ft$24
Loop BB10standard nonelectric30 ft30 ft276 ft173 ft$24
Loop BB11standard nonelectric29 ft36 ft270 ft180 ft$24
Loop BB12standard nonelectric26 ft36 ft301 ft145 ft$24
Loop BB13standard nonelectric35 ft30 ft305 ft148 ft$24
Loop BB14tent only nonelectric21 ft78 ft380 ft74 ft$24
Loop BB15standard nonelectric35 ft37 ft346 ft104 ft$24
Loop BB16tent only nonelectric19 ft51 ft417 ft49 ft$24
Loop BB17tent only nonelectric35 ft51 ft387 ft99 ft$24
Loop BB18standard nonelectric25 ft32 ft361 ft117 ft$24
Loop BB19tent only nonelectric18 ft32 ft370 ft140 ft$24
Loop BB20standard nonelectric26 ft50 ft355 ft113 ft$24
Loop BB21standard nonelectric30 ft55 ft300 ft109 ft$24
Loop BB22standard nonelectric35 ft86 ft220 ft82 ft$24
Loop BB23standard nonelectric26 ft55 ft251 ft136 ft$24
Loop BB24standard nonelectric24 ft41 ft185 ft184 ft$24
Loop BB25standard nonelectric23 ft28 ft144 ft208 ft$24

25 of 46 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate40.49444, -121.42500
The phone530 595-6121
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

The weather

the next four days

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Overnight43°Clear
Saturday62°Sunny
Saturday Night40°Mostly Clear
Sunday58°Sunny

NWS forecast for Warner Valley, CA

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it

Roadless country, and what’s coming for it

Roadless
Wild Cattle Mtn4,965 acres · 8 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Onion Springs2,421 acres · 8 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Mt. Harkness197 acres · 8 mi · inventoried roadless area

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Who answers for this land

Summit Lake North is in California’s 1st congressional district. Whoever holds it votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. See how its representative votes on public lands →

Our roster still carries Doug LaMalfa for this district and the current federal record doesn’t list them as sitting, so we’re not naming a representative here until the two agree.

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: National Park Service publishes no season and no closure for this campground, and it takes no bookings we can read. That’s a gap in the record and not a locked gate: the number below is the only way to be sure.
Fall color: More Than Just Parks foliage tracker, joined to this campground by distance (27 km) · Oct 4, 2026
Cell signal: the Park Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.
Nearest place of any size: Warner Valley, CA, 5.3 mi NW (a census designated place). Straight line.